How Much Does a Camp Bow Wow Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Quick cost answer

How much does a Camp Bow Wow franchise cost?

A new, leased Camp Bow Wow location has an Estimated Initial Investment of $954,606 to $1,229,536 under the May 1, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. A Conversion Franchise has a separate range of $70,846 to $406,715, while the initial commitment under a three-location Multi-Unit Development Agreement is $1,029,606 to $1,304,536. These ranges are not interchangeable.

$954,606–$1,229,536

The 2026 opening-cost range for a standard location in a pre-existing leased building. It includes a $50,000 upfront brand fee, a $5,000 project-management charge and an $80,000 operating reserve, but it excludes several buyer-specific obligations described below. See 2026 FDD, pp. 20–24. The brand’s official franchise investment page publishes the same total range.

Legal franchisor
Camp Bow Wow Franchising, Inc., a Delaware corporation
Parent company
Propelled Brands Franchising, LLC; the relationship is also described on the Propelled Brands portfolio page
FDD basis
2026 FDD issued May 1, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17
Formats analyzed
Standard leased location, conversion, acquisition conversion and three-unit development commitment
Information checked
July 20, 2026

The Total Initial Investment is not the same as the upfront franchise fee, and neither is the same as the brand’s current liquid-asset or net-worth qualification. The Federal Trade Commission’s franchise buying guide explains why the initial-fee, continuing-fee and opening-investment disclosures should be read together rather than treating the franchise fee as the full opening budget.

$50,000 Initial Franchise Fee Normally due in full when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
$80,000 Additional Funds Included in the new-unit total for the initial operating period.
$125,000 Development Fee Covers the rights to develop three Camps under the 2026 MDA.
$5,000 Project Management Fee Invoiced after a lease is signed or before specified design work starts.
$500,000 Minimum Liquid Assets Current official franchise-site qualification; not an opening expense.
$1.2 million Minimum Net Worth Current official franchise-site qualification; not cash required at closing.
Format comparison

Why are the disclosed investment ranges so different?

The 2026 disclosure uses three different cost contracts. The standard range assumes a leased, pre-existing building; the conversion range assumes an existing pet-care facility may already have usable real estate, equipment and reserves; and the three-unit agreement adds a $125,000 upfront charge but includes only the first location’s opening investment in the initial commitment.

Standard leased location

The standard model uses an approximately 6,000-square-foot prototype, plus or minus 15%, in a pre-existing leased building. The largest range driver is Improvements for Pre-Existing Buildings at $516,735 to $663,917 after assumed landlord contributions or allowances. Ground-up construction is not approved for a new franchisee under the 2026 FDD.

Conversion or acquisition conversion

The conversion range can start much lower because several categories have a $0 low bound when an existing operation already meets Camp Bow Wow standards. The official conversion program page describes the development path, while the cost figures remain governed by the 2026 FDD, pp. 26–29.

Format difference The conversion low end is not a cheaper version of the new-build budget. It assumes usable assets may already exist. A buyer acquiring an independent business may also face a purchase price for that business, and that acquisition price is not listed in the conversion opening-cost table.

The franchisor’s May 2026 reduced-investment model announcement attributes the current standard range to a smaller footprint, value engineering and updated design. The FDD is more precise: the estimates use the 6,000-square-foot prototype and 2025 design updates, and the actual premises cost still depends on local real estate, landlord allowances, construction conditions, permits and financing.

Opening investment

What does the new-Camp investment include?

The standard 2026 opening total includes fifteen cost categories. The official total should be used as disclosed rather than reconstructed from selected low or high line items, because the high end also reflects a possible $500 Site Assistance Fee described in the disclosure footnotes.

