VERIFIED OPENING PATH
How long does it take to open a HouseMaster franchise?
HouseMaster requires the Business to open within nine months after the Franchise Agreement is signed. This is a maximum contractual window, not an average or promised opening time. The 2026 FDD does not disclose one complete duration from initial inquiry to opening; the pre-signing evaluation period remains undisclosed.
The verified route is mutual evaluation, qualification, FDD review, signing, Territory and Franchise Location confirmation, training and testing, licensing, insurance, systems setup, and completion of every pre-opening obligation. HouseMaster SPV LLC controls franchise and site approval; the applicant controls documentation and readiness; regulators, landlords, insurers, and suppliers control separate dependencies.
QUALIFICATION
What must a HouseMaster applicant qualify for?
HouseMaster’s official investment page publishes screening figures of at least $25,000 in liquid capital and $150,000 in net worth. The 2026 FDD does not make them contractual minimums or define whether they apply per person, group, or entity. Confirm the current basis; meeting the figures does not guarantee approval.
Experience and candidate fit
The official franchise overview says prior real-estate or inspection experience is not required and describes business-minded, relationship-oriented owners as preferred. This is marketing guidance, not an FDD contractual condition.
Owner role and guarantees
An individual franchisee must directly perform or supervise the Business unless the franchisor consents otherwise. For an entity, the Principal Owner identified in Schedule A must provide full-time, direct and active supervision; every owner of 5% or more must sign the Personal Guarantee.
U.S. work and ownership status
The franchisee and applicable Principal Owners must maintain status allowing them to live, work, own, and operate the Business in the United States. Loss of that status causes immediate expiration without a refund.
Application accuracy and financing
The application and ownership disclosures must be complete and accurate; a material misrepresentation can be a non-curable default. The FDD discloses no universal minimum credit score for franchise approval. Separate credit standards apply only if HouseMaster SPV LLC considers discretionary franchisor financing.
Sources: 2026 HouseMaster FDD, Items 10, 15 and 17; Franchise Agreement Sections 6(A) and 13; Schedule A and Schedule C.
APPLICATION TO OPENING
What is the verified HouseMaster opening sequence?
The public HouseMaster next-steps page describes a mutual evaluation process before signing. The FDD and Franchise Agreement then control the binding sequence, payments, training, Territory, Franchise Location, and opening conditions.
Begin mutual evaluation
- Action:
- Request information and speak with a Franchise Developer about the model and available markets.
- Actor:
- Applicant and HouseMaster franchise development team.
- Timing:
- No contractual duration is disclosed.
- Next dependency:
- HouseMaster must agree to continue evaluating the applicant.
Complete qualification and territory review
- Action:
- Provide ownership, financial, experience, entity, and market information; complete territory analysis and discovery.
- Actor:
- Applicant supplies evidence; franchisor decides qualification.
- Timing:
- Not disclosed.
- Blocker:
- Incomplete information, unavailable Territory, or failed mutual evaluation.
Receive and review the FDD
- Action:
- Review all 23 Items, the Franchise Agreement, Schedule A, guarantees, addenda, and applicable state provisions.
- Actor:
- Franchisor delivers; applicant and advisers review.
- Timing:
- At least 14 calendar days before signing or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.
- Next dependency:
- The federal waiting period must expire.
Document the award and sign
- Action:
- Confirm the entity, owners, Principal Owner, Territory, Scheduled Opening Date and addenda; sign the Franchise Agreement and guarantees.
- Actor:
- Franchisee, guarantors, and HouseMaster SPV LLC.
- Timing:
- The initial fee is due and generally nonrefundable; HouseMaster may refund it after failed training if materials are returned. The nonrefundable $1,250 ZorWare software fee is auto-drafted. The nine-month clock begins.
- Blocker:
- Unsigned guarantees, incomplete entity records, or unresolved Territory terms.
Secure an approved operating location
- Action:
- Select a home office or office site inside the Territory and submit complete zoning and site evidence.
