How to Start a HobbyTown Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Verified opening path

How long does it take to open a HobbyTown franchise?

3–6 months
Typical period after signing

Hobby Town Unlimited, Inc. states that franchisees typically open three to six months after signing the Franchise Agreement. That is an official estimate, not a promise. Financing, lease execution and buildout are the principal variables, while the contract sets a separate one-year deadline unless the franchisor grants an extension.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Hobby Town Unlimited, Inc., a Nebraska corporation and wholly owned subsidiary of AMain.com, Inc. FDD issued May 6, 2026. Official paths reviewed: new single store, conversion of an independent hobby store, and multi-unit development of at least two stores. Timeline mode: official timeline. Evidence reviewed: 2026 FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; attached Franchise Agreement, Guaranty Agreement, Software License Agreement and Multi-Unit Development Agreement. Public information checked July 17, 2026.
14 Calendar days Minimum FDD review before signing or payment.
21 Days for site response After written location designation is received.
≈10 Initial training days Must be completed to the franchisor’s satisfaction.
30 Days before opening Insurance certificate due for approval.
1 year Contractual opening deadline Extension is not automatic for a single unit.
Application

What must a HobbyTown applicant qualify for?

The process starts with the official HobbyTown information request, which asks for contact information and the applicant’s top three target cities. HobbyTown’s published application sequence says the franchise development team contacts the prospect, qualified applicants receive the FDD, and qualified candidates attend Discovery Day in Lincoln, Nebraska.

  • Liquidity. The official investment page says qualified owners must have $150,000–$200,000 in liquid assets available for the opening.
  • Individual eligibility. An individual franchisee represents that they are at least 21 and a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident under a valid permanent visa.
  • Entity ownership. All owners must be disclosed and sign the Guaranty Agreement; an individual later assigning to an approved entity must retain control and personal liability.
  • Operating role. The franchisee or manager must devote full time and best efforts. HobbyTown recommends active owner involvement but does not require the owner to remain on-premises full time.
  • Experience. The official FAQ says hobby experience is not mandatory. The FDD does not disclose a mandatory retail degree, credit score or prior business-ownership minimum.
  • Approval remains discretionary. Meeting a public liquidity figure or contractual eligibility condition does not itself constitute an award or approval.

The official franchise FAQ separately says many lenders and commercial landlords may expect approximately $500,000 of net worth and a 33% cash contribution. That statement describes possible third-party underwriting, not a disclosed HobbyTown contractual minimum. The 2026 FDD also states that Hobby Town Unlimited, Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a bank note or lease.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 10 and 15, pp. 27 and 36–37; Franchise Agreement Arts. III(K)–(L) and V(B); official HobbyTown franchise investment and FAQ pages.

Opening sequence

What are the verified steps from inquiry to grand opening?

The sequence below separates qualification, disclosure, contracting, site approval, lease review, construction, training and opening authorization. It does not treat franchisor assistance as a guarantee that financing, permits, a lease or construction will be completed on schedule.

