How Much Does a Boulder Designs Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Boulder Designs franchise cost?

A prospective U.S. franchisee should plan around an Estimated Initial Investment of $147,565 to $173,130 for one Boulder Designs franchise. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document also gives a separate range of $210,565 to $236,130 for two franchises acquired at the same time in contiguous territories. These are Item 7 ranges, not liquid-capital requirements and not estimates of the Initial Franchise Fee alone.

$147,565-$173,130

Single-franchise total. The March 27, 2026 FDD says $139,500 of this amount is paid to Boulder Designs Franchising, LLC or an affiliate. The balance consists of third-party and as-incurred opening costs, including a vehicle payment or deposit, shipping, premises, insurance, permits, professional fees, and Additional Funds. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 10-13.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Boulder Designs Franchising, LLC, a Texas limited liability company with no parent company disclosed; the Texas entity-status search is the state's public verification tool. FDD issuance date: March 27, 2026. Formats analyzed: one franchise and two simultaneously acquired franchises in contiguous territories. Principal sources: Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant details from Items 8, 10, 11, 12, and 17. Information checked July 18, 2026. The brand continues to publish official U.S. franchise information.

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $63,000 One franchise; due upon signing. Item 5, page 3.
Equipment and Supplies Package $58,000 Shipping and upgrades are separate. Items 5 and 7.
Additional Funds $4,180-$9,180 First three months; owner-operator salary excluded.
Royalty Fee Greater of 7% or minimum Minimum rises from $750 to $1,500 per month by contract year.
2026 Item 7 total investment ranges by acquisition path

Scale runs from $0 to $250,000. Each teal segment shows the official low-to-high range, not an average or expected result.

$0$125,000$250,000

Interpretation: the two-franchise range is exactly $63,000 higher at both endpoints, a derived comparison from the official totals. The second range assumes shared operating assets and one training package. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 11-13.

OPENING PAYMENTS

What is included in the initial investment?

The single-unit range combines four fixed charges paid to the franchisor with variable third-party outlays and a three-month operating reserve. The fee for entering the system is only one component; the production package is a separate obligation. The tables below preserve the official names, amounts, payees, and timing.

Payments to Boulder Designs Franchising, LLC

Official cost entity Amount Payment timing FDD reference
Initial Franchise Fee $63,000 Upon signing the Franchise Agreement pp.3 and 10
Initial Training Fee $12,000 Upon signing; covers the franchisee and initial Internal Manager pp.4 and 10
Equipment and Supplies Package $58,000 Item 5 says at signing; Item 7 says before operations pp.4 and 10
Shop Assistance Fee $6,500 Upon signing; approximately 2-4 days of shop setup assistance pp.4 and 11-13
Total paid to franchisor or affiliate $139,500 Contract and pre-opening stage 2026 FDD cover; Items 5 and 7
PAYMENT TIMING

The same disclosure gives two timing descriptions for the production package: the initial-fee section says it is paid when the agreement is signed, while the opening table says before operations. Any upgrades and related costs are stated to be due before signing. A buyer should obtain a written closing schedule that resolves these dates before funds are committed.

Premises, vehicle, and operating assets

Opening expenditure Official range When paid Payee
Site lease $0-$3,500 As incurred; landlord's discretion Landlord
Shipping Cost $0-$5,500 Before operations Third-party vendor
Vehicle lease or financing $1,500-$2,000 Monthly/as arranged; a portion before opening Leasing or financing company
Hand Tools/Material Handling $750-$3,500 Before operations Third-party vendors
Computer & Office Equipment $0-$1,750 Before operations Third-party vendors
Telephone/cell phone $0-$750 As invoiced Third-party vendors
Signage $50-$200 Before operations Third-party vendors

Pre-opening expenses and the initial operating period

Opening expenditure Official range What it covers FDD reference
Travel and living expenses while training $500-$1,500 Lodging, meals, and local travel during training pp.11-12
Insurance $50-$750 Initial portion; varies by coverage and location pp.11-13
Vehicle Insurance $35-$500 Initial portion before opening p.11
Licensing and permits $500-$2,500 Local licensing and permit costs p.11
Legal/Accounting $500-$2,000 Chosen professional advisers p.11
Additional Funds (3 months) $4,180-$9,180 Software, employee salaries, overhead, minimum Royalty Fee, and Technology Fee; owner-operator salary excluded pp.11-13

How should a buyer read the low and high endpoints?

