How much does a 1-800-Radiator & A/C franchise cost?
The amended 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document gives two separate U.S. investment ranges. A Start-Up Warehouse requires an estimated $463,500 to $1,314,000, excluding the cost of purchasing real estate. A Re-sale Warehouse requires an estimated $386,500 to $5,284,000, with the purchase price of the existing operation creating most of the wider range.
These are separate Item 7 ranges, not interchangeable estimates. The Start-Up Warehouse total includes a $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee, equipment and supplies, a $30,000 Opening Marketing Package, initial inventory, premises-related costs, and Additional Funds for three months. The Re-sale Warehouse total substitutes a negotiated $250,000 to $5,000,000 Purchase Price for the separate start-up equipment and inventory categories. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pages 32–36.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: 1-800-Radiator Franchisor SPV LLC, an indirect subsidiary of Driven Brands, Inc. The U.S. FDD was issued July 3, 2025 and amended December 29, 2025. The cost analysis uses Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17 for the Start-Up Warehouse and Re-sale Warehouse formats. Information was checked on July 16, 2026. No matching public copy of this amended FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled website, so FDD citations below are unlinked and identify the Item and page directly.
The brand identifies the official U.S. 1-800-RADIATOR & A/C website, while Driven Brands’ official corporate website provides parent-company context. The FTC Franchise Rule explains why an FDD contains 23 disclosure Items and why the current document—not a directory estimate—should control this cost review.
Capital snapshot
Why do the start-up and re-sale ranges differ so much?
The two formats use different cost contracts. A Start-Up Warehouse builds the operation from separate Item 7 categories. A Re-sale Warehouse bundles the existing business value, equipment and inventory into a negotiated Purchase Price that can reach $5,000,000. The lower endpoint for a re-sale is slightly below the start-up minimum, but that does not make re-sales categorically less expensive because the upper endpoint is more than four times the start-up maximum.
Both ranges use the same $0 to $5.284 million scale. The dot marks the disclosed minimum; the teal segment extends to the disclosed maximum.
Interpretation: the re-sale range is dominated by the negotiated Purchase Price, while the start-up range is dominated by Opening Inventory and three months of working capital. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pages 32–36.
What is included in the Start-Up Warehouse estimate?
The Start-Up Warehouse range includes nine disclosed categories. Opening Inventory is the largest category at $250,000 to $800,000. Additional Funds of $50,000 to $150,000 are already inside the official total, so they should not be added a second time.
Franchise, site and pre-opening payments
| Item 7 expenditure | Amount | Payment timing | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $45,000 | Signing of Franchise Agreement | p. 32 |
| Start-Up Warehouse Equipment and Supplies | $42,000–$85,000 | Three weeks before opening | pp. 32–33 |
| Opening Marketing Package | $30,000 | Three weeks before opening | pp. 32–33 |
| Travel and Living Expenses While Training | $2,500–$10,000 | As incurred during training | pp. 32–33 |
| Lease Deposit | $5,000–$25,000 | When the lease is signed | pp. 32–34 |
| Delivery Vehicle | $5,000–$45,000 | Before opening | pp. 32–34 |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs | $25,000–$75,000 | Before opening | pp. 32–34 |
Inventory and the first three months
| Item 7 expenditure | Amount | Payment timing | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Opening Inventory | $250,000–$800,000 | Three weeks before opening | pp. 32–34 |
| Rent for first three months | $9,000–$49,000 | Monthly | pp. 32–33 |
| Additional Funds — three months | $50,000–$150,000 | As incurred | pp. 32–34 |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $463,500–$1,314,000 | Excludes real estate purchase costs | p. 33 |
Equipment disclosure has two scopes
Item 5 says the portion of Start-Up Warehouse Equipment and Supplies bought from the franchisor may cost $5,000 to $10,000. Item 7 gives the full equipment-and-supplies category as $42,000 to $85,000, including amounts paid to the franchisor, affiliates and other suppliers. The smaller Item 5 amount should not replace the broader Item 7 category.
