How Much Does a Cell Phone Repair Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Cell Phone Repair franchise cost?

The March 27, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $90,350 to $360,500 to open and begin operating one CPR Franchise Business. A separate Multi-Store Development Agreement has a disclosed entry range of $130,250 to $415,400 for development rights covering five to eight CPR Franchise Businesses plus the investment in the first location. The multi-store total does not fund the later locations.

$90,350–$360,500 One CPR Franchise Business under the Franchise Agreement

Multi-store entry: $130,250–$415,400 for five to eight development rights and the first CPR Franchise Business. The 2026 FDD does not publish separate Item 7 totals for Class A, Class C, co-located, retail merchandising unit, or kiosk formats, so site and format differences remain inside the single-store range.

Data basis: Legal franchisor MMI-CPR, LLC dba Cell Phone Repair; U.S. FDD issued March 27, 2026; standard Franchise Agreement and Multi-Store Development Agreement; FDD Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; checked July 15, 2026. The brand's official U.S. franchise information was checked for current program descriptions and website disclosures.

No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled domain. FDD citations in this article therefore remain unlinked and identify the year, Item, and exact page.

$25,000 Initial Franchise Fee First CPR Franchise Business; reductions or waivers apply to specified programs.
$15,000 Training Fee Standard first-store fee; $5,000 or waived in specified circumstances.
5.8% Royalty Gross Volume; paid twice monthly, with a later $600 minimum per payment.
$285/mo. National Advertising Fund Current FDD amount; inflation adjustment and future percentage right apply.
$195/mo. Technology Fee May increase to $250 with reasonable notice.
$5,000–$20,000 Additional Funds First three months; owner compensation is excluded.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5–7, pp. 8–16.
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the $90,350 to $360,500 range?

The 2026 Item 7 total includes the signing fee, training-related purchases, opening inventory, store setup, three months of rent and insurance, launch marketing, and three months of Additional Funds. The line items are estimates rather than a promise that every location will fit within each component range.

Signing, tools, and training

Item 7 expenditure Disclosed range When due Payee
Initial Franchise Fee $0–$25,000 Upon signing the Franchise Agreement MMI-CPR, LLC
Tools, Supplies and Equipment $5,000–$26,000 Before Initial Training Vendors
Training Devices $500–$4,500 Before Initial Training Vendors
Case Ready Devices $3,000–$10,000 Before Initial Training Vendors
Training Fee $0–$15,000 Before Initial Training MMI-CPR, LLC
Training: Travel Expenses $1,000–$5,000 Before the Initial Training Program Airlines, hotels, and vendors
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–15.

Inventory and physical store setup

Item 7 expenditure Disclosed range When due Payee
Inventory – Parts $40,000–$100,000 Before Initial Training Vendors
Inventory – Accessories $10,000–$20,000 Before Initial Training Vendors
Furniture, Fixture and Graphics Package $10,000–$35,000 Before Initial Training Vendors
Leasehold Improvements $0–$40,000 Before opening Authorized suppliers
Retail Equipment, Computer System and Promotional Supplies $1,000–$10,000 Before opening Vendors
External Signage $3,000–$10,000 Before opening Vendors
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–16. Item 11, p. 25 separately estimates the Computer System at approximately $800–$3,300; that amount should not be added again when it is already covered by the Item 7 computer-system line.

Premises, launch, and operating runway

Item 7 expenditure Disclosed range Timing Payee
Legal and Accounting $0–$1,000 As required Attorney, CPA, or state agency
Business Licenses and Permits $350–$2,000 As required Local agency
Insurance – 3 Months $2,000–$4,000 As incurred Insurance company
Rent – 3 Months $1,500–$18,000 Monthly Landlord
Grand Opening $3,000–$10,000 As incurred; at least $3,000 within 90 days after opening Vendors
Marketing $5,000 As incurred Vendors
Additional Funds – 3 Months $5,000–$20,000 As incurred Employees and vendors
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–16.
FDD CAVEAT

Item 7, p. 14 prints $36,500 in the high-end Total cell. The FDD cover states $360,500, the multi-store Item 7 table uses $360,500 for the first CPR Franchise Business, and the compatible high-end line items sum to $360,500. This article treats the shorter figure as a missing-zero typographical error and uses $360,500. A prospective franchisee should have the franchisor confirm the corrected total in writing.

