How Much Does a 1-800-Packouts Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 cost answer

How much does a 1-800-Packouts franchise cost?

A start-up, single-unit 1-800-Packouts Franchised Business requires an estimated initial investment of $269,300 to $514,000. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document assigns that range to a business with a dedicated Facility, climate-controlled storage, cleaning room space, office space, specified equipment, and at least one conforming box truck. It is not a conversion estimate, a multi-unit budget, or the same thing as the cash qualification shown on the official franchise website.

Estimated Initial Investment
$269,300–$514,000

2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 7-1–7-4, for a start-up single-unit Franchised Business. The total already includes $93,000 to $170,000 of Additional Funds for the first five months after opening.

Data basis: legal franchisor 1-800-Packouts Holdco, LLC; 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document; cover issuance date March 31, 2026; receipt pages dated April 8, 2026; cost analysis uses Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17. The applicable Item 7 format is a start-up single-unit Franchised Business. Information and public official pages were checked July 14, 2026.

No matching public copy of the 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled website, so FDD citations in this article are unlinked. The brand’s official franchise information page independently displays the same $269,300 to $514,000 investment range and publishes separate financial qualifications.

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $62,500

Lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed.

Quick Start Package $53,500

Plus applicable tax or tariff; freight is included.

Additional Funds $93,000–$170,000

Included in Item 7 for the first five months open.

Royalty Fee 7%

Of Gross Sales, using the FDD definition.

Marketing Fee 3%

Of Gross Sales, paid to the Advertising Fund.

Website qualifications $75K / $300K

Available Liquid Capital / Net Worth, as publicly stated.

Sources: 2026 FDD Items 5–7, pp. 5-1, 6-1–6-7, and 7-1–7-4; official franchise information page checked July 14, 2026.

Item 7 breakdown

What is included in the estimated initial investment?

The Item 7 total combines contractual payments, premises costs, equipment and vehicle spending, pre-opening expenses, and five months of Additional Funds. The range is broad because the Facility may be 5,000 to 20,000 square feet, an existing truck or equipment may qualify, and local premises conditions can materially change leasehold and deposit costs.

Contract, premises, equipment, and vehicle costs

Item 7 expenditure Amount Payment timing Cost interpretation
Initial Franchise Fee $62,500 When the Franchise Agreement is signed Paid to 1-800-Packouts Holdco, LLC.
Quick Start Package $53,500 Half during onboarding; balance at shipping Includes specified cleaning-room equipment, supplies, consumables, branded boxes, marketing and storage items, and freight; tax or tariff may be additional.
Annual Conference Registration Deposit $1,000 Within 7 days after signing Applied to the first available annual conference attendance fee after training; unused balance is credited.
Rent, Security Deposit, and Utility Deposits $5,500–$18,000 Before opening Assumes rented Facility space and includes pre-opening rent plus rent during the initial operating period.
Leasehold Improvements $3,500–$15,000 Before opening May include remodeling, fixtures, painting, landscaping, electrical work, and plumbing for the Cleaning Station.
Equipment $5,000–$30,000 Before opening Cleaning and restoration equipment beyond the Quick Start Package; existing conforming equipment may reduce the amount.
Signage $3,000–$8,000 Before opening Facility signage that meets system specifications.
Furniture, Office Equipment, and Software $6,000–$12,000 Before opening Includes Management Systems hardware and software, at least one iPad, computer, and printer/copier.
Vehicles $3,500–$70,000 Before opening At least one 16-foot and/or 24-foot box truck; estimate may include down payment, three months of lease expense, and vehicle branding.

