The 2026 ACFN Franchise Disclosure Document estimates a total initial investment of $37,561 to $58,211 for one ACFN franchise operating one to three ATMs. The range includes the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee, required ATM equipment, cash loaded into the ATMs, setup costs, insurance, professional fees, training, and $500 to $1,500 of Additional Funds for the first three months. The FDD cover states that $30,411 to $38,561 of the total is paid to the franchisor or its affiliates. It does not represent a liquid-capital requirement, and the FDD does not disclose a separate minimum net-worth or liquid-capital threshold.
2026 ACFN FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–15. The low end assumes one ATM; the high end assumes three ATMs. The total already includes $5,000 to $15,000 of required ATM cash inventory and three months of Additional Funds.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: ACFN Franchised Inc. Issuance date: January 2, 2026. Offer analyzed: one U.S. ACFN business with one to three ATMs, plus the separately priced possibility of acquiring existing corporate ATMs and host locations. Primary disclosures: Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, and 17. Information checked July 21, 2026.
The current registration can be checked in the Wisconsin franchise filing record. ACFN's public U.S. franchise information is available on the official ACFN franchise website. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public webpage, so FDD Item and page citations below are intentionally unlinked.
Which ACFN costs matter most before opening?
The dominant pre-opening commitments are the Initial Franchise Fee, the required ATMs and cash cassettes, and the cash inventory placed inside each ATM. The 2026 FDD treats ATM cash as part of the Estimated Initial Investment, not as a fee paid to ACFN.
The opening total combines three kinds of capital that should be tracked separately in a funding plan. The upfront license payment is a contractual charge and does not create a reusable asset. The machines and office items are equipment purchases that may remain useful but can require maintenance or replacement. The currency placed in each machine is operating inventory: it is not consumed in the same way as a fee, yet it must still be funded and replenished so the location can function. Treating all three as one undifferentiated startup cost can obscure how much cash is locked into day-to-day operation and how much is permanently paid away.
The cash inside the ATMs is the largest non-fee capital requirement at the high end. It remains the franchisee's operating cash inventory, but it must be available at installation and therefore affects how much liquid cash is needed even though ACFN does not state a separate liquid-capital minimum.
What is included in the $37,561 to $58,211 range?
The official range is the sum of ten Item 7 categories. The FDD's low end assumes one ATM, while the high end assumes three. Real estate is not included because ACFN does not require a separate office or a lease for approved ATM host locations.
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 range | When or why it is paid |
|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $25,000 | When the Franchise Agreement is signed, subject to approved financing of part of the fee. |
| Signs | $0–$200 | Only if a host location requires directional signage. |
| ATMs and other Equipment and Supplies | $4,416–$12,566 | One to three ATMs plus an extra cash cassette; state sales tax is excluded. |
| Additional Capital Required for ATMs | $5,000–$15,000 | Cash inventory, estimated at $5,000 per ATM, available at installation. |
| Office Equipment and Supplies | $200–$1,200 | Cell phone/voice mail plus, at the high end, compliant computer and office equipment. |
| Initial Local Marketing Expense | $200 | Shortly before and around opening; mainly gas and direct-marketing expenses. |
| Insurance | $700–$900 | Estimated first-year premium, paid before operations begin. |
| Professional Fees and Licenses | $550–$650 | Accounting setup, business licenses, and professional assistance. |
| Initial Training Fee | $995 | Virtual initial training for the Managing Owner and up to one additional person. |
| Additional Funds — 3 Months | $500–$1,500 | Payroll, debt service, and miscellaneous operating expenses during the first three months. |
Source: 2026 ACFN FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–15.
Official Item 7 total: $37,561 to $58,211 for one ACFN franchise operating one to three ATMs. The ten rows above reconcile exactly to the official low and high totals.
The endpoints are complete disclosed scenarios, not a menu from which a buyer should choose the lowest amount in every row. The lower total pairs the lower equipment count with the lower amount of currency inventory and the lower estimates for other variable categories. The upper total pairs the larger equipment count with the larger operating-cash requirement and the higher estimates for setup items. A midpoint would be a private calculation rather than an official estimate and could be misleading when the intended number of locations is already known.
Several small rows also answer different questions. Insurance and professional work are outside-party expenses. The training charge is paid to the franchisor. The short operating reserve covers early expenses after activity begins. Keeping these categories separate helps a buyer identify which amounts may be quoted by vendors, which amounts are fixed by contract, and which amounts should remain available in the business account rather than being spent before launch.
How much of startup capital is tied directly to the ATMs?
