How Much Does a Beef 'O' Brady's Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 cost answer

How much does a Beef ‘O’ Brady’s franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates that one Beef ‘O’ Brady’s Family Sports Pub requires $525,850 to $1,699,875 in total initial investment. The range applies to a single leased, non-freestanding restaurant of approximately 3,500 to 4,500 square feet in a shopping-center or urban location. It excludes the purchase of real estate and does not subtract any tenant improvement allowance a landlord may provide. The cover page states that $59,950 to $62,550 of the total is paid to the franchisor or an affiliate.

Estimated Initial Investment
$525,850–$1,699,875

2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–16, for one Family Sports Pub. The range includes the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the $20,000 first-unit Training Fee, and $20,000 to $35,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months of operation.

Data basis. The legal franchisor is FSC Franchise Co., LLC, a Delaware limited liability company listed as active in the Florida Division of Corporations record. The cost analysis uses the Beef ‘O’ Brady’s FDD issued April 29, 2026: Items 5, 6 and 7, plus cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information and public pages were checked July 21, 2026.

No matching 2026 FDD was found on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD references below are unlinked and identify the applicable Item and page. The official U.S. franchise website is linked only for the separate statements it publishes.

What are the key capital figures?

The following figures separate the initial fee, opening working capital and continuing percentage fees. They are not interchangeable measures of the cash needed to open.

Initial Franchise Fee $25,000 Single Family Sports Pub; paid in two $12,500 installments.
First-unit Training Fee $20,000 Nonrefundable; due at least 90 days before scheduled opening.
Additional Funds $20,000–$35,000 Included in Item 7 for the first three months of operation.
Royalty Fee 5% Previous month’s Adjusted Gross Sales; paid monthly by ACH.
Marketing Fund 2.5% Current rate on previous month’s Adjusted Gross Sales; may increase to 3.0%.
Minimum Net Worth $1,000,000 Published on current official qualification pages; separate from Item 7 investment.
Sources: 2026 Beef ‘O’ Brady’s FDD, Items 5–7, pp. 4–16; official investment and qualification pages checked July 21, 2026.
Item 7 investment

What is included in the $525,850 to $1,699,875 range?

The Item 7 total combines franchisor payments, premises work, restaurant equipment, opening inventory, technology, licenses, professional services, initial promotion and three months of Additional Funds. The largest disclosed source of variation is Leasehold Improvements, followed by Equipment.

The low and high totals should be read as two ends of a franchisor-prepared estimate, not as a quote for a particular address. The disclosure says the figures depend on site location, restaurant size, local market conditions and other circumstances, and it expressly says the published ranges are not maximum or minimum amounts. A project can therefore move outside the range even when every category in the table has been reviewed. That point matters most where a buyer has not yet selected a site, because the premises condition determines demolition, utility work, code upgrades, labor requirements and the amount of finish-out required before equipment can be installed.

The total also reflects a leased-site model. It does not include buying land or a building, and it does not reduce the total for a landlord contribution. A lease may shift the timing of cash without reducing the project’s economic cost: some allowances are reimbursed only after work is completed, lien waivers are delivered or occupancy conditions are satisfied. The buyer may need to fund construction invoices first and receive reimbursement later. That timing issue should be tested in a sources-and-uses schedule rather than assumed from the stated total.

Premises, equipment and technology

These categories are generally paid to landlords, contractors or vendors as the lease is signed, orders are placed, work progresses and equipment is delivered.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 range Payment timing FDD page
Equipment $130,000–$360,500 At order and delivery p. 13
Furniture, Fixtures & Millwork $22,000–$115,000 At order and delivery p. 13
Audio & Video Equipment $25,000–$75,000 At order and delivery p. 13
Architect Fees & Permits $7,500–$15,000 At delivery or agency requirement p. 13
Lease Deposit $9,900–$28,125 At lease signing p. 13
Leasehold Improvements $196,000–$883,000 Before opening as suppliers require p. 13
Signage $10,000–$20,000 At order and delivery p. 13
Computer System $13,000–$15,600 At delivery p. 14

The chart also shows why selecting an arbitrary midpoint would be misleading. A midpoint would imply that the construction condition, equipment package and landlord participation can be represented by one central case, but the disclosure does not make that claim. A second-generation restaurant with reusable infrastructure may face a different scope than a raw shell, while an older space may require extensive remediation even if some fixtures already exist. Local building codes, utility capacity and labor rules can further affect the scope. None of those circumstances can be resolved from the national range alone.