Pre-opening, insurance, and working-capital costs

Item 7 expenditure Amount Payment timing Cost interpretation
Business Licenses and Permits $600–$4,000 Before opening Paid to municipal and other government entities.
Professional Fees $1,500–$5,000 Before opening Accounting, legal, and other professional services.
Initial Inventory and Supplies $12,000–$25,000 Before opening Cleaning supplies, boxes, packing materials, and uniforms.
Insurance $15,000–$25,000 Before opening Estimated first-year premiums for required coverages.
Training Expenses $1,700–$5,000 Before opening Travel and living expenses for up to four trainees; the initial program itself has no training fee for those trainees.
Marketing $2,000–$10,000 Before opening Local marketing costs; the franchisee must designate a Marketing Representative.
Additional Funds — First 5 Months $93,000–$170,000 As incurred Working capital for the first five months open, including payroll, utilities, Royalty Fees, Marketing Fees, Population Fees, insurance, recruiting, deposits, supplies, and other operating costs.
Total Estimated Initial Investment $269,300–$514,000 From signing through the first five months open Official Item 7 total; not a midpoint or local budget.

Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 7-1–7-4.

The two tables should be read as a cash calendar rather than as a shopping list. Some amounts are fixed by contract, some depend on third-party quotes, and some are operating reserves that will be spent gradually. A low quote in one category does not create permission to exceed a specification in another category, and an approved lower-cost asset does not reduce a contractual payment. The official total is the combined disclosure boundary for the stated format, not a promise that every buyer can open at the low end.

Premises-related spending deserves early attention because approval, lease negotiation, construction scope, and utility work can interact. A site with acceptable rent may still require more work to support secure storage, cleaning operations, vehicle access, internet service, and code compliance. Conversely, a more complete building may reduce construction spending while requiring a larger deposit. The disclosure does not identify a standard local rent, contractor rate, or permit package, so those amounts should be established with transaction-specific documents rather than national assumptions.

The operating-reserve line also needs careful treatment. It is already inside the official total, and adding it again would overstate the disclosed opening requirement. At the same time, its five-month coverage period is not a guarantee that the business will need no further cash. The note lists many uses but says the list is not exhaustive. A funding plan therefore needs to show which expenses are expected before opening, which continue monthly, and which could remain unpaid or committed after the covered period ends.

FDD caveat

The FDD cover says $116,000 must be paid to the franchisor or an affiliate, which equals the $62,500 Initial Franchise Fee plus the $53,500 Quick Start Package. Item 7 separately lists a $1,000 Annual Conference Registration Deposit payable to the franchisor. A buyer should confirm whether the cover figure intentionally excludes that deposit.

Range drivers

Which Item 7 categories create the largest cost uncertainty?

Additional Funds and Vehicles create the two widest disclosed dollar ranges. The five-month working-capital estimate spans $77,000, while the vehicle estimate spans $66,500 because an approved existing truck, a lease, or an outright purchase can produce very different cash requirements.

Largest variable Item 7 ranges for a start-up single unit

Bars show the disclosed low-to-high interval on a common $0 to $170,000 scale. They are ranges, not shares of the total.

Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 7-1–7-4. Interpretation: the chart compares official ranges without selecting a midpoint.

FacilityThe estimate assumes rented space of approximately 5,000 to 20,000 square feet, although smaller space may be approved.
Climate-controlled storageThe Facility must include permanent climate-controlled storage rooms. The official storage service description explains the private, separated storage model.
Cleaning roomElectrical and plumbing may be required for the Cleaning Station. The official content-cleaning page describes the specialized cleaning-room function.
Box truckAt least one 16-foot and/or 24-foot box truck must meet specifications and carry required branding.

Item 8 says 90% to 100% of establishment and operating purchases may be subject to franchisor specifications, designated suppliers, or approved-source rules. That supplier-control relationship is why the Item 7 category names should not be treated as open-market allowances. The required Management Systems also support digital inventory, a function described on the brand’s official digital inventory page.

Sources: 2026 FDD Items 7 and 8, pp. 7-1–7-4 and 8-1–8-3.

The chart highlights why a single midpoint would be misleading. The vehicle interval can reflect modification of an approved truck, a lease with upfront payments, or a purchase that is not financed by the vendor. The equipment interval can similarly reflect acceptable existing assets or a larger new-equipment purchase. Those alternatives are not interchangeable unless the franchisor approves the specific asset, model, condition, branding, and intended use.

