How much does a Code Ninjas franchise cost?
Code Ninjas has three separate U.S. cost disclosures, so there is no single brand-wide investment range. The April 3, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document from Code Ninjas, LLC estimates $174,250 to $265,750 for one Learning Center, $73,500 to $109,250 for one Studio Center, and $224,250 to $315,750 for a Development Agreement modeled on three Learning Centers.
Studio Center: $73,500–$109,250
The lower range reflects a smaller or partner-site format. The larger-format range assumes a leased 1,100- to 1,500-square-foot site. The three-unit development range includes the first center investment plus development fees for the second and third centers. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–21.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Code Ninjas, LLC. FDD issuance date: April 3, 2026. Formats reviewed: both single-unit models and a three-unit Development Agreement. Principal cost sources: Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information checked July 15, 2026.
The current U.S. offer status is also reflected on the official Code Ninjas franchise FAQ. No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public website, so FDD citations in this article are intentionally unlinked and use the document year, Item and page.
The undated official franchise investment page currently displays both an older $130,300–$348,550 total and the current larger-format figures. This article uses the April 3, 2026 FDD for all FDD-governed amounts and does not blend the older webpage range with the current disclosure.
Which figures matter before comparing the formats?
The most important distinction is between the Estimated Initial Investment, the Initial Franchise Fee, the three-month Additional Funds allowance, and the fees that continue after opening. The following figures are separate obligations, not substitutes for one another.
Item 5 also offers a 10% Initial Franchise Fee discount for a qualified U.S. military veteran or active-duty service member buying a Learning Center. When the franchisee is an entity, a qualifying person must own at least 51%; if that person transfers the qualifying interest during the first two years, the discount must be repaid. The 2026 FDD places this incentive under the Learning Center fee and does not expressly extend it to the Studio Center. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–7.
2026 total investment ranges by contract
The bars share a $0 to $315,750 scale. They compare official low and high endpoints without averaging them.
Interpretation: the Studio Center is a distinct smaller-format contract; the development range is not the cost of three fully opened centers. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–21.
What is included in the Learning Center investment?
The 2026 Learning Center estimate includes the Initial Franchise Fee, New Franchisee Training Fee, leased-premises costs, build-out, technology, furniture, signage, opening inventory, launch marketing, professional services and three months of Additional Funds. The disclosure assumes a leased 1,100- to 1,500-square-foot location; buying real estate is outside the disclosed range.
| Grouped opening cost | Low | High | Timing and basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee + New Franchisee Training Fee | $45,750 | $45,750 | Agreement signing and before Initial Management Training |
| Lease, Utility Deposit, Architect Fees + Construction Costs | $58,750 | $105,500 | As incurred before opening |
| Computer Hardware & Software, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment + Signage | $36,000 | $62,000 | Approved vendors and suppliers before opening |
| Initial Inventory, Business Licenses and Permits + Business Insurance | $3,750 | $8,500 | Before opening; insurance estimate covers 12 months |
| Initial Training Expenses + Professional Fees | $2,000 | $4,000 | Travel and advisers; one trainee assumed |
| Grand Opening Marketing Program | $8,000 | $10,000 | From 60 days before to no later than 60 days after opening |
| Additional Funds for three months | $20,000 | $30,000 | After opening for start-up operating expenses |
| Official total | $174,250 | $265,750 | Single Learning Center |
Grouped rows are derived additions of compatible line items from the official table; the total row is the franchisor’s stated total. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–21.
Construction Costs are the largest disclosed variable at $50,000 to $90,000. The construction footnote says the estimate is based on roughly $85 to $150 per square foot, can change with the premises and Tenant Improvement Allowance, and will be higher if local build-out costs exceed the assumption.
What does Additional Funds cover?
The $20,000 to $30,000 Additional Funds line is already included in the official total. It is intended to cover three months of ongoing start-up expenses, including payroll, utilities and marketing to the extent those costs are not covered by sales. The same footnote also anticipates about 35 hours of staff preparation before opening. It does not state that owner compensation is included, so a buyer should not assume that personal living expenses are funded by this allowance. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 20–21.
