How does the Sign Gypsies franchise opening process work?
The 2026 FDD says franchisees typically begin operations within one month after signing the Franchise Agreement or paying consideration. The verified path is application and territory screening, FDD review, APR designation, signing and required purchases, virtual training, insurance and operating setup, then opening by the Commencement Date after Sign Gypsies Franchising, LLC is satisfied that the agreement’s pre-opening conditions are met.
The FDD says franchisees typically begin operations within one month after signing or paying consideration, while the current Sign Gypsies franchise opportunity page says most locations are up and running within four to six weeks once all fees are paid. Treat the FDD statement as the controlling disclosure and ask the franchisor to confirm your actual Commencement Date and onboarding calendar before signing.
What must an applicant do and qualify for before signing?
Sign Gypsies’ current public process begins with a consideration form covering contact information, address, desired U.S. ZIP-code service areas, background information about the applicant’s interest, and referral source. The Franchise Development team then checks the desired territory and reviews whether the applicant meets its qualifications before a phone interview and discovery process. The public page currently states that absentee ownership is not allowed.
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit-score minimum, education requirement, or industry-experience minimum for a new applicant. It does say the franchisor approves the application in reliance on the applicant’s representations, and the Franchise Agreement allows termination without an opportunity to cure for false or materially misleading representations made in the application process. Meeting any stated screening criteria therefore does not guarantee approval.
The public franchise page’s “no absentee ownership” policy is more specific than Item 15’s contract summary. The FDD permits an individual franchisee to hire a day-to-day manager and permits a business-entity franchisee to use a manager without an equity interest, while recommending owner involvement. Every manager, operator, employee, and subcontractor must successfully complete the initial training requirements. Verify how the current no-absentee policy is applied to your proposed staffing model.
What are the actual steps from inquiry to opening?
Is there a separate multi-unit, development, or resale process?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a Development Agreement, Area Development Agreement, multi-unit opening schedule, conversion format, or separate nontraditional format. The core new-unit path uses one Franchise Agreement and one APR. The current public franchise page also says the system allows one location per territory, while Item 12 states that franchisees receive no option, right of first refusal, or similar right to acquire additional contiguous franchises.
A transfer of an existing franchise follows a different contractual path rather than the new-opening sequence. The seller must obtain prior written consent; the transferee must meet the franchisor’s then-current standards, complete initial training, sign the then-current Franchise Agreement for a new full term, and pay the then-current initial franchise fee. For a change-of-control transfer, the agreement also states that the transferee’s employees must comply with franchisor requirements for background and criminal checks. These transfer-specific requirements should not be treated as universal new-applicant requirements.
Which opening deadlines and lead times control the sequence?
The timing markers below are not additive and do not share one trigger. They show separate federal, contractual, and current website timing rules that a buyer must place on one onboarding calendar. The Franchise Agreement’s Commencement Date remains the operative opening deadline for the individual franchise.
Interpretation: the federal review period sits before sale; advertising, training access, and the Commencement Date use different triggers. The website’s 4–6 week statement is a current marketing-process estimate, not a replacement for the Franchise Agreement deadline. Sources: 2026 FDD cover and Item 11, pp. i and 8–9; Franchise Agreement §§4.1, 6.4 and 6.8, pp. 2–5; FTC Franchise Rule; official franchise opportunity page.
Does territory approval also mean the franchisor approves your site?
No. The APR is the exclusive area for installing custom yard greetings and must be designated before the Franchise Agreement is signed. The FDD says the APR can be defined by ZIP codes, physical boundaries, travel time and distance, and is shown on a map attached to the agreement. There is no disclosed minimum territory size, and relocation of the business address does not change the APR boundaries.
Separately, Sign Gypsies Franchising, LLC states that it provides no site-selection assistance and does not approve the location from which the franchisee operates. A franchisee may work from a home office if local rules permit, or elect to lease office and storage space. The franchisee therefore carries the third-party dependency of confirming applicable home-occupation, storage, landlord, zoning, permit, tax, or similar requirements with the relevant local authorities and professionals.