The narrower categories still require evidence. Insurance depends on the required limits and the applicant’s policy terms. Inventory depends on the Territory and building size. Deposits depend on the landlord and utilities. A buyer should retain written quotes with expiration dates, identify whether tax, delivery, installation, and financing charges are included, and map each quote to the corresponding disclosure line. That prevents a low preliminary quote from being treated as a complete opening obligation.

Supplier restrictions also affect later replacement spending. A purchase that satisfies the opening estimate can create maintenance, subscription, consumable, or replacement obligations after launch. The disclosure permits specifications and approved sources to change. The practical question is therefore not only the initial invoice, but also whether the selected asset can remain compliant and supported throughout the agreement term.

Payment timing

When is the money paid?

The largest fixed contractual payments start at signing and continue through onboarding, shipping, site preparation, and the first five months of operations. The FDD also states that a prospective franchisee must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate; the FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the federal disclosure framework.

Sign the Franchise Agreement: pay the $62,500 Initial Franchise Fee. The official franchise ownership steps page also states that the fee is due when the agreement is signed.

Within seven days: pay the $1,000 Annual Conference Registration Deposit.

During onboarding: pay half of the $53,500 Quick Start Package. That is $26,750 by arithmetic, not a separately stated franchisor estimate.

At shipping: pay the remaining Quick Start Package balance. Applicable tax or tariff may be additional even though freight is included.

Before opening: incur Facility deposits, Leasehold Improvements, Equipment, Signage, Furniture, Office Equipment and Software, Vehicles, licenses, professional fees, Initial Inventory and Supplies, Insurance, Training Expenses, and local Marketing.

During the first five months open: use the included $93,000 to $170,000 Additional Funds allowance for payroll, utilities, Royalty Fees, Marketing Fees, Population Fees, insurance, recruiting, deposits, supplies, and other operating costs.

Sources: 2026 FDD cover, Items 5 and 7, pp. 5-1 and 7-1–7-4.

This sequence matters because available cash can decline before customer collections begin. Contractual payments are due on stated dates, while deposits, construction invoices, insurance premiums, travel, and inventory may cluster around the opening window. Financing a truck or equipment can change the timing of a vendor payment, but it does not remove the obligation or change the official disclosure. Loan proceeds also may not arrive on the same day as a contractual installment, so the closing schedule should identify the source and availability date for each payment.

The opening deadline adds another timing constraint. The document says the business generally must begin operating within 180 days after signing, and the franchisor estimates approximately 120 days from signing to opening. Site approval, construction, delivery, permits, staffing, training, and insurance can affect that schedule. A delay may extend rent, payroll, storage, or financing carrying costs even when the underlying line-item quote remains unchanged.

Before signing, the buyer should request a written funds-flow schedule that separates payments to the franchisor, payments to affiliates, payments to designated vendors, and payments to independent third parties. It should also identify deposits that are credited later, payments that are nonrefundable, amounts subject to tax or tariff, and invoices that can change if delivery or construction is delayed. That schedule is the clearest way to connect the legal payment terms to the buyer’s bank and lender closing documents.

Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after opening?

The recurring cost structure combines percentage fees on Gross Sales, a territory-population fee, and vendor charges. The 7% Royalty Fee and 3% Marketing Fee are not converted here into annual dollars because the FDD discloses only the percentage basis and payment timing.

