How much does a Bonchon franchise cost?
Bonchon’s 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document gives four separate U.S. investment ranges, not one universal store cost. The disclosed total is $1,000,886 to $1,306,126 for a Dine-In Restaurant, $772,536 to $1,073,926 for a Fast Casual Restaurant, $588,936 to $833,376 for a Delivery and Carryout Only Restaurant, and $262,382 to $431,772 for a Remote Kitchen Restaurant.
This is the combined span across four incompatible Bonchon formats in the 2026 FDD. A prospective franchisee should use the range for the specific Restaurant Concept being approved, because the premises, construction, equipment, furniture, signage, technology and staffing assumptions differ materially by format. Source: 2026 Bonchon Franchise LLC FDD, Item 7, pp. 18–30.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Bonchon Franchise LLC, a New York limited liability company. The FDD was issued March 5, 2026 and amended May 14, 2026. The cost analysis uses Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant disclosures from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. The covered U.S. formats are Dine-In, Fast Casual, Delivery and Carryout Only, Remote Kitchen, and an Area Development Agreement for multiple Bonchon Businesses. Information and public pages were checked July 21, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD was located on a Bonchon-controlled public website, so FDD Item and page citations below are intentionally unlinked. Bonchon’s current official U.S. franchise information confirms that the brand is actively offering U.S. franchises.
Capital snapshot
Single-unit fee, paid in full when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Three months after opening; already included in every Item 7 total.
Standard weekly rate on the previous week’s Gross Revenues.
Paid weekly; the Franchise Agreement permits up to 4.0% of Gross Revenues.
Official-site threshold for a one- to two-unit operator.
Official-site threshold for a one- to two-unit operator; not the same as available cash.
Why do Bonchon’s four investment ranges differ so much?
The range changes mainly because each Restaurant Concept has a different space and asset package. The 2026 FDD describes approximately 2,200 to 3,000 square feet for Dine-In, 1,600 to 2,500 square feet for Fast Casual, 1,000 to 1,500 square feet for Delivery and Carryout Only, and 200 to 600 square feet for Remote Kitchen. Those footprints affect Real Property, Construction and Leasehold Improvements, Equipment, Furniture and Fixtures, Signs, and Computer and Point of Sale System and Other Technology.
The position and length of each bar show the disclosed low and high amounts on the same $0 to $1,306,126 scale.
Source: 2026 Bonchon Franchise LLC FDD, Item 7, pp. 18–30. These are official format-specific ranges; the graphic does not average or blend them.
The low end of the construction estimate assumes a prior restaurant space that can reuse substantial mechanical, electrical, plumbing, restroom, flooring, lighting, cooler and freezer infrastructure. The high end assumes a “vanilla box” condition. The FDD says its construction estimates are based on prototypical layouts and standard pricing in or near Dallas, Texas, so the official range does not eliminate local site uncertainty.
This maximum-only comparison identifies the largest disclosed capital categories; it is not a typical budget and the bars are not intended to be summed into a substitute total.
Source: 2026 Bonchon Franchise LLC FDD, Item 7, pp. 18–20. All plotted values are the disclosed high amounts for one Dine-In Restaurant.
What is included in Bonchon’s initial investment?
Each Item 7 total includes the Initial Franchise Fee, site and build-out spending, equipment and technology, pre-opening costs, Opening Inventory, and three months of Additional Funds. The tables below preserve each format’s separate figures. They do not include a land purchase, and the Real Property line primarily reflects lease-related amounts described in the FDD.
