How much does a BrightStar Care franchise cost?
The clearest current figures are $127,754 to $220,186 for a Standard Size Territory and $96,454 to $181,086 for a Medium Density Market territory. Those figures come from the brand’s 2026 cost disclosures, but the territory contract matters: the Franchise Disclosure Document also combines Standard and Small territories into one broader $102,754 to $220,186 range instead of publishing a separate Small Territory total.
The Standard range is the reconciled 2026 Item 7 range published on the official BrightStar Care investment page. The Medium Density range is stated on the 2026 FDD cover. A Small Territory carries a $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee, but the FDD does not isolate a standalone Small Territory total.
Data basis: BrightStar Franchising, LLC; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 1, 2026; Standard Size Territory, Small Territory, and Medium Density Market territory; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; Item 5 p. 8, Item 6 pp. 9–20, Item 7 pp. 21–27. Information checked July 22, 2026. No matching public copy of the complete 2026 FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled website, so FDD page references are not linked.
The FTC franchise buying guide explains why the Initial Franchise Fee, continuing royalties, advertising obligations, supplier restrictions, and total opening investment must be evaluated separately.
Why does territory format change the required capital?
BrightStar Care uses population-based territory structures, and the fee and office assumptions are not identical. A Standard Size Territory generally begins with a $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee for 200,000 to 300,000 people. Small and Medium Density Market territories have fewer than 200,000 people and a $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee.
Standard Size Territory
The official 2026 Standard investment table is $127,754 to $220,186. The $50,000 fee covers the first 200,000 to 300,000 people.
Small Territory
The Initial Franchise Fee is $25,000. The 2026 FDD combines Small and Standard territories in one $102,754 to $220,186 disclosure rather than stating a separate Small total.
Medium Density Market
The disclosed range is $96,454 to $181,086. An existing franchisee may initially use the existing Agency office, excluding Leased Space, Utility Deposits, and Furnishings.
The bars use a $0 to $220,186 scale. Exact low and high values are printed above each range.
Source: 2026 FDD cover and pp. 21–27; Standard range also published as official franchise investment information. Small Territory is excluded from the chart because the FDD does not disclose a separate Small range.
Do not read the combined $102,754 to $220,186 Standard/Small disclosure as a Standard-only range. The current official investment page isolates Standard at $127,754 to $220,186. The buyer should obtain the exact population map and territory addendum before using either low end in a funding plan; the official territory information confirms that market availability is location-specific.
A Standard territory above 300,000 people also adds $100 for each additional 1,000 people, calculated pro rata. That population surcharge means a territory-specific Initial Franchise Fee can exceed the $50,000 amount used in the published Standard Item 7 table.
An honorably discharged U.S. veteran may receive a one-time $5,000 Vet Fran Discount on the franchise fee for the first territory. A compliant owner whose Agency has been open at least 12 months and meets expansion requirements may receive a 10% discount on the franchise fee for an additional franchise; that expansion discount does not apply to Small or Medium Density Market agencies.
What is included in the Standard Territory investment?
The $127,754 to $220,186 Standard Size Territory range includes the Initial Franchise Fee, office setup, technology, licensing, initial marketing, insurance, training travel, accreditation, and three months of Additional Operating Funds. The following tables preserve the 2026 Item 7 categories while splitting them into cost phases for readability.
Franchise right, premises, and core setup
For a 2026 Standard Size Territory, the franchise fee is paid to the franchisor at signing, while premises, furnishings, Technology Infrastructure, signage, and opening materials are paid under third-party lease or vendor terms.
| Item 7 expenditure | Low | High | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $50,000 | $50,000 | At Franchise Agreement signing |
| Leased Space for Agency | $4,000 | $9,600 | Under lease terms; includes three months’ rent and last-month deposit |
| Utility Deposits | $300 | $500 | Per landlord or service-provider invoice |
| Furnishings | $2,000 | $4,000 | Per approved-vendor purchase terms |
| Technology Infrastructure | $4,000 | $9,500 | Per lease or purchase terms |
| Signage | $400 | $5,000 | Per approved sign-vendor terms |
| Marketing Materials | $250 | $500 | Per approved print-vendor invoice, plus shipping and handling |
Source: 2026 FDD, pp. 21–24. Standard Initial Franchise Fee is also shown on the official 2026 Standard Territory breakdown.
