How Much Does a Christian Brothers Automotive Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Christian Brothers Automotive franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $515,250 to $650,400 to establish the current single-location Christian Brothers Automotive Franchised Business in the United States. That figure is the Item 7 total, not merely the Initial Franchise Fee, and it already includes the disclosed working-capital allowance for the first three months of operations.

$515,250–$650,400

Estimated Initial Investment for one CBA automotive repair facility under the April 17, 2026 FDD. The range includes the initial fee, required equipment, a shuttle vehicle, launch marketing, training travel, and $30,000 to $40,000 of Additional Funds. Real Estate and Improvements are shown as $0 at startup because the premises are leased or subleased after development.

Data basis: Christian Brothers Automotive Corporation, a Texas corporation, is the legal franchisor. The analysis uses the U.S. FDD issued April 17, 2026: Items 5 and 6, pages 6–18; Item 7, pages 18–25; and cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11, 16, and 17. The current offer starts new franchisees with one CBA location; the multi-unit program and On-Location Vehicle Program are limited to qualifying existing franchisees. Information was checked July 18, 2026 against the official U.S. franchise website. No matching document was located on an official franchise-controlled public webpage, so FDD Item and page references below are intentionally unlinked.

Capital snapshot

For the April 17, 2026 single-location disclosure, the following figures answer different parts of the capital question. None should be substituted for the full official range.

Initial Franchise Fee $85,000 Paid in one lump sum at the earlier of the Letter Agreement or Franchise Agreement.
Paid to franchisor or affiliates $392,500–$419,000 The disclosure cover states this amount is included within the total investment.
Additional Funds $30,000–$40,000 Included in the opening total and intended for the first three months of operations.
Base rent after commencement $22,000–$38,000/mo. Approximate new-store base rent, before triple-net costs and annual increases.
Official-site liquid capital $85,000 A supplemental qualification figure, not the total investment or guaranteed loan equity.
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the opening range?

For the 2026 single-location offer, the disclosed total combines fourteen expenditure categories for one CBA facility. The two tables below preserve the official low and high bounds and show when each obligation is expected to arise.

Agreement, premises, and operating assets

Opening expenditure Amount When paid FDD pages
Initial Franchise Fee $85,000 Earlier of signing the Letter Agreement or Franchise Agreement pp. 18, 21–22
Real Estate and Improvements $0 at startup Monthly rent after lease commencement pp. 19, 22–23
Equipment, Furniture and Software $270,000–$300,000 Before opening, upon franchisor invoice pp. 19, 23
Shuttle Vehicle $30,000–$50,000 Before opening; purchase, finance, or lease pp. 19, 23–24
Shuttle Vehicle Wrap $1,750–$3,400 Before opening pp. 19, 23–24
Inventory $11,000–$12,000 Before opening and then as needed pp. 19, 24
Security Deposits $5,000 Before opening, to local utilities pp. 19, 24
Signs $0 Included in project cost or construction financing pp. 19, 24

Launch, protection, and initial working capital

Opening expenditure Amount When paid FDD pages
Insurance and Business License $15,000–$60,000 Before opening or through premium installments pp. 19, 24
Marketing/Advertising $35,000–$40,000 During the first year pp. 20, 24
New Store Opening Marketing/Advertising $20,000–$30,000 About 90 days before opening through 60 days after pp. 20, 24
Pre-Opening Training Travel/Salary $7,500–$10,000 Starting about 90 days before opening pp. 20, 24–25
Other Payments $5,000–$15,000 At or near startup, including financing and professional fees pp. 20, 25
Additional Funds During Initial 3 Months $30,000–$40,000 During the first three months of operations pp. 20, 25
Total Estimated Initial Investment $515,250–$650,400 Official total, p. 20
FDD CAVEAT

The first-year local marketing amount is $55,000 to $70,000 in total: the $35,000 to $40,000 Marketing/Advertising line plus the $20,000 to $30,000 New Store Opening Marketing/Advertising line. Both amounts are already inside the official total, so adding $55,000 to $70,000 again would double-count marketing.

REAL ESTATE MODEL

Why does Item 7 show $0 for real estate and improvements?

For the 2026 single-location offer, the table shows $0 at startup because the franchisor, an affiliated entity, or a contracted party generally acquires or leases the site and develops or retrofits the building. The franchisee then leases or subleases the premises. The building cost is therefore converted into a continuing lease obligation rather than appearing as an upfront land-and-construction payment.

How the premises cost moves through the model

Site and build

The franchisor selects the site, acquires or leases the property, and constructs or retrofits the automotive repair facility.

