How Much Does a Christmas Decor Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

How much does a Christmas Decor franchise cost?

A new Christmas Decor franchise has an estimated initial investment of $31,800 to $174,400 for a Community Market and $39,800 to $222,400 for a Standard Market. These are separate 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document ranges, not one blended estimate. Decor Group Franchising LLC classifies a Community Market as a territory with a base population below 100,000 and a Standard Market as one above 100,000.

$31,800–$222,400 Combined outer bounds only; the applicable range depends on market classification.

The correct decision figure is $31,800–$174,400 for a Community Market or $39,800–$222,400 for a Standard Market. The 2026 FDD Item 7 totals include the Initial Franchise Fee, setup purchases, training travel, and $11,000–$106,000 of Additional Funds for the initial six-month period. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 26–29.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Decor Group Franchising LLC. FDD issuance date: March 23, 2026. Formats analyzed: Christmas Decor Community Market and Standard Market. Primary disclosures: Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17. Information checked July 16, 2026. The matching 2026 FDD was not located on an official public franchise-controlled webpage, so FDD citations below are provided as unlinked Item and page references. See the franchisor's official franchise information and the official Christmas Decor brand site.

The FTC Franchise Rule explains why a U.S. FDD separates initial fees, other fees, estimated initial investment, financing, and the franchise relationship into distinct disclosure Items.

Capital snapshot
Initial Franchise Fee
$9,400–$75,900 Community: $9,400–$27,900. Standard: $17,400–$75,900. Due at signing.
Additional Funds
$11,000–$106,000 Included in Item 7 for the initial six-month period; personal living expenses are not quantified.
Initial Inventory & Equipment
$8,000–$20,000 Applies to both market formats and covers initial holiday-lighting products and related equipment.
Royalty Fee
5% Of annual Gross Sales attributable to Holiday Lighting Services, subject to minimums after Year 1.
MDF Contribution
1% Of annual Gross Sales attributable to Holiday Lighting Services, subject to market-based minimums.
FORMAT DIFFERENCE The Item 7 table changes only the Initial Franchise Fee components between Community and Standard Markets. The disclosed ranges for premises, vehicle, insurance, signage, inventory, technology, training travel, and Additional Funds are identical. The buyer therefore needs the territory's population classification and territory fee before treating either total as applicable.
ITEM 5 PAYMENTS

What is included in the Initial Franchise Fee?

The 2026 Initial Franchise Fee combines a fixed base fee and a territory fee. A Standard Market has a $15,900 base fee plus a $1,500–$60,000 territory fee. A Community Market has a $7,900 base fee plus a $1,500–$20,000 territory fee. The full fee is due in a lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 5.

The population-linked fee structure

The territory fee is determined before signing and may reflect territory size and type, residential households, and other demographic data. That makes the territory fee—not the equipment package—the principal disclosed difference between Christmas Decor's two market contracts.

Community Market
$9,400–$27,900
$7,900 base fee + $1,500–$20,000 territory fee
Standard Market
$17,400–$75,900
$15,900 base fee + $1,500–$60,000 territory fee

An optional Territory Option Agreement requires a $1,000 Option Fee when the agreement is signed. If the franchise is purchased before the option expires, the franchisor credits that fee against the Initial Franchise Fee. Initial fees are generally non-refundable; the FDD provides a limited refund of the Initial Franchise Fee, less franchisor expenses, if the franchisor terminates because the franchisee fails to complete Quick Start Training satisfactorily. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 5–6.

COST IMPLICATION A $1,000 Option Fee is a timing mechanism, not an extra Item 7 cost when the credit applies. It should not be added again to the Initial Franchise Fee or the Estimated Initial Investment.
ITEM 7 BREAKDOWN

What makes up the opening investment?

The opening investment is a mix of the Initial Franchise Fee, modest premises and technology allowances, required initial products, training travel, and a large six-month Additional Funds range. The following tables preserve the separate Community and Standard Market amounts disclosed in the 2026 FDD.

Contract, premises, vehicle, and insurance

Item 7 expenditure Community Market Standard Market When paid
Initial Franchise Fee—base fee $7,900 $15,900 On signing the Franchise Agreement
Initial Franchise Fee—territory fee $1,500–$20,000 $1,500–$60,000 On signing the Franchise Agreement
Initial Rent & Deposit $0–$1,500 $0–$1,500 As arranged with the lessor
Leasehold Improvements $0–$1,000 $0–$1,000 As incurred
Vehicle $0–$2,500 $0–$2,500 As arranged with the vendor
Business Licenses and Permits $0–$500 $0–$500 When required by state or local agencies
Insurance $200–$3,000 $200–$3,000 As arranged with an approved insurer