1
Submit the inquiry and target markets
Action:
Provide applicant and preferred-city information.
Actor:
Applicant and franchise development team.
Timing:
No decision deadline is disclosed.
Next dependency:
HobbyTown must decide to continue evaluating the candidate.
2
Receive and review the FDD
Action:
Review all 23 Items, attachments, state addenda and any updates.
Actor:
Applicant, with chosen legal and financial advisers.
Timing:
At least 14 calendar days before signing or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.
Blocker:
Incomplete disclosure or unresolved agreement differences.
3
Complete evaluation and Discovery Day
Action:
Meet the Lincoln support team and validate the operating model.
Actor:
Qualified candidate and HobbyTown personnel.
Timing:
The official website discloses no fixed approval period.
Next dependency:
Final franchise award and executable documents.
4
Sign the governing agreements
Action:
Execute the Franchise Agreement, guaranty and software terms; pay the signing-triggered fee.
Actor:
Franchisee, all required owners and franchisor.
Timing:
The single-store $49,500 fee is fully earned and non-refundable at signing.
Blocker:
State addenda or material document changes requiring further review.
5
Select the site and obtain written consent
Action:
Identify a location; use the referred adviser or another adviser; submit the designation.
Actor:
Franchisee selects; franchisor approves.
Timing:
Written response within 21 days after receipt.
Blocker:
Financing, market fit, landlord terms or site rejection.
6
Complete lease review and territory documentation
Action:
Submit the lease before signing, pay the lease-review fee, then provide the executed lease.
Actor:
Franchisee, franchisor, landlord and advisers.
Timing:
The $500 review fee is due within 15 days after site consent.
Next dependency:
The Protected Territory Addendum follows site approval and lease execution.
7
Build, equip, stock and staff the store
Action:
Use approved plans; install fixtures, signs, POS and security systems; obtain licenses; stock approved inventory; hire staff.
Actor:
Franchisee coordinates franchisor, suppliers, contractors and authorities.
Timing:
Work must finish before opening and within the one-year contract window.
Blocker:
Permits, buildout, shipments, utilities or incomplete inventory.
8
Complete training and obtain opening clearance
Action:
Finish initial training, employee preparation, insurance approval and all premises requirements.
Actor:
Required trainee, franchisee, franchisor and insurer.
Timing:
Training is scheduled about 30 days before opening; on-site support surrounds setup and grand opening.
Blocker:
The franchisor may prohibit opening if prerequisites are incomplete.
Disclosure is not the same as signing. The FTC’s franchise buyer guide explains the 14-calendar-day pre-signing and pre-payment rule. FTC staff guidance also explains that a unilaterally and materially revised agreement may require a separate seven-calendar-day review, while prospect-initiated negotiations are treated differently.
Site and territory

When does the HobbyTown protected territory become defined?

The Protected Territory is not finalized merely because an applicant discusses a city or the franchisor approves a general market. The franchisee selects a specific site, HobbyTown approves it, the franchisee executes the lease, and both parties then sign the Protected Territory Addendum. The FDD describes the territory through surrounding ZIP codes using a minimum population of 250,000, but the exact geography belongs in the signed addendum.

Site approval is not territory protection. Site consent confirms that the proposed location meets HobbyTown’s site criteria; it is not a guarantee of sales, lease quality or permitting. Territory protection begins through the signed contractual documentation and remains subject to defaults, minimum inventory and performance provisions.

Most disclosed stores range from 3,000 to 6,000 square feet, although the system has used other sizes. The franchisee must negotiate the lease or purchase, submit the lease before execution, construct or remodel to franchisor-approved plans, and obtain local approvals. HobbyTown’s training and support page describes site, lease and buildout help, but the Franchise Agreement leaves the premises and third-party commitments with the franchisee.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 7, 11 and 12, pp. 16–22 and 27–34; Franchise Agreement Arts. III(F)–(G) and IV(B)–(D).

Training and readiness

What numerical deadlines control pre-opening work?

These periods use the same unit—calendar days—but begin from different triggers. They are not additive and do not replace the official three-to-six-month estimate.

Selected disclosed process periods

Bar length is scaled to 30 days. The on-site support bar shows the disclosed 10–20 day range.

Initial training
≈10 days
FDD review minimum
14 days
Opening-site support
10–20 days
Site response
21 days
Insurance certificate lead
30 days

Interpretation: insurance evidence and training scheduling must be planned before the proposed opening date, while site review occurs much earlier in the premises workstream.

Sources: 2026 FDD cover and Item 11, pp. 1 and 27–31; Franchise Agreement Arts. III(F), V(B) and IX(A); FTC Franchise Rule.

Initial training is approximately ten days and may use an operating franchised store, the Lincoln corporate office, another designated venue, or digital delivery. The Franchise Agreement requires at least three days at an existing store and attendance by the individual franchisee, the Principals responsible for day-to-day operations and/or the designated manager. Successful completion to HobbyTown’s satisfaction is required; the franchisee pays travel, lodging, meals and wages.

Opening inventory must be at least $80,000 at wholesale value and cover at least five franchisor-authorized major categories. The initial fixture, supply, POS, accounting, gift-card, advertising and inventory systems must use required or approved sources. A certificate of insurance naming the franchisor as an additional insured must be furnished 30 days before opening, with the required coverage and premium evidence.

Responsibility map

Who controls each critical opening dependency?