RANGE COMPARISON

How does the single-business range compare with multi-store entry?

The Multi-Store Development Agreement adds a development fee to the first-location investment. Its $130,250 to $415,400 range covers rights for five to eight CPR Franchise Businesses and the first location only; each later Designated Area brings another full store investment.

Multi-Store Development Fee ladder

The initial development fee is $39,900 for the first five CPR Franchise Businesses, then $5,000 for each additional business in the disclosed five-to-eight range. The calculations below apply the FDD formula and do not include the investment required to open each later location.

5 rights$39,900
6 rights$44,900
7 rights$49,900
8 rights$54,900
Derived from the 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 9 and Item 7, p. 13: $39,900 for five rights plus $5,000 per additional right.
COST DRIVERS

Which Item 7 categories create the widest cost variation?

Opening parts inventory is the largest disclosed line-item range, reaching $100,000. Leasehold Improvements, the Furniture, Fixture and Graphics Package, and Tools, Supplies and Equipment are the next major variables. These categories explain why site type and opening inventory can move the total sharply even though Item 7 publishes one range across approved store formats.

PROGRAM DIFFERENCES

How do new-store, conversion, acquisition, and multi-store fees differ?

The $0 low end for the Initial Franchise Fee and Training Fee does not mean every buyer pays nothing. It reflects program-specific waivers, prior ownership, conversions, and acquisitions. Eligibility is not interchangeable across the programs described in the 2026 FDD.

Development path Initial payment treatment Minimum Royalty treatment Item 10 assistance
First CPR Franchise Business $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $15,000 Training Fee $600-per-payment minimum waived for first 6 months Up to $15,000 for approved fixtures, tools, and equipment if qualified
Store Conversion Program (SCP) Initial Franchise Fee waived; Training Fee reduced to $5,000 Minimum waived for first 6 months Up to $15,000 if qualified
GROWTH Program Initial Franchise Fee and Training Fee waived for the additional business Minimum waived for first 6 months Up to $15,000 if qualified
SAVE Program Initial Franchise Fee and Training Fee waived for the eligible acquisition Minimum waived for first 12 months Up to $12,500 for approved fixtures if qualified
Conversion or resale outside the named waiver programs $5,000 Initial Franchise Fee; a new franchisee buying an existing business pays a $5,000 Training Fee Depends on the applicable agreement or addendum No broader amount should be assumed
Multi-Store Development Program $39,900 for first 5 rights plus $5,000 per additional right; Initial Franchise Fee and Training Fee waived for developed businesses Apply the executed agreements The disclosed multi-store total includes only the first location investment
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 3–4; Item 5, pp. 8–9; Item 6, pp. 9–10; Item 10, pp. 21–22.

The brand's official conversion-program page describes the conversion path. The controlling cost details should be reconciled to the current FDD and the specific addendum offered to the buyer.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the opening money paid?

Cash requirements begin at contract signing, accelerate before Initial Training, and continue through site build-out and the first three operating months. Item 11 states that opening or conversion typically takes about 120 days and must occur within six months after signing the Franchise Agreement.

