How Much Does a Craters & Freighters Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Verified 2026 cost answer

How much does a Craters & Freighters franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates a total initial investment of $207,000 to $390,000 for one warehouse-based unit. The offer is a single-unit, warehouse-based business with two population tiers: $35,000 for an area under 1,000,000 people and $45,000 for an area of 1,000,000 or more.

$207,000–$390,000
Total Estimated Initial Investment

This disclosed 2026 range covers the single-unit warehouse format and already includes $40,000 to $60,000 for the first three months. It is not the same as the upfront fee, cash on hand, or household net worth. Source: FDD Item 7, pp. 10–12.

The brand’s official U.S. franchise ownership page currently displays the same $35,000–$45,000 franchise-fee range and $207,000–$390,000 initial-capital range. The disclosure remains the controlling source for what each amount includes and when it is paid.

Data basis: Craters & Freighters Franchise Company, a Colorado corporation; 2026 U.S. FDD issued April 13, 2026; single-unit Craters & Freighters business; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; information checked July 16, 2026. FDD citations are shown by Item and exact page because no matching current FDD was verified on an official franchise-controlled public webpage.

Capital snapshot
$35,000–$45,000 Initial Franchise Fee Paid in a lump sum when the agreement is signed; the population tier determines the amount.
$0.015 Supplemental Territory Fee Per person above 1,000,000, only if the larger service area is requested and approved.
$40,000–$60,000 Additional Funds Included in the disclosed total and intended for the first three months of operations.
5% Royalty Fee Greater of 5% of Adjusted Gross Sales or the applicable monthly royalty floor.
1% National marketing fund Currently 1% of Adjusted Gross Sales; the FDD permits an increase to 2% on 30 days’ notice.
$500/month Technology fee Current amount; may increase, but the disclosed contractual ceiling is $750 per month.
Startup investment

What is included in the $207,000 to $390,000 startup range?

The total combines the upfront fee with facility costs, warehouse assets, a required box truck, insurance, travel, business-formation costs, and a three-month operating reserve. Every category below belongs to the same single-unit format and the April 2026 estimate.

Agreement, travel, and facility costs

These payments are concentrated around signing the agreement, securing the site, and preparing the warehouse before opening.

Expenditure 2026 range Timing and payee
Initial Franchise Fee $35,000–$45,000 At agreement signing; paid to the franchisor
Travel $2,500–$5,000 As incurred; paid to vendors
Leasehold Improvements $5,000–$15,000 Before opening; paid to contractors and suppliers
Monthly Rent $5,000–$15,000 At lease execution; paid to the landlord
Lease Security Deposit $5,000–$30,000 At lease execution; paid to the landlord
Organizational Expenses $2,500–$5,000 As incurred; paid to vendors or third parties

Warehouse, vehicle, insurance, and working-capital costs

The largest asset categories are warehouse equipment, the required vehicle, and the first-three-month reserve. The materials allowance includes lumber, plywood, hardware, foam, and packing supplies.

Expenditure 2026 range Timing and payee
Warehouse Tools & Equipment $40,000–$75,000 Before opening; paid to vendors
Warehouse Materials $15,000–$25,000 Before opening; paid to vendors
Office Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment $5,000–$10,000 Before opening; paid to vendors
Vehicle Lease/Purchase $30,000–$65,000 Before opening; paid to a vendor
Insurance $20,000–$35,000 As incurred; paid to insurance providers
Miscellaneous Expense $2,000–$5,000 As incurred; paid to vendors or third parties
Three-month operating reserve $40,000–$60,000 As incurred; paid to vendors or third parties

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 10–12.

Cost implication The disclosed spread is not driven by the franchise fee alone. Warehouse equipment and the required vehicle each vary by $35,000, while the lease deposit varies by $25,000. Facility condition, equipment grade, vehicle features, and local lease terms can therefore move the final cash requirement materially within the official range.

The low and high columns should be treated as endpoints for separate estimates, not as a menu from which to assemble a presumed budget. The FDD explains that basic tools support the lower warehouse-equipment figure and premium versions support the upper figure. It uses the same basic-versus-premium distinction for the required box truck. A buyer should therefore obtain quotations that match the approved specifications and then compare each quotation with the corresponding line, rather than use a midpoint that the franchisor did not publish.

Leasehold work requires similar care. The stated $5,000–$15,000 range reflects the size, configuration, and condition of the facility, construction and installation costs, geography, and possible landlord participation. The footnote says a landlord may pay some or all of this work, which could reduce the franchisee’s direct leasehold-improvement payment to $0 even though the table retains the nationwide range. That possibility does not automatically reduce rent, the security deposit, equipment needs, or any other category.