Startup entry

Real Estate and Improvements are listed at $0 in the disclosure, and signage is included in the project cost or construction financing.

Ongoing occupancy

New-store base rent is approximately $22,000 to $38,000 per month, plus triple-net charges, with a 1.5% annual base-rent increase.

The franchisor generally attempts to provide up to a six-month rent-free period for a new CBA store, but the FDD says that treatment is subject to the financial terms of each development project. Once rent begins, the franchisee also bears property taxes, assessments, insurance, maintenance, association dues, common-area charges, utilities, and other amounts in the Commercial Lease or Commercial Sub-Lease Agreement. A requested site can also exceed the stated $38,000 monthly high end if the franchisee signs a written acknowledgment accepting higher rent.

COST IMPLICATION

$0 at startup does not mean free real estate. It means the premises obligation sits mainly outside the opening total and becomes a substantial monthly lease cost after commencement.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

For the 2026 single-location offer, the cash is not due on one date. The disclosure creates a sequence beginning with the initial fee, continuing through site and loan milestones, and ending with launch expenses and the first three months of working capital.

1

Letter Agreement or Franchise Agreement

Pay the $85,000 initial fee at the earlier signing. The first $20,000 is earned and non-refundable when paid.

2

Land or existing-building contract

The remaining $65,000 becomes earned and non-refundable when the franchisor executes a contract for the Land or an existing building. The disclosure describes limited refund rights before that event.

3

Financing and certificate-of-occupancy window

Other Payments of $5,000 to $15,000 can include loan, application, legal, and professional charges. The Loan Administration Fee is $2,500 with in-house administration or $4,000 when the franchisee arranges startup financing independently. It is due at startup-loan closing, which the disclosure says generally occurs about 30 days before the Certificate of Occupancy.

4

Roughly 90 days before opening through launch

Training travel begins, and New Store Opening Marketing/Advertising runs from about 90 days before opening through 60 days after opening. Equipment, inventory, the shuttle vehicle, utility deposits, and required insurance are funded before opening.

5

First three months of operations

Use the $30,000 to $40,000 working-capital allowance for general office supplies, employees, vendors, and utilities. The FDD does not identify personal living expenses as part of this amount.

The franchisor's official ownership-step overview places FDD review before the agreement-and-payment stage. The FDD itself governs the exact payment and refund terms.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

Under the 2026 single-location agreement, the largest continuing obligations are the Royalty Fee, occupancy costs, marketing payments, accounting and technology charges, and local advertising. Some are fixed or approximately fixed; others vary with Split Profits, vendor pricing, data usage, the site, or system decisions.

How does the Royalty Fee work?

Under the April 17, 2026 single-location disclosure, the franchisor charges 50% of monthly Split Profits during the initial term and renewal periods. The estimated monthly payment is due on the last day of the succeeding month and is reconciled annually. “Split Profits” means all money, revenue, and items of value connected with the Franchised Business minus Shared Expenses defined by the franchisor. An Unshared Expense requires an equal Royalty Fee payment at the same time, even if the ordinary Split Profits calculation would produce a different result. This is not a percentage of gross sales and should not be converted into an annual dollar estimate.

Recurring and continuing cost schedule

Continuing obligation Amount or basis Timing FDD reference
Royalty Fee 50% of monthly Split Profits Estimated monthly; annual true-up Item 6 pp. 8, 15–16
Administrative and Accounting Fees $550/month Monthly; optional tax services add $25/month and $75/year Item 6 pp. 9, 16
National and Regional Marketing Programs Prorated share; combined cap based on 3% Monthly after six months in operation Item 6 pp. 9–10, 16–17
IT Support Fee $200/month First day of each month Item 6 p. 12
Software Maintenance/License Fees Approx. $11,000/year Calculated annually, drafted monthly; data overages extra Item 6 pp. 12, 16
Operating Systems and Internet Failover Approx. $725/month Monthly; data overages extra Item 6 pp. 13, 16
Base Rent Approx. $22,000–$38,000/month First of each month, plus triple-net costs Item 6 pp. 11, 17–18
Local Marketing $40,000–$65,000 in year two; 1%–2% suggested later Paid directly for approved local advertising Item 11 pp. 37–38

The combined National Program and Regional Program Maximum Annual Cost equals 3% of the average total annual revenue for the previous calendar year among franchisees open at least 12 months at year-end. It is not 3% of the individual franchisee's own sales. As of December 31, 2025, the franchisor was charging $12,500 in total annual Marketing Funds payments. Local Marketing is separate: the second-year recommendation is $40,000 to $65,000, and the later 1% to 2% metric is a suggested percentage of annual gross revenue, excluding Marketing Funds and any Market-Wide Marketing Co-op charges.