At contract signingThe Initial Franchise Fee is due with the Franchise Agreement unless a reduction or waiver applies. A multi-store developer instead pays the non-refundable development fee when the Multi-Store Development Agreement is signed.
After signing and before Initial TrainingThe Training Fee is paid before attendance. Tools, Training Devices, Case Ready Devices, opening parts inventory, accessories, and the Furniture, Fixture and Graphics Package are generally purchased before training.
Before opening the SiteLeasehold Improvements, Retail Equipment, the Computer System, External Signage, licenses, permits, insurance, and rent arrangements come due as work is completed or contracts begin.
At launch and during the first three monthsGrand Opening spending, the fixed $5,000 Marketing line, and Additional Funds support the opening period. At least $3,000 of Grand Opening marketing must be spent within 90 days after opening.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 8–16; Item 11, pp. 24–25.
ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after the CPR Franchise Business opens?

The principal continuing charges are the Royalty, National Advertising Fund contribution, Local Advertising Expenditure, Technology Fee, insurance, and required system maintenance. Percentage fees use the FDD's defined Gross Volume basis; they should not be converted into annual dollars without actual operating data.

Continuing obligation Amount or basis Payment timing Key qualification
Royalty 5.8% of Gross Volume Twice monthly, within 3 days after each accounting period After the applicable waiver, minimum is $600 per payment; the Renewal Addendum can use 4.0% where the prior Royalty was capped at 4%
National Advertising Fund $285 per month Within 3 days after month-end Inflation adjustment applies; MMI-CPR reserves the right to charge up to 2% of Gross Volume in the future
Local Advertising Expenditure At least 2% of Gross Volume Measured each calendar quarter A Local Advertising Cooperative contribution, if established, is credited against this expenditure
Local Advertising Cooperative Up to 2% of Gross Volume Same manner as the National Advertising Fund Only if a cooperative is established in the area
Technology Fee $195 per month Monthly May increase to $250 with reasonable notice
Insurance Varies Monthly or per policy terms Coverage types and limits can change
CPR Franchise Business upgrades $0–$5,000 per year Within 10 days of invoice FDD estimate only; additional expenses can occur
Computer System maintenance and upgrades Estimated no more than $1,500 per year As required No contractual limit on frequency or cost
National Accounts administration Up to 6.5% of Gross Volume from National Accounts When participating Applies only to Gross Volume derived from those accounts
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–12; Item 11, pp. 25–29.
SOURCE CONFLICT

When checked July 15, 2026, the official franchise page displayed a $150 monthly Technology Fee and described the National Advertising Fund as up to 2% of Gross Sales. The newer 2026 FDD states $195 per month for Technology Fee and a current $285 monthly National Advertising Fund contribution, while reserving a future right of up to 2% of Gross Volume. The FDD figures are used here; the buyer should require the current fee schedule in the Franchise Agreement and any addendum.

FINANCIAL QUALIFICATIONS

Does CPR disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?

No numerical Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold is disclosed in the reviewed 2026 FDD. MMI-CPR states that it reviews credit score and Net Worth when deciding eligibility for its Item 10 fixtures, tools, and equipment assistance, but it does not state a minimum score or minimum Net Worth.

First business, SCP, or GROWTH
Up to $15,000 of approved fixtures, tools, and equipment if the applicant satisfies the program conditions.
SAVE or Renewal Addendum
Up to $12,500 for specified approved fixtures or tools if the existing franchisee qualifies.
How funds move
MMI-CPR places the order and pays the approved supplier directly; the assistance is not a general cash payment to the franchisee.
Repayment trigger
No interest or periodic payments are disclosed. A pro-rata amount becomes repayable if the Franchise Agreement terminates before the end of its term.
Other financing
Except for the Item 10 assistance, MMI-CPR does not offer other direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee the lease or other obligations.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 21–22.
BUYER VERIFICATION

The official franchise and conversion pages displayed “up to $20,000” in store-development funds when checked July 15, 2026, while Item 10 discloses up to $15,000 or $12,500 depending on the program. Until MMI-CPR supplies updated written disclosure terms, a buyer should not budget the website's higher amount as available capital.

CONDITIONAL OBLIGATIONS

What fees can be triggered by transfer, default, or additional support?

