How much does a Captain D’s franchise cost?
Captain D’s does not have one universal startup figure. The Captain D’s, LLC 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document lists four separate U.S. Item 7 ranges: $662,000–$1,040,500 for an inline restaurant, $752,000–$1,185,500 for an endcap restaurant with drive-through, $1,325,000–$1,638,800 for the 32-seat prototype, and $1,453,000–$1,862,100 for the 44-seat prototype.
The lowest disclosed total is the inline prototype at $662,000; the highest disclosed total is the 44-seat prototype at $1,862,100. That cross-format span is not a single “typical” budget. Each format has its own building, equipment, computer-system, training, and working-capital assumptions.
- Legal franchisor
- Captain D’s, LLC
- Disclosure basis
- U.S. FDD issued April 17, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17
- Formats analyzed
- 44-seat prototype, 32-seat prototype, endcap with drive-through, and inline restaurant
- Information checked
- July 14, 2026
- Public-source treatment
- FDD figures are cited by Item and exact page because no matching 2026 FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled public page. Current supplemental information is linked to the official U.S. franchise information and official prototype descriptions.
Capital snapshot
Sources: 2026 Captain D’s FDD, Item 5, pp. 4–6; Item 6, pp. 6–8; Item 7, pp. 8–11. Financial qualification questions: official franchise website, checked July 14, 2026.
How do the four Captain D’s investment ranges compare?
The 2026 Item 7 totals differ primarily because the building and leasehold-improvement range, equipment package, computer system, and training assumptions change by prototype. The inline and endcap formats are not interchangeable with the 32-seat and 44-seat freestanding prototypes.
Scale: $0 to $1.9 million. Each teal segment runs from the disclosed low estimate to the disclosed high estimate.
Interpretation: format selection changes the disclosed capital range by hundreds of thousands of dollars before any separately priced real estate. Source: 2026 Captain D’s FDD, Item 7, pp. 8–10. These are official low/high ranges, not averages.
Complete Item 7 line-item comparison
The tables keep each prototype’s cost contract separate while dividing the disclosure into premises and systems, then pre-opening and working capital. Real Estate is outside the totals: the FDD excludes site selection, land purchase or lease, land preparation, landscaping, other land improvements, and associated financing costs.
| Premises and systems | 44-seat | 32-seat | Endcap + drive-through | Inline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Franchise Fee | $35,000 | $35,000 | $35,000 | $35,000 |
| Building and Leasehold Improvements | $925,000–$1,200,000 | $825,000–$1,020,000 | $350,000–$570,000 | $275,000–$510,000 |
| Equipment | $375,000–$415,000 | $350,000–$375,000 | $255,000–$375,000 | $240,000–$300,000 |
| Computer Systems | $31,000–$34,100 | $28,000–$30,800 | $25,000–$27,500 | $25,000–$27,500 |
| Pre-opening and working capital | 44-seat | 32-seat | Endcap + drive-through | Inline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Training Expenses | $25,000–$46,000 | $25,000–$46,000 | $25,000–$46,000 | $25,000–$36,000 |
| Inventory | $6,000–$8,000 | $6,000–$8,000 | $6,000–$8,000 | $6,000–$8,000 |
| Miscellaneous Opening Expenses | $5,000–$9,000 | $5,000–$9,000 | $5,000–$9,000 | $5,000–$9,000 |
| Insurance | $11,000–$25,000 | $11,000–$25,000 | $11,000–$25,000 | $11,000–$25,000 |
| Additional Funds — 3 Months | $40,000–$90,000 | $40,000–$90,000 | $40,000–$90,000 | $40,000–$90,000 |
| Official Item 7 Total | $1,453,000–$1,862,100 | $1,325,000–$1,638,800 | $752,000–$1,185,500 | $662,000–$1,040,500 |
Source: 2026 Captain D’s FDD, Item 7, pp. 8–10. The official totals are preserved; no midpoint or blended “typical” amount has been created.
What is included in the Captain D’s initial investment?
Each Item 7 total includes the Franchise Fee, building or leasehold work, training, equipment, Computer Systems, opening Inventory, Miscellaneous Opening Expenses, Insurance, and Additional Funds for three months. Real Estate and related land or financing costs are outside the disclosed total.