Opening, compliance, and insurance costs
The 2026 Standard disclosure makes state licensing, Electronic Visit Verification, Director of Nursing timing, and insurance the principal compliance-sensitive opening categories.
| Item 7 expenditure | Low | High | Cost driver |
|---|---|---|---|
| Office Supplies, PPE, and medical supplies | $600 | $730 | Initial operating supplies |
| Printing, reproduction, and postage | $0 | $300 | Local opening needs |
| Business Licenses and Other Required License | $200 | $10,000 | State and local licensing rules |
| Local Marketing Spend | $3,000 | $5,250 | Initial local consumer marketing |
| State Electronic Visit Verification | $0 | $2,000 | State Medicaid-program requirements and number of aggregators |
| Director of Nursing before opening | $0 | $8,658 | Whether licensure requires a DON on the application |
| Insurance, excluding workers’ compensation | $1,740 | $5,000 | First three months in Item 7 |
| Workers’ Compensation Insurance | $445 | $3,300 | First three months; subject to payroll audit |
Source: 2026 FDD, pp. 22–26. The CMS Medicaid EVV state resource helps identify whether Electronic Visit Verification may be relevant, but the buyer still needs the current state-specific technical and vendor requirements.
Training, professional review, accreditation, and working capital
The largest included category is the three-month operating-funds reserve; training travel, legal review, and Joint Commission Accreditation are separate line items within the 2026 Standard total.
| Item 7 expenditure | Low | High | What the amount covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Employee Travel and Living Expenses Associated with Training | $4,990 | $10,200 | Travel, lodging, meals, and employee compensation arrangements |
| Legal Fees | $2,000 | $5,500 | State and local review of employment and customer contracts |
| Joint Commission Accreditation | $0 | $6,192 | Accreditation timing and services; official pricing depends on scope and census |
| Additional Operating Funds — three months | $53,829 | $83,956 | Operating needs through the end of month three after opening |
| Standard Size Territory total | $127,754 | $220,186 | Official 2026 Standard total |
Source: 2026 FDD, pp. 23–27. The Joint Commission Home Care Accreditation Program states that pricing is calculated from services and average daily census; Item 7 provides BrightStar Care’s opening estimate, not a universal accreditation price.
Bar length shows the difference between each category’s high and low amount. Exact ranges and derived spreads are printed in every row.
Derived calculation: high minus low for compatible 2026 FDD opening categories, pp. 21–26. The FDD supplies the ranges; the spread values are arithmetic, not franchisor estimates.
When is the money paid?
The capital is not paid as one lump sum. The Initial Franchise Fee is due when the Franchise Agreement is signed; premises, licenses, insurance, technology, marketing, and training costs are paid to different payees during the pre-opening period; Additional Operating Funds are then consumed as needed through the first three months after opening.
At Franchise Agreement signing
Pay BrightStar Franchising, LLC the nonrefundable Initial Franchise Fee: $50,000 for the disclosed Standard Size Territory or $25,000 for a Small or Medium Density Market territory. A larger Standard territory adds the population surcharge.
Within the pre-opening approval window
Secure an approved Agency site, insurance, licenses, Technology Infrastructure, furnishings, signage, and required suppliers. The FDD generally expects the Agency to be ready to open within 150 days after signing, subject to factors such as licensing and financing.
Before the Opening Date
Fund training travel, initial marketing, employee-related setup, Director of Nursing costs when required, and any Electronic Visit Verification integration. The official BrightStar Care ownership process places FDD review before Franchise Agreement signing and pre-opening work.
From opening through month three
Use the included $53,829 to $83,956 three-month operating-funds reserve for operating needs. Royalty, General Marketing, local marketing, and Athena Business System obligations also begin based on the dates and fee bases in Item 6.
Beyond month three
Maintain separate working capital. The FDD estimates total Additional Operating Funds for the first 12 months at $186,251 to $358,415 for a Standard or Small structure and $154,951 to $335,604 for a Medium Density Market territory, before operating cash inflows and excluding specified items described below.
The three-month operating-funds amount is already inside the opening total. It should not be added to the official initial investment a second time. The separate 12-month operating-funds estimate is a longer-horizon disclosure and is not the same as the Item 7 opening total.
Which fees continue after opening?