These charges are not ordinary opening costs, but they can become material after signing. Their amount depends on a later event, contract status, or the cost MMI-CPR incurs.

  • Transfer Fee: $5,000 when transferred to an existing CPR franchisee, or 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee when transferred to a new CPR franchisee. Certain family, existing-owner, and minority-interest transfers are excluded.
  • Late-payment charges: interest at the highest legal open-business-credit rate, capped at 1.5% per month, plus a possible $25-per-day late payment or reporting fee.
  • Audit: audit cost, the understated amount, and 1.5% monthly interest on the understatement if the audit finds at least a 2% understatement of Gross Volume for a month or specified unauthorized products.
  • Additional on-site assistance: $500 per day with a two-day minimum, plus travel expenses, when support goes beyond the included assistance.
  • Customer feedback program: reimbursement of MMI-CPR's costs, estimated not to exceed $1,000 per year, if such a program is instituted.
  • Non-Sufficient Funds Fee: $25 per denied transaction.
  • Early Termination Fee: damages based on two years of minimum monthly Royalty Fees or the remaining scheduled term, whichever is shorter, with additional Royalty and National Advertising Fund amounts added while unpaid.
  • Costs, attorneys' fees, and indemnification: variable reimbursement obligations when the contract conditions apply.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–12.
RENEWAL AND EXIT COSTS

What should be budgeted for renewal or transfer?

Item 6 does not disclose a separate Renewal Fee, and Item 17 says the renewing franchisee does not pay the Initial Franchise Fee. Renewal still requires upgrading the premises and equipment, satisfying monetary obligations, meeting current operational and training requirements, and signing the then-current Franchise Agreement and Renewal Addendum.

A transfer can require the Transfer Fee, the transferee's applicable Training Fee, current permits, licenses, insurance, landlord consent, payment of outstanding obligations, and compliance with then-current standards. Those supporting costs are not reduced to one total in the FDD.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–12 and Item 17, pp. 38–42.
ITEM 7 LIMITS

Which costs remain unresolved by the official range?

The Item 7 total is a structured opening estimate, not a site-specific construction quote or a complete personal cash plan. The following points require separate verification before the capital commitment is fixed.

  • Owner compensation is excluded. Additional Funds cover operating expenses during the first three months but exclude salary for the owner or principal owner.
  • Personal expenses are excluded. Item 7 covers the CPR Franchise Business, not household or other personal obligations.
  • Three months may not be enough. The FDD says more funds may be needed during the initial period or afterward.
  • The $0 Leasehold Improvements low is not a no-build-out assumption. It represents a case where improvements expected to exceed $20,000 are amortized into rent under the lease.
  • Conversion rebranding is variable. Existing signage, flooring, layout, and other conditions can create additional rebranding costs not separately quantified.
  • Approved-source obligations are substantial. Item 8 estimates specified or approved purchases at approximately 70%–85% of establishment purchases and 50%–80% of ongoing operating expenses.
  • Later multi-store locations are separate investments. The $130,250–$415,400 entry range includes the first business, not all five to eight businesses.
  • Format-specific totals are not published. Class A, Class C, co-located, retail merchandising unit, and kiosk concepts are named, but Item 7 does not assign them separate ranges.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–16; Item 8, pp. 16–19; Item 12, pp. 31–32.
CAPITAL SYNTHESIS

What is the most important capital check before committing?

The verified 2026 opening range is $90,350 to $360,500 for one CPR Franchise Business. The largest unresolved variables are opening parts inventory, lease economics, Leasehold Improvements, fixtures, format-specific build-out, conversion rebranding, and the operating runway beyond the three months included in Additional Funds. Multi-store buyers must add the cost of every later business to the $130,250 to $415,400 entry amount.

The FDD does not publish a general Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum, so the buyer's qualification threshold must be obtained in writing. Total Initial Investment, cash available, Net Worth, Item 10 assistance, and continuing fees are separate capital concepts and should not be treated as substitutes for one another.