The lower endpoint is not a promise that the business can open for that amount in every market, and the upper endpoint is not a cap on every check a buyer might write. The table mixes fixed lump-sum charges with estimates paid as invoices arrive, monthly arrangements that may require only a deposit before opening, and entries that can be zero when suitable assets are already available. A useful review therefore starts with a cash calendar rather than a single total. Separate the amounts due at contract execution, the invoices expected during setup, the money reserved for the first operating months, and any personal living costs that must be funded outside the business budget.

A zero at the low end means the disclosure permits circumstances in which no new payment is estimated for that line; it does not remove the underlying operational requirement. A buyer may already have a suitable phone, computer, office arrangement, or way to transport the package. The relevant question is whether those existing resources meet the stated standards and local rules. When they do not, the buyer moves toward the high end or beyond it. Written quotes are particularly important where the document uses phrases such as “as incurred,” “as arranged,” or “landlord's discretion,” because those entries do not establish a universal payment date.

Asset financing also changes cash timing without changing what the operation requires. A down payment or first monthly installment can make the opening-table line look smaller than an outright purchase, while the remaining obligation continues after launch. The same logic applies to premises: a modest initial lease entry does not describe every future rent, utility, or improvement obligation. For planning purposes, keep four figures separate: cash needed to sign, cash needed before opening, the reserve already included in the disclosed total, and obligations that continue afterward. This separation also makes discussions with lenders and advisers more precise: each party can see what is fixed, what depends on a quote, what is financed, and what remains a personal obligation. It prevents a favorable deposit structure from being mistaken for either a lower total commitment or a complete long-term budget. This method also exposes assumptions that need written confirmation before funds move.

CASH MILESTONES

When is the money paid?

The largest payments occur at the Franchise Agreement and pre-opening stages. Item 11 estimates 60 to 180 days between signing and opening, with operations required within 180 days. The following sequence separates contract payments from third-party costs and working capital.

Review period before payment. The FDD states that the prospect must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC franchise buying guide explains the same federal disclosure period.
Agreement stage. The franchise fee, training charge, and shop-assistance charge are due upon signing. The initial-fee section also places the production package at signing, subject to the timing inconsistency described above.
Training and pre-opening stage. Travel, permits, professional fees, shipping, tools, computer equipment, phone, signage, insurance portions, and vehicle deposits or payments are incurred before opening or as arranged.
First three operating months. The working-capital line covers the disclosed initial operating period. It includes software, employee salaries, overhead, minimum system charges, and technology access, but excludes salary for an owner-operator.
After opening. Monthly system charges, required software, annual meeting costs, and event-triggered obligations continue under the fee schedule and agreement.
FORMAT-SPECIFIC COSTS

How do premises, vehicles, and two territories change the cost?

Boulder Designs can use a home office, but the operating model still requires production and storage capacity, a qualifying pickup truck, and proprietary equipment. The two-franchise range is not a general multi-unit range: it applies only to simultaneous contiguous territories that share key assets.

Home office does not eliminate production space. Item 11 says a home-based site is automatically approved if it is within the territory and complies with local rules. The FDD recommends at least 1,000 square feet of production space, a 10-by-10-foot doorway, water, and 150-amp single-phase electric service.
The vehicle line is not a full truck-purchase budget. The $1,500-$2,000 disclosed range covers estimated lease or finance payments, deposits, and down payments. A qualifying three-quarter-ton pickup purchase could exceed $50,000, according to the vehicle footnote.
Two territories share assets initially. The paired-territory range assumes contiguous areas using the same office, vehicle, equipment, personnel, and one training package. A second production package may be required later if volume makes it necessary.

The disclosure also identifies Separate Territory and Shared Territory structures, but it does not provide different opening-cost ranges for those territory labels. A later franchise has a disclosed $55,000 subsequent-unit fee, but the 2026 FDD does not provide a complete separate opening total for that later acquisition. The official ownership page describes home-based and multiple-franchise operation at a high level; the current FDD controls the cost figures.