For budgeting, the practical task is to tie each premises-related allowance to a dated document: the approved site plan, landlord work letter, contractor proposal, equipment schedule and delivery terms. Quotes should identify sales tax, freight, installation, storage, permits and contingency treatment so that costs are not accidentally omitted or counted twice. The disclosure’s high end is useful as a warning about scale, but it is not a substitute for a location-specific construction budget.

Pre-opening, opening and initial operating costs

These costs are paid as services are incurred, licenses are issued, inventory arrives and the restaurant enters its first three months of operation.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 range What it covers or when paid FDD page
Training and Pre-Opening Expenses $2,500–$8,000 Travel, lodging, meals and related costs as required p. 13
Initial Inventory $25,000–$30,000 At order and delivery p. 13
Insurance $4,000–$18,000 As insurer or agent requires p. 13
Licenses & Permits $1,500–$7,500 As government agencies require p. 13
Liquor License $500–$20,000 When issued; may substantially exceed the stated range pp. 14–15
Computer Support — 3 Months $1,950 POS support and the monthly IT Fee pp. 14–15
Professional Fees $3,000–$5,000 Attorney, accountant and other professionals as incurred p. 14
Utility Deposits and Impact Fees $6,000–$10,000 Before opening p. 14
Promotional and Advertising — 3 Months $3,000–$7,200 As media and suppliers require p. 14
Additional Funds — 3 Months $20,000–$35,000 Miscellaneous start-up expenses, including employee wages pp. 14–16

The three-month operating allowance is already inside the stated total. It should not be added a second time when comparing the disclosure with a financing proposal. At the same time, its inclusion does not mean it covers every cash need. The description refers to miscellaneous opening expenses and employee wages, but it does not identify a separate reserve for the owner’s household, debt service, construction overruns or delayed reimbursements. Those needs depend on the buyer’s circumstances and should remain outside any claim about the franchisor’s estimate.

Several smaller categories can also become timing bottlenecks even when they do not dominate the total. Insurance may be required before a landlord releases possession or before work begins. Utility and impact charges may have to be paid before service is activated. Licensing may depend on inspections, public notices or local processing periods. Vendor deposits may be due well before delivery. A credible cash schedule therefore needs both the amount and the due date for each invoice, not only the final sum.

FDD caveat

The Item 7 amounts are estimates, not guaranteed minimums or maximums. The liquor-license expense may substantially exceed $20,000 in some jurisdictions, and real-estate purchase cost is excluded entirely. A buyer should obtain local licensing and lease information before relying on the published high end.

Source: 2026 Beef ‘O’ Brady’s FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–16. The official real-estate criteria page describes the franchisor’s currently marketed site profile, but it does not replace the Item 7 assumptions.
Payment timing

When is the money paid before opening?

The cash requirement arrives in stages rather than as one payment. The Franchise Fee starts at contract signing, the Training Fee is due at least 90 days before opening, and most of the larger premises and equipment bills are paid under the lease, construction contracts and vendor order schedules.

The payees are also different. Contract charges go to the franchisor, rent and deposits go to the landlord, construction invoices go to contractors, and equipment or inventory invoices go to vendors. Government agencies, insurers and professional advisers have their own schedules. Because these obligations do not necessarily align, a buyer can have substantial cash committed before opening even though some final deliveries or approvals remain outstanding.