The $40,000–$60,000 reserve is already included in the $207,000–$390,000 total. It should not be added again when building a sources-and-uses schedule. Conversely, the population surcharge for an approved area above 1,000,000 people is calculated separately from the $45,000 fee and can increase the amount paid to the franchisor beyond the Item 7 fee line.

Franchise-specific cost drivers

Why does this franchise require warehouse and vehicle capital?

The unit is not disclosed as a home-based or mobile-only format. The 2026 FDD requires a physical facility with at least 5,000 square feet of warehouse space in an industrial area and a box truck that meets defined size and liftgate specifications. Those operating assets explain why facility, equipment, materials, and vehicle costs occupy a large share of the official range.

5,000+ sq. ft. Minimum warehouse space. A loading dock is recommended; a dock door is required, and a ground-level door requires a forklift.
16′–26′ Required box-truck range, with 12,000–25,999 lb. GVWR and a hydraulic liftgate rated at 2,000 lb.
2 population tiers Under 1,000,000 people or 1,000,000 and above, with extra per-person pricing above the threshold when approved.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 10–12; Item 11, pp. 18 and 21.

The official Craters & Freighters U.S. website describes the network’s crating, packaging, shipping, delivery, and logistics services. For cost analysis, the important relationship is that the business needs warehouse production capability, material-handling equipment, packing materials, and a pickup-and-delivery vehicle rather than only office space.

How does population change the upfront payment?

The 2026 FDD defines two Territory tiers for the single-unit offer. An area below 1,000,000 people carries a $35,000 upfront fee, while an area of 1,000,000 or more carries a $45,000 upfront fee. If a buyer asks for, and the franchisor approves, an area above 1,000,000 people, the surcharge is $0.015 for each additional person. The FDD says population determinations use the latest United States Census information available; the U.S. Census Bureau Population Estimates Program is the official public source for current population estimates. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 12, pp. 4–5 and 23–25.

Buyer verification Obtain the exact county list, population source date, upfront fee, and territory-surcharge calculation in writing before signing. The $207,000–$390,000 total includes a $35,000–$45,000 upfront fee, but an approved area above 1,000,000 people can add the per-person surcharge.
Payment timing

When is the money paid before and just after opening?

The cash requirement is staged rather than paid as one check. The upfront fee is paid at signing, landlord payments arise at lease execution, major assets are acquired before opening, and the operating reserve is spent during the first three months of operations.

Sign the agreement. Pay the $35,000 or $45,000 upfront fee, plus any applicable territory surcharge, in a lump sum. These franchisor fees are non-refundable once paid.
Secure an approved site. Rent and the security deposit are due at lease execution. The FDD requires site selection within 60 days after signing, subject to extension, with an outside limit of six months for reaching agreement on a suitable site.
Build and equip the warehouse. Leasehold work, warehouse equipment, opening materials, office fixtures, and the box truck are paid or financed before opening.
Complete training and opening preparations. The Initial Training Program is approximately nine days in Colorado. The franchisor does not charge a training tuition fee for the initial program, but the franchisee pays travel and living expenses; the disclosure budgets travel at $2,500–$5,000.
Fund the first three months. The $40,000–$60,000 operating reserve is used as operating expenses arise. The disclosed reserve includes royalty fees, advertising, payroll, deposits, licenses, business-formation costs, prepaid expenses, accounting and professional fees, real-estate leasing costs, and other operating expenses.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 7, and 11, pp. 4–5, 10–12, and 18–23.

The franchisor estimates about 90 days between signing the agreement and opening, although site condition, construction, upgrades, and remodeling can change the interval. The franchisee must open within 15 days after the franchisor confirms that pre-opening obligations have been satisfied. The FDD also states that the franchisor may terminate and retain monies received if the parties cannot agree on a suitable site within the permitted period. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, p. 18.

FDD caveat Item 11 allows the site-selection period to extend as far as six months, while Item 17 summarizes failure to open within 90 days after signing as a non-curable default. Because this timing affects non-refundable and landlord-controlled cash, obtain written clarification of the controlling opening deadline and align lender closing, lease contingencies, and equipment orders before paying.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 11, p. 18; Item 17, p. 32.

Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after the business opens?

The main continuing obligations are the royalty, national marketing contribution, local advertising requirement, monthly technology charge, and insurance payment. Most are paid monthly or incurred throughout the year, and several can change under the agreement.

