How long does it take to open an N-Hance franchise?
Sources: 2026 N-Hance FDD cover; Items 7, 8, 11 and 17; Franchise Agreement §§2.D and 3.A; FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise and the FTC Franchise Rule.
What must you qualify for before NHI grants the franchise?
NHI must approve the application, and the information supplied in that application must remain true, correct, and complete when the Franchise Agreement becomes effective. The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum credit score, education requirement, or prior wood-refinishing experience requirement. N-Hance’s current training page says prior cabinet-refinishing experience is not required because technical and operating training is provided.
If the franchisee is an entity, the Franchise Agreement and Guaranty require the applicable owners—and, depending on entity form, their spouses—to execute the prescribed personal guaranty and assumption documents. At least one franchise owner must successfully complete NHI training. If an operator will run the Business, that operator must also successfully complete the Initial and New Buyer Training, even though the operator does not need an ownership interest. Customer services may not be delegated to independent contractors.
Public context: N-Hance Franchise FAQs and N-Hance ownership process page. Contractual basis: 2026 FDD Item 15 and Franchise Agreement §§1.B–1.C.
What is the actual process from initial inquiry to opening?
The public sales process and the contractual opening process are different layers. N-Hance publicly presents an initial meeting, FDD review, Discovery Day, and finalization of the Franchise Agreement. The FDD and agreements then control approval, territory designation, signing documents, required setup, training, insurance, certification, and the 90-day commencement obligation.
Make the inquiry and discuss your market
Public process: N-Hance Steps to Ownership.
Complete application and qualification review
Source: Franchise Agreement §1.C.
Receive and review the FDD before signing or paying
Source: FTC Franchise Rule §436.2(a); 2026 FDD cover.
Finalize approval, Franchised Area, and signing documents
Sources: FDD Items 5 and 22; Franchise Agreement §1; Exhibits A and F–H.
Establish the operating base inside the Franchised Area
Sources: FDD Items 7, 11 and 12; Franchise Agreement §§1.D and 2.A.
Put insurance, vehicle, equipment, and systems in place
Sources: FDD Items 7, 8 and 11; Franchise Agreement §2.D; Equipment Agreement and Software License Agreement.
Complete NHI training and applicable third-party certification
Sources: FDD Items 7 and 11; Franchise Agreement §3.A; EPA RRP renovator training.
Satisfy opening conditions and commence operations
Sources: FDD Items 11 and 17; Franchise Agreement §§2.D and 15.
Which post-signing periods control opening readiness?
The clearest post-signing clock starts on the Franchise Agreement date. Insurance evidence is due first; the FDD’s expected opening point is roughly six weeks; and training, vehicle readiness, and commencement of operations all converge on the 90-day outer limit.
Interpretation: the FDD’s six-week estimate is not the deadline. A franchisee can still be delayed by permits or certification, but the 2026 documents do not disclose an automatic right to extend the 90-day commencement obligation.
Source: 2026 FDD Item 7 pp. 21–24, Item 8 pp. 24–27, Item 11 pp. 31–38; Franchise Agreement §§2.D and 3.A. Formula used only for display: 6 weeks × 7 days = approximately 42 days.
Does N-Hance approve your site or your territory?
NHI designates the Franchised Area, but it does not select or approve the location from which you operate. The Business must operate from one location inside the Franchised Area unless NHI gives written approval otherwise. A home base is permitted if it is inside the area, suitable for System Standards, and lawful under zoning and other rules.
1. Franchised Area
NHI designates the protected area in the franchise relationship. A typical Traditional area is about 250,000 people; Small Market criteria are different.
2. Choose the operating base
The franchisee selects the base inside the area. NHI expressly says it does not select or approve the location.
3. Home or commercial space
Home use is possible if suitable and lawful. If adequate space is not owned, the FDD says suitable commercial/industrial space must be leased.
4. Third-party clearance
Zoning, lease requirements, permits, utilities, and any RRP or state certification obligations remain franchisee and third-party dependencies.