The main continuing charges are a royalty based on monthly Net Billings, a General Marketing Fee, a local marketing requirement, and the Athena Business System and Email Service Fee. Technology seats, state EVV transactions, required service providers, insurance, training, and conferences can add further recurring costs.
| Ongoing obligation | Amount or basis | When paid | 2026 FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty / Continuing Fee | 5.25% of monthly Net Billings from non-National Accounts; 6.25% from National Accounts | EFT, generally 28 days after the billing period | Item 6, pp. 9 and 17–18 |
| General Marketing Fee | Greater of $500 per month or 2.5% of prior-month Net Billings | Monthly EFT from Opening Date | Item 6, pp. 9 and 18 |
| Local Consumer Marketing | Greater of $1,000 per month or the disclosed tiered percentage formula | Beginning on Opening Date | Item 6, p. 18; Item 7, p. 25 |
| Monthly Athena Business System and Email Service Fee | Greater of $250 per month or 1% of prior-month Net Billings | Monthly EFT; due on the 15th | Item 6, pp. 9 and 18–19 |
| Microsoft Enterprise Package | $14.50 per seat per month, subject to change | Monthly from Opening Date | Item 6, pp. 9–10 |
| State EVV maintenance | Up to $0.50 per record, plus applicable setup or upgrade charges | Monthly EFT and per-invoice charges | Item 6, pp. 10–12 and 19 |
| Revenue cycle management | Approximately $150 per month; percentage fees are 0% for six months, then Tier A is 1.75%–4.75% of Average Weekly National Program Sales or Tier B is 1.50%–3.75% of National Program Collections | Required before opening; a tier begins in month seven | Item 11, p. 42 |
| Insurance and workers’ compensation | Year-one estimates of $6,400–$12,000 and $1,800–$10,000 | Lump sum or installments; workers’ comp subject to audit | Item 6, pp. 12–13; Item 7, p. 26 |
Other ongoing amounts include an estimated $2,500 to $3,500 annual labor-law review and local hardware or non-Athena software maintenance. A Multi-factor Authentication Security License is disclosed at up to $5 per account per month, but the franchisor stated that it was not providing or charging for that license as of the 2026 issuance date.
The official BrightStar Care franchise FAQ restates the current royalty, marketing, technology, and $150,000 liquid-capital figures. Item 6 remains the controlling source for definitions, due dates, minimums, exclusions, and conditional charges.
Which fees apply only when a trigger occurs?
BrightStar Care’s cost contract includes several event-driven charges that are not part of the normal monthly fee stack. They become material when the franchisee expands, changes systems, misses notice deadlines, requests a transfer, renews, defaults, or needs extra services.
How much liquid capital is required, and is financing offered?
BrightStar Care’s current official site says a candidate should have at least $150,000 in liquid assets and one year of living expenses in the bank or from another income source. Liquid Capital is not the same as the Estimated Initial Investment: it measures accessible funds, while Item 7 estimates the Agency opening cost.
The $150,000 liquid-capital qualification can be below the top of the $220,186 Standard investment range. A candidate therefore may need a combination of liquid funds and approved external financing. The current FDD does not state a separate Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum in the reviewed cost disclosures.
Item 10 states that BrightStar Franchising, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation. The official investment page refers to SBA small-business lending support, but lender approval is separate from franchise approval. The U.S. Small Business Administration loan overview explains that participating lenders make approval decisions and that loan proceeds may cover operating capital and fixed assets, subject to program and lender rules.
What does the official investment range not fully resolve?
The published range is a disclosure estimate, not a territory-specific cash budget. Licensing, staffing, owner compensation, required suppliers, technology changes, financing, and the exact territory population can move the buyer’s actual capital requirement outside a simple reading of the Standard table.
Before signing, reconcile the territory population, Initial Franchise Fee, state license path, Director of Nursing timing, office arrangement, EVV aggregators, insurance quote, training attendees, supplier quotes, and 12-month working-capital plan against the current FDD and Franchise Agreement. The FTC’s guidance emphasizes reviewing the full disclosure document and contracts, not relying on a single summary figure.
What capital figure should a buyer use first?
Use $127,754 to $220,186 as the current starting range for a disclosed Standard Size Territory and $96,454 to $181,086 for a Medium Density Market territory. Then replace the generic assumptions with the exact territory population, license path, office arrangement, staffing model, insurance quote, and supplier pricing. Treat the $150,000 Liquid Capital qualification, the Item 7 Estimated Initial Investment, the three-month working-capital amount, the separate 12-month working-capital estimate, and the ongoing Item 6 fees as distinct capital questions.