Why does the Studio Center cost less?
The Studio Center has a separate 2026 range of $73,500 to $109,250 because it may use less than 1,000 square feet or operate through an arrangement with a school, community center or church. Its table permits $0 minimums for lease, construction, furniture and signage, but those are disclosed endpoints—not a promise that every Studio Center avoids those costs.
| Grouped opening cost | Low | High | Studio Center treatment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee + New Franchisee Training Fee | $35,750 | $35,750 | Agreement and format rider; training before attendance |
| Lease + Construction Costs | $0 | $7,500 | Depends on the smaller site or partner-space arrangement |
| Computer Hardware & Software, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment + Signage | $4,000 | $11,500 | Lower hardware and physical-site allowance than the larger format |
| Initial Inventory, Business Licenses and Permits + Business Insurance | $3,750 | $8,500 | Same combined disclosed endpoints as the larger format |
| Initial Training Expenses + Professional Fees | $2,000 | $4,000 | Travel and advisers |
| Grand Opening Marketing Program | $8,000 | $12,000 | Before and during opening |
| Additional Funds for three months | $20,000 | $30,000 | Included in total, not added again |
| Official total | $73,500 | $109,250 | Single Studio Center |
Grouped rows are derived additions of compatible line items from the official Studio Center table; the total row is the stated Item 7 total. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–21.
Format caveat. The official franchise FAQ says conversions are evaluated on request, but the 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate conversion investment table. A conversion prospect should request a written cost schedule rather than treating either standard range as a conversion quote.
How does the Development Agreement change the cash commitment?
A Development Agreement requires at least two Learning Centers, while Table C illustrates a three-center commitment. The development fee is $45,000 for the first center plus $25,000 for each additional center, paid in a non-refundable lump sum. Credits are applied against the Initial Franchise Fees when each unit agreement is signed, provided the developer remains compliant.
Three-center development fee credit mechanics
For the three-center illustration, the total Development Fee is $95,000. Table C avoids double counting by placing the first center’s $45,000 franchise-fee component inside the first center investment and showing only the $50,000 for centers two and three as a separate Development Fee line.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–7, and Item 7, pp. 18–19.
The official three-center total is $224,250 to $315,750. That amount equals the disclosed investment for the first center plus the $50,000 development-fee component for the second and third commitments. It is not an estimate of the full build-out and opening cost for all three centers.
When is the money paid?
Code Ninjas payments are spread across agreement signing, training, site development, opening and the first three operating months. The exact cash calendar depends on format, landlord terms, vendor invoices and state-specific addenda.
Sign the applicable agreement
The Learning Center owes the $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee; the Studio Center owes $35,000 with its rider. A developer pays the applicable Development Fee in a lump sum, subject to state-specific amendments.
Pay training charges before Initial Management Training
The current New Franchisee Training Fee is $750 per attendee. The opening estimate assumes one attendee and separately estimates $1,500 for transportation, lodging, meals and wages.
Fund premises, build-out and required purchases before opening
Lease deposits, utilities, construction, Computer Hardware & Software, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, Signage, Initial Inventory, insurance, permits and professional costs are paid as incurred.
Run the Grand Opening Marketing Program
The Learning Center range is $8,000–$10,000 and the Studio Center range is $8,000–$12,000. For the Learning Center, the program runs from 60 days before opening to no later than 60 days after opening.
Use the included three-month Additional Funds allowance
The official total includes $20,000–$30,000 for start-up operating expenses after opening. Ongoing royalties, marketing obligations and technology charges begin according to the agreements and transaction/payment rules.
State addenda can override the ordinary “on signing” rule. The 2026 FDD includes payment-deferral provisions for Hawaii, South Dakota and Virginia tied to completion of pre-opening obligations; South Dakota also changes the timing of Development Fee payments. Review the addendum for the state where the franchise will be offered or located. Source: 2026 FDD, Exhibit H, Hawaii, South Dakota and Virginia addenda.
Which fees continue after opening?