- Actor:
- Franchisee selects; franchisor approves; local authority controls zoning.
- Timing:
- HouseMaster attempts a decision within 10 business days after complete submission.
- Blocker:
- No lease or purchase agreement should be signed before franchisor approval.
Complete training, testing, and licensing
- Action:
- Complete HouseMaster Business Training, NIBI Technical Training, the comprehensive test, and state-specific education or exams.
- Actor:
- Principal Owner, Designated Manager, inspectors, HouseMaster, NIBI, and regulators.
- Timing:
- Three business-training days plus nine technical-training days; class scheduling varies.
- Blocker:
- A failed test requires repetition at the next scheduled session at the franchisee’s expense.
Build the operating system
- Action:
- Install approved software and hardware, obtain insurance, acquire approved tools and supplies, brand the vehicle, and prepare local marketing.
- Actor:
- Franchisee with approved suppliers, insurer, and franchisor specifications.
- Timing:
- Before operating; no complete stage duration is disclosed.
- Blocker:
- Missing insurance certificate, incompatible systems, unapproved suppliers, or unavailable licenses.
Satisfy pre-opening conditions
- Action:
- Confirm training completion, licensing, site approval, systems, insurance, and all other pre-opening duties before serving customers.
- Actor:
- Franchisee completes; HouseMaster determines whether its requirements are satisfied.
- Timing:
- No later than nine months after signing.
- Blocker:
- Training completion alone does not authorize operations if another obligation remains open.
The nine-month period is a cap, not a forecast. It excludes the undisclosed pre-signing evaluation and can be consumed by class availability, test retakes, licensing, zoning, landlord negotiations, insurance, and supplier installation.
QUANTITATIVE PROCESS EVIDENCE
Which disclosed periods can affect the opening path?
Disclosed day-based periods
Bars compare counts only. Each period has a different trigger and unit.
Interpretation: these periods must not be added into a 36-day opening estimate. Training scheduling, site submission, and the federal review period occur at different stages and may overlap with other work.
Sources: 2026 HouseMaster FDD, Item 11, pages 47–51; Franchise Agreement Section 5(A); FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise.
SITE, TERRITORY AND LICENSES
Does site approval mean the Territory and licenses are approved?
No. Schedule A identifies the Territory and Franchise Location, while the Franchise Agreement grants limited protection, not exclusivity. A typical Territory is estimated at approximately 75,000 owner-occupied homes. A home office must be inside the Territory and zoning-compliant; Item 7 describes optional office space of approximately 500–700 square feet.
Site approval addresses the franchisor’s location standards. It is not a lease guarantee, zoning determination, inspector license, business license, or promise of third-party timing. The franchisee must verify local rules, negotiate the premises, and obtain approvals independently.
HouseMaster SPV LLC may approve the proposed Franchise Location while a municipality, state licensing body, landlord, insurer, or lender still has unresolved conditions. The Business cannot open until both franchisor-controlled and third-party requirements are complete.
Sources: 2026 HouseMaster FDD, Items 7, 11 and 12, pages 27–30 and 47–55; Franchise Agreement Section 5(A). Territory population data is based on U.S. Census information; the franchisee should verify the exact Schedule A map and postal codes rather than relying on an estimate.
TRAINING AND READINESS
What must be completed before HouseMaster can operate?
Before opening, the franchisee or Principal Owner, the Designated Manager if one is used, and any additional required attendee must complete the Initial Training Program to HouseMaster’s satisfaction and pass the comprehensive test. The program includes three days of HouseMaster Business Training and nine days of NIBI Technical Training. Classes are held six to twelve times per year or when minimum class sizes are achieved, so the next available session can affect the critical path.
Every inspector must complete NIBI training or an approved equivalent before performing inspections. NIBI may not satisfy every state’s education, field-mentoring, examination, certification, registration, or licensing rules. The franchisee must determine the applicable requirements and cannot treat training completion as permission to inspect. A failed initial test requires repetition at the next regularly scheduled session at the franchisee’s expense; continued failure can lead to termination.