FORMAT DIFFERENCE

The two-franchise range should not be applied to two independent locations with separate vehicles, equipment, offices, or personnel. Those facts would break the shared-asset assumptions behind the disclosed total.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The main continuing charge is a Royalty Fee equal to the greater of 7% of Gross Revenues or a minimum monthly amount. The minimum is $750 per month in Year 1, $950 per month in Year 2, and $1,500 per month from Year 3 through the remainder of the term. Payment is due on the first business day of each month.

Continuing cost entity Amount or basis Timing Important qualification
Royalty Fee Greater of 7% of Gross Revenues or $750/$950/$1,500 monthly minimum First business day monthly Minimum changes by contract year; percentage basis is Gross Revenues as defined in Item 6.
Technology Fee Currently $65/month; up to $175/month Monthly May increase by up to 10% of the prior year's fee; 10 days' notice may be given.
Marketing Fee Currently $0; may be implemented up to $200/month Monthly once implemented The fee cap may rise by up to 10% per year after implementation.
Recommended Local Advertising Spend 10% of Annual Gross Revenues As incurred Described as highly recommended, not a mandatory minimum spend; annual reporting is required.
National or Regional Meetings $795/year; $150 per additional attendee May 1 Two attendees included; non-attendance also incurs $795. Lodging and airfare are separate.
Required QuickBooks system FDD states $40/month online, or stated one-time license options As selected Item 11 requires QuickBooks; current vendor pricing should be confirmed.
National Accounts Fee Unresolved: 20% in table; 15% in Note 3 Monthly when applicable The National Headstone Program is described as not subject to the 15% fee.
Minimum monthly royalty by contract year

These bars show the contractual minimum only. The actual charge is the greater of that minimum or 7% of the defined revenue base.

Interpretation: the monthly floor doubles from the first-year level by Year 3, even when the percentage calculation would be lower. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 5-10.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The fee schedule contains an internal National Accounts Fee conflict: the table states 20% of Gross Revenues, while its note states 15% of revenues received from participating projects. The article does not select either number. Obtain written clarification tied to the current Franchise Agreement before modeling National Account costs.

Some official FAQ content still displays older flat-fee royalty and incentive language. Those legacy web figures conflict with the March 27, 2026 FDD and should not be used for the current U.S. offer. The 2026 Item 5 disclosure does not state a veteran discount, and it lists the two-franchise Initial Franchise Fee as $126,000 rather than a discounted amount.

CONDITIONAL OBLIGATIONS

Which fees arise only after a trigger event?

The fee schedule and agreement create a substantial set of conditional charges. These are not part of the initial investment total unless an initial payment is expressly included. Their amounts depend on payment behavior, training, transfer, renewal, territorial conduct, default, or other circumstances.

  • Payment problems. Late Fees are $100 per incident and can continue monthly on carried balances. The Insufficient Funds Fee is $100 per incident. A non-ACH payment can carry a 4% convenience fee.
  • Audit or insurance failure. The franchisee pays all audit costs when an audit finds an understatement of 2% or more. If required insurance lapses and the franchisor buys coverage, the franchisee owes unpaid premiums plus reasonable expenses.
  • Training and extra assistance. Re-Boot Training can cost up to $2,500; Additional Initial Training is $7,250; the On-Site Training Cancellation Fee is the then-current amount; and Additional Assistance can be billed at the then-current daily rate. Related travel and living costs remain the franchisee's responsibility.
  • Transfer or franchisor-assisted resale. The Transfer Fee is $7,500. If the franchisor introduces the buyer or the buyer came from its pipeline, the Resale Assistance Program Fee is the greater of $39,500 or 15% of the business sale price, in addition to the Transfer Fee and other required costs.
  • Renewal and refurbishment. The Renewal Fee is $5,500. Item 17 also requires the physical location to be renovated to then-current image requirements, with no fixed refurbishment amount disclosed.
  • Manuals, default, and legal exposure. A replacement Operations Manual costs $1,500. The Default Fee is $1,500 per event plus re-inspection and enforcement costs. Indemnification obligations can include all costs and attorneys' fees.
  • Termination and confidentiality damages. General Liquidated Damages use $1,500 multiplied by months remaining, with stepped $750, $950, and $1,500 monthly amounts for early-term calculations. Pre-franchise Confidential Information disclosure carries $20,000 per breach.
  • Territory and outside-area work. The Encroachment Fee is $1,000 per job plus a revenue transfer to the affected franchisee; Item 6 states 50%, while Item 12 states 100%. Item 12 also says certain sales over $2,000 in an unowned territory require payment of 100% of the retail price to the franchisor. These provisions require written reconciliation.
  • Death or incapacity. If the franchisor takes over operations pending a required transfer, Item 17 permits a $500-per-day management fee plus reimbursement of expenses.
FUNDING AND QUALIFICATIONS