A payment plan should distinguish refundable deposits from nonrefundable charges, deposits from final balances, and direct payments from reimbursable landlord work. It should also identify the latest date on which the project can be paused without creating additional exposure. Once long-lead equipment is ordered or construction begins, cancellation rights may be limited by third-party contracts even if the restaurant has not opened. The disclosure does not quantify those cancellation terms, so they must be obtained from the actual lease, construction agreement and vendor orders.

1

Sign the Franchise Agreement

For a single Family Sports Pub, pay the first $12,500 installment of the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee. The fee is nonrefundable.

2

Sign the lease or approach groundbreaking

Pay the second $12,500 Franchise Fee installment at the earlier of lease signing or 30 days before groundbreaking. The Lease Deposit is also due as the landlord requires.

3

At least 90 days before scheduled opening

Pay the $20,000 first-unit Training Fee. The fee covers the initial training program and opening on-site training provided under the FDD; trainee travel, lodging, meals and wages remain the franchisee’s responsibility.

4

Order and build

Pay Equipment, Furniture, Fixtures & Millwork, Audio & Video Equipment, Signage and the Computer System at order, delivery or according to supplier terms. Leasehold Improvements are paid before opening as contractors and other suppliers require.

5

Complete licensing and opening preparation

Pay permits, liquor licensing, insurance, utility deposits, professional services, Initial Inventory and pre-opening travel as they are incurred or issued.

6

Open and fund the first three months

Use the included Additional Funds estimate for miscellaneous opening expenses and employee wages, while monthly Royalty, Marketing and Development Fund, IT, Website, POS support and SIM-card charges begin according to their disclosed billing schedules.

Payment timing

The Item 7 total is not a statement that the entire high end must be liquid on contract day. It is the estimated aggregate investment across contracting, leasing, construction, opening and the first three operating months. Lenders and landlords may still require equity, deposits, guarantees or reserves not expressed as a separate FDD threshold.

Sources: 2026 Beef ‘O’ Brady’s FDD, Item 5, pp. 4–5, and Item 7, pp. 13–16. The franchisor’s official disclosure sequence states that an FDD is provided during the qualification process. Federal timing rules are explained in the FTC’s FDD review guidance.
Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after a Beef ‘O’ Brady’s opens?

The main continuing charges are a 5% Royalty and a current 2.5% Marketing and Development Fund Contribution, each based on the previous month’s Adjusted Gross Sales. Fixed monthly technology and web charges are separate. The FDD permits the marketing contribution to increase to 3.0%.

Continuing charge Amount or basis When due FDD source
Royalty 5% of previous month’s Adjusted Gross Sales Monthly on the designated day; ACH required Item 6, p. 6
Marketing and Development Fund Contribution Currently 2.5%; may rise to 3.0% Monthly on the designated day Item 6, pp. 6–7
POS vendor maintenance $400 per month As vendor requires Item 7 note, p. 15
IT Fee $250 per month Monthly on the designated day Item 6, p. 7
Website Fee $100 per month Monthly on the designated day Item 6, p. 7
SIM card service $20 per month 20th of each month with royalty and advertising fees Item 6, p. 11

The percentage charges and fixed charges behave differently. The first group varies with the contractual sales base, while the second group is billed in stated monthly amounts regardless of the sales level. They should remain separate in a forecast so a change in sales does not incorrectly change fixed technology or web charges. The marketing percentage also has a disclosed escalation right, so a projection using only the current rate should retain the higher contractual rate as a scenario rather than describing the current rate as permanently fixed.

The monthly debit process is important to liquidity management. The contract requires an authorized bank account and permits electronic withdrawals for amounts due. The franchisor may use point-of-sale information to determine the monthly sales base and may withdraw additional amounts, including interest and late charges, after identifying an underpayment. This mechanism means cash must be available on the designated withdrawal date; an accounting accrual alone does not satisfy the payment obligation.

What does “Adjusted Gross Sales” mean for fee calculations?