Workstream Applicant or franchisee HobbyTown Third parties
Qualification and funding Disclose ownership, resources and requested documents; secure capital. Evaluate candidate; no direct financing or loan guarantee. Lender and landlord set their own underwriting.
Site and lease Identify site, negotiate terms, submit lease before signing. Respond to the proposed site; review brand-protection lease provisions. Real-estate adviser, landlord and legal adviser complete negotiations.
Design and buildout Hire contractors, obtain approvals and complete the premises. Approve plans and system specifications. Contractors, suppliers, utilities and authorities control execution timing.
Systems and inventory Pay, receive, install and stock required items. Designate systems and arrange specified initial orders. Vendors and carriers control availability and shipment.
Training and opening Attend, pass training, hire staff, obtain licenses and insurance. Train, review readiness, provide opening support and may prohibit an incomplete opening. Insurer and government authorities issue required approvals.
Format differences

How do conversion and multi-unit paths differ?

New single store

One Franchise Agreement governs one location. The fee is due and non-refundable at signing. The store typically opens in three to six months but must open within one year unless HobbyTown grants an extension.

Independent-store conversion

The 2026 FDD permits conversion of an independently owned hobby store and applies the same stated franchise fee. It does not disclose a complete separate conversion timeline, so the buyer must verify required remodeling, inventory replacement, signage, systems and training in writing.

Multi-unit development

The minimum commitment is two stores. The developer signs the Multi-Unit Development Agreement and first Franchise Agreement concurrently, then signs a then-current Franchise Agreement for each additional store under the Mandatory Development Schedule.

Existing-store transfer

A resale is an approval and transfer path, not a new-store opening. The buyer must qualify, complete required training, sign the required agreement and obtain HobbyTown’s prior written consent to the transaction.

A Development Area under the Multi-Unit Development Agreement is not the same as a store’s Protected Territory. The MUDA grants conditional development rights; each store requires its own Franchise Agreement, approved site and store-specific territory documentation. Before an additional unit is awarded, the developer must request the then-current FDD, provide requested documents and financial statements, satisfy current financial criteria, remain compliant and demonstrate management capability.

Multi-unit deadline. The first MUDA store must open within one year after its Franchise Agreement is executed. A request to extend an additional store’s Mandatory Open Date must be submitted in writing at least 60 days before that date and must satisfy the agreement’s diligence, good-faith and compliance conditions. Missing the schedule can lead to loss of development rights or MUDA termination while the development fee remains non-refundable.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 1 and 5, pp. 8–9 and 12–13; Multi-Unit Development Agreement §§2, 4 and 5 and Attachment 2.

Buyer verification

What should be confirmed before committing to an opening date?

Exact documentsConfirm the 2026 FDD, amendments, applicable state addenda, final Franchise Agreement, guaranty and software agreement.
Approval statusAsk which event constitutes qualification, approval, award and authorization to sign; the public process does not provide decision deadlines.
Site sequenceConfirm the 21-day submission trigger, lease-review process, required lease clauses and when the Protected Territory Addendum will be executed.
Critical pathBuild a dated schedule for financing, lease execution, permits, buildout, fixtures, POS installation, inventory shipment and staff hiring.
Training attendeesIdentify who must attend, where each module will occur, the completion standard and the consequence of a failed or delayed trainee.
Opening clearanceRequest a written readiness list covering licenses, insurance, approved plans, minimum inventory, systems, signage, advertising and franchisor inspection.

Use Item 20 and its franchisee list to contact recent openers and former franchisees. Ask for actual dates for financing approval, site submission, lease execution, permitting, buildout, inventory delivery, training and public opening. The FTC recommends speaking with current and former franchisees and comparing the final agreement with the version attached to the FDD before signing.

Public references: official HobbyTown franchise website; official franchise investment page; FTC guidance on reviewing the agreement and operating manual.

Verified synthesis. A HobbyTown candidate moves from inquiry and qualification to FDD review, Discovery Day, contract execution, site and lease approval, territory documentation, buildout, required systems and inventory, training, insurance and opening clearance. The official total timeline is typically three to six months after signing, with a separate one-year contractual deadline. The principal applicant-controlled dependency is securing and completing the premises; the largest franchisor or third-party dependency is coordinated site, lease, permitting, construction and supplier execution. Before signing, verify the exact opening extension standard and the final territory, lease and readiness documents that will apply to the chosen format.