How much does an Abbey Carpet & Floor franchise cost?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document states an Estimated Initial Investment of $23,050 to $61,900 for an Abbey Carpet & Floor Showroom. This is a conversion-style membership for an experienced owner/operator of an existing floor covering store, not a ground-up estimate for creating a new flooring retailer from an empty site. The official range includes the Initial Membership Fee, selected showroom-conversion expenses, signage, insurance, professional fees, marketing amounts and Additional Funds for the first three months.
2026 FDD Item 7, pages 9–11, for an Abbey Showroom operated from an existing floor covering business. The range already includes $0–$10,000 of Additional Funds for the initial three-month operating period.
Data basis: Abbey Carpet Co., Inc., a Florida corporation; FDD issued February 27, 2026; single-showroom and multiple-showroom memberships; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17 reviewed; information checked July 21, 2026. A matching public FDD was not located on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD Item/page references are unlinked. Current offer status was cross-checked against the Wisconsin active franchise-registration list. The brand’s official U.S. membership site describes the current Abbey Carpet & Floor opportunity.
Key cost figures
What is included in the $23,050 to $61,900 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total combines fixed Abbey charges with variable costs paid to third parties. The widest disclosed swing comes from optional Equipment, Fixtures, Other Fixed Assets, Construction, Remodeling, Leasehold Improvements and Decorating Costs, estimated at $7,500 to $25,000. The FDD assumes the buyer already operates a floor covering store, so it does not include the full cost of acquiring, leasing or stocking a new retail business.
Abbey charges and opening marketing
| Item 7 expenditure | Amount | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Membership Fee | $10,000 | $1,000 at signing; remaining amount through CashBack Participation | ABBEY |
| Service Fee | $400 | Monthly after three months | ABBEY |
| Advertising Fee | $3,000 | Two semiannual payments of $1,500 | ABBEY |
| Local Advertising/Promotional Costs | $0–$4,000 | Monthly as incurred | Third parties |
| Store Signage | $1,000–$5,000 | Within 90 days after signing | Third parties |
Source: 2026 Abbey Carpet Co., Inc. FDD, Item 7, pages 9–11. The signage footnote provides a credit of up to $1,000 against future accounts payable when the approved-vendor and documentation conditions are met; only the first Showroom receives that sign credit.
Showroom conversion, professional costs and working capital
| Item 7 expenditure | Amount | Scope | FDD timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equipment, Fixtures, Other Fixed Assets, Construction, Remodeling, Leasehold Improvements and Decorating Costs | $7,500–$25,000 | Optional tenant-improvement and Redesign-related work | When incurred |
| Other Displays | $400–$1,500 per Showroom | Optional display racks for other licensed trademarks | Upon purchase |
| Insurance | $250–$1,500 | Estimated annual premium for required minimum coverage | Before signing |
| Professional Fees | $500–$1,500 | Attorney, accountant and consultants through three months of operation | As needed |
| Additional Funds—Three Months | $0–$10,000 | Payroll, operating expenses and overhead; no owner salary or draw | As needed |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 9–11. Additional Funds are part of the official total, not an amount to add again.
Floating bars show each disclosed low-to-high range on a common $0 to $25,000 scale; fixed Abbey fees are excluded from this chart.
Interpretation: the Redesign-related tenant improvements and fixed assets account for the largest disclosed range. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 9–11.
The official low end is possible only when an existing showroom needs limited improvements and little additional working capital. It should not be read as the cost to acquire real estate, build a new store or fund a new flooring operation from scratch.
How is the $10,000 Initial Membership Fee paid?
The standard Initial Membership Fee is $10,000, but only $1,000 is due in cash when the Membership Agreement is signed. ABBEY retains CashBack proceeds allocable to the member for up to $9,000 or for five years, whichever occurs first. If the program produces less than $9,000 during that period, the lesser amount collected is treated as payment in full. Item 10 states that no interest or separate promissory note applies.
The chart shows the contractual allocation of the fee, not a guarantee that $9,000 of CashBack proceeds will be generated.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 5–7; Item 7, pages 9–11; Item 10, page 15. The official merchandising page also identifies CashBack as a membership feature.
Possible fee refund: if the member reaches $350,000 of qualifying first-quality, running-line purchases during the 12-month period beginning on day 90, the Initial Membership Fee is waived and amounts paid are refunded on or after month 15.