The 2026 FDD defines Gross Sales broadly to include revenue from activities associated with the Family Sports Pub, including delivery, retail, concessions, catering, special functions and marked products, with stated exclusions for collected sales or similar taxes and actual customer refunds, adjustments, credits and allowances. Adjusted Gross Sales then subtracts specified items including certain complimentary service, gift-certificate amounts, reasonable over-rings, allowances, customer discounts and employee tips. The detailed contract definition controls the Royalty and Marketing and Development Fund calculation.

Source: 2026 Beef ‘O’ Brady’s FDD, Item 6, Notes 1 and 3, pp. 11–12.
Area development

How do multi-unit commitments change the upfront cost contract?

An Area Development Agreement creates a separate $25,000 to $40,000 initial investment for development rights and professional review, before the Item 7 investment for each restaurant. The area developer must commit to at least two Family Sports Pubs; the 2026 table illustrates commitments of two or three units.

This structure creates two capital layers. The first is the payment for development rights and professional review. The second is the complete opening investment for each restaurant as its development date approaches. The first layer does not reserve construction pricing, rent, equipment pricing or working capital for later sites. It also does not make later locations part of one combined opening range.

The development schedule can therefore create concentration risk. A buyer may be required to move from one project to the next while the earlier restaurant is still using cash, and the disclosure warns that later projects may cost more. The relevant question is not merely whether the first development payment is available, but whether equity and financing capacity remain available for each required site on the contractual timetable. The extension charge further increases the importance of understanding what happens when a site is delayed or a development quota is missed.

Development Fee credit structure

The Development Fee is one-half of the reduced Franchise Fees for the committed restaurants, paid in full when the Area Development Agreement is signed. The remaining half of each applicable Franchise Fee is paid when the corresponding Franchise Agreement is signed.

Two Family Sports Pubs

$22,500

Development Fee at signing: $12,500 for unit one plus $10,000 for unit two. The same amounts remain due later as the balance of the first and second reduced Franchise Fees.

Three Family Sports Pubs

$30,000

Development Fee at signing: $12,500, $10,000 and $7,500. Matching remaining halves are due as the three Franchise Agreements are executed.

For area developers, the full reduced Franchise Fee schedule is $25,000 for the first Family Sports Pub, $20,000 for the second and $15,000 for the third. The Training Fee also declines by unit count: $20,000 for the first, $18,000 for the second, and $15,000 for the third and each later restaurant.

Format difference

The $25,000 to $40,000 Area Development Agreement estimate is not the construction budget for two or three restaurants. Each Family Sports Pub remains subject to the separate single-unit Item 7 investment when developed, and the FDD warns that later restaurants may cost more because of inflation and other economic changes.

Source: 2026 Beef ‘O’ Brady’s FDD, Item 5, pp. 4–5, and Item 7 area-development table, p. 16.
Financial qualifications

How much liquid capital and net worth does Beef ‘O’ Brady’s require?

The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold in Items 5–7. Current official web pages agree on a $1,000,000 Minimum Net Worth but conflict on liquid assets: the official homepage displays $250,000, while the official investment FAQ displays $300,000. A prospective franchisee should obtain the current qualification threshold in writing rather than treating the two figures as a range.

A qualification threshold answers a different question from a project budget. It may be used to screen an applicant’s financial capacity, but it does not state how much equity a lender will require, how much a landlord will demand as security or how much cash will remain after paying deposits. Likewise, a balance-sheet threshold can be met with assets that cannot readily be converted to cash. Those distinctions become important when a large share of the opening spend is due during construction.

The financing disclosure is narrow: there is no franchisor-provided loan and no guarantee of third-party obligations. A lender list may help identify institutions familiar with the system, but each lender can impose its own underwriting, collateral, equity and guaranty requirements. Approval can also depend on the selected site and final budget. Written qualification confirmation from the franchisor and a written financing term sheet from a lender are therefore separate documents serving separate purposes.