Recurring fee Amount or basis When due Important condition
Royalty Fee 7% of Gross Sales Generally after client payment; no later than 180 days after the initial service date under the agreement schedule Gross Sales excludes separately stated specified taxes and bona fide refunds under the agreement definition.
Marketing Fee 3% of Gross Sales Upon receipt of client payment Paid to the Advertising Fund; it does not satisfy the separate local marketing obligation.
NROP Fee Population-based monthly fee 7th day of each month, beginning after opening or after 180 days from signing See the population schedule and disclosure conflict below.
Bookkeeping Services Currently $200–$500/month As incurred Paid to designated vendor or vendors for ongoing bookkeeping or basic accounting.
Accounting Software Fees $0–$250/month As incurred Applies if designated accounting software becomes required.
Advertising Cooperative Contributions Set by cooperative members As established Required if a regional Cooperative is established in the area.

Monthly NROP Fee schedule in Item 6 Note 2

Columns show the fee for each disclosed initial population tier. Direct labels are the governing values displayed in the schedule.

Source: 2026 FDD Item 6 Note 2, pp. 6-6–6-7. The chart uses the exact tier schedule and does not estimate a territory size.

Source conflict

The Item 6 summary line describes the NROP Fee as $500 to $2,000 per month, but Item 6 Note 2 and the Franchise Agreement schedule begin at $1,000 per month. The document also contains differing population-cap language. A buyer should obtain written confirmation of the assigned Territory population and monthly NROP Fee before signing.

Sources: 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 6-1 and 6-6–6-7; Franchise Agreement §9.C.

The percentage charges follow the disclosed collection rule rather than a simple calendar estimate. A client invoice can create a payment obligation when cash is received or, under the agreement language, when the 180-day limit is reached. That means accounts-receivable timing can affect when funds must be available even though this article does not forecast sales or collections. The buyer’s bookkeeping process should be capable of tracking service dates, client receipts, remittance dates, and the amounts subject to each percentage.

Local promotion is a separate obligation from the national contribution. The disclosure requires a designated person for local activity and says the national payment does not count toward that local duty. The opening table contains a pre-opening allowance, but the ongoing local amount is not stated as a fixed percentage or monthly minimum. It should therefore remain an open budget line until the current operating standards and local plan are reviewed.

The territory charge behaves differently from the percentage charges because it is tied to population rather than collections. It can apply even in a month with limited receipts, and it can change after updated mapping data and notice. For funding purposes, the assigned population tier should be documented at signing and carried as a fixed monthly commitment unless a later notice changes it.

Conditional charges

Which costs arise only after a specific event?

Item 6 includes renewal, transfer, training, reporting, audit, default, termination, and management charges that are not part of the standard monthly Royalty Fee or Marketing Fee. These obligations can be material even though they do not belong in the Item 7 opening total.

Renewal: $10,000 at renewal. Item 17 describes 10-year renewal terms, subject to conditions and signing the then-current Franchise Agreement.

Transfer: 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, plus any sales commission obligation connected with the transfer.

Additional Orientation Training: $2,500 per additional, subsequent, or repeating trainee, plus travel and living expenses.

Non-Reporting Fee: $25 per day for each overdue report or record until delivery.

Audit Expenses: audit, travel, accounting, and legal costs if an audit identifies an underpayment of at least 3% for the audited period.

Incomplete Job Fee: $5,000 per uncompleted job after termination or expiration, in addition to actual damages.

Management Fee: 10% of Gross Sales if the franchisor assumes management of the Franchised Business.

Add-on Territory: $30,000 if the population condition is met and an Add-on Territory is acquired; the NROP Fee also increases.

Other as-incurred charges disclosed in Item 6

Several smaller or uncapped charges depend on a request, compliance event, conference, supplier proposal, system change, or failed payment. They should remain visible in the legal review even though no frequency can be inferred from the disclosure.

Returned Payment Fee: $150 for each check, withdrawal, or other payment returned or declined for insufficient funds.

Additional Training Programs: the then-current program or conference charge; current on-site training is $500 per trainer per day, plus trainee or trainer travel and living expenses as applicable.

Annual Conference Fee: the then-current registration rate for each franchise location owned, due February 1, with attendee wages, travel, and living expenses borne by the franchisee.