The two ATM-specific Item 7 categories are the machines and related equipment plus the cash inventory loaded into them. The totals below are derived by adding those compatible disclosed categories at each endpoint.
Bar length uses the same dollar scale for both endpoints; the two colors separate equipment from cash inventory.
Source: 2026 ACFN FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–14. Derived totals: $4,416 + $5,000 = $9,416; $12,566 + $15,000 = $27,566.
When does an ACFN franchisee need the money?
The cash is not paid all at once to one party. The Initial Franchise Fee and first required ATM purchase occur at or around signing, ATM cash must be available for installation, several setup costs are paid before opening, and Additional Funds are used over the first three months.
At Franchise Agreement signing
The $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee is due, except for any portion ACFN agrees to finance. Item 8 also states that at least one ATM and an extra cash cassette must be purchased from ACFN when the agreement is signed. ACFN's official public cost page likewise identifies the $25,000 fee and possible financing of $10,000.
During training and setup
The $995 Initial Training Fee, office equipment, professional fees, licenses, and any required signage are paid as incurred. Initial training consists of four video conference calls, so Item 7 does not include travel or lodging; wages or benefits for attendees remain the franchisee's responsibility.
Before the first ATM begins operating
The first-year insurance premium is paid before operations, and $5,000 of cash inventory per ATM must be available at installation. Initial local marketing is incurred shortly before and around the start of operations.
During the first three months
The disclosed $500 to $1,500 of Additional Funds covers payroll, debt service, and miscellaneous day-to-day expenses. This amount is already included in the $37,561 to $58,211 Item 7 total and should not be added again.
A practical cash schedule should be built around commitments rather than the opening date alone. Signing creates immediate obligations, while installation creates the need for equipment and currency. Insurance and licensing may be payable on their own vendor schedules, and the operating reserve is used after launch. A buyer who has enough money for the headline minimum but cannot meet the earlier invoices or preserve the operating balance may still face a funding gap. The relevant question is not only how much is required in total, but how much must remain liquid at each milestone.
Financing up to $10,000 of the franchise fee changes when that portion is paid, but it does not reduce the Item 7 investment. Equipment, ATM cash inventory, insurance, and other startup obligations still require separate funding.
What fees continue after an ACFN ATM is operating?
ACFN's 2026 Item 6 does not list a conventional fee titled “Royalty Fee.” Instead, the operating cost structure uses a Brand Fee, a monthly ATM Administration Fee, a per-transaction fee, a tiered Virtual Office Fee, wireless charges when applicable, and several transaction or Multiple Location Account adjustments.
| Ongoing charge | Amount or basis | Timing and condition |
|---|---|---|
| Regional/National Brand Fee | 1.25% of Net Revenue | Monthly. ACFN may change it on notice to up to 1% of Gross Revenue. |
| ATM Administration Fee | $12 per ATM/month | Monthly for each operating ATM; $200 per ATM/month may apply for an ATM not processed through ACFN's network. |
| Transaction Fee | $0.15 per transaction | Monthly when ACFN processes an ATM transaction. |
| Virtual Office Fee | $0 to $150+ per month | Tiered by the franchisee's monthly share of collected fees. |
| Wireless Connection Fee | $8.95–$13.50 per month | For each wireless ATM location. |
| MLA Program contribution | Variable percentage | Monthly when an ATM above ACFN's threshold helps offset underperforming locations in the same Multiple Location Account. |
| Interchange erosion surcharge | Conditional formula | If the interchange system is eliminated or eroded: difference between $0.35 and actual Interchange Fee received, plus processing expense currently about $0.10 per transaction. |
| Processor, bank, and international pass-throughs | Actual assessed amounts | Includes international transaction charges currently described as approximately 0.40% of the amount dispensed. |
Source: 2026 ACFN FDD, Item 6, pp. 5–12, and Item 11, pp. 25–26.
The fee changes with the franchisee's monthly share of fees collected from ATM locations.
Source: 2026 ACFN FDD, Item 6, pp. 7 and 10. The final column is a disclosed floor, not a cap.
The recurring structure contains both predictable and activity-dependent amounts. Charges attached to each machine or wireless connection can be estimated from the planned equipment count. Charges tied to transactions, collected fees, or shared-location arrangements cannot be converted into a reliable annual dollar amount without operating data that the disclosure does not supply for this purpose. The safest comparison is therefore by basis: per machine, per transaction, percentage of the defined revenue base, or triggered pass-through.