Continuing fee Amount / basis Timing Key qualification
Royalty Fee Greater of 5% of Adjusted Gross Sales or the monthly royalty floor By the 12th day for the prior month Payments may become weekly on 30 days’ notice
Marketing Fund Contribution Currently 1% of Adjusted Gross Sales Same monthly schedule as the royalty May increase to 2% on 30 days’ notice
Individual Advertising Expense Greater of $6,000 or 1% of prior-year Adjusted Gross Sales; cap $18,000 As incurred Separate from Marketing Fund
Technology Fee Currently $500/month; cap $750/month Same monthly schedule as the royalty More than two email accounts currently adds $15/month per account
Insurance Payment $125–$500/month for packers legal liability, plus variable cargo insurance Monthly with the royalty Cargo component depends on insured volume, declared value, rates, and prior loss ratio
Cooperative Advertising Proportional share, up to 1% of Adjusted Gross Sales As incurred if a Cooperative is formed Credited toward local advertising requirement

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 5–10.

The $20,000–$35,000 Insurance line in Item 7 is part of the opening estimate. The monthly Insurance Payment in Item 6 is a separate continuing obligation for a systemwide program covering packers legal liability and cargo insurance. Item 8 also requires certain policies to be purchased from the designated insurance supplier. It estimates purchases from the franchisor or designated, approved, or specification-compliant sources at approximately 0% of establishment cost and 2%–3% of operating cost; those percentages describe sourcing, not an added fee. Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 7 and 8, pp. 10–14.

Disclosure points to confirm: Item 6 says the current Technology Fee includes up to two email accounts and that additional accounts currently cost $15 per month each, while Franchise Agreement Section 3.6 refers to up to seven included accounts. Item 6 also references a volume bonus based on Adjusted Gross Sales without supplying a formula or amount. Obtain written clarification before treating either point as a budget reduction. Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 5 and 7; Franchise Agreement §3.6, pp. F-7–F-8.

How is the percentage-fee base defined?

Adjusted Gross Sales include all revenues generated by the business, excluding state sales tax, use tax, and refunds. The royalty and national marketing contribution use that disclosed basis. This article does not convert the percentages into annual dollar amounts because the FDD does not disclose a sales assumption for that purpose.

Royalty basisGreater of 5% of Adjusted Gross Sales or the applicable monthly royalty floor.
National fund basisCurrently 1% of Adjusted Gross Sales, independently payable from the local advertising requirement.
Insurance basisPackers legal liability uses a monthly band tied to revenue generated and an annual audit; cargo insurance is recalculated monthly from insured cargo factors and loss history.
Conditional obligations

Which fees apply only after a specific event?

Several charges are not part of the normal monthly fee stack but become payable after a transfer, relocation, renewal, audit finding, extra training request, convention attendance, late payment, default, or required system change.

Transfer Fee — $15,000. Due before a sale of the business is completed. No fee applies to a transfer into a legal entity controlled by the franchisee. The disclosed amount does not include transaction advice, landlord consent, buyer training, travel, or upgrades that may be needed to satisfy transfer conditions.
Relocation — franchisor costs up to $2,500. The franchisee reimburses the costs and expenses incurred to evaluate a relocation request and must obtain prior written consent. The cap does not cover the separate lease, deposit, build-out, moving, equipment, or signage costs of a new facility.
Audit — audit cost plus expenses. Payable if an audit shows an understatement of at least 5% of Adjusted Gross Sales for a reporting period.
Successor Fee — $5,000. Paid when signing a successor franchise agreement. The initial term is 15 years, and a qualifying franchisee may enter a 15-year successor term under the then-current agreement. Compliance with then-current standards or replacement premises may create additional costs that are not quantified by this fee.
Additional Training — $500 per day plus expenses. Applies to extra on-site assistance or post-opening training that the franchisor provides at the franchisee’s request or determines is necessary. Required periodic courses can also create franchisee-paid travel and living expenses.
Convention Attendance Fee — $150 per person. Franchisee owners or their designees must attend the annual convention; the franchisor reserves the right to change the fee.
Late payment and collection. Past-due royalty fees accrue interest at 1.5% per month, and actual attorney fees may be charged when collection action is required.
System and computer changes. Expenditures required by Operations Manual changes are capped at $10,000 in aggregate during the agreement term. Computer maintenance or upgrades are estimated at $1,000–$2,000 per year, with aggregate upgrades, additions, and replacements capped at $5,000 per year.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–10; Item 11, pp. 21–22; Item 17, pp. 30–31.

The fee table also states that fixed dollar fees may increase annually with the Consumer Price Index or a comparable index, unless a separately disclosed contractual cap applies. Therefore, the amounts above are the 2026 disclosure values, not guaranteed fixed prices for the full 15-year term.

Capital qualifications and financing

Does Craters & Freighters disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?

No quantified Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum is disclosed in the 2026 FDD or on the current official franchise ownership page. The official page labels $207,000–$390,000 as “Initial Capital,” but that label corresponds to the disclosed startup range; it is not a separate cash-on-hand threshold.