On-Site Opening Assistance: currently $500 per trainer, plus reasonable travel, lodging, and per diem, when assistance is requested; the fee is not charged when the franchisor provides unrequested assistance.

Additional Guidance and Assistance: currently $300 per day when requested.

Testing Fee for Products and Services: actual evaluation cost, including personnel and travel, when proposing an unapproved product, supply, equipment item, or service, whether or not approval is granted.

Advisory Council Fees: variable dues for administration of related programs if a franchisee advisory council is established.

De-identification Expenses: the reasonable cost of removing brand identification after expiration or termination when the franchisee does not complete the required work.

Systems Fee: reasonable charges for franchisee-specific Management Systems modifications, enhancements, software licenses, maintenance, or support.

Liquidated Damages: a contract formula based on average monthly Royalty Fees and Marketing Fees over the prior 36 months or shorter operating period, multiplied by the lesser of 36 or the months remaining, then discounted using the stated prime-rate method.

Amounts described as actual cost, reasonable cost, then-current rate, or variable dues cannot be converted into a reliable opening reserve from the disclosure alone. Their significance depends on conduct and timing. A buyer can still control the analysis by identifying the contractual trigger, retaining notices and approvals, and requiring invoices to separate the underlying third-party expense from any administrative charge.

Training-related charges should also be kept separate from the initial travel allowance. The initial program fee is waived for the first four trainees, but later attendance, replacement personnel, repeat attendance, conferences, requested on-site work, and travel can create new obligations. The operating plan should identify which roles must remain trained and how turnover would affect travel and attendance spending.

Uncapped end-of-term and default provisions are different from ordinary operating expenses. Their purpose is to allocate costs after a breach, termination, expiration, or incomplete transition. They should not be treated as expected annual spending, but they should be reviewed with counsel because the possible amount can depend on remaining contract time, past percentage payments, outside professional work, and the number of unfinished jobs.

Buyer verification

Item 6 states late-payment interest of 1.5% per month or the highest lawful rate, whichever is less, while Franchise Agreement §9.H states 5% per month or the highest lawful rate, whichever is less. The execution copy should reconcile this difference before any late-payment exposure is modeled.

Sources: 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 6-2–6-7; Item 17, pp. 17-1–17-5; Franchise Agreement §9.

These charges are best handled as contingent obligations rather than blended into a standard monthly estimate. Renewal and transfer arise from ownership decisions. Reporting and audit charges arise from compliance events. De-identification and incomplete-job charges arise at the end of the relationship. Management charges arise only if control is assumed under the stated condition. Combining them into an average annual amount would hide the trigger and imply a frequency the document does not provide.

A transaction file should identify who can trigger each charge, what notice or cure period applies, how the amount is calculated, and whether third-party expenses are added. Percentage formulas should retain their stated base. “Then-current” amounts should not be replaced with today’s figure for a future event. Where the charge includes actual travel, legal, accounting, testing, or de-identification costs, the document does not provide a cap.

The transfer provision is especially sensitive to timing because the percentage uses the initial fee in effect when the transfer occurs, not necessarily the fee paid at opening. The renewal provision also requires the then-current form of agreement, which may carry different operating terms. A buyer evaluating a future sale or continuation should therefore treat the present disclosure as the current contract, not a fixed schedule for every later event.

Capital qualifications

How much liquid capital and net worth are required?

The 2026 FDD does not state a Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. The official franchise website separately publishes $75,000 or more in Available Liquid Capital and $300,000 or more in Net Worth. Those are qualification screens, not substitutes for the $269,300 to $514,000 Estimated Initial Investment.

Estimated Initial Investment
$269,300 to $514,000 under 2026 FDD Item 7 for a start-up single-unit Franchised Business.
Available Liquid Capital
$75,000 or more on the official financial requirements page; this is cash-access capacity, not the full project cost.
Net Worth
$300,000 or more on the same official page; Net Worth is not the same as cash available to fund opening costs.
Personal Guarantee
The FDD’s agreements include owner obligations and guaranty documents; the cost article does not assume that entity ownership limits personal exposure.