- Additional Funds — 3 Months
- This amount is already inside the total. It estimates startup expenses, including staff payroll, during the first three months after opening and excludes an owner’s salary or draw.
- Computer Systems
- The required point-of-sale and computer-system purchase is included in Item 7 but becomes due after the restaurant opens; the amount varies by format.
- Training Expenses
- This category covers employee salaries, wages, fringe benefits, travel, room, board, and other trainee costs. Captain D’s does not charge tuition for the required training.
- Miscellaneous Opening Expenses
- This category includes incorporation fees, legal fees, business-license fees, and utility deposits, but actual local charges can vary.
Real Estate is the largest unresolved capital category. The 2026 FDD does not estimate land purchase, rent, location-selection costs, land preparation, landscaping, other land improvements, or associated financing costs. A buyer should not add a generic real-estate allowance to the official range and call it a franchisor estimate.
Sources: 2026 Captain D’s FDD, Item 7, pp. 8–10; Item 11, pp. 22–24. The official fees and investment summary also displays the current website line-item range, but the format-specific FDD tables control the analysis above.
When is the Captain D’s startup money paid?
The standard $35,000 Franchise Fee is ordinarily split into two non-refundable payments, while most third-party development costs are paid as agreed or incurred. The required Computer Systems are the unusual timing item because their purchase price is included in Item 7 but due after opening.
- Disclosure period before payment The FDD states that a prospect must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying Captain D’s or an affiliate. The federal disclosure framework is set out in 16 CFR Part 436.
- Development Agreement The standard Development Fee is $17,500 for each restaurant scheduled for development—one-half of the standard Franchise Fee. Item 7 also estimates $1,000 for legal review, producing a one-restaurant Development Agreement total of $18,500. Each additional scheduled restaurant adds $17,500.
- Site acceptance and Franchise Agreement After Captain D’s accepts the site, the franchisee signs the Franchise Agreement and ordinarily pays the remaining $17,500 before construction starts. The Development Fee is credited toward the $35,000 Franchise Fee.
- Construction and pre-opening purchases Building and Leasehold Improvements, Equipment, Training Expenses, Insurance, deposits, professional fees, and other supplier costs are paid to third parties as agreed or incurred. Opening Inventory is due before opening. The FDD estimates 180–365 days from payment of a one-unit Development Fee to opening, depending on site, lease, financing, permits, construction, weather, and delivery conditions.
- Opening and first three months Computer Systems become due after opening. Additional Funds are then used during the first three months. Royalty and advertising-related payments follow the Item 6 schedule; the National Advertising Program contribution has no obligation for a new restaurant’s first four weeks.
Item 5 states that, because of the financial condition of guarantor Captain D’s Enterprises, LLC, payments to Captain D’s or its affiliates are deferred until opening for franchises subject to Minnesota or South Dakota franchise law. Illinois and Maryland require initial fees and other initial payments to Captain D’s or affiliates to be deferred until pre-opening obligations are completed and the restaurant has commenced business. These state rules change timing, not the underlying cost categories.
At standard pricing, the new-restaurant Item 7 amount paid directly to Captain D’s is $60,000–$69,100: the $35,000 Franchise Fee plus the format-dependent $25,000–$34,100 Computer Systems purchase. Incentives or state deferrals may alter the amount or timing actually collected.
Sources: 2026 Captain D’s FDD cover; Item 5, pp. 4–6; Item 7, pp. 8–10; Item 11, pp. 18 and 22–24.
Which Captain D’s fees continue after opening?
The continuing obligations are the Royalty Fee, Advertising Fee, location-dependent Advertising Marketing Contribution, Local Restaurant Marketing Expenditures, and monthly point-of-sale and computer-based training-system support. The table states the disclosed rate, timing, and current suspension where applicable.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Payment timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 4.50% of gross sales | Third business day after each Sunday for the prior week | Gross sales include amounts received or receivable from sales; sales and use tax are excluded. |
| Advertising Fee | 1.00% of gross sales; may rise to 2.00% | Same time as Royalty Fee | Paid to the Advertising Fund. |
| Advertising Marketing Contribution | Maximum 1.00% or 1.50% of gross sales | Same time as Royalty Fee | The 1.50% rate applies in designated television markets listed in Item 11. |
| Local Restaurant Marketing Expenditures | 2.00% of gross sales | Annual spending requirement | Suspended until further notice in the 2026 FDD; qualifying cooperative contributions can affect the calculation. |
| Point-of-sale and Computer-based Training Systems Maintenance and Support | Up to $236/month plus repair and shipping | First business day monthly or 28 days after billing | Item 11 describes approximately $2,832 annually for support, with equipment maintenance and upgrades additional. |
Source: 2026 Captain D’s FDD, Item 6, pp. 6–8; Item 11, pp. 18–23. Percentage fees are stated only on the disclosed gross-sales basis and are not converted into estimated annual dollars.