CONDITIONAL CHARGES

Which fees arise only after a specific event?

For the 2026 single-location offer, Item 6 contains several charges that are not part of routine monthly operation. They become material when the franchisee renews, transfers, sells, defaults, requests extra services, or enters an optional program.

  • Additional Training and Support: the franchisor sets the fee when services are provided. The franchisee also pays travel and living expenses; no such training fee had been charged as of the FDD date.
  • Transfer Fee: $30,000 total—$10,000 when the franchisor approves the signed term sheet or letter of intent and $20,000 at closing.
  • Transaction Fee: if the franchisor is authorized to find an outside buyer or supplies the buyer, the charge is the greater of 7% of gross transaction value or $50,000, in addition to the Transfer Fee. The deposit is the greater of $10,000 or 1% of the listed price.
  • Renewal Fee: 10% of the initial fee charged for the most recently sold franchise at the time of renewal. The initial term is 15 years, with three possible five-year renewal terms.
  • Step-In Rights Management Fee: $5,000 per month plus reasonable compensation, professional expenses, and other management costs when the franchisor exercises Step-In Rights.
  • Liquidated Damages: a formula based on the average monthly Royalty Fees over the prior 12 months multiplied by the lesser of 48 months or the full months remaining, when termination follows specified confidentiality or non-compete violations.
  • Sale Event Royalty Fee: 50% of net sales proceeds, defined as gross sale proceeds less outstanding debt balances, due when an approved successor acquires the Franchised Business or control changes.
  • System-required equipment changes: Item 16 permits required additional equipment, supplies, or inventory, subject to a disclosed cap of $40,000 per year.
  • Remodel and renewal work: the Franchise Agreement requires the premises to be remodeled every 15 years, and renewal can require then-current refurbishment, redesign, equipment replacement, displays, materials, and inventory. The disclosure does not state a dollar amount; Item 10 financing is discretionary, not guaranteed.

Disclosure source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 8–17; Item 16, page 53; Item 17, pages 54–56; Franchise Agreement Sections 3.05 and 10.26.

LIQUIDITY AND FINANCING

How much liquid capital is required, and what financing is disclosed?

For the 2026 single-location offer, the current official franchise investment page states that new owners can begin with $85,000 of initial liquid capital and says an average of 82% to 83% of the investment may be financed over ten years through SBA loans. Those website figures are not the same as the official opening total, and they do not guarantee lender approval, a specific equity injection, or final loan terms.

Liquid Capital
The current official investment page states $85,000. This is cash-access capacity, not the total project cost.
Net Worth
No minimum net-worth figure is stated in the disclosure. A live official franchise FAQ mentions $250,000, but the same page also displays an older $135,000 franchise-fee figure and an outdated investment range. Because those figures conflict with the April 17, 2026 disclosure, $250,000 is not treated here as a verified current requirement.
Non-Borrowed Funds
The disclosure does not state a universal minimum. The lender's required equity and source-of-funds rules remain transaction-specific.
Startup Financing
The franchisor does not offer or guarantee general startup financing. External financing may include application, loan, closing, and professional fees within the disclosed Other Payments category.
Franchisor Financing
Item 10, pages 33–34, allows discretionary financing for required remodels and renovations and may allow Vehicle financing for the On-Location Vehicle Program.

For remodel and renovation loans, the franchisor may provide 100% unsecured financing without a collateral security interest or personal or third-party guaranty. For an On-Location Vehicle loan, it may provide 100% secured financing, take a security interest in the Vehicle, and charge a non-refundable 1% origination fee. Both programs use a variable interest rate of SOFR plus 3% measured two business days before the loan date, subject to change and approval. The benchmark can be checked through the New York Fed's SOFR reference-rate information.

The franchisor's website describes frequent use of SBA financing, but an SBA guaranty supports an approved lender rather than replacing underwriting. The SBA 7(a) loan program explains eligible uses and lender participation. A prospective franchisee should reconcile the lender's equity requirement, collateral treatment, fees, and disbursement schedule with each opening payment milestone.

BUYER VERIFICATION

This liquid-capital figure should not be read as a promise that it is the only personal cash required. Verify the lender's down payment, working-capital reserve, closing costs, and any amount due before loan proceeds can be disbursed.

