How Much Does a Baskin-Robbins Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Baskin-Robbins franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document gives one Estimated Initial Investment range of $307,400 to $626,700 for a new Baskin-Robbins Restaurant. That total includes the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $0 to $30,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months of operation. It does not establish separate complete investment ranges for every freestanding, endcap, inline, small-format, Special Distribution Opportunity, Combo Restaurant, resale, or Multi-Brand Location.

$307,400-$626,700

Estimated Initial Investment in the 2026 Baskin-Robbins FDD, Item 7, page 32. The range includes three months of Additional Funds, but major site-specific exclusions can push the required capital higher.

Data basis: Baskin-Robbins Franchising LLC; FDD issued March 26, 2026; U.S. Baskin-Robbins Restaurant offer; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; checked July 22, 2026. The franchisor's official U.S. franchise information repeats the same investment range and financial qualifications. A matching public FDD file was not identified on the official franchise-controlled website, so FDD citations below are unlinked Item-and-page references.

Key cost figures should not be treated as interchangeable. Total Initial Investment is the disclosed opening range; Liquid Assets are readily available funds; Net Worth includes assets minus liabilities; the Continuing Franchise Fee and Continuing Advertising Fee start after opening and are based on Gross Sales.

Initial Franchise Fee $25,000 Standard Restaurant; paid at Franchise Agreement signing.
Additional Funds $0-$30,000 First 3 months; already included in Item 7 total.
Liquid Assets $100,000 Current official franchise-site qualification.
Net Worth $200,000 Current official franchise-site qualification.
Continuing Franchise Fee 5.9% Baseline for most U.S. Restaurants; percentage of Gross Sales.
Advertising Fee 5.0% Baseline for most U.S. Restaurants; percentage of Gross Sales.

Sources: Baskin-Robbins 2026 FDD, Item 5 p.22, Item 6 pp.25-30, Item 7 p.32; official Baskin-Robbins franchise information checked July 22, 2026.

The lower endpoint is not a deposit requirement or a promise that a project can open with that amount of cash on hand. It is the sum of the lower values assigned to each disclosed category. The upper endpoint is calculated the same way. A real project may combine a landlord-funded shell with higher equipment costs, or a modest premises package with unusually expensive permits, so neither endpoint describes a single standard shop. Cash availability also has to match the sequence of invoices: a buyer can meet a balance-sheet qualification and still lack enough accessible funds when deposits, construction draws, equipment orders, and pre-opening bills overlap.

The range also excludes the acquisition price of an existing shop. A resale involves a negotiated purchase price, the condition of the operating assets, required repairs or upgrades, transfer charges, and any remaining lease obligations. Those amounts cannot be inferred from the new-unit range and should be separated from the working capital needed after ownership changes.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the $307,400 to $626,700 range?

The 2026 Item 7 total combines twelve categories: the Initial Franchise Fee, premises development, Equipment, Fixtures and Signs, the Restaurant Technology System, permits and deposits, Opening Inventory, pre-opening costs, Uniforms, Insurance, training travel, the Marketing Start-Up Fee, and Additional Funds. Most construction and opening payments are due as incurred rather than in one lump sum.

Site and build category 2026 range Payment timing and payee
Initial Franchise Fee $25,000 Lump sum at Franchise Agreement signing; Baskin-Robbins Franchising LLC.
Real Estate Development $123,000-$269,400 As agreed and as incurred; franchisor or third parties.
Equipment, Fixtures and Signs $115,000-$185,000 As agreed and as incurred; third parties.
Restaurant Technology System $15,000-$29,500 As agreed and as incurred; third parties.
Licenses, Permits, Fees and Deposits $7,000-$20,000 As incurred; third parties.
Opening Inventory $5,000-$8,000 As incurred; franchisor or third parties.
Opening and working-capital category 2026 range Payment timing and payee
Miscellaneous Opening Costs $9,500-$28,000 As incurred; third parties.
Uniforms $400-$800 As incurred; third parties.
Insurance $3,500-$10,000 As incurred; third parties.
Travel and Living Expenses While Training $1,000-$15,000 As incurred; third parties.
Marketing Start-Up Fee $3,000-$6,000 As incurred; franchisor or third parties.
Additional Funds for First 3 Months of Operation $0-$30,000 As incurred; franchisor or third parties.