Sources: FDD Items 9, 11 and 12; Franchise Agreement §1.D; Collateral Assignment and Assumption of Lease. Public territory context: N-Hance available territories.
Do all N-Hance buyers follow the same opening path?
The core Franchise Agreement process is similar, but package eligibility and pre-opening purchases differ. The 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate Area Development Agreement. Existing N-Hance franchisees and franchisees of certain affiliated systems have distinct acquisition paths, and multiple N-Hance franchises may need a Consolidated Office Agreement if they are to share one office.
Package One — Traditional Franchise
The first Traditional franchise includes the Initial Package. The buyer signs the Equipment Agreement for included equipment and follows the full new-buyer setup and training process.
Package Three — Small Market Franchise
Available only in select markets meeting the FDD’s density and hub-city criteria. It also includes an Initial Package and uses the same Franchise Agreement structure.
Packages Two and Four — Additional License
Only for existing N-Hance franchisees in good standing and at NHI’s discretion. A release is required; a nonadjacent additional area may trigger purchase of the full package instead.
Related Franchisee Package
Available only at NHI’s sole discretion to a franchisee in good standing with an affiliated franchise system. It includes an Initial Package and does not eliminate N-Hance opening requirements.
For an owner with multiple N-Hance franchises, the normal rule is one operating location within each Franchised Area. The Consolidated Office Agreement is a limited, nontransferable, revocable exception allowing multiple franchises to be headquartered from one office. It is not an automatic multi-unit right and can be terminated by NHI on the notice terms stated in that agreement.
What training and certification must be complete before opening?
The principal owner of an entity franchisee and one additional individual can receive initial training without an additional tuition charge, and the required trainees must complete the program to NHI’s satisfaction before operations begin. The disclosed sequence is about 10 hours of preparatory online courses, nine days of hands-on training at an NHI-designated location, and about 20 hours of content review and additional course completion.
At least one franchise owner must successfully complete training. If an operator runs the Business, that operator must also complete NHI’s Initial and New Buyer Training. Existing N-Hance franchisees who previously attended New Buyer Training are responsible for training employees and ensuring competency. If NHI determines that a trainee has not completed training satisfactorily, it may require additional training or a written test at the franchisee’s expense; continuing unsatisfactory performance may lead to termination.
The FDD separately requires RRP training and certification from a third party. EPA states that its Renovation, Repair and Painting Rule requires firm certification and certified-renovator coverage for regulated work in pre-1978 housing and child-occupied facilities, while some states administer their own authorized programs. The exact certification path therefore depends on where the N-Hance Business will operate and the work performed. Verify the applicable federal or state program before opening.
Sources: 2026 FDD Items 7, 11 and 15; Franchise Agreement §3.A; official N-Hance training page; EPA RRP firm certification and EPA RRP renovator training.
Who controls each opening dependency?
The applicant and franchisee control most execution work; NHI controls franchise approval, the Franchised Area, training standards, approved products, and contractual opening conditions; third parties control permits, leases, insurance issuance, and external certification. NHI expressly disclaims an obligation to find a site, negotiate a lease, obtain permits, build or remodel premises, or hire and train employees.
Applicant / Franchisee
NHI / CDI
Third parties
What should be verified before the business opens?
Opening readiness is a document-and-dependency check, not simply completion of training. The Franchise Agreement prohibits opening until training is satisfactory, amounts then due are paid, and required insurance certificates are delivered; local legal requirements and the FDD’s third-party RRP requirement must also be resolved.
One additional timing point is easy to misread: the training table lists 16–24 hours of onsite “Grand Opening” technical, operations, and sales training within 8–12 weeks after New Buyer Training. The FDD does not describe that onsite session as a substitute for pre-opening training or as an extension of the 90-day commencement deadline. Confirm how NHI schedules that support relative to your actual launch date.
For general process context, see the official N-Hance franchise website. Contractual requirements above are based on the 2026 N-Hance FDD and attached agreements; no public franchise-controlled copy of that FDD was used as a citation link.