FORMAT DIFFERENCES

Do multi-unit, transition, or mobile formats use the same cost range?

No. For the 2026 offer, the disclosed opening range is the standard range for one CBA Franchised Business. The FDD identifies other development paths, but it does not publish a separate compatible total that can be blended into that range.

Single location and later multi-unit ownership

Under the 2026 disclosure, new franchisees begin with one location. The multi-unit program is available only to existing franchisees, and the franchisor reserves the right to limit an operator to three CBA facilities. The official franchise opportunity page also describes additional units as a later path rather than an initial new-franchisee commitment. Because the disclosure provides no separate multi-unit investment table or development-fee schedule, multiplying the single-store range is not an official multi-unit estimate.

Transition store

Under the 2026 transition-store provisions, a buyer of an existing CBA location generally receives the remaining franchise term and lease term. Unless the franchisor and the buyer agree otherwise, rent equals the seller's existing lease amount. The disclosure includes $20,000 to $30,000 of new-store or transition marketing but does not include a resale purchase price in the opening total. Acquisition price, assumed debt, working capital, and required refurbishment therefore require a transaction-specific review.

On-Location Vehicle Program

Under the 2026 optional-program provisions, the franchisor may license qualifying existing franchisees to operate an On-Location Vehicle Program. The required outfitted Vehicle is estimated at $65,000 to $120,000, outside the standard opening range. The Vehicle must generally be replaced after seven years or 150,000 miles, whichever comes first, and the operator bears storage, maintenance, repair, and replacement costs. If it finances the Vehicle, the 1% origination fee and SOFR-plus-3% terms described in Item 10 apply.

Honorably discharged current or former U.S. Armed Forces members can receive a 10% discount on the $85,000 initial fee, reducing it to $76,500. The discount affects that fee only, not equipment, rent, marketing, insurance, or other opening categories. The current official veterans program page confirms a 10% incentive. The official investment page uses broader wording about the discount, but the April 17, 2026 disclosure applies it only to the initial fee; that narrower scope is used here.

Disclosure source: 2026 FDD, Item 1, page 2; Item 7, pages 20, 22 and 24; Item 8, pages 28–29; Item 10, pages 33–34.

UNRESOLVED VARIABLES

What costs are not fully resolved by the official range?

For the 2026 single-location offer, the FDD is an estimate, not a project-specific budget. Several obligations depend on geography, financing, site economics, insurance underwriting, vendor pricing, or later system requirements.

  • Lease economics: obtain the actual base rent, triple-net estimate, rent-free period, commencement date, 1.5% escalation, and any written approval for rent above $38,000.
  • Insurance and licenses: confirm premiums, deposits, local permits, and lender-required coverages. California applicants, for example, can verify the current Automotive Repair Dealer fee through the California Bureau of Automotive Repair licensing page.
  • Technology variability: confirm current vendor pricing, software changes, data overages, and whether the upfront software amount is embedded in the broader Equipment, Furniture and Software invoice.
  • Training cash needs: the disclosed $7,500 to $10,000 amount is described as travel for training. Optional personal compensation and personal living expenses should not be assumed to be included.
  • Marketing layers: separate first-year local marketing, opening marketing, Marketing Funds, and any approved Market-Wide Marketing Co-op requirement.
  • Required suppliers and future purchases: Item 8 estimates about 95% of establishment expenditures are subject to sourcing restrictions, and Item 16 permits later required purchases up to $40,000 per year.
  • Financing gap: compare the loan's eligible uses and disbursement timing with invoices that become due before opening; financing approval is not guaranteed by the franchisor.
  • Personal liability: review the required spousal acknowledgement and joinder. The disclosure states that a spouse can be made liable for financial obligations even without an ownership interest.
  • Latest disclosure: request any amendment or quarterly update before signing. The FTC franchise buying guide explains the role of Items 5, 6, and 7 and the federal disclosure timing rule.
CAPITAL DECISION

What does the buyer need to reconcile before signing?

The verified starting point is $515,250 to $650,400 for one CBA facility under the April 17, 2026 FDD. The largest upfront component is $270,000 to $300,000 for Equipment, Furniture and Software. The most important amount outside the opening total is the premises obligation: approximately $22,000 to $38,000 in monthly base rent after commencement, plus triple-net costs and annual escalation.

The initial fee and official-site liquid-capital figure are both $85,000, but they and the full official investment range answer different questions. A buyer should match each payment deadline to committed loan proceeds and available cash, then separately budget the ongoing royalty, marketing payments, local advertising, technology charges, occupancy costs, and event-triggered fees.