Source: Baskin-Robbins 2026 FDD, Item 7, p.32. Arithmetic check: the disclosed low endpoints sum to $307,400 and the high endpoints sum to $626,700. This is a derived reconciliation of the Item 7 figures, not a separate franchisor estimate.

The chart should be read as a comparison of disclosed intervals, not as an allocation of a typical budget. It does not select a midpoint, assume that every category reaches its maximum at the same project, or imply that a smaller bar is less important. A permit charge can be decisive even though its disclosed range is much smaller than the premises range. Likewise, the zero-dollar lower endpoint for the initial operating allowance means the franchisor recognizes that some shops may not need a stated amount in that category; it does not mean a buyer should plan to open without a cash cushion.

The real-estate footnote explains the main mechanics behind the spread. The lower end assumes a build-to-suit arrangement in which the landlord bears most development expense and the franchisee makes a lease deposit. The upper end assumes leasehold work inside a landlord's building. A landlord contribution can reduce the amount paid before opening but may be reflected in higher rent over the lease term, so the opening range and the continuing occupancy obligation must be reviewed together.

FORMAT CONTRACTS

Does the same cost structure apply to every Baskin-Robbins format?

No. The 2026 FDD publishes one overall Item 7 range, but Item 5 changes the Initial Franchise Fee for Gas Station or Convenience Store Restaurants, Special Distribution Opportunities, and Combo Restaurants. Other-brand costs also sit outside the Baskin-Robbins-only range when a buyer develops a Combo Restaurant or Multi-Brand Location.

Initial Franchise Fee treatment by offer type

The figures below are fee rules, not separate complete build-cost ranges.

Standard Baskin-Robbins Restaurant

$25,000

Due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.

Gas Station or Convenience Store

Prorated standard IFF

The FDD example is $12,500 for a 10-year term.

Special Distribution Opportunity

50% of standard, then prorated

The FDD example is $6,250 for a 10-year term.

Combo Restaurant

$10,000 plus Dunkin' IFF

The Dunkin' portion is governed by a separate Dunkin' FDD.

Source: Baskin-Robbins 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp.22-24.

The official franchise site describes freestanding, endcap, inline, and small-format physical designs. The small-format page says it is intended to have a lower build cost, but neither that page nor Item 7 supplies a distinct complete dollar range for it. Review the official Baskin-Robbins location formats without substituting their square footage for an Item 7 budget.

Item 1 separately defines Special Distribution Opportunities such as airports, hospitals, schools, gas and convenience stores, travel centers, mobile units, and other nontraditional venues. Inspire's official nontraditional format information illustrates airports, travel centers, universities, kiosks, and multi-brand configurations, but it does not replace the FDD's cost disclosures.

A physical prototype and a legal offer are different things. Freestanding, endcap, inline, and modular designs describe how a site may be built, while the agreement package determines which fees, riders, other-brand documents, and renewal provisions apply. A smaller footprint may reduce selected construction quantities, but it can still require costly utility work, a drive-thru package, specialized signage, or a landlord contribution recovered through rent. Conversely, a larger shell may have favorable existing improvements. The absence of a separate complete range means the buyer should not scale the published total by square footage.

For a shared or nontraditional venue, identify which party pays for walls, utilities, counters, storage, seating, common-area charges, security, loading access, and venue-mandated systems. Those allocations can remove one expense from the opening invoice while creating rent, percentage rent, service, or concession obligations later. The relevant lease, rider, and venue agreement therefore matter as much as the label applied to the format.

FORMAT DIFFERENCE

A lower or prorated Initial Franchise Fee does not establish a lower total investment. Site development, equipment, other-brand agreements, technology, inventory, and local approvals still determine the opening capital. Request a format-specific development budget that reconciles every line to the current FDD.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the opening money paid?