Startup estimate$207,000–$390,000 for the disclosed single-unit format, including the operating reserve.
Upfront franchisor payment$35,000 or $45,000, plus any approved population surcharge; paid at signing.
Cash and balance-sheet thresholdsNo numeric minimum is disclosed for a new buyer. The transfer provisions refer generally to sufficient financial resources but do not state a dollar threshold.
Personal funding gapThe FDD does not state how much of the disclosed total must be non-borrowed funds, so a lender’s equity-injection and collateral requirements must be evaluated separately.

Does the franchisor provide financing?

No. Item 10 states that the franchisor does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a franchisee’s note, lease, or obligation. The startup-investment notes add that independent financing depends on market availability, creditworthiness, collateral, lender policy, and other borrower-specific factors. The U.S. Small Business Administration funding guide describes common external funding structures, but the FDD does not promise SBA eligibility, lender approval, or a particular financing package.

For funding analysis, separate the startup obligation into four practical buckets: non-refundable money paid at signing, landlord-controlled cash due with the lease, vendor purchases made before opening, and cash reserved for the first operating months. Those buckets have different timing and may receive different treatment from an outside lender. A truck or equipment purchase may be financeable, while travel, deposits, professional fees, and early operating expenses may require cash. The disclosure does not decide that allocation for the lender.

A useful sources-and-uses schedule should show the amount, payee, due date, refundability, and expected funding source for every line. It should also identify conditions that must occur before funds are released, such as site approval, lease execution, insurance evidence, or equipment delivery. This matters because lender approval does not modify the payment dates in the franchise contract or lease, and third-party payments may be refundable only under the separate agreement with that vendor or landlord.

The buyer should also distinguish available cash from total household assets. Property, retirement accounts, and other assets may contribute to net worth without being immediately usable for signing payments, deposits, travel, or the operating reserve. Conversely, a loan commitment can increase available funding without reducing the amount ultimately owed. Because the franchisor publishes no numeric cash threshold, the workable capital stack must be established through the buyer’s own funding documents rather than inferred from the investment range.

Qualified U.S. armed-forces veterans may receive a $5,000 discount on the upfront fee through the VetFran program after providing evidence of an honorable discharge. The discount reduces the upfront fee only; it does not reduce site, equipment, vehicle, insurance, inventory, working-capital, or recurring-fee obligations. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 5.

Exclusions and uncertainty

What does the official investment range not fully resolve?

The disclosed total is a nationwide estimate as of April 13, 2026. It does not guarantee that a particular warehouse, lease, construction plan, vehicle, insurance program, or local licensing package will fit inside the range.

Taxes and some permitsThe operating-reserve footnote excludes taxes and other permitting or licensing fees that may be imposed locally or by a state.
Landlord contributionsLeasehold Improvements may be $0 when a landlord pays the cost, but the official range remains $5,000–$15,000.
Cargo insurance variabilityThe ongoing cargo component depends on insured volume, declared value, current rates, and the prior-year loss ratio.
Computer setup and changesItem 11 separately estimates required hardware and software at $2,000–$4,000, but does not expressly state whether that amount is already inside the Item 7 Office Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment line. Maintenance is estimated at $1,000–$2,000 per year, subject to the disclosed upgrade cap.
Signs and approved specificationsThe agreement requires approved interior and exterior signs, but Item 7 does not isolate a signage amount. Confirm which quoted line absorbs that cost before adding it separately.
Owner compensationThe operating-reserve footnote lists payroll costs but does not expressly identify owner compensation or draws. A buyer should not assume personal living expenses are included.
Financing costsInterest, lender fees, required equity, collateral costs, and debt-service reserves are not supplied as initial-investment line items.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 10–12; Item 11, pp. 16 and 21–22.

The Federal Trade Commission Franchise Rule explains why a U.S. FDD contains 23 specified disclosure items, while the FTC’s consumer guide to buying a franchise provides a framework for reviewing the disclosure and franchise agreement. For this cost decision, the controlling documents remain the current FDD, agreement, lease, supplier quotations, insurance proposal, and lender term sheet.

Decision synthesis

What capital figure should a buyer carry into due diligence?

Start with the verified 2026 official range of $207,000–$390,000 for the single-unit warehouse business, then identify the buyer-specific position within each disclosed range. The most consequential variables are warehouse equipment, the box truck, the lease deposit, insurance, and the first three months of the operating reserve.

Keep four figures separate: the $35,000–$45,000 upfront fee, any territory surcharge, the full initial-investment range, and the continuing fees. The 2026 disclosure does not provide separate cash-on-hand or net-worth minimums, and it provides no franchisor financing. The unresolved question is therefore not only “What is the franchise fee?” but “What cash, outside financing, lease terms, and contingency reserve are required to fund every disclosed payment through the first three months without double-counting the operating reserve?”