Readiness includes approved report software, ISN by Porch, the Neighborly Franchise Portal, FranConnect, Microsoft 365, QuickBooks Online, compatible hardware, approved tools, vehicle signage, marketing materials, and insurance certification. The official training page also describes six to eight weeks of Sure Start onboarding. That supplemental description is not a contractual total and does not replace the FDD’s formal training or nine-month deadline.
Sources: 2026 HouseMaster FDD, Items 7, 8 and 11; Franchise Agreement Sections 5(F), 6(B), 6(D) and 7(A).
FORMAT DIFFERENCES
Does every HouseMaster acquisition follow the same documents?
No. The core Franchise Agreement applies, but the opening or transition path changes when an applicant converts an existing inspection company, buys an operating HouseMaster Business, or seeks additional Territory. The 2026 offering does not include a Development Agreement or Area Development Agreement with a multi-unit opening schedule.
| Official path | Governing documents | Opening or transition difference |
|---|---|---|
| New start-up | Franchise Agreement, Schedule A, guarantees and system agreements | Complete the full site, training, licensing, systems, insurance and pre-opening sequence. |
| Conversion | Franchise Agreement plus Roll-In Addendum, or Excluded Services Addendum if approved | Existing inspection activity is either brought into the HouseMaster Business or specifically excluded at franchisor discretion. |
| Resale or transfer | Transfer approval, current-form Franchise Agreement and required software arrangements | The buyer must qualify, complete required training, satisfy transfer conditions, and arrange assignment or purchase of report-generation software. |
| Additional Territory | Separate Franchise Agreement or 18-month Option to Purchase Agreement | The option requires a nonrefundable deposit, continued compliance and current expansion qualification; it grants no ownership rights before exercise. The completed Option must state the deposit amount. |
Sources: 2026 HouseMaster FDD, Items 1, 5, 7 and 12; Roll-In Addendum; Excluded Services Addendum; Option to Purchase Agreement, Exhibit F.
RESPONSIBILITY MAP
Who controls the dependencies that can delay opening?
Applicant or franchisee
Accurate application; entity and owner records; guarantees; site package; lease negotiation; zoning evidence; licenses; training attendance; test preparation; insurance; systems; approved purchases; vehicle branding; local marketing; and completion before the Scheduled Opening Date.
Franchisor or affiliate
Candidate approval; Territory terms; site approval; Manuals and standards; approved suppliers; HouseMaster Business Training; NIBI Technical Training through HI Training LLC; test evaluation; required system access; and opening support described in Item 11.
Independent third parties
Municipal zoning and permits; state inspector licensing; landlord consent and lease timing; lender underwriting; insurer placement; supplier installation; software vendor accounts; utility timing; and any required technical mentoring or examination scheduling.
Franchisor assistance does not transfer the franchisee’s duties or guarantee third-party outcomes. Item 20 and Exhibit E list current and former franchisees who can verify class scheduling, licensing lead times, supplier onboarding, and the sequence used in comparable markets.
BUYER VERIFICATION
What should be verified before signing and before opening?
The federal disclosure period is explained by the FTC Franchise Rule. It is a minimum pre-sale review period, not a buyer-specific legal conclusion or an opening forecast. State addenda and registration status should be reviewed for the applicant’s state before signing.
FINAL SYNTHESIS
What is the practical HouseMaster opening decision?
The verified path is mutual evaluation, FDD review, signing, Territory and site confirmation, training, licensing, systems, insurance, and completion of all pre-opening conditions. The only official total is a nine-month deadline from signing; no full inquiry-to-opening average is disclosed. The main applicant-controlled dependency is coordinating licensing, training and setup. The main external dependency is site approval, class availability, regulators, landlords and vendors. Verify the exact Scheduled Opening Date, state addenda, format documents, and whether any extension would be discretionary rather than contractual.