Early termination: if the Membership Agreement ends before the initial five-year term is completed, any remaining Initial Membership Fee balance becomes immediately payable in cash.
No broader franchisor financing: Item 10 says ABBEY does not arrange third-party financing, receive placement payments or guarantee a note, lease or obligation.
What fees continue after the Showroom begins operating?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a sales-percentage Royalty Fee. Instead, ABBEY charges a fixed $400 monthly Service Fee after the first 90 days and a $3,000 annual Advertising Fee paid in two $1,500 installments. The risk disclosures state that these minimum payments apply regardless of sales levels. ABBEY may reasonably and uniformly adjust the Service Fee and Advertising Fee, with Item 6 stating a maximum of $5,000 for these fees.
| Continuing obligation | Current amount or basis | Payment timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Service Fee | $400 | 10th day of each month, beginning after 90 days | Nonrefundable fixed payment |
| Advertising Fee | $3,000 | Two $1,500 semiannual payments | Nonrefundable; system-wide marketing materials and programs |
| Local Advertising | 4%–6% of monthly gross sales | As incurred each month | Expected but not required; paid to advertising vendors |
| Website Design | $60–$375 monthly | As incurred | Maximum annual increase of 25% |
| Annual Convention | $299 first two people; $250 each additional | As incurred | First convention registration is paid by ABBEY; member pays travel and lodging |
| System Merchandise Purchases | $350,000 or 80% | Calendar year after each Showroom opens | Whichever is greater, per Showroom, for qualifying floor covering and window treatment purchases |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 7–9; Item 8, pages 11–13; Item 11, pages 15–19. The official marketing-services page describes the system’s digital, website and traditional marketing support, while the FDD controls the disclosed payment obligations.
The 4%–6% local advertising figure is an expectation, not a mandatory Item 6 payment. By contrast, the $400 Service Fee and $3,000 Advertising Fee are fixed minimum obligations. Keep those categories separate when building a cash schedule.
The annual purchase requirement is not an Initial Franchise Fee or royalty, but it is a major operating-capital relationship. Each Showroom must purchase at least $350,000 or 80% of its total floor covering and window treatment purchases, whichever is greater, through the Abbey System in the calendar year following opening. Item 8 also says there are no purchases required merely to establish the franchise because the concept is designed for an existing flooring retailer that orders merchandise for customer needs rather than maintaining a substantial new opening inventory.
How do costs differ for single, multiple and master-franchise territories?
The 2026 FDD provides one Item 7 range for an Abbey Showroom, but Item 5 changes the fee contract for multiple-showroom members and for locations served by the master franchisee. Those distinctions should not be blended into one “average” cost.
Abbey’s conversion membership is not a standard new-build franchise
ABBEY targets experienced owner/operators of existing floor covering stores. The franchisor supplies racks, displays, samples and a store-design consultant for the Redesign, while the member pays tenant improvements such as showroom flooring, furniture and office equipment. The official showroom-merchandising description confirms that store-planning and redesign support are central to the membership model.
Single Showroom
$10,000 Initial Membership Fee and the standard $23,050–$61,900 Item 7 range.
Multiple Showrooms
The first Showroom pays the Initial Membership Fee, Service Fee and Advertising Fee. Additional Showrooms owned by the same member do not pay those three fees, but each Showroom has its own purchase requirement and can carry Redesign, signage and early-termination exposure.
Master-Franchise Territories
New members in Utah, Montana, southeastern Idaho and Wyoming except Laramie County sign with the master franchisee and are charged a $2,000 Initial Membership Fee. The FDD does not publish a separate Item 7 total for this path.
Do not subtract $8,000 from the standard Item 7 total to create an unofficial master-territory range. Obtain a written, current Item 7 schedule and fee statement for the specific territory because the 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate total.
When is the money paid?
The main cash events begin before signing and continue through the first 90 days, while the deferred Initial Membership Fee may remain tied to CashBack Participation for up to five years. Item 11 says the normal conversion period is 30 to 90 days after signing because the applicant already operates a flooring showroom.
Put the required insurance policy in force. Item 7 estimates the annual premium at $250 to $1,500.
Pay $1,000 of the $10,000 Initial Membership Fee. The remaining allocation enters CashBack Participation.