Source conflict

The same official pages also show older cost terms that conflict with the April 29, 2026 FDD: a 4% Royalty instead of 5%, an $18,000 Training Fee instead of $20,000 for the first unit, and a narrower startup range. For FDD-governed fees, this article uses the 2026 disclosure. The website is used only to identify the unresolved financial-qualification language.

  • Estimated Initial Investment

    The Item 7 project range for establishing and initially operating one specified Family Sports Pub format.

  • Liquid Capital

    Readily available funds under the franchisor’s qualification policy. It is not the same as the full Item 7 total, and the current public threshold needs written confirmation.

  • Net Worth

    Total assets minus total liabilities. A $1,000,000 threshold is shown on current official pages, but net worth is not cash available to pay project invoices.

  • Financing

    Item 10 states that FSC Franchise Co., LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. The official FAQ says the franchisor provides a list of lenders it has worked with; that statement is not a promise of approval.

Sources: 2026 Beef ‘O’ Brady’s FDD, Item 10, p. 22; official franchise homepage; official investment FAQs. Public pages checked July 21, 2026.
Conditional obligations

Which costs arise only after a trigger or special event?

Item 6 contains charges that do not belong in every opening budget but can become material after a transfer, renewal, compliance problem, training request, supplier exception or early termination. They should be modeled as contractual triggers, not routine monthly expenses.

These obligations are best evaluated by scenario rather than averaged into an ordinary month. A transfer scenario should include approval, training, travel and updated materials. A renewal scenario should include the stated contract charge plus any work required to meet then-current standards. A compliance scenario should consider daily charges, professional help and the operational cost of correcting the underlying issue. Combining all possible charges into one annual estimate would imply that every trigger occurs, while omitting them would understate the contract’s contingent exposure.

Some amounts are open-ended because they depend on duration or third-party expense. A daily charge grows until the condition is corrected. Trainer travel varies by location and schedule. Interim management expense depends on how long outside operation continues. Audit exposure depends on the size and cause of a deficiency. These provisions require attention to process controls, insurance and contract administration, but the disclosure does not provide a single reserve amount that can be presented as the appropriate answer for every buyer.

Training, supplier and operating triggers

  • Alternative-supplier inspection and testing: likely $50 to $3,000.
  • Additional or later trainee: currently $1,000 per trainee, not to exceed $2,000 per trainee, plus trainee expenses.
  • Additional opening or optional on-site training: $250 per day per trainer, plus applicable travel, hotel, meal, wage or per-diem costs.
  • Mandatory or remedial training: $250 per day per trainer; new menu training materials are $350 per package, plus expenses.
  • Interim operation by the franchisor: $1,200 per week plus reasonable travel, lodging and meal expenses.
  • ServSafe Certification: $125 per person or the then-current fee, not to exceed $300.

Transfer, renewal and enforcement triggers

  • Assignment or Transfer Fee: $2,500 before transfer.
  • Transfer Partner Training / Grand Re-Opening Fee: up to $20,000, plus specified wages and travel expenses; transfer materials are $350 plus shipping.
  • Renewal Fee: $20,000 when signing the first successor agreement; no additional renewal fee is stated for the second successor agreement.
  • Area Development Agreement extension: balance of Franchise Fees for undeveloped restaurants.
  • Health Inspection Violation Fee: $10,000.
  • Non-Compliance Fee: $250 per day while non-compliance continues; the note permits a higher amount depending on severity and repetition.
  • Late or deficient payment

    A 10% late penalty plus interest can apply immediately. If an audit finds a deficiency above 3% of fees payable, the franchisee also pays audit costs, deficiency and late charges.

  • Early termination

    Within 15 days after early termination, the fee is the greater of $100,000 or three times the combined Royalties and Marketing Contributions paid during the preceding 12 months.

  • Replacement materials and managers

    Replacement manager training materials are $50 plus shipping. Replacement Manuals are currently $350, capped at $400, plus shipping.

  • Opening delay

    If an agreed opening date is delayed, the franchisee pays additional expenses incurred by the franchisor’s personnel, including travel changes, hotel increases and lost trainer wages.