Premises, build-out and physical assets
| Item 7 expenditure | Dine-In | Fast Casual | Delivery / Carryout | Remote Kitchen |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Real Property | $6,700–$25,000 | $6,000–$20,800 | $4,000–$11,250 | $4,000–$15,000 |
| Construction and Leasehold Improvements | $500,000–$600,000 | $350,000–$450,000 | $250,000–$300,000 | $20,000–$50,000 |
| Equipment | $230,000–$250,000 | $200,000–$220,000 | $160,000–$180,000 | $120,000–$150,000 |
| Furniture and Fixtures | $80,000–$100,000 | $50,000–$70,000 | $20,000–$40,000 | $0 |
| Smallwares and Small Appliances | $23,500–$25,000 | $12,600–$13,500 | $10,000–$12,000 | $8,500–$9,500 |
| Signs | $10,000–$30,000 | $10,000–$30,000 | $10,000–$30,000 | $0–$5,000 |
| Architect and Engineering Fees | $35,000–$46,000 | $25,000–$36,000 | $20,000–$31,000 | $10,000–$21,000 |
Pre-opening, technology and operating runway
| Item 7 expenditure | Dine-In | Fast Casual | Delivery / Carryout | Remote Kitchen |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-Opening Training Expenses | $6,321–$19,711 | $6,321–$19,711 | $6,321–$19,711 | $6,321–$19,711 |
| Uniforms | $750–$1,500 | $500–$1,000 | $500–$1,000 | $350–$750 |
| Computer and Point of Sale System and Other Technology | $20,000–$50,000 | $20,000–$50,000 | $20,000–$50,000 | $10,000–$20,000 |
| Inventory to Begin Operating | $9,500–$12,500 | $13,000–$16,500 | $9,000–$12,000 | $9,000–$12,000 |
| Security Deposits, Utility Deposits, Business Licenses and Other Prepaid Expenses | $5,000–$15,000 | $5,000–$15,000 | $5,000–$15,000 | $2,500–$5,000 |
| Professional Fees | $4,500–$6,000 | $4,500–$6,000 | $4,500–$6,000 | $4,500–$6,000 |
| Opening Advertising | $5,000–$10,000 | $5,000–$10,000 | $5,000–$10,000 | $5,000–$7,500 |
| Pre-Opening Labor | $9,615–$20,415 | $9,615–$20,415 | $9,615–$20,415 | $7,211–$15,311 |
| Additional Funds, first three months | $20,000–$60,000 | $20,000–$60,000 | $20,000–$60,000 | $20,000–$60,000 |
Source for both tables: 2026 Bonchon Franchise LLC FDD, Item 7, pp. 18–30. The separate $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee applies to each first-unit table and is discussed below.
The $20,000 to $60,000 Additional Funds estimate is inside the Item 7 total, not an extra amount to add again. It covers the first three months after opening and includes items such as payroll taxes, Continuing Royalties, System Brand Fund Contributions, professional and accounting fees, additional advertising, insurance, rent, repairs, bank charges, recruiting, taxes, licenses, deposits and unforeseen items. The FDD does not state that this amount includes owner compensation.
When is the franchise fee paid, and how does multi-unit development change it?
A single-unit franchisee pays the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee in full when signing the Franchise Agreement, and it is nonrefundable. Before opening, the franchisee also buys cooking utensils from Bonchon LLC for an estimated $100 to $200; that amount is included in Smallwares and Small Appliances.
Area Development Agreement cash commitment
The 2026 FDD discloses $47,000 to $130,000 to begin as an area developer for two to ten Bonchon Businesses. That range is only the Area Development Fee plus $2,000 to $5,000 of legal or accounting fees. It is not the build cost for the promised Restaurants.
Each Bonchon Business still requires its own applicable Item 7 investment. The Area Development Deposit allocated to a future Restaurant is credited against that Restaurant’s Initial Franchise Fee when its Franchise Agreement is signed.
+ $10,000 deposit for each additional committed Business Official Area Development Fee formula. The two-unit low end is $45,000; the ten-unit example is $125,000, but ten units is not a contractual maximum.
- Businesses 1–5
- $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee for each Business in the Development Schedule.
- Businesses 6–10
- $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee for each Business in the Development Schedule.
- Businesses 11+
- $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee for each Business in the Development Schedule.
Source: 2026 Bonchon Franchise LLC FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 5–6 and 30–31.
Discounts and 2026 development incentive
Qualified U.S. military veterans may receive a $10,000 discount on the Initial Franchise Fee for their first Bonchon Business if they satisfy the program conditions and request participation before signing.
The amended 2026 FDD also describes a development incentive for qualifying commitments of three or more Restaurants: a $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee for an eligible Restaurant and a 2.5% Continuing Royalty for its first full 12 months, followed by the standard 5.0% rate. Bonchon’s official multi-unit development page confirms that reduced franchise-fee and first-year royalty terms are available subject to eligibility.