Who is responsible for each opening workstream?
What must be complete before Sign Gypsies can open?
The disclosed virtual curriculum totals 7.5 hours and covers legal and administrative setup, social media and web-page setup, storage and product care, order taking, customer policies and invoicing, Google Calendar and organization, staking and installation, customer follow-up, marketing, and internal product ordering. The FDD discloses no on-the-job training hours and says refresher or additional training courses are not required.
Training completion is broader than owner attendance: each manager, operator, employee, and subcontractor must successfully complete the initial training requirements. Section 6.8 also requires the franchisee to have all required computer hardware, equipment, software applications, supplies, product and inventory; to have paid required fees; and to be in full compliance before beginning business. The agreement does not disclose a separate opening inspection or certification test.
Insurance is another contractual readiness item. The current minimum is Commercial General Liability coverage of $1 million per occurrence and $2 million aggregate, with specified additional-insured, waiver-of-subrogation and notice provisions; evidence of coverage must be delivered at commencement and thereafter as required. Franchisees planning their own advertising must submit materials for approval before first publication or use.
What should be verified before the Commencement Date?
What can delay or legally block the opening?
The most direct contractual blocker is failure to satisfy the Section 6.8 opening conditions by the Commencement Date. The Franchise Agreement states that failure to begin operating by the required date is a ground for termination on notice without an opportunity to cure. The FDD says the Commencement Date is typically within 30 days of the Effective Date, but the actual date belongs in the Summary Pages and should be checked before execution.
Training timing also deserves explicit scheduling. Section 4.1 says the franchisor will provide access to online training within 15 days after the Effective Date, but no later than 30 days before the franchisee begins operating. Because a Commencement Date may itself be close to the Effective Date, the buyer should obtain a written onboarding calendar that reconciles training access with the intended opening date rather than assuming the two provisions automatically align.
The FDD’s State Effective Dates page lists registration-state effective dates as “PENDING” in the April 16, 2026 version reviewed here. That does not create a universal U.S. prohibition, but an applicant in a registration state should verify the franchisor’s current registration or exemption status with the relevant state authority before proceeding with an offer or sale. The FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise also recommends reviewing the complete FDD and updated information before signing.
What should a prospective franchisee ask before committing?
| Question to verify | Why it matters to opening | Evidence to compare |
|---|---|---|
| What is my exact Commencement Date? | It is the contractual opening deadline, and missing it can trigger termination. | Franchise Agreement Summary Pages and §6.8. |
| How is “no absentee ownership” applied? | The public policy should be reconciled with the FDD’s manager provisions. | Official franchise page; 2026 FDD Item 15. |
| When will training access actually be issued? | The training-access rule and opening schedule use overlapping timing conditions. | 2026 FDD Item 11; Franchise Agreement §4.1. |
| When is the initial Sign Piece payment actually due? | Item 5 says within two days after signing, while Franchise Agreement §3.2 states payment upon execution. | 2026 FDD Item 5, p. 3; Franchise Agreement §3.2, p. 2. |
| What exact territory map will be attached? | The APR defines exclusive installation rights and must be set before signing. | 2026 FDD Item 12; Franchise Agreement Summary Pages. |
| Are my state registration requirements cleared? | The reviewed FDD shows pending dates for registration states. | 2026 FDD Exhibit H and the applicable state regulator. |
| Which current and former franchisees had a similar start? | They can describe the real discovery, training, setup and opening sequence. | 2026 FDD Item 20 and Exhibit F. |
For disclosure due diligence, the FTC’s FDD review guidance explains that a prospect generally has the right to the FDD once the franchisor has received the application and agrees to consider it. The FTC’s Amended Franchise Rule FAQs also discuss additional review issues when previously undisclosed or unilaterally changed material agreement terms are introduced. These federal rules govern disclosure timing; they are not the total Sign Gypsies application or opening timeline.
Brand process sources: Sign Gypsies Franchise Opportunities and the official Sign Gypsies U.S. website. Federal disclosure sources: FTC Franchise Rule and the FTC guidance linked above.