Products, systems, training, and working capital

Item 7 expenditure Community Market Standard Market What the amount covers
Initial Printing, Signage & Uniform Supply Package $1,750–$7,000 $1,750–$7,000 Business forms, promotional print, signs, and uniforms
Legal and Accounting Fees $250–$1,500 $250–$1,500 Entity formation and initial books and records
Initial Inventory and Equipment $8,000–$20,000 $8,000–$20,000 Lights, garland, wreaths, fasteners, and related Holiday Lighting Services items
Computer System $0–$2,000 $0–$2,000 Printer, cables, peripherals, and compatible equipment
Quick Start Training—travel and living expenses $1,200–$1,500 $1,200–$1,500 Travel, hotel, and meals for up to three attendees
Additional Funds for initial six-month period $11,000–$106,000 $11,000–$106,000 Pre-opening and early operating funds, including estimated payroll of $10,000–$100,000

Source for both tables: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 26–29. The official totals remain $31,800–$174,400 for a Community Market and $39,800–$222,400 for a Standard Market.

FDD CAVEAT The Item 7 table lists Initial Rent & Deposit at $0–$1,500, while Note 2 says first-six-month premises cost may be $0–$9,000 including the security deposit. The FDD does not separately reconcile that full six-month premises figure to another line. A buyer should obtain a written explanation of where expected ongoing rent is reflected in the official total.
PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The largest contract payment occurs when the Franchise Agreement is signed, but the rest of the Item 7 investment is paid as premises, products, insurance, technology, training, and payroll obligations arise. The 2026 FDD describes the following cash sequence.

Receive and review the disclosure documents. The FDD cover states that the buyer must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The current federal rule text is available in 16 CFR Part 436.
Pay the optional $1,000 Option Fee, if an Option Agreement is used. It is due when the Option Agreement is signed and is credited against the Initial Franchise Fee if the franchise purchase closes before the option expires.
Pay the Initial Franchise Fee at Franchise Agreement signing. Community Market: $9,400–$27,900. Standard Market: $17,400–$75,900.
Pay setup costs as arranged or incurred. Rent and deposit, leasehold work, vehicle costs, insurance, business licenses, signage, uniforms, professional fees, inventory, and computer equipment are paid to the relevant lessor, supplier, agency, insurer, or professional.
Fund Quick Start Training and opening. The FDD estimates $1,200–$1,500 for travel and living expenses. Item 11 says training must generally be completed within 30 days after signing and before Holiday Lighting Services are offered; the business is also required to open within 30 days after the Franchise Agreement becomes effective, subject to approved delays.
Use Additional Funds through the initial six months. The disclosed $11,000–$106,000 includes early operating funds and estimated payroll of $10,000–$100,000. Personal living expenses must also be supportable for at least six months, but the FDD does not assign them a dollar amount.
ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

Christmas Decor's principal continuing charges are a 5% Royalty Fee and a 1% Marketing Development Fund contribution, each based on annual Gross Sales attributable to Holiday Lighting Services. After the First Franchise Year, both are subject to minimum payment schedules tied to the prior Franchise Year's annual Gross Sales and the territory's market classification. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–21.

Continuing obligation Amount or basis Payment timing Format difference
Royalty Fee 5% of annual Gross Sales attributable to Holiday Lighting Services First year: due by January 20 after year-end. Years 2–5: 11 monthly minimum remittances, February–December, with January reconciliation. Standard annual minimums: $3,050–$6,950. Community annual minimums: $2,750–$4,250, depending on prior-year Gross Sales.
Marketing Development Fund contribution 1% of annual Gross Sales attributable to Holiday Lighting Services First year: due by January 20 after year-end. Years 2–5: 11 monthly minimum payments, February–December, with January reconciliation. Standard annual minimums: $640–$1,150. Community annual minimums: $550–$850. With required approval, the rate may be raised but not above 2%.
Local or Regional Advertising Materials Reasonable charge; FDD estimate of 2%–8% of Gross Sales for each Franchise Year When invoiced Conditional on franchisor-created local or regional materials; no separate market schedule is stated.
Software License Annual Renewal Fee $1,897 Essentials; $2,395 Plus; $4,389 Enterprise On or before August 1 after the First Franchise Year Depends on selected plan, users, sessions, and crew licenses. Essentials and support are included for the First Franchise Year.
Conferences and continuing education Reasonable registration fee plus travel, lodging, and related costs When attended One conference registration is credited during the initial period; required attendance and out-of-pocket travel continue.

How the minimum Royalty Fee changes by market

Prior-year Gross Sales: $0–$100,000
Standard Market: greater of $3,050 or 5%. Community Market: greater of $2,750 or 5%.
$100,001–$150,000
Standard Market: greater of $3,950 or 5%. Community Market: greater of $3,050 or 5%.
$150,001–$200,000
Standard Market: greater of $5,000 or 5%. Community Market: greater of $3,500 or 5%.
Greater than $200,000
Standard Market: greater of $6,950 or 5%. Community Market: greater of $4,250 or 5%.