Agreement, premises and required opening assets

Opening expenditure 2026 amount When paid Cost relationship
Initial Franchise Fee $50,000 On signing the Franchise Agreement Paid to Camp Bow Wow Franchising, Inc.
Travel Costs for All Initial Training $1,000–$2,965 Before and during training Travel and living costs; tuition for two attendees is included in the franchise fee.
Improvements for Pre-Existing Buildings (Leased) $516,735–$663,917 Before opening Net estimate after assumed landlord contributions or allowances.
Equipment, Supplies and Opening Inventory $136,799 Before opening Includes required equipment, furnishings, turf, computers, limited retail inventory and operational supplies.
Dog Cabins and Interior Fencing $76,750 Before opening Includes 50 required dog cabins to start and interior fencing.
Signage $4,846–$8,000 Before opening One outdoor illuminated sign; landlord and local rules can change the cost.
Webcam System $23,639–$29,000 Before opening Required hardware, software and routers from approved suppliers.
Project Management Fee $5,000 Within five days of invoice Invoice follows lease signing or precedes specified design and bid work.

FDD reference: 2026 pp. 20–24; project-management details in Item 5, pp. 9–10.

Pre-opening labor, approvals, launch and working capital

Opening expenditure 2026 amount When paid What it covers
Personnel Costs $5,592–$34,281 Before opening Employee payroll and optional contractors after lease execution and zoning approval; excludes owner pay.
Deposits $7,335–$11,460 Before opening Lease and utility deposits.
Plans and Permits $31,000–$65,000 As incurred Construction documents, permits, zoning, kennel license and required permit-expeditor work.
Professional Services $910–$11,864 As incurred Entity formation, legal and accounting work, insurance deposits and real-estate-document negotiation.
Camp Launch Advertising $15,000 From site control through the initial operating period Required opening marketing through designated agencies or the franchisor.
Financing Fees $0–$39,500 Before opening Possible loan closing, broker, contingency-account and interim-interest costs; $0 assumes no financing fees.
Additional Funds for First 3 Months of Operations $80,000 As incurred Rent, utilities, wages, workers’ compensation, supplies, professional fees, Royalty Fee and Advertising Fund Fee.

FDD reference: 2026 FDD, pp. 21–24.

FDD caveat The working-capital reserve is already inside the disclosed total. For the standard model, the $80,000 reserve covers the initial operating period and should not be added again to the overall range. It excludes salary, benefits or personal living expenses for the owner and Managers, and the franchisor may require more working capital before approving the opening.
Initial payments

Which fees are paid to the franchisor before opening?

The standard new-unit total includes $55,000 payable to the franchisor or affiliates: a $50,000 upfront franchise charge and a $5,000 project-management charge. Other payment structures apply to qualified veterans, first responders, existing franchisees, retirement-account rollovers, conversion financing and multi-unit development.

Standard upfront fee
$50,000, due in full when the Franchise Agreement is signed, nonrefundable and fully earned when paid.
401(k), IRA or qualified retirement rollover
The franchisor may accept a $20,000 deposit at signing and the balance no later than 30 days after the agreement’s effective date. This does not apply to an additional Camp.
Existing franchisee additional unit
$35,000 if an existing franchisee is granted an option for another Franchised Business.
Veteran or first-responder fee
$25,000 for a qualifying U.S. Armed Forces veteran or qualifying first responder. Discounts cannot be stacked.

The International Franchise Association’s current IFA brand listing also identifies the $25,000 veteran discount. The first-responder reduction and the non-combination rule are disclosed in the 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 9.

Item 5 also creates a conditional Site Assistance Fee. After the two included construction visits, additional assistance costs $500 for each extra day, plus the franchisor’s travel and living expenses. The invoice is issued before opening or within 30 days after the underlying expense and is due within five days.

Conversion-only financing

The franchisor may finance part of the conversion fee

A qualifying conversion buyer may pay $15,000 of the standard $50,000 fee and finance $35,000 directly through the franchisor. The disclosure states 0% interest, 36 monthly installments and no additional finance charge. Approval depends on credit standards, and the franchisor may require a higher down payment or the full fee.