Source: 2026 Beef ‘O’ Brady’s FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–13. The official training and opening-support page describes support generally; the FDD controls the related fees and expense allocations.
Cost boundaries

What does the official investment range leave unresolved?

The Item 7 range is decision-useful only when its assumptions match the proposed site. It does not establish the final cash requirement for real-estate purchase, a freestanding building, a jurisdiction with an unusually costly liquor license, or a project whose lease and construction terms fall outside the FDD assumptions.

The site-format mismatch deserves particular attention. The disclosure’s cost table assumes one type of leased premises, while the current public real-estate material also discusses endcap or freestanding opportunities and a somewhat different size profile. That does not prove the published opening range applies to every marketed site. A freestanding project may involve land, shell construction, site work, parking, utility extensions or other responsibilities that are not resolved by a tenant finish-out estimate. The applicable format and cost schedule should be identified before a buyer compares sites.

The same caution applies to conversions. Reusing a former restaurant can reduce some work but create other costs for demolition, code correction, kitchen layout, mechanical systems or replacement of incompatible assets. The disclosure does not publish a separate conversion range. Any savings claim therefore needs support from the approved plans and vendor quotes for the specific space, rather than an assumption that existing restaurant infrastructure automatically produces the low end.

A final review should reconcile four documents: the current disclosure, the signed franchise contract, the lease and the project budget. Each answers a different part of the decision. The disclosure describes the franchisor’s estimated categories and contractual fees; the franchise contract creates obligations; the lease allocates premises responsibilities; and the project budget converts the approved scope into dated cash needs. A gap between those documents is an unresolved funding issue, not a reason to substitute a generic estimate.

  • Confirm the site format.

    The Item 7 range assumes a leased 3,500-to-4,500-square-foot shopping-center or urban site that is not freestanding. The official real-estate page currently markets somewhat different site criteria, so the franchisor should confirm which design and cost assumptions apply to the proposed location.

  • Price the lease separately.

    The FDD Lease Deposit estimate is based on three months of rent and an annual base-rent assumption of $25 to $35 per square foot. Common-area maintenance, taxes, insurance, percentage rent and other occupancy charges can vary.

  • Document landlord contributions.

    The total excludes any tenant improvement allowance. A landlord allowance may reduce cash paid during build-out, but the amount, reimbursement timing and qualifying work depend on the lease.

  • Verify liquor-license availability and cost.

    The FDD expressly warns that the expense can substantially exceed $20,000 and vary by jurisdiction.

  • Separate business working capital from personal reserves.

    Additional Funds cover miscellaneous expenses during the first three operating months and identify employee wages, but the FDD does not expressly state that owner compensation or personal living costs are included.

  • Check required suppliers and technology.

    Item 8 requires specified products and services from designated or approved sources, including designated food products from Sysco. Alternative-supplier review may create testing cost and delay.

Buyer verification

Before signing a lease or construction contract, reconcile the proposed site plan against Item 7 line by line: premises condition, landlord allowance, equipment package, local permits, liquor license, technology configuration, initial inventory and the first three months of working capital. The FTC franchise buying guide explains why Items 5–8 should be read together and why costs outside the disclosure may still require investigation.

Decision synthesis

What capital decision does the 2026 disclosure support?

The verified starting point is $525,850 to $1,699,875 for one Family Sports Pub, not the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee alone. The main range drivers are Leasehold Improvements, Equipment, restaurant condition and local occupancy requirements. The Item 7 total already includes $20,000 to $35,000 of Additional Funds for three months, while ongoing Royalty, Marketing and Development Fund, POS, IT, Website and SIM-card charges continue after opening.

The unresolved capital question is site-specific: whether the proposed lease, build-out, liquor license and required equipment fit the FDD assumptions. Financial qualification is also unresolved because current official web pages disagree on the liquid-assets threshold. The current FDD, the final Franchise Agreement, the lease and written qualification terms should be reconciled before capital is committed.