What financing is disclosed?

FDD Item 10 states that 1-800-Packouts Holdco, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation. A separate official Five Star Franchising page says third-party lender assistance is available and also lists a 10% veteran discount on the initial franchise. Because those statements are not detailed in the 2026 FDD, verify the lender, eligible use of funds, discount basis, qualification rules, and current availability in writing on the official Five Star Franchising page for 1-800-Packouts.

Third-party financing is not approval and does not change the Item 7 total. The SBA 7(a) loan overview describes permitted business uses and lender-based underwriting, while the SBA Franchise Directory is a separate lender resource. Neither source guarantees that a particular applicant or transaction will qualify.

Sources: 2026 FDD Item 10, p. 10-1; official franchise-controlled websites checked July 14, 2026.

The qualification figures answer a different question from the opening range. A household can satisfy a balance-sheet threshold without having enough accessible cash for deposits and early invoices. It can also have accessible cash while failing a broader net-assets test. Lenders may impose additional equity, collateral, credit, guaranty, and reserve requirements that are not stated on the brand website. None of those lender conditions should be inserted into the disclosure total unless they correspond to an actual project expense.

A financing proposal should identify the borrower, loan amount, equity contribution, approved uses, disbursement conditions, collateral, interest, fees, and the date funds become available. It should also show which opening obligations cannot be financed or must be paid before reimbursement. Vendor financing for a vehicle or equipment can reduce the immediate outlay but creates future payments and may require a down payment, insurance, or personal support.

The public veteran statement needs the same precision. A percentage reduction can affect only the stated qualifying charge; it does not automatically reduce premises, equipment, working capital, supplier purchases, insurance, travel, or recurring percentages. Written confirmation should identify the eligible person, documentation, exact fee base, dollar reduction, availability date, and interaction with any other program.

Buyer check

What should be verified before relying on the official range?

The official range is complete enough to frame the capital decision, but it does not resolve every buyer-specific amount. The most important open questions concern conversion treatment, Facility condition, truck acquisition, supplier pricing, owner compensation, territory population, and internal FDD inconsistencies.

Confirm the exact FDD date. The cover states March 31, 2026, while the receipt pages state April 8, 2026. Use the final disclosure and execution set delivered for the transaction.

Keep formats separate. Item 7 is for a start-up Franchised Business. The FDD says a conversion of an existing packout or restoration business may have a different investment, but it provides no separate conversion range.

Price the Facility against specifications. Validate square footage, climate control, storage rooms, Cleaning Station plumbing and electrical work, office space, code compliance, deposits, and lease terms.

Document equipment and vehicle credits. Determine whether existing cleaning equipment and a current 16-foot or 24-foot box truck meet approval standards before assuming the low end.

Separate Quick Start Package exclusions. The $53,500 package includes freight but may require additional tax or tariff.

Test five months of Additional Funds. The allowance includes employee compensation and many operating costs, but owner compensation is not expressly identified. Confirm the intended staffing plan and whether more working capital is needed after month five.

Reconcile fee conflicts. Obtain written clarification for the NROP Fee minimum, territory-population limits, late-payment interest, and the cover’s $116,000 franchisor-payment figure.

Verify current incentives and financing. Confirm that any veteran discount or third-party lender relationship remains available and applies to the specific applicant and fee.

What is the practical capital takeaway?

A prospective 1-800-Packouts franchisee should distinguish four separate numbers: $269,300 to $514,000 of Estimated Initial Investment, a $62,500 Initial Franchise Fee, the website’s $75,000 Available Liquid Capital screen, and its $300,000 Net Worth screen. The largest disclosed variables are Additional Funds, Vehicles, Equipment, and Facility-related costs. The most consequential unresolved issue is not an invented “typical” budget; it is whether the buyer’s approved premises, truck, existing equipment, territory population, and financing structure support the official range without requiring additional capital.