What triggers conditional charges?
Item 6 also creates charges that apply only when a specific event occurs. They should not be added automatically to the opening total, but they can become material later.
- Opening Team Travel and Lodging: the franchisee reimburses travel and lodging above the $8,000 amount paid by Captain D’s.
- Product or Supplier Approval: actual out-of-pocket costs, estimated not to exceed $1,000, when a franchisee requests approval of an unapproved product or supplier.
- Operating Personnel: costs incurred by Captain D’s, estimated not to exceed $2,500 per month, if the restaurant is not operated to system standards.
- Audit Expenses: actual out-of-pocket costs, estimated not to exceed $3,500, if gross sales are understated by 2% or more.
- Interest: the highest rate permitted by state law, capped at 18%, on overdue amounts.
- Enforcement, Collection, Attorney, and Indemnification Costs: variable amounts tied to noncompliance, collection, or claims arising from restaurant operations.
- Early termination damages: the Franchise Agreement formula uses average monthly gross sales for the prior 36 months, the standard Royalty Fee and Advertising Fee rates, and the lesser of 36 months or the remaining term, subject to applicable law.
Can development commitments or veteran status reduce the fees?
Yes. Item 5 discloses a Development Incentive Program for qualifying new restaurants under Development Agreements signed after April 17, 2026 and before May 1, 2028, plus a separate Veterans Franchise Program for a veteran’s first restaurant. Eligibility and final contract language control.
Scale: $0 to $35,000. The FDD applies the schedule to qualifying new restaurants under Development Agreements signed after April 17, 2026 and before May 1, 2028.
Interpretation: larger commitments receive lower disclosed amounts, but development deadlines and contract application must be confirmed. Source: 2026 Captain D’s FDD, Item 5, pp. 5–6. Values are official fixed amounts, not derived estimates.
If a qualifying restaurant opens within 60 days of its scheduled opening date, Item 5 reduces the Royalty Fee to 2.25% of gross sales for the first 12 months. The standard rate applies afterward unless the Franchise Agreement states otherwise.
A qualifying U.S. veteran with a controlling interest pays one-half of the standard Franchise Fee for the first restaurant—$17,500 based on the current $35,000 fee. The first restaurant’s Royalty Fee is 2.50% of gross sales for the first full year, then changes to the rate in the Franchise Agreement. Item 5 does not state that the veteran terms and Development Incentive Program can be stacked, so that point requires written confirmation.
Item 5 also reports that Captain D’s reduced one Development Fee by 100% during the prior fiscal year. That historical exception is not disclosed as a generally available program or contractual right.
How much liquid capital and net worth does Captain D’s require?
Captain D’s current official franchise-site form asks whether a candidate has at least $350,000 in liquid assets and at least $1,500,000 in net worth. Those screening figures are distinct from the Item 7 investment range: liquid assets are funds that can be accessed, net worth includes assets minus liabilities, and neither figure replaces the format-specific startup budget.
- Liquid assets
- The official site’s current screen is $350,000+. This is not a statement that $350,000 will fund the restaurant.
- Net worth
- The official site’s current screen is $1,500,000+. Net worth is not the same as cash available for construction, equipment, or operating reserves.
- Personal Guarantee
- The 2026 FDD requires every individual or entity owning 10% or more of the franchisee to guarantee obligations to Captain D’s.
- Non-Borrowed Funds
- The reviewed disclosures do not state a separate minimum non-borrowed-funds threshold. A lender or Captain D’s may still impose source-of-funds conditions during approval.
Captain D’s and its affiliates do not offer direct or indirect financing and do not guarantee notes, leases, or other obligations. That Item 10 statement means a buyer must arrange external financing or equity; it does not imply that outside financing will be approved.