The capital is paid in stages. The Initial Franchise Fee and The Center Initial Access Fee are due at signing, while premises, equipment, technology, permits, inventory, marketing, and working-capital payments are generally due as agreed or as incurred during the development and opening period.

  1. Agreement signingPay the applicable Initial Franchise Fee and the current $300 The Center Initial Access Fee. A standard single-unit IFF is $25,000.
  2. Site control and designPay lease or sublease deposits, professional costs, and requested design services. Current optional design fees include $1,200 for a preliminary site layout and $1,200 for a new-unit preliminary kitchen layout.
  3. Development and installationReal Estate Development, Equipment, Fixtures and Signs, and the Restaurant Technology System are paid as agreed and as incurred. The FDD says the typical period from signing to opening is 8 to 15 months.
  4. Training and pre-openingPay training travel, employee-related pre-opening costs, Insurance, permits, Uniforms, Opening Inventory, and the applicable Marketing Start-Up Fee before or around opening as those obligations arise.
  5. First three operating monthsUse the $0 to $30,000 Additional Funds allowance for ongoing expenses not covered by operating cash receipts. This allowance is part of the Item 7 total.

Sources: Baskin-Robbins 2026 FDD, Item 5 pp.22-24, Item 7 pp.32-36, Item 11 pp.45-46.

The largest cash concentration is likely to occur before opening, when development invoices and vendor deposits overlap. The timing column does not say that every amount must be paid in full on the first day of construction; it indicates that the buyer must fund each obligation under the applicable vendor, lease, or project schedule. A practical cash calendar should therefore show expected deposits, progress payments, final balances, and contingencies rather than only the official total.

The initialoperating allowance is different from a construction contingency. It covers the first three months after opening and is used as expenses arise. Money reserved for early operations should not be consumed by an over-budget build unless the buyer has separately replaced that reserve. The disclosure also warns that the stated operating period may not be enough, so the opening date, season, rent commencement, payroll cycle, and vendor payment terms should be tested together.

MULTI-UNIT PAYMENT

Under a Development Agreement, the franchisee pays 25% of the IFF for every committed Restaurant when the Development Agreement is signed. The remaining IFF for each Restaurant is due on the earlier of six months before its Required Opening Date or its actual opening date. The 25% development payment is credited toward the per-unit IFF; it is not a second franchise fee. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p.23.

ONGOING FEES

Which Baskin-Robbins fees continue after opening?

The core continuing charges are a Continuing Franchise Fee and a Continuing Advertising Fee calculated as percentages of Gross Sales, plus a current $300 annual Continuing Training Fee for The Center. The percentage rates vary by geography, Special Distribution Opportunity status, and conditional incentive eligibility.

Restaurant location or status CFF CAF Due
Most U.S. Restaurants 5.9% 5.0% Weekly
Alaska 1.0% 3.5% Weekly
Hawaii 0.5% 3.5% Weekly
Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington 1.0% 5.0% Weekly
Central States Territory 0.5% 2.5% Weekly
Special Distribution Opportunity Location rule 2.5% Weekly

Source: Baskin-Robbins 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp.25-30. CFF means Continuing Franchise Fee; CAF means Continuing Advertising Fee. The Central States Territory covers designated areas, not necessarily entire states, in Arkansas, Georgia, Kansas, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Tennessee.

Gross Sales basis
Revenue from approved products and services, subject to the FDD's exclusions for certain stored-value card receipts, taxes collected for government, and approved sales to another franchised or licensed entity for resale. Employee theft is not deductible.
Payment cadence
CFF is due by Thursday for the stated prior seven-day reporting period; CAF is paid weekly with CFF.
Annual training
The current Continuing Training Fee is $300 per Restaurant per year for The Center subscription.
Regional trade-off
Item 8 states that Restaurants in Alaska, Hawaii, the Central States, and the Pacific Northwest pay higher prices for specified products from Dairy Farmers of America in exchange for reduced CFF rates.