The distinction between the two revenue definitions is particularly important. A percentage applied after specified deductions is not economically identical to a smaller percentage applied to a broader top-line base. The agreement permits the basis to change after notice, so the current percentage alone does not describe the full contractual exposure. A prospective owner should read the defined terms and the deduction mechanics together rather than comparing only the headline rates.
ACFN's official support page describes centralized location, installation, monitoring, processing, and accounting support. Item 6 is still the controlling source for the fees attached to those services.
Which ACFN costs depend on events or operating circumstances?
Several charges arise only if a specific event occurs, such as relocation, refresher training, a compliance failure, a transfer, renewal, or acquisition of existing ATMs. These obligations can matter even though they are not part of the standard Item 7 opening range.
Service, compliance, and equipment triggers
These charges range from a $99 manual-replacement charge to actual audit costs, and they apply only when the stated training, service, compliance, or replacement event occurs.
| Trigger | Disclosed charge | When it applies |
|---|---|---|
| Late payment | 18% per year | Interest from the due date, subject to state law. |
| ATM relocation | $1,395 per ATM | If a site is lost because timely ATM customer support was not provided. |
| Franchisor/designee performs required service | Actual cost + 20% | When the franchisee fails to follow Methods of Operation and ACFN or a designee performs the work. |
| Refresher training | $399 | When ACFN designates or the parties agree. |
| Supplemental training | $399 | For additional courses, including training requested for new employees. |
| Additional guidance | $0–$500 | When requested and agreed with ACFN or a third-party provider. |
| Operations Manual replacement | $99 | When replacement pages are delivered. |
| Capital Additions | Reasonableexpenditures | May include replacement ATMs; generally, an ATM older than 15 years may not be used unless ACFN agrees otherwise. |
| Audit or inspection | Actual costs + underpayment + interest | When records are not supplied timely or an audit finds an understatement of 2% or more. |
| Computer maintenance | Less than $200 per year estimated | Estimated annual maintenance-contract cost for compliant computer hardware and software. |
Source: 2026 ACFN FDD, Item 6, pp. 6–8, and Item 11, pp. 26–28.
Transfer, renewal, expansion, and acquisition triggers
Ownership changes and expansion can create fixed charges of $250 per month to $15,000, while an acquisition of existing ATMs remains negotiated and has no disclosed range.
| Trigger | Disclosed charge | Cost meaning |
|---|---|---|
| Franchise transfer | $15,000 | Paid concurrently with an approved transfer. |
| Extra term transferred | $2,000 per full year | Paid by the transferee for full term years received beyond the years remaining on the existing agreement. |
| ACFN manages the franchise | $250 per day | During the period ACFN must operate the franchise for the owner. |
| Successor franchise | $10,000 | Paid when a successor franchise is granted after the current term; renewal also requires system compliance and payment of reasonable franchisor expenses. |
| Holdover after expiration | $250 per month | When the franchise continues month-to-month without a successor agreement. |
| Costs and attorneys' fees | Actual costs | For specified failures to pay or submit reports on time. |
| Additional ATM and cash cassette | $4,075 + $341 | Paid to ACFN when additional equipment is requested; contiguous-U.S. economy shipping is included, sales tax is not. |
| Corporate ATM Acquisition Fee | Variable | For existing ATMs and host-location rights; ACFN may collect a refundable deposit of up to 25% before the Purchase Agreement. |
| Host-location signing bonus | Typically $500–$2,000 | Before placing an ATM where ACFN negotiated a signing bonus with the location owner. |
| Insurance reimbursement | Actual insurance cost | If the franchisee fails to maintain required insurance and ACFN obtains coverage. |
Source: 2026 ACFN FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–10, and Item 17, pp. 34–35.
These event-based amounts should not be added mechanically to the opening estimate because many may never occur. They are still relevant to the capital decision because they show how the contract allocates the cost of noncompliance, ownership changes, extra assistance, and system updates. Some are fixed, while others reimburse actual expenses or use an open-ended reasonable standard. That difference affects predictability: a fixed charge can be budgeted in advance, while an actual-cost obligation depends on the event and the work required.
The transfer and successor provisions also show why the original opening payment is not the only contract-level charge. Continuing, selling, or changing the business can require a new payment and compliance work even when the physical machines remain in place. A buyer expecting a future sale or long holding period should review those provisions alongside the initial term, rather than treating them as remote legal details with no cost effect.
The Corporate ATM Acquisition Fee is a separate cost contract, not another point within the $37,561 to $58,211 range. The 2026 FDD says an acquisition of three existing ATMs and locations is expected to exceed the $12,566 high-end equipment figure, but it does not provide a meaningful total range because age, condition, transaction history, host agreements, and other factors vary.