$15,000possible down payment
$35,000possible financed principal
36 months0% stated term
$972.22stated monthly installment

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 35. The first installment is due 30 days after conversion operations begin; financing is not offered for a new standard Camp, and no note, lease or obligation is guaranteed.

Conversion and development

What changes for a conversion or a three-unit commitment?

A conversion replaces the standard new-site build assumptions with facility-specific ranges, while the three-unit agreement replaces separate franchise fees with a $125,000 upfront charge for three development rights. Neither path eliminates the operating, supplier or opening-standard obligations that apply to each Camp.

Conversion opening-cost categories

Conversion expenditure 2026 amount Reason the range can vary
Initial Franchise Fee $50,000 Discounts or approved conversion financing may change payment mechanics.
Training Travel $1,000–$2,965 Travel style and attendee expenses.
Real Estate Improvements $0–$100,000 Condition of the existing lobby, yards, HVAC and safety systems.
Rent or Real Estate Deposits $0–$25,000 Existing lease, acquisition lease terms, geography and credit.
Equipment, Supplies and Opening Inventory $0–$50,000 Existing assets versus required brand-standard modifications.
Dog Cabins and Interior Fencing $0–$76,750 Whether current cabins, locks, yards and fencing meet safety standards.
Signage $4,846–$8,000 Landlord specifications and local sign rules.
Webcam System $0–$29,000 Compatibility of existing cameras, software, routers and monitors.
Camp Launch Advertising $15,000 Required launch spending remains fixed in the table.
Additional Funds for First 3 Months $0–$50,000 Existing revenue and working capital may reduce, but do not eliminate, transition risk.

Conversion total: $70,846 to $406,715. The range does not disclose the price of acquiring an independent business, if an Acquisition Conversion includes a business purchase. See 2026 FDD, pp. 26–29.

Three-unit development commitment

Upfront development charge: $125,000, due when the three-unit agreement is signed and nonrefundable. The franchisee receives the right to develop three Camps according to a development schedule and does not pay a separate Initial Franchise Fee for those Camps while complying with the development obligations.

Initial commitment: $1,029,606 to $1,304,536, consisting of the $125,000 charge plus $904,606 to $1,179,536 for the first Camp. The second and third Camp opening costs are excluded and will be incurred later at then-current amounts. See 2026 FDD, pp. 25–26.

Cost implication The initial development total is not the capital needed for all three Camps. It is the upfront fee plus the first Camp’s estimated investment. A buyer must separately model the later opening obligations for Camps two and three and account for cost changes between scheduled openings.
Payment timing

When is the money paid?

The cash requirement is staged rather than paid as one lump sum. Agreement fees come first, real-estate and project-management charges follow, most construction and equipment costs are paid before opening, and working-capital and percentage fees continue after operations begin.

1
Before any binding agreement or franchisor payment

The 2026 FDD states that the disclosure document must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.

2
At agreement signing

Pay the standard $50,000 fee, an approved $20,000 rollover deposit, a qualifying conversion down payment, or the $125,000 three-unit charge, depending on the transaction.

3
After real-estate documents and before design work

The $5,000 project-management charge is invoiced within 30 days of lease signing or before specified design and bid work, then due within five days. The $300 monthly platform charge begins in the month after approved Real Estate Documents are executed.

4
During build-out, training and launch preparation

Leasehold improvements, permits, equipment, cabins, signage, webcam hardware, deposits, training travel, personnel costs and Camp Launch Advertising are paid as incurred before or around opening.

5
Opening and the initial operating period

The standard opening reserve is $80,000. Royalty and brand-fund payments are collected twice monthly; the local marketing requirement begins 90 days after operations, while technology and webcam service charges continue monthly.

FDD references: cover; Item 5, pp. 9–10; Item 6, pp. 10–20; Item 7, pp. 20–29; and Item 11, pp. 35–38. The brand’s official development-process page separately identifies financial qualification and lending exploration as pre-award steps.

Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after a Camp opens?

The principal continuing obligations are a revenue-based royalty, a system advertising contribution, required local marketing, a monthly platform charge, technology charges and required third-party software and webcam service. The royalty uses Net Revenue, the defined billing basis, rather than an amount left after expenses.

Continuing obligation Amount or basis Timing Important qualification
Royalty Fee 3.5% of Net Revenue in year one while in Good Standing; then greater of 7% or the applicable Minimum Monthly Royalty Twice monthly, 10th and 25th by ACH Losing that status during year one triggers the higher formula immediately.
Advertising Fund Fee 1% of Net Revenue; may rise to 3% Twice monthly with royalty Separate from local advertising spending.
Local Advertising Expense 3% of Net Revenue Starts 90 days after opening Includes the monthly platform charge after opening; 2% of prior-year Net Revenue is allocated monthly to approved digital media, including vendor management fees of about 14% of that digital-media budget.
Marketing Platform Fee $300 per month per location 10th of each month, starting the month after Real Estate Documents are executed Counts toward the local marketing requirement once the Camp opens; franchisor may increase it on notice.
Technology Fee $250 per month per location Monthly from opening Taxes may apply; amount may increase on notice.
Third-party software Up to $1,000 per month Monthly as incurred Varies with required software package and use.
Webcam service $199–$239 per month Monthly to provider Depends on the number of cameras; disclosed in the opening-cost notes.
Regional Advertising Co-op 3% of Net Revenue if established Twice monthly No Regional Advertising Co-op existed on the May 1, 2026 issuance date.

FDD reference: 2026 Item 6, pp. 10–20; webcam service on pp. 22 and 28.

Payment timing The platform charge starts before opening. Its $300 monthly charge begins in the month after Real Estate Documents are executed. It becomes part of the 3% local marketing requirement only after the Camp begins operations.
Conditional obligations

Which costs arise only after a specific event?

The continuing-fee disclosure contains additional charges tied to renewal, transfer, relocation, training, supplier requests, missed payments, defaults and termination. These amounts are not ordinary monthly operating fees, but they can be material when the triggering event occurs.

Ownership or site changes

Renewal Fee: 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, plus required equipment upgrades, refurbishment and renewal training.
Transfer Fee: greater of 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee or 2% of the total sale price, capped at 100% of the then-current fee, plus broker and out-of-pocket costs.
Camp Re-Launch Advertising: $8,000–$10,000 after a transfer or approved relocation when required.
Resale Consulting Fee: $15,000 if the franchisor provides specified resale assistance; half at signing and half at closing.
Pre-Re-Sale On-Site Evaluation: $2,500 when the franchisor requires an evaluation before transfer.
Relocation Fee: $20,000 upon approval. During closure, the franchisor may also require royalty, advertising-fund and local-marketing payments based on the prior 12-month average or the applicable monthly minimum, whichever is greater, plus re-launch advertising.

Training, suppliers and administration

Additional or repeat initial training: $100 per person per day, plus estimated travel of $1,000–$7,500 per person.
Other additional training: estimated $100–$2,000, plus $50–$2,000 of travel expense.
Dog Trainer Certificate Program: no charge on the issuance date, but the franchisor reserves the right to charge later.
Product or Supplier Review: $500 plus actual testing costs when a franchisee requests approval.
Mandatory meetings: estimated registration and travel of $500–$2,500 per person; nonattendance can add a penalty up to $3,000.
Management Fee: currently $1,000 per day plus overhead if the franchisor elects to manage after specified death, incapacity or default events.