Items 5 and 6 of the amended FDD use a December 31, 2026 agreement deadline for the incentive, while Item 7 Note 1 retains a December 31, 2025 date. Because the document contains this internal mismatch, a buyer should verify the operative deadline, Scheduled Opening Date condition and exact Restaurant coverage in the signed incentive rider rather than relying on the summary alone.
At what points is the startup money paid?
Bonchon startup spending is paid in stages: agreement execution, site and design work, construction and procurement, then opening and early operations. The FDD generally makes payments due when the franchisor, landlord, contractor, supplier, agency, airline, hotel or professional requires them.
- Before any binding payment The FTC Franchise Rule generally requires delivery of the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before a prospect signs a binding agreement or pays the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC franchise buyer guide explains this review period.
- At agreement signing Pay the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee for a single unit. Under an Area Development Agreement, pay the $45,000 to $125,000 Area Development Fee in full, plus professional fees as incurred.
- During site control, design and construction Pay lease-related Real Property amounts, deposits, Professional Fees, Architect and Engineering Fees, Construction and Leasehold Improvements, permits, licenses and insurance deposits as the relevant payees require.
- During procurement and training Pay for Equipment, Furniture and Fixtures, Smallwares and Small Appliances, Signs, Uniforms, Computer and Point of Sale System and Other Technology, travel and living expenses for trainees, and Opening Inventory. For a first, second or third Restaurant, the included on-site opening support amount is $9,500 for Dine-In and $6,500 for the other three formats.
- At opening and through month three Opening Advertising, Pre-Opening Labor and the $20,000 to $60,000 Additional Funds allowance bridge opening into the first three months. Continuing Royalty and System Brand Fund payments begin on the disclosed weekly schedule, while monthly technology and gift-card obligations follow their vendor or franchisor billing terms.
Bonchon’s official ownership process places financial review and FDD review before approval and agreement execution. The FDD, however, is the source for the actual payment obligations and timing.
Which fees continue after a Bonchon Restaurant opens?
The principal continuing charges are the Continuing Royalty, System Brand Fund Contribution, Local Advertising requirement and technology-related vendor costs. Percentage fees apply to the exact Gross Revenues basis and payment period disclosed; they should not be converted into an annual dollar estimate without sales data.
Continuing Royalty
5.0% of the previous week’s Gross Revenues, payable weekly on Tuesday of the next week.
System Brand Fund Contribution
Currently 1.5% of Gross Revenues, paid on the same weekly schedule as the Continuing Royalty.
Local Advertising
At least $5,000 under the New Restaurant Marketing Plan, covering the period beginning one month before opening and continuing through the post-opening plan period.
Advertising Cooperative
1% to 4% of Gross Revenues if a regional cooperative is formed.
Technology and digital vendors
$1,000 to $3,000 per month for technology leases, SaaS charges, licensing, subscriptions, maintenance and support.
Insurance
$8,000 to $20,000 estimated annual premium.
Sources: 2026 Bonchon Franchise LLC FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–18; Item 8, pp. 31–36; Item 11, pp. 43–49.
Required purchases can create variable continuing costs
Bonchon requires purchases from designated or approved sources for proprietary sauces, seasonings and spice blends, logoed packaging, cooking utensils, food and paper items, cleaning chemicals, equipment, fixtures, signage, furnishings, online ordering, gift cards, internet and phone service, and other technology. These obligations are material even when Item 6 lists the amount only as invoiced or variable. The FDD names Bonchon LLC, Sysco Foodservice, Ecolab, Olo, Paytronix and Windstream as current cost-relevant suppliers or providers, while reserving the right to change designated sources.
How much liquid capital and net worth does Bonchon require?