Inventory is a continuing obligation
The $250,000 to $800,000 Opening Inventory estimate depends on anticipated volume and current market prices. After opening, the Warehouse must maintain prescribed inventory levels, stock required product lines and purchase through Approved or Designated Suppliers using the Network. Item 8 estimates that required purchases represent 80% to 100% of operating purchases.
When is the initial cash paid?
The Item 7 total is not paid in one installment. The largest Start-Up Warehouse payments cluster around the Franchise Agreement signing, the lease and training period, and the three-week pre-opening deadline. Item 11 says a Warehouse typically opens within 60 days after signing and payment of the Initial Franchise Fee and must open within 90 days, subject to delays and the agreement terms.
Pay the $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee. For a Re-sale Warehouse, the $250,000 to $5,000,000 Purchase Price is also due upon signing the Franchise Agreement.
Pay the $5,000 to $25,000 Lease Deposit when the lease is signed, incur $2,500 to $10,000 of training travel and living expenses, and fund vehicle and miscellaneous opening costs before opening.
A Start-Up Warehouse pays the $42,000 to $85,000 equipment-and-supplies category, the $30,000 Opening Marketing Package and $250,000 to $800,000 of Opening Inventory. A Re-sale Warehouse pays the $30,000 Opening Marketing Package.
Rent is paid monthly, while $50,000 to $150,000 of Additional Funds is spent as needed on payroll, utilities, vendors, advertising, promotion and similar operating costs.
Sources: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pages 32–36; Item 11, pages 47–50.
Which fees continue after the Warehouse opens?
The three principal percentage charges are an 8% Ongoing Franchise Fee, a 1.5% System Marketing Fee and a 0.5% Local Marketing Fee, each based on Gross Sales. The FDD defines Gross Sales as amounts accrued from sales of Products and services connected with the Warehouse, adjusted for specified cross-territory deliveries, returns, credits and warranty adjustments, and excluding sales taxes and proceeds from selling used business equipment.
Bars use the 8% Ongoing Franchise Fee as the full-width comparator.
Derived calculation: these compatible disclosed percentages sum to 10% of Gross Sales before technology, mailer, inventory, call-center, transaction, delivery and other conditional charges. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 6, pages 20–31.
| Fee or purchase obligation | Amount or basis | Due | Cost interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ongoing Franchise Fee | 8% of Gross Sales | Weekly Payment Day | Core royalty-style fee. |
| System Marketing Fee | 1.5% of Gross Sales | Weekly Payment Day | Part of the disclosed 2% total marketing fees. |
| Local Marketing Fee | 0.5% of Gross Sales | Weekly Payment Day | Used for marketing in the Warehouse Territory. |
| Technology Fee | Currently $145–$165 per user/year | On invoice | A typical Warehouse has 2–15 accounts; annual cap is $10,000, excluding direct vendor technology charges. |
| Monthly Mailers | Actual cost; currently $0.65 each | On invoice | The franchisor determines recipients and volume. |
| Inventory Purchases | Varies by order | 30 days after delivery | Payments are processed through the Network and remitted to suppliers. |
| Call Center Fees | Currently $2–$4 per call/request; cap $10 | Weekly Payment Day | Applies when the call center handles telephone orders or non-automated requests. |
| Phone System Fee | $80 per agent/month | On invoice | A typical Warehouse has 2–20 telephone agents. |
| Delivery Logistics Platform | Currently $70–$550/month | Monthly | Currently payable if the approved platform is used; a different designated platform is anticipated at $500–$2,000/month. |
| Electronic Procurement Fee | Variable; currently generally 3% of order | Monthly | Applies to orders through customer electronic procurement channels, with limited exceptions. |
Which charges depend on transactions, defaults or later events?
Item 6 contains several charges that apply only when a particular service, transaction or contract event occurs. They are not all payable by every franchisee in every period, but they can materially change cash needs.
Source: 2025 FDD, Item 6, pages 20–32; renewal and transfer conditions are also summarized in Item 17, pages 61–66.
What does the Re-sale Warehouse estimate include?