Payment, default and exit events

Late fee and interest: $100 plus 18% interest, subject to the legal maximum.
Audit Fee: $500–$5,000 if an audit finds Net Revenue understated by 1% or more.
Default and Daily Fees: currently $250 for a first default, $500 for another default within 12 months, and $100 per day while noncompliance continues.
Insurance reimbursement: full policy cost plus an 18% service charge if the franchisor buys required insurance after a lapse.
Enforcement and indemnification: actual enforcement costs, claims or judgments and reasonable attorney fees when applicable.
Termination expenses: de-identification, customer-package refunds, account credits and outstanding balances. Early Termination Damages use the greater of the location’s or qualifying system locations’ average monthly royalty and advertising contributions, multiplied by the lesser of 36 or the months left in the term; a location operating for less than 24 months uses the disclosed system-average method multiplied by 36.

FDD reference: 2026 Item 6, pp. 10–20; renewal and transfer conditions in Item 17, pp. 56–61.

Capital qualification

How much liquid capital and net worth does Camp Bow Wow require?

As checked on July 20, 2026, the official U.S. franchise website states a minimum $500,000 in liquid assets and $1.2 million in net worth. These are screening qualifications, not additional opening-cost line items and not a statement that $500,000 alone will fund a new Camp.

Liquid Assets
Funds the official franchise site treats as readily available for qualification. The $500,000 threshold is distinct from the standard opening range.
Net Worth
Total assets minus liabilities for qualification purposes. The $1.2 million threshold is not the same as cash available to invest.
Additional Funds
An opening working-capital estimate included in the disclosed total: $80,000 for a standard location and $0–$50,000 for a conversion.
Financing
The franchisor does not finance a new standard Camp or guarantee buyer obligations. The only direct FDD financing program is the conditional conversion-fee arrangement.

The qualification fields appear on Camp Bow Wow’s official U.S. franchise page. Because qualification standards can change independently of an issued FDD, a prospect should confirm them again before relying on a capital plan.

Buyer verification Ask how the $500,000 liquidity threshold is applied to your chosen format and financing structure. The public qualification form does not state that the threshold changes for a conversion or a three-unit agreement, and the 2026 FDD does not convert that threshold into a required non-borrowed-funds percentage.
Outside the total

What costs are not fully resolved by the disclosed total?

The disclosed ranges are estimates built around specified assumptions. A buyer still has to price several exclusions and location-dependent obligations without substituting generic industry estimates for the actual site.

Sales, use and similar taxes: excluded from the opening totals and dependent on state and local law.
Loan interest and lender-specific obligations: excluded, although estimated financing fees of $0–$39,500 are included for the standard model.
Vehicle acquisition or lease: the standard assumptions state that no business vehicle is needed.
Owner and Manager compensation or living expenses: excluded from the working-capital estimates.
Special-use or conditional-use legal and design professionals: not included in the Plans and Permits estimate.
Property purchase and ground-up development: the standard range assumes a leased pre-existing building, and a ground-up build is limited to an existing franchisee in Good Standing with at least one year of operation.
Later cabins, remodels and system changes: the opening estimate includes 50 dog cabins, but added capacity, renewal upgrades and future standards can create later capital obligations.
Acquisition price for an existing independent business: not included in the conversion opening-cost table.
Contingencies beyond the initial period: the FDD warns that actual working capital may exceed the three-month estimate and that market conditions, tariffs, inflation and vendor pricing can raise costs.
Outside the opening range Personal living expenses need a separate reserve. The standard disclosure footnotes state that the owner should not plan to draw income during the initial period and should maintain other funds for living costs and unanticipated events.
Decision synthesis

What capital figure should a prospective buyer use?

For a new leased Camp, the correct starting point is the standard 2026 opening range, not the franchise fee or the liquid-asset qualification. The range is driven primarily by leased-building improvements, required equipment and cabins, permits, financing costs and the $80,000 first-three-month reserve.

A conversion must be evaluated under its separate disclosed range and a facility-specific standards review. A three-unit developer should treat the initial commitment as covering the development fee and first Camp only, then separately fund Camps two and three. In every format, percentage-based continuing charges, technology costs, local marketing, renewal or transfer charges and unresolved real-estate variables remain outside a simple franchise-fee comparison.