Bonchon’s official franchise website currently lists at least $500,000 of liquid assets and $1,000,000 of net worth for a one- to two-unit operator. Higher unit commitments carry higher thresholds. These qualifications were checked July 21, 2026 and are supplemental website criteria, not Item 7 investment totals.
| Planned unit commitment | Minimum liquid assets | Minimum net worth |
|---|---|---|
| 1–2 units | $500,000 | $1,000,000 |
| 3–5 units | $750,000–$1,200,000 | $2,000,000 |
| 5+ units | $1,200,000–$2,000,000 | $5,000,000–$10,000,000 |
Source: Bonchon’s official cost and financial qualification page. Liquid assets are funds that can be made available; net worth is the value of assets minus liabilities. Neither figure replaces the applicable Item 7 total, and the FDD does not disclose a separate non-borrowed-funds minimum.
Item 10 states that Bonchon Franchise LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. Item 7 says third-party financing may be available to qualified candidates, but financing fees are additional and approval depends on creditworthiness, collateral, lender policy and availability.
Which later fees depend on an event or problem?
Renewal, transfer, relocation, alternative suppliers, retraining, late payment, default and termination can create substantial costs outside the opening budget. The following triggers are particularly relevant to a buyer’s long-term capital plan.
- Successor Term Fee: 25% of Bonchon’s then-current Initial Franchise Fee, due before a Successor Agreement is signed. Renewal may also require remodeling, refurbishment, training and lease work at the franchisee’s expense.
- Transfer Fee: $15,000 or a higher amount needed to reimburse reasonable transfer-review costs, due before approval. The 2026 FDD states that no Transfer Fee applies when the assignee is an immediate-family member. A pre-transfer inspection costs $250 per inspector per day plus lodging, transportation and food.
- Relocation Fee: 25% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee plus Bonchon’s relocation-review costs. A Remote Kitchen receives a limited exception when relocation is caused by ordinary lease expiration rather than the franchisee’s default.
- Replacement Training Fee: $5,500 per attendee when retraining or a replacement attendee is required. Additional on-site training is $50 per trainer per day plus lodging, transportation and food.
- Alternative architect or contractor: $2,500 Architect Evaluation Fee and $3,500 General Contractor Evaluation Fee. Item 7 includes these evaluation fees within the Architect and Engineering Fees estimate.
- Additional site visit: the first requested visit is free; later visits cost $500 per day plus travel expenses.
- Proposed supplier testing: $1,000 to $2,500 depending on the test’s nature and complexity.
- Late payment: a 20% late-payment penalty on amounts unpaid 15 days after they are due, plus interest at the maximum lawful rate or, if no maximum applies, four percentage points above the then-current Wall Street Journal prime rate.
- Audit and reporting failures: the franchisee can owe audit costs when Gross Revenues are understated above the FDD threshold, and $50 per month for overdue required financial statements or tax returns.
- Default or termination: a 15.0% default royalty may apply while certain defaults remain uncured; the FDD also discloses a $5,000-per-day Standard Violation Fee, a liquidated-damages formula after termination for cause, and reimbursement of legal, expert and enforcement costs where applicable.
Sources: 2026 Bonchon Franchise LLC FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–18, and Item 17, pp. 66–76. State law may modify some renewal, transfer, termination and remedy provisions.
What should a prospective Bonchon franchisee verify before budgeting?
The unresolved variables are the exact approved format, site condition, landlord package, local construction pricing, supplier quote set, technology configuration and incentive rider. Those decisions determine whether the applicable FDD range is a useful planning boundary for the proposed location.
What is the clearest way to interpret the Bonchon capital requirement?
The 2026 cost decision begins with the format-specific Item 7 range: $1,000,886 to $1,306,126 for Dine-In, $772,536 to $1,073,926 for Fast Casual, $588,936 to $833,376 for Delivery and Carryout Only, or $262,382 to $431,772 for Remote Kitchen. The $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one component. Additional Funds of $20,000 to $60,000 are already included, while continuing royalties, marketing obligations, technology costs, required purchases and event-triggered fees continue or arise after opening.
The most consequential uncertainty is not the franchise fee; it is the approved premises and asset package. Construction and Leasehold Improvements, Equipment, Furniture and Fixtures, technology, lease conditions and local requirements can move a project through the disclosed range. Bonchon’s liquid-asset and net-worth thresholds are separate qualification tests, and Item 10 provides no franchisor financing or guarantee.