Sources: official Captain D’s franchise qualification form, checked July 14, 2026; 2026 Captain D’s FDD, Item 1, p. 1, and Item 10, p. 15. The current qualification questions appear on the official franchise qualification form.
Which Captain D’s costs remain unresolved or arise later?
Real Estate, conversions, technology upgrades, required-supplier purchases, renewal, transfer, and remodel obligations can materially change the capital plan outside the basic Item 7 total. The amount depends on the site, transaction, restaurant condition, market, and contract event.
Conversion website figure
The official prototype page says conversion builds start at $550,000. The 2026 FDD does not provide a separate all-in Item 7 total for a conversion. Treat $550,000 as a website build figure, not as a complete franchise investment range.
FDD treatment of conversions
Item 7 says converting an existing building generally should place Building and Leasehold Improvements below or near the lower end of the disclosed ranges. It does not quantify savings for Equipment, Computer Systems, Training Expenses, Inventory, Insurance, or Additional Funds.
The official prototype page lists a .75-acre minimum lot for the 44-seat model and .50 acre for the 32-seat model. The 2026 Item 7 real-estate footnote instead references at least .60 acre for the 44-seat prototype and at least .50 acre for a 22-seat prototype. Because the site descriptions do not align exactly, obtain current written site criteria before pricing land, lease terms, civil work, or parking.
Later-event cost triggers
The Franchise Agreement and Item 7 create several material obligations that may occur years after opening or during a transaction.
- Transfer Fee: one-quarter of the then-current initial franchise fee, currently $8,750 per restaurant, plus Captain D’s expenses; due before the transfer closes.
- Renewal Fee: currently $8,750, but capped at 25% of the then-current Franchise Fee; due when the renewal Franchise Agreement is signed.
- Remodel on renewal or assignment: $110,000–$200,000, potentially including signs, exterior trade dress, menu boards, dining-room finishes, broiler and related equipment, parking-lot work, and landscaping.
- Technology modifications and upgrades: the franchisee must implement required changes at its own cost; the Franchise Agreement contains no contractual cap on frequency or cost.
- Required suppliers: franchisees must buy virtually all food and supplies from McLane Foodservice Distribution, Inc. or Bassham Wholesale Egg Company, Inc., as designated by location. Item 8 estimates specified or designated purchases at about 35%–45% of establishment purchases and about 35% of operating purchases.
- Company-owned restaurant purchase: price depends on the restaurant, assets, trade area, and other factors. Excluding real estate, the FDD says the cost generally should not exceed the applicable new-restaurant total range, and the Franchise Fee remains due.
Sources: 2026 Captain D’s FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–8; Item 7, pp. 10–11; Item 8, pp. 11–14; Item 11, pp. 22–23; Item 17, pp. 32–35.
What should a buyer verify before setting a Captain D’s budget?
A defensible budget should begin with the correct Item 7 prototype, then add site-specific Real Estate and financing costs without double-counting Additional Funds or the post-opening Computer Systems payment. The following checks address the largest unresolved obligations.
- Confirm the exact prototype and site criteria in writing, including whether the project is 44-seat, 32-seat, endcap with drive-through, inline, or a conversion.
- Price Real Estate separately, including rent or purchase, land preparation, landscaping, civil work, financing, and any site-impact analysis required for approval.
- Reconcile the construction and equipment bids to the Item 7 category definitions and check whether union labor, local code, health requirements, or a conversion changes the scope.
- Keep Additional Funds inside the total; the $40,000–$90,000 amount already covers the first three months and includes staff payroll but excludes owner compensation.
- Document the applicable incentive, development schedule, veteran eligibility, and any state payment deferral in the signed agreements rather than relying on a headline fee.
- Model continuing obligations by their disclosed basis: weekly gross-sales percentages, monthly technology support, required marketing spending, supplier restrictions, and event-triggered fees.
- Reserve for later contract events, especially the $110,000–$200,000 remodel range, renewal and transfer fees, and uncapped required technology upgrades.
The practical capital answer is format-dependent. Use the exact range for the approved prototype rather than the cross-format span. Real Estate remains outside Item 7, Additional Funds remains inside it, current website screening separates liquid assets from net worth, and ongoing percentage fees continue after opening. The unresolved question with the greatest budget impact is the approved site and its real-estate, construction, and conversion scope.