What can make the official ACFN range incomplete for a specific buyer?
The standard 2026 Item 7 range assumes one to three new stand-alone ATMs and excludes several circumstances that can change the cash requirement. ACFN's public franchise FAQ describes the ability to add ATMs over time, but each additional machine, cash cassette, ATM cash inventory, and applicable wireless connection creates further capital and fee obligations.
Item 7 excludes state sales tax. Shipping to Alaska or Hawaii costs more than the economy shipping included for the 48 contiguous states.
Item 8 states that some host locations may require wall ATMs, which are more expensive than stand-alone ATMs and may require construction.
The FDD generally expects no rent for ATM locations, but the franchisee typically negotiates a share of ATM transaction surcharges with the host. Item 7 does not convert that obligation into a fixed startup amount.
The $995 training fee does not include wages or benefits for the Managing Owner or other attendees.
Required computer upgrades, new ATMs, Capital Additions, new mandatory services, or future proprietary-software fees may create costs after the opening estimate.
A Purchase Agreement for existing ATMs and locations substitutes a negotiated Corporate ATM Acquisition Fee for the standard new-equipment amount.
Item 8 estimates that required purchases and leases represent 50% to 70% of the cost of establishing the business, reflecting the required ATM, equipment, network, and approved-supplier structure.
The location itself can therefore change the practical requirement without creating a conventional store build-out. A standard stand-alone placement may avoid rent and construction, while a site that requests special connectivity, signage, a bonus, or a wall installation can create additional obligations. The published range does not identify which future host will impose which condition. A buyer should evaluate each proposed location as a separate cost package before committing equipment or currency to it.
The absence of a required office lease also should not be read as the absence of operating infrastructure. Communication equipment, compliant computer hardware, insurance, servicing travel, and the ability to respond to host locations remain part of the model. The disclosure assumes that some owners already possess suitable office equipment, which is why that row can be much lower than the cost of purchasing every item new.
The official ACFN business-model page describes the franchise as home-based. The 2026 FDD is more precise for cost purposes: no separate office is required, and Item 7 includes no real-estate acquisition, office lease, host-location lease, building, or utility estimate.
Does ACFN finance the franchise fee, and what financial thresholds apply?
ACFN may finance up to $10,000 of the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee for qualifying prospective franchisees. The standard 2026 terms are 36 equal monthly installments at 9.9% annual interest, with no prepayment penalty. ACFN does not guarantee outside loans, and approval is not automatic.
An existing franchisee in good standing may receive a reduced Initial Franchise Fee for a second or later franchise at the franchisor's discretion. No fixed reduction is disclosed, and fee financing is not offered when the reduced fee applies.
Borrowing changes the payment schedule but not the underlying cost categories. The financed portion still has to be repaid with interest, and the remaining license payment, equipment, currency inventory, insurance, and setup expenses need other funding. The note also connects repayment to personal guarantees and contractual security, so it should be evaluated as a separate obligation rather than as a general reduction in the capital needed to start.
Because no universal financial threshold is stated, the underwriting decision may depend on information outside the published cost table, such as creditworthiness and the ability to satisfy the note terms. That uncertainty should be resolved before a buyer relies on the financed amount in a cash plan. A conditional financing option is not the same as cash already available or an approval commitment.
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. A prospective buyer should obtain ACFN's current underwriting criteria in writing and confirm whether those criteria apply in addition to the Item 7 investment range.
What should a buyer reconcile before signing?
The most useful verification work is to reconcile the buyer's intended ATM count and host-location terms to the current FDD rather than relying on a single headline cost number. The review should produce a schedule that identifies the payee, due date, refundability, and funding source for each obligation. It should also distinguish costs that are known before signing from costs that become known only after a host site, connectivity method, or acquisition opportunity is identified.
How much capital should an ACFN prospect be prepared to document?
The only verified brand-wide opening range in the 2026 FDD is $37,561 to $58,211 for one franchise operating one to three ATMs. Within that range, the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee is distinct from the $5,000 to $15,000 ATM cash inventory, and both are distinct from recurring fees after opening. The largest unresolved buyer-specific questions are the number and type of ATMs, host-location obligations, any Corporate ATM Acquisition Fee, and ACFN's current financial-qualification criteria.
Public franchisor information that confirms the franchise fee and possible fee financing.
Government record showing ACFN Franchised Inc. registered effective January 2, 2026.