The Re-sale Warehouse range includes six categories. Its defining cost is the $250,000 to $5,000,000 Purchase Price, which includes business value, equipment and inventory. Because those assets are bundled into the Purchase Price, the re-sale table should not be combined with the Start-Up Warehouse equipment or Opening Inventory categories.
| Item 7 expenditure | Amount | Payment timing | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Re-sale Initial Franchise Fee | $45,000 | Signing of Franchise Agreement | p. 35 |
| Purchase Price | $250,000–$5,000,000 | Upon signing Franchise Agreement | p. 35 |
| Opening Marketing Package | $30,000 | Three weeks before transaction | pp. 35–36 |
| Travel and Living Expenses While Training | $2,500–$10,000 | During training | pp. 35–36 |
| Rent for first three months | $9,000–$49,000 | Monthly | p. 35 |
| Additional Funds — three months | $50,000–$150,000 | As incurred | pp. 35–36 |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $386,500–$5,284,000 | Depends primarily on Purchase Price | p. 36 |
Does the franchisor finance the initial investment?
1-800-Radiator Franchisor SPV LLC does not offer financing directly. Item 10 says an affiliate may, in its sole discretion, finance all or part of the purchase price for a qualified buyer, either alongside or instead of SBA or conventional financing. The disclosed affiliate terms are a 1- to 9-year amortization period, 7% to 9% APR and no prepayment penalty.
- Amount financed
- Up to the entire purchase price, subject to the affiliate’s discretion, credit review and negotiated terms.
- Security
- A security interest may cover furniture, fixtures, equipment, inventory, licenses, permits, accounts and other business assets; principal owners may have to guarantee the debt.
- Default
- The unpaid balance may accelerate, collection costs may be charged, and the rate may rise to the lesser of 18% or the maximum lawful rate. A financing default can also be a Franchise Agreement default.
- External lending
- The FDD mentions SBA and conventional financing but does not promise approval. The SBA 7(a) loan program is an official reference for eligible uses such as working capital, equipment and changes of ownership.
Source: 2025 FDD, Item 10, pages 44–47.
Is a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum disclosed?
No specific Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold appears in the reviewed 2025 FDD cost Items. That omission matters: the $463,500 to $1,314,000 Start-Up Warehouse range and the $386,500 to $5,284,000 Re-sale Warehouse range are investment estimates, not statements that the same amount must be held as cash.
- Total Initial Investment
- The Item 7 range for establishing or acquiring the Warehouse, including the disclosed three-month Additional Funds allowance.
- Liquid Capital
- Cash or cash-like resources available to invest. The current FDD does not state a minimum threshold.
- Net Worth
- Assets minus liabilities. The current FDD does not state a minimum threshold, and Net Worth is not the same as available cash.
- Additional Funds
- $50,000 to $150,000 for payroll, utilities, vendors, advertising, promotion and similar costs during the first three months. The FDD does not expressly identify owner compensation as included.
What should be verified before relying on the range?
What is the most important cost takeaway?
A prospective U.S. franchisee should plan around the correct 2025 format range: $463,500 to $1,314,000 for a Start-Up Warehouse or $386,500 to $5,284,000 for a Re-sale Warehouse. The Start-Up Warehouse range is driven mainly by Opening Inventory, equipment and supplies, premises costs and three months of Additional Funds. The Re-sale Warehouse range is driven mainly by the negotiated Purchase Price.
The $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one component. After opening, the disclosed percentage fees total 10% of Gross Sales before fixed technology charges, required inventory purchases, transaction fees, delivery costs and conditional obligations. The FDD does not disclose a Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum, so the unresolved capital question is how much uncommitted cash and financing capacity will remain after the initial payments and the first three months of operating expenses.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the 1-800-Radiator & A/C Franchise?
- How Does the 1-800-Radiator & A/C Franchise Work?
- How to Start a 1-800-Radiator & A/C Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What Are the Pros and Cons of Owning a 1-800-Radiator & A/C Franchise?
- How Much Does a 1-800-Radiator & A/C Franchise Owner Make?