A percentage-based charge should remain a percentage in the capital model until the buyer has a defensible sales input from an allowed source. Converting the rate into an annual dollar figure by using a directory estimate, a system average, or an unsupported forecast would create a new performance assumption that is not part of this cost analysis. The weekly withdrawal schedule still matters even without that conversion because it affects bank controls and short-term liquidity.

The regional schedule also cannot be interpreted from state names alone. The defined central territory covers designated areas within listed states, and the nontraditional advertising rate can apply regardless of geography. The contract data and approved address should identify the controlling rate. Separately billed technology, payment processing, connectivity, product pricing, and occupancy costs do not disappear because a percentage rate is lower.

Other conditional programs can change cash flow without changing the published Item 7 range. The Standard (Royalty) program includes a $12,500 CFF credit and a reduced CAF of 2.5% through Year 3; the Early Opening Incentive can produce a 0% CFF for the period between an eligible early opening and the Required Opening Date, capped at six months; and the VetFran Program can provide a $10,000 royalty credit per qualifying Restaurant, up to $100,000. Each program has signing deadlines, compliance conditions, territory rules, and format exclusions in Items 5 and 6.

CONDITIONAL OBLIGATIONS

Which later fees can be triggered by an event or a problem?

Several material charges arise only if a franchisee transfers ownership, relocates, requests a new supplier, cancels training, pays late, renews, remodels, or defaults. These amounts should remain outside a normal weekly-fee estimate but inside long-term capital planning.

Training cancellation$750 per person when cancelled 8-14 days before class; $1,500 per person when cancelled 7 days or fewer before class.
Additional or repeat trainingItem 5 and the detailed Item 11 participant table state $3,000 per person, plus possible inspection-related costs; an internal FDD inconsistency is noted below.
Late paymentCurrently 1.5% per month or the highest lawful rate, whichever is less, plus collection costs when incurred.
Transfer$7,500 for a controlling transfer of a Baskin-Robbins Restaurant; $2,000 per transferee for specified documentation-only transfers; $10,000 for a controlling Development Agreement transfer. Combo Restaurant rules differ.
Alternative supplier reviewTesting reimbursement is typically $1,000 to $10,000 when a franchisee asks to use a supplier that is not approved.
RelocationThe Relocation Fee varies and is calculated using the then-applicable IFF with a credit tied to the remaining original term; new premises, construction, and marketing costs are separate.
RenewalThe 20-year Franchise Agreement may be renewed for 10 years if conditions are met, but the dollar amount of the then-current renewal fee is not disclosed. Special Distribution Opportunity Restaurants have no renewal rights under Item 17.
Remodel, refurbishment, enforcement, or uninsured lossThe franchisee bears required remodel and refurbishment costs; the FDD gives no fixed cap. Enforcement expenses, collection costs, indemnification, and insurance obtained by the franchisor also vary.

Sources: Baskin-Robbins 2026 FDD, Item 6 pp.26-31, Item 8 pp.38-39, Item 11 pp.45-53, and Item 17 pp.65-68.

These charges have different triggers, so a single annual contingency percentage would hide important timing. A transfer charge is connected to a change in ownership; a relocation charge is connected to a new premises agreement; testing expense begins with a request to approve a supplier; and late interest follows a missed payment. The responsible party should map each trigger to the contract provision, the payee, the due date, and any related work that must be completed before approval.

Long-term asset obligations deserve separate treatment. The agreement can require upgrades when standards change, at transfer, and at scheduled refurbishment or remodel dates. Because the disclosure does not cap those future project costs, the opening budget cannot fully measure the capital needed over a 20-year term. Current site condition, remaining useful life of installed equipment, landlord approval rights, and the timing of required image work are therefore material when comparing a new site with a resale or relocation.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The 2026 FDD is internally inconsistent on one training amount: Item 5 p.22 and the Item 11 participant table on p.56 state $3,000 per additional attendee, while an Item 11 narrative on p.54 states $2,950. The figures should not be averaged. Confirm the current amount in the Franchise Agreement's Contract Data Schedule before payment.