The percentage is not converted here into an annual dollar estimate because the 2026 FDD states the fee basis,not a forecast of a buyer's Gross Sales. The First Franchise Year runs from the Franchise Agreement's effective date through December 31; subsequent Franchise Years follow the calendar year.

FINANCING AND CAPITAL

Does Christmas Decor disclose liquid-capital or net-worth requirements?

No separate Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum is stated in the 2026 FDD Items 5, 7, or 10. That absence does not reduce the applicable Estimated Initial Investment or the need to fund personal living expenses. A buyer's working capital benchmark remains the relevant Item 7 range, plus any unquantified obligations and costs outside the FDD assumptions.

What financing does the franchisor disclose?

Decor Group Franchising LLC may, in its sole discretion, finance part of the territory fee. The amount is the lesser of 50% of the territory fee or $7,500, with a maximum 18-month term and a 10% annual percentage rate. Payments must be made by automatic bank draft or credit card. The note requires a personal guaranty and security agreement; the FDD also states that a spouse, if any, or all owners of an entity must sign the guaranty. The franchisor does not disclose other financing arrangements or guarantee third-party debt. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 32–33.

BUYER VERIFICATION Franchisor financing changes payment timing, not the official investment range. Confirm the exact territory fee, financed principal, down payment, guarantors, collateral, monthly payment, and default terms in the Promissory Note before treating the $7,500 maximum as available.
CONDITIONAL OBLIGATIONS

Which costs arise only after a specific event?

The 2026 FDD also discloses event-triggered charges that are not part of ordinary opening costs. These amounts matter when a franchise is renewed, transferred, audited, paid late, terminated, or required to complete extra training.

Renewal $2,000 Renewal Fee. Renewal is for successive five-year periods and requires the then-current Franchise Agreement, which may contain higher Royalty Fees or Marketing Development Fund contributions. Items 6 and 17, pp. 14 and 51–54.
Transfer $2,500 Transfer Fee. The buyer must also pay the then-current startup fee, stated as $2,500 in the 2026 FDD, and complete required training. Items 6 and 17, pp. 13 and 52–53.
Additional or refresher training Currently $399 plus reimbursement of travel, lodging, meals, space rental, and related costs. Missing required continuing education may trigger an online-program access charge currently stated as $850. Item 6, pp. 13–21.
Late annual reporting or Royalty Fee payment $500 per occurrence plus $50 for each month reporting or payment remains delinquent. Other past-due amounts may carry the lesser of 1.5% per month or the maximum legal rate. Item 6, pp. 14–15.
Audit exception $3,000 Audit Administration Fee plus actual audit costs if Gross Sales are understated by at least 2% or required records are not made available, plus unpaid fees and interest. Item 6, pp. 15–16.
Unapproved product or supplier request Estimated Product Testing Costs of $100–$1,000 for each required test. Item 6, p. 15; Item 8, pp. 29–30.
Early termination after default or franchisee termination without cause A lump-sum Termination Fee equal to up to 24 months of minimum Royalty Fees, or the minimum Royalty Fees for the remaining term if shorter. Item 6, pp. 14 and 21–22.
COST LIMITS

What does the official range not fully resolve?

The Item 7 totals are franchisor estimates, not a buyer-specific construction or operating budget. Christmas Decor can be operated from a home or as an add-on to an existing related business, which explains several $0 low-end amounts, but those assumptions may not fit every territory or operator.

Confirm the market classification and exact territory fee. Population above or below 100,000 determines the base fee and territory-fee ceiling.
Reconcile premises costs. Item 7 lists $0–$1,500 for Initial Rent & Deposit, while its note discusses up to $9,000 over the first six months.
Budget personal living expenses separately. The FDD requires the ability to cover at least six months but does not disclose an amount.
Verify the vehicle assumption. The $0–$2,500 estimate may represent conversion of an existing service vehicle or an initial lease payment, not the full purchase price of a new vehicle.
Price required suppliers and insurance locally. Item 8 says 100% of required lighting products, other products, and establishment materials must come from approved suppliers, and required insurance limits must be maintained.
Select the software tier and plan for upgrades. Annual license fees range from $1,897 to $4,389 after Year 1; Item 11 also estimates future computer-system updates at $100–$500 when required.
Separate Item 7 from continuing percentage fees. Royalty Fee, Marketing Development Fund, and conditional advertising charges are not converted into unsupported annual dollar forecasts.

The FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide and the FTC amended Franchise Rule FAQs provide official context for reviewing disclosure timing and material agreement terms.

DECISION SUMMARY

What capital figure should a buyer use?

Use the market-specific 2026 Item 7 range: $31,800–$174,400 for a Community Market or $39,800–$222,400 for a Standard Market. The Initial Franchise Fee is only one component. The widest disclosed variable is Additional Funds at $11,000–$106,000 for six months, followed by the market-dependent territory fee. The FDD does not publish a separate Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold and does not quantify six months of personal living expenses, so those issues require direct written verification before the Franchise Agreement is signed.