Pay third parties for tenant improvements, optional displays, professional fees and signage. Abbey signage must be installed within 90 days after the effective date.
The $400 monthly Service Fee begins. The $3,000 Advertising Fee is paid in two $1,500 semiannual installments, and local advertising costs arise as incurred.
ABBEY retains applicable CashBack proceeds up to $9,000. An early termination can accelerate the unpaid fee balance and trigger repayment of Redesign costs.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5–7, pages 5–11; Item 10, page 15; Item 11, pages 15–19.
Which conditional fees can arise after opening?
Renewal, transfer, audit findings, insurance defaults and early termination can create charges beyond ordinary monthly payments. These are not included as routine additions to the Item 7 total because they depend on later events.
Renewal Fee — $750: due at renewal. The initial term is five years, and renewal terms are five years subject to contractual conditions and a then-current agreement that may have different fees.
Transfer Fee — $5,000: due at transfer and nonrefundable, in addition to satisfying transfer conditions and paying amounts already owed.
Audit — audit cost plus interest: payable when an audit shows an understatement of at least 2%.
Early Termination Fee — $20,000 to $50,000 before reductions: based on the Showroom Redesign cost, reduced by 20% for each full year completed in the initial five-year term. The amount is due immediately on early termination.
Insurance reimbursement: if required coverage is not maintained and ABBEY obtains it, the member must reimburse the cost.
Indemnity: varies with the circumstances and is payable on demand when covered claims or costs arise from operation of the franchised business.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 7–9; Item 17, pages 26–29. The official annual-convention page describes the recurring convention program; Item 6 and Item 11 control the disclosed registration, nonattendance, travel and lodging obligations.
Does Abbey disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
No minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold is stated in the 2026 FDD’s cost disclosures. That absence does not mean a buyer needs only the $23,050 low end. The applicant is expected to own and operate an existing floor covering store, maintain required insurance, fund tenant improvements and operating expenses, and support the annual system purchase obligation for each Showroom.
Item 10 discloses no direct or indirect financing other than the deferred CashBack treatment for up to $9,000 of the Initial Membership Fee. The official benefits site separately lists third-party business-financing programs. That marketing description does not change the FDD statement that ABBEY does not arrange financing, receive placement payments or guarantee a member’s note, lease or obligation.
Verify the premises assumption. Confirm which lease, real estate, warehouse, installation and existing-inventory costs sit outside the 2026 Item 7 conversion range.
Obtain a showroom-specific Redesign scope. Separate ABBEY-funded racks, displays, samples and design consulting from member-funded floor coverings, furniture, office equipment and other tenant improvements.
Model the first three months without double-counting. The $0–$10,000 Additional Funds line already sits inside Item 7 and includes payroll but excludes owner compensation.
Confirm the annual purchase calculation. Ask which purchases qualify toward the $350,000-or-80% requirement for each Showroom and how the first applicable calendar year is measured.
Request current fee schedules before signing. Check Service Fee, Advertising Fee, Website Design, convention costs and any added website features against the current agreement and amendments.
Review state-specific changes. The FTC advises buyers to read all 23 FDD Items and updates before paying or signing; its franchise buyer guide explains how Items 5–7 and Item 17 should be used.
What capital number should a prospective member use?
Use $23,050 to $61,900 as the verified 2026 FDD range for converting an existing flooring Showroom to the Abbey System, not as a complete new-store budget. The dominant variables are tenant improvements and fixed assets, Additional Funds, signage and local marketing. The $10,000 Initial Membership Fee has an unusual $1,000-at-signing and CashBack Participation structure; ongoing costs rely on fixed Service and Advertising Fees rather than a disclosed percentage Royalty Fee.
The most important unresolved capital question is the cost of the existing retail business and premises that Item 7 assumes are already in place. A buyer should also quantify the per-Showroom $350,000-or-80% system purchase requirement, later Redesign repayment exposure, and any territory-specific fee contract before treating the FDD range as a funding target.
All amounts are in U.S. dollars. FDD figures are estimates or contractual fees, not a forecast of revenue, profit or return.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Abbey Carpet & Floor Franchise?
- How Does Abbey Carpet & Floor Franchise Work?
- How to Start an Abbey Carpet & Floor Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning an Abbey Carpet & Floor Franchise?
- How Much Does an Abbey Carpet & Floor Franchise Owner Make?