The recurring cost contract combines percentage fees, fixed monthly charges, direct local marketing expenditure and third-party costs. The larger format pays an 8.25% Royalty Fee; the smaller format pays 12.25% of Net Sales. Both are subject to a 2.0% Marketing Contribution to the Brand Marketing Development Fund.
| Ongoing obligation | Amount or basis | When paid | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Learning Center Royalty Fee | 8.25% of Net Sales | At the transaction | Item 6 definition of Net Sales applies |
| Studio Center Royalty Fee | 12.25% of Net Sales | At the transaction | Studio Center Rider rate |
| Marketing Contribution | 2.0% of Net Sales | Same as royalties | Paid to the Brand Marketing Development Fund |
| Marketing and Advertising Expenses | Currently $350/month | Monthly | Mandatory in-house agency fee; third-party media placement is additional |
| Technology Fee | Currently $350/month | Monthly | Third-party technology vendor charges are additional |
| Local Marketing Requirement | $2,000–$2,500/month | First 24 months | Month 25 onward: 4.0% of Net Sales |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–14, and Item 11, pp. 28–30.
Percentage-based ongoing obligations
Each bar uses the same denominator—Net Sales—but the obligations are not all additive because royalty rates depend on format and local marketing timing changes after month 24.
Interpretation: format selection changes the Royalty Fee materially, while the Brand Fund and local marketing obligations sit alongside the applicable royalty. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–14, and Item 11, pp. 28–30.
How does Code Ninjas define Net Sales?
Item 6 defines Net Sales broadly as revenue from Services and Products and other income related to the Center, including barter and business-interruption insurance proceeds, while excluding sales taxes actually remitted and reasonable customer refunds, discounts and payment accommodations. Transactions processed through the designated system currently allocate applicable fees at the time of sale; other monthly amounts are generally due in the franchisor’s account on the 15th day of each month. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 13–14.
Which additional charges depend on events or non-compliance?
Item 6 contains several charges that are not part of the ordinary monthly fee stack. They become relevant when opening is late, more training is required, ownership changes, the Center relocates, payments are late or the Franchise Agreement is breached.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–7; Item 6, pp. 9–15; Item 17, pp. 41–47; and the smaller-format rider.
Does Code Ninjas disclose liquid capital, net worth or financing?
The April 3, 2026 FDD does not state a U.S. minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. The official U.S. franchise pages reviewed also do not publish a domestic minimum. Net Worth therefore should not be treated as the same figure as the disclosed opening investment, and the absence of a published threshold does not mean an applicant will qualify with only the low end of the opening range.
- Estimated Initial Investment
- The format-specific disclosed amount to establish and begin operating the franchise.
- Liquid Capital
- No U.S. minimum was disclosed in the 2026 FDD or the official domestic pages reviewed.
- Net Worth
- No U.S. minimum was disclosed; Net Worth is not the same as cash available to invest.
- Personal Guarantee
- Item 15 states that owners of a franchisee entity must guarantee performance of the Franchise Agreement; a non-owner spouse is not required to guarantee.
Item 10 says Code Ninjas does not generally offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee notes, leases or other obligations. That disclosure concerns franchisor financing only; it is not a lender approval or denial. The FTC Franchise Rule in 16 CFR Part 436 provides the federal disclosure framework for the Franchise Disclosure Document.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the official range?
The disclosed ranges are estimates, not a site-specific budget. Real estate purchases, inadequate rent abatement, local build-out conditions, third-party digital advertising, future technology upgrades, required supplier pricing and personal living costs can create obligations the official total does not fully resolve.
What capital conclusion follows from the 2026 disclosure?
A prospective U.S. franchisee should use the three format-specific ranges above without blending them. The main larger-format variables are construction, technology, fixtures, signage and premises terms. The official total already includes $20,000–$30,000 of Additional Funds for three months, but it does not replace ongoing royalties, marketing obligations, technology charges or buyer-specific reserves. The most important unresolved question is the site- and format-specific cash schedule that reconciles the current FDD, vendor quotes, lease terms and applicable state addendum.