Does Boulder Designs disclose financing or minimum capital requirements?

The 2026 FDD does not state a numeric Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum. That is different from the Estimated Initial Investment. A prospect still needs enough accessible capital to pay the contract-stage amounts, third-party opening costs, and any cost above the disclosed assumptions.

Franchisor financing. In its sole discretion and subject to credit standards, the franchisor may finance up to 50% of a new package or up to 75% of a used or refurbished package.
Loan terms. The financing disclosure states a maximum 42-month term at 8.5% annual interest, with no prepayment penalty. A promissory note, security agreement, automatic bank withdrawal, and potentially one or more owner guaranties are required.
Default exposure. The lender may call the loan, repossess equipment, seek costs and attorneys' fees, and terminate the agreement for nonpayment.
No other disclosed financing. The disclosure says the franchisor offers no other direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation.
Personal and spousal liability. The FDD's special risk disclosure says the spouse must guarantee all financial obligations under the Franchise Agreement, even without an ownership interest. Financing can add separate owner guaranties and a security interest in collateral.

This financing is not approval, a cash substitute, or a reduction of the stated opening total. It changes when part of the package is paid and adds interest and secured-credit exposure. The SBA Franchise Directory is a separate lender-eligibility tool and expressly is not an endorsement or funding guarantee.

EXCLUSIONS AND VERIFICATION

What can make the actual capital need exceed the disclosed range?

The official range is a disclosed estimate under stated assumptions. The largest unresolved variables are truck acquisition, premises and utilities, equipment upgrades, shipping, insurance, local permits, owner compensation, later equipment needs for two territories, and internally inconsistent fee provisions.

Confirm the equipment closing date and upgrades. Reconcile the initial-fee disclosure, opening table, and equipment schedule; obtain the exact shipping charge and any pre-signing upgrade invoice.
Price the qualifying truck separately. Determine whether the lease-or-finance line covers the actual deposit or payment structure. An outright purchase is not presented as a full vehicle-price line in the opening table.
Validate the production site. Check zoning, home-business rules, storage, water, electrical service, doorway clearance, lease deposits, and any buildout needed for the disclosed operating setup.
Do not add the working-capital allowance twice. The three-month amount is already inside the total and includes the initial minimum system and technology charges. It excludes owner-operator salary.
Resolve program and territory conflicts. Obtain written confirmation of the applicable national-program percentage and the revenue share for encroachment or outside-area work.
Verify incentives in the current disclosure package. Do not subtract veteran, multi-unit, or website-promoted discounts unless they appear in the current disclosure, a state-effective amendment, or a compliant written offer.
Request the most recent FDD and updates before signing. The FTC Franchise Rule requires a 23-item disclosure document and governs delivery and updating obligations.
COST IMPLICATION

The disclosed range is most sensitive to assets and obligations that the opening table treats as a deposit, monthly payment, zero-to-high range, or unquantified future requirement. A buyer using an outright truck purchase, paid equipment upgrades, leased production space, or owner salary can need more cash than the official high endpoint without changing the FDD's stated total.

What is the clearest capital takeaway?

The verified opening ranges are distinct from any liquidity or net-worth test. The most important buyer checks are the production-package payment date, truck and premises costs, owner compensation, the continuing monthly floor, and the conflicting national-program and encroachment provisions.