How does the PostNet franchise opening process work?
The governing entity is PostNet International Franchise Corporation, not the parent or an affiliate. Its official U.S. franchise website describes the inquiry process, while the 2026 FDD and attached agreements control contractual duties. The operating brand’s official PostNet website identifies the print, design, shipping, packaging and mailbox services the Center must be prepared to deliver under System standards.
What must a PostNet applicant qualify for before approval?
The official franchise site presents $350,000 net worth, $60,000 liquid capital and “good to excellent” credit as initial screening qualifications. The 2026 FDD does not state a universal numerical credit score or a general new-applicant net-worth minimum, so confirm which thresholds apply to the applicant, ownership group and chosen pathway. Meeting a website threshold does not compel PostNet to approve or award a franchise.
The public PostNet ownership-process page depicts inquiry, a due-diligence portal, application, FDD review, conversations with existing owners and Discovery Day before agreement execution. Treat that as official supplemental process information; verify the exact approval sequence and required application documents with the franchise development team because the agreements do not promise approval after any single milestone.
What must be received and signed before the opening work begins?
The applicant must receive the current FDD before signing a binding franchise-sale agreement or paying PostNet or an affiliate. Under the federal rule, the FDD must be furnished at least 14 calendar days beforehand; the count begins the day after delivery, and execution or payment may occur on the fifteenth day. This federal period is a pre-sale review window, not an opening timeline. The FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the trigger and timing.
For a standard new Center, the core documents are the Franchise Agreement, Attachment A for the Effective Date, Approved Location and Protected Territory, the Statement of Ownership and any required Owner’s Agreement. If the site is unknown at signing, Attachment A may be completed after site and lease approval. The $39,950 Initial Franchise Fee is due at signing and described as fully earned and non-refundable; a disclosed payment incentive may apply to an agreement signed within 21 days after post-Discovery Day approval.
What are the actual steps from inquiry to written opening authorization?
The sequence below separates applicant actions, PostNet approvals and outside dependencies. It is the new-Center critical path; conversion, resale and development variations appear later.
How are territory, site approval, lease approval and buildout kept separate?
A market discussion does not create territorial rights. A proposed site must first satisfy PostNet’s demographic and physical review, including factors such as population, household income, business density, access, visibility, parking and competition. PostNet then has a separate right to approve lease terms before signature. If the Protected Territory is not fixed at Franchise Agreement execution, it is designated when PostNet approves the lease.
PostNet may condition lease approval on a term of at least ten years including renewals, signage permission, notice and cure rights, use restrictions and step-in provisions. The executed lease is due to PostNet within ten days. The Center Development Fee becomes due at the latest of lease signing, 90 days before projected opening or six months after the Effective Date; payment does not constitute opening authorization.
Before opening, the franchisee must obtain applicable zoning, permits, business registrations, tax permissions, fire and occupancy clearances, then certify compliance to PostNet. Because a Center accepts customer mail, the USPS Domestic Mail Manual CMRA provisions require registration with the responsible Post Office using PS Form 1583-A and acceptable identification. Verify local requirements with the issuing authorities.
How do conversion, acquisition, transfer and multi-unit paths change the process?
The 2026 FDD identifies several retail-Center paths and does not disclose a separate home-based or mobile franchise format. Each alternative has its own agreement and trigger; none should be folded into the standard new-Center schedule.
| Path | Governing documents | Key pre-opening trigger | Completion gate |
|---|---|---|---|
| New Center | Franchise Agreement and attachments | Effective Date; site may follow signing | Written authorization and opening within six months |
| Conversion | Franchise Agreement plus Conversion Addendum | Existing similar business operated at least six months | Modify premises within 60 days of Effective Date; inspection and written authorization |
| Acquire and Convert | Franchise Agreement plus Acquire and Convert Addendum | Target similar business operated at least six months; acquisition closes within six months | Modifications within 60 days after closing; FDD discloses 270 days to complete the path |
| Transfer of PostNet Center | Conditional Consent to Transfer and Release Agreement, then-current Franchise Agreement and Transfer Addendum | PostNet conditional consent, transferee qualification and training | Training before possession; any specified upgrades by the addendum date |
| Area Development | Area Development Agreement plus a separate Franchise Agreement for each Center | One or two Development Areas and satisfaction of execution conditions | Sign the applicable Franchise Agreement within the Development Schedule, generally 12 months, then meet that agreement’s opening deadline |
Conversion and Acquire and Convert franchisees deliver the existing lease within ten days of the applicable Effective Date or closing and seek requested lease protections within 30 days. An Area Developer must remain qualified, compliant and properly owned. The official market-availability page starts a discussion only; a listing does not reserve a Development Area, approve a site or award a franchise.
Which disclosed time periods can block the next opening stage?
These day-based periods use different verified triggers, so they should not be added into a single total. They identify where document delivery, PostNet review or franchisee action can stop the next dependency.
Interpretation: the six-week training lead time and site review should be placed backward from the six-month opening deadline; a late site package or training slot can compress buildout and inspection time.
Sources: 2026 PostNet FDD, Item 8 p.28 and Item 11 pp.31–32; Franchise Agreement §§4.6 and 5.9; FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide. “42” converts the disclosed six weeks to seven-day weeks solely for this day-unit chart.
Who controls each opening dependency?
PostNet provides defined assistance and approvals, but the franchisee remains responsible for real estate, financing, buildout, compliance, staffing and readiness. Landlords, lenders, contractors and authorities can delay a Center even when applicant and franchisor tasks are complete.
What should be verified before signing and before opening?
Before signing, reconcile the completed Franchise Agreement and every addendum with the 2026 FDD, state-specific addenda and chosen pathway. Confirm the Effective Date, payment triggers, market, ownership, guarantors, training attendee and whether site selection follows signing. Ask PostNet to identify any unilateral material changes and the applicable review period.
Before committing to a site, verify the site checklist, lease conditions, response dates, Protected Territory map and reserved channels. Obtain zoning, construction, lease and financing review. Ask current and former Item 20 franchisees about site, equipment, training, inspection and opening delays; the FDD flags a significant number of signed but unopened franchises.
Before final inspection, verify Designated Manager approval and training; approved equipment and technology; insurance wording; permits and certifications; CMRA registration; staffing; inventory; signage; marketing setup; and correction of plan or Manual deficiencies. Opening assistance does not replace written authorization.