Which technology charges continue beyond the Item 7 equipment purchase?

Selected 2026 Item 11 technology obligations continue monthly, annually, or per transaction, and the Franchise Agreement does not cap the frequency or cost of required Restaurant Technology System upgrades.

Technology obligation Current disclosed amount Basis
POS annual maintenance $924-$2,648 Per Restaurant, depending on 1-3 terminal configuration.
Aggregated store network $188-$320 Per month, if the approved aggregated provider is used.
Restaurant Technology Service Desk $570-$825 Per Restaurant per year.
Digital menu managed services $13-$17 Per panel per month.
Mobile and advance ordering $0-$75 + 2%-15% Monthly fixed fee plus transaction fee on the order amount.

Source: Baskin-Robbins 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp.49-53. This is a selected technology schedule, not a complete list of payment processing, PCI, security, maintenance, and other vendor charges.

RANGE LIMITS

What costs can fall outside the Item 7 total?

The disclosed total is not a ceiling. The largest identified exclusions concern land, freestanding construction, impact fees, drive-thru systems, unusual site conditions, and compensation or living costs that Item 7 does not include or does not expressly identify.

Land purchaseBuying land can add $100,000 to $1,200,000 or more beyond the Real Estate Development range.
Freestanding building on leased landThe FDD says this can add $200,000 to $300,000.
Government impact feesThese are excluded from the permits range and can be $87,000 or more in some markets.
Drive-thru and extra POS equipmentDrive-thru technology is excluded from the Restaurant Technology System range, and extra terminals may be required by the Restaurant's configuration.
Unusual site workExtra utility connections, soil or environmental problems, extensive redesign, variances, legal obstacles, excessive permitting, and similar extraordinary conditions are excluded.
Training payroll and personal fundingItem 7 excludes wages or salaries paid to employees while they attend training. It does not state that owner compensation or personal living expenses are included.
Resales and other brandsAn existing Restaurant's purchase price cannot be estimated in Item 7. Combo and Multi-Brand Locations require the other franchisor's fees, training, systems, equipment, inventory, and disclosure documents.

Source: Baskin-Robbins 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp.33-37.

Each excluded amount should be assigned to one of three categories in a site model: known and quoted, possible but not yet quoted, or not applicable. This prevents a visible allowance from being mistaken for coverage of every local condition. For example, a municipal charge that has not yet been assessed should not be buried inside the ordinary permits range, and an extra drive-thru system should not be assumed to fit inside the basic technology range when the disclosure expressly excludes it.

The distinction between landlord work and tenant work also needs written support. A proposal may describe a turnkey shell but leave electrical service, grease interceptors, roof penetrations, signage power, slab cuts, utility capacity, or restoration obligations to the tenant. The official premises range cannot resolve those negotiations. A final project budget should trace each scope item to the lease exhibit, construction drawings, contractor bid, or vendor quotation and identify who bears overruns.

ADDITIONAL FUNDS

Do not add the $0 to $30,000 Additional Funds range a second time. It is already one of the twelve categories inside the $307,400 to $626,700 Item 7 total. The FDD also says three months may not be sufficient, especially where site type, rent structure, wages, local conditions, or a cold-weather opening increase the need for working capital.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital and net worth does Baskin-Robbins require?

The current official U.S. franchise page states $100,000 in Liquid Assets and $200,000 in Net Worth. Those thresholds are screening qualifications, not a statement that $100,000 is enough cash to open a Restaurant and not a substitute for the $307,400 to $626,700 Item 7 investment range.

Liquid Assets
$100,000 on the current official franchise page. This is readily available capital, not the same concept as total assets or Item 7 cost.
Net Worth
$200,000 on the current official franchise page. Net Worth is assets minus liabilities and does not measure cash available for construction and opening payments.
Non-borrowed funds
No separate minimum was identified in the 2026 FDD cost items or the current official franchise page. A lender or the franchisor may still impose deal-specific equity requirements.
Personal Guarantee
If the franchisee is an entity, direct and indirect owners must sign a guaranty that binds them individually to the applicable Franchise Agreement and Development Agreement obligations.
Franchisor financing
Item 10 states that Baskin-Robbins Franchising LLC offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation.

A qualification threshold is assessed at a point in time, while project cash declines as payments are made. A buyer who begins with exactly the stated liquid amount may fall below the threshold after paying the signing fees, and the remaining amount may be far below the opening cost. The franchisor may also assess the strength of the proposed ownership group, the number of units committed, and the capital structure even when the published minimums are met.

Because no financing is offered or guaranteed by the franchisor, outside debt is a separate transaction. Loan proceeds may arrive only after equity is injected, leases are signed, collateral is documented, or construction milestones are reached. Interest, lender fees, reserves, guarantees, and timing conditions are not part of the disclosed opening total unless a specific category expressly includes them. A funding plan should therefore show sources and uses by date, not merely a total loan request.

Sources: official Baskin-Robbins financial qualifications; Baskin-Robbins 2026 FDD, Item 1 p.1 and Item 10 p.42.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What should a prospective franchisee verify before relying on the range?

Verify the site, format, agreement type, territory-based fee rates, incentive eligibility, excluded development work, and recurring technology schedule against the then-current FDD and contract documents. The official range is a disclosure framework, not a fixed project quote.

Confirm the exact offerStandard, SDO, gas or convenience, Combo, Multi-Brand, resale, relocation, and Development Agreement paths do not have identical fee contracts.
Reconcile the site budgetSeparate landlord-paid work, franchisee-paid Leasehold Improvements, land or building costs, deposits, utility work, impact fees, and drive-thru requirements.
Map every payment dateIdentify signing payments, vendor deposits, construction draws, opening purchases, weekly fees, annual subscriptions, and conditional event charges.
Test incentive conditionsDo not reduce the budget for a marketing contribution, equipment credit, CFF credit, reduced CFF, reduced CAF, Early Opening Incentive, or VetFran credit until eligibility is documented.
Check for updatesThe FTC explains that a prospective franchisee must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing or paying and may ask for updated information before executing the agreement.

A useful comparison worksheet has one row for each disclosed category and separate columns for the official range, the site-specific quote, the payment date, the payee, and the document supporting the quote. A sixth column can flag whether the amount is included in the total, excluded, recurring, or event-triggered. This structure exposes double counting, missing deposits, and vendor charges that have been placed in the wrong phase.

The worksheet should also preserve uncertainty rather than force a false single number. Where a permit has not been priced, record it as unresolved and identify the date by which it must be known. Where a landlord contribution is conditional on opening, show the franchisee's gross payment and the later reimbursement separately. Where an incentive depends on compliance or timely submission of development costs, keep the undiscounted obligation visible until the conditions are satisfied.

The Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions lists Baskin Robbins Franchising LLC as an active franchise registration through March 26, 2027. Registration is a government filing status, not approval of the investment or verification of the FDD's claims.

CAPITAL SYNTHESIS

What is the practical capital takeaway?

The verified starting point is $307,400 to $626,700 for the one new-Restaurant range in the 2026 FDD. The most important drivers are Real Estate Development, Equipment, Fixtures and Signs, format-specific fee treatment, drive-thru and technology requirements, and excluded site conditions. The $100,000 Liquid Assets and $200,000 Net Worth qualifications measure eligibility; they do not replace the investment range. After opening, the buyer must separately plan for percentage-based CFF and CAF obligations, annual and vendor technology charges, and event-triggered costs such as transfer, relocation, supplier testing, renewal, refurbishment, and default-related expenses.

The decisive unresolved figure is the site-specific amount due before the doors open. That figure can be established only after the premises scope, landlord contribution, local approvals, vendor configuration, payment schedule, and available funding are documented together. Keeping those assumptions visible makes it possible to compare the official lower and upper boundaries with the actual transaction without converting either boundary into a promise, an average, or a recommended budget.