OPENING PROCESS
How long does it take to open a Deka Lash franchise, and what must happen first?
The 2025 Deka Lash FDD estimates approximately nine to twelve months to open a studio. Separately, the Franchise Agreement requires the studio to be open and operational within 365 days of its Effective Date. The critical path is candidate approval and contracting, site and lease approval, layout and buildout, permits and licensing, initial training, staffing, required systems and suppliers, and final readiness for operations.
The 9–12 month figure is an estimate, not a guaranteed opening date. The binding starting-date provision is different: the studio must be open and operational within 365 days of the Franchise Agreement Effective Date. Paid extensions may continue for up to 12 months, but failure to keep paying the extension fee or failure to open after that extension period can lead to termination and retention of the Initial Franchise Fee.
QUALIFICATION
What does a Deka Lash applicant need to qualify before signing?
The official franchise site currently lists $100,000 minimum liquid capital and $500,000 minimum net capital, and says beauty-industry experience is not required. Those are published screening facts, not a promise of approval and not a substitute for the Franchise Agreement. The 2025 FDD does not disclose a credit-score minimum, education requirement, or a universal prior-business-ownership requirement for a single studio.
Deka Lash’s public page also describes preferred franchisees as leaders who connect well with clients, employees, neighboring businesses, and the community, and who focus on operational execution. Treat those statements as selection preferences rather than contractual minimums. The internal application, interview, background-review, and award sequence is not fully disclosed in the FDD, so candidates should ask what written approval marks the end of qualification before incurring location or professional costs.
ROADMAP
What is the verified sequence from inquiry to opening?
The process below follows the dependencies disclosed in the 2025 FDD and attached agreements. It does not assume that a marketing inquiry equals approval, that site approval creates a Protected Area, or that training completion alone authorizes opening.
SITE APPROVAL
When does a proposed location actually become protected territory?
Site approval, temporary LOI protection, and the final Protected Area are three different events. The franchisee must find the location and obtain Deka Lash’s approval before signing the lease. After an approved proposed site and a fully executed LOI are submitted, Deka Lash can create a temporary protected radius for up to 60 days while the lease is finalized; it has up to five business days to accept the franchisee’s written designation of that LOI location.
The Franchise Location and final Protected Area are not defined until the lease for the approved site is itself approved, fully executed, and submitted to Deka Lash. The Protected Area is generally a 1.5-mile radius but may vary with market demographics. A Designated Search Area, including an exclusive search area under an Area Development Agreement, still does not make every site inside it automatically approvable.
Horizontal duration bars show the period stated in the 2025 FDD or Franchise Agreement; triggers differ, so these periods should not be added together.
Interpretation: the site process has multiple approval points, and a long lease negotiation can consume most or all of the temporary protection window even when site and layout reviews are relatively short.
Source: 2025 Deka Lash FDD, Items 11–12, pp. 32–42; Franchise Agreement §§3.10–3.12, 5.2 and 6.2. The FDD states “14 days” for initial site and layout reviews and “5 business days” for LOI designation acceptance.
RESPONSIBILITIES
Who controls the major dependencies before a Deka Lash studio can open?
The franchisee carries most execution responsibility, while Deka Lash controls system approvals and third parties control leases, permits, professional licensing, construction, insurance, and some supply timing. Franchisor support is assistance, not a guarantee that a site, permit, lease, contractor, employee, or opening date will be secured.
A dependency can move the opening date even when another actor has completed its own step.
Source: 2025 Deka Lash FDD Items 8, 11, 12 and 15; Franchise Agreement §§5–6.
TRAINING
What training and staffing must be completed before opening?
Deka Lash currently provides a four-day initial training program, virtual or in person. The Item 11 curriculum chart totals 46 classroom hours across culture, studio opening, staffing, products, services, marketing, systems and processes, customer relations, financials, and business planning. The FDD says the franchisee and any general or studio manager the franchisee intends to use must take initial training, fully attend, behave professionally, and pass any tests the franchisor administers.
The services must operate under the franchisee’s direct supervision and control or under a full-time manager who has attended and passed initial training. The franchisee remains responsible for hiring and day-to-day employee control, for ensuring employees have any licenses or certifications required by applicable law, and for maintaining sufficient trained staff. Initial lash-artist training for the first location is addressed separately from owner training and is generally offered at the franchise location.
Item 11 contains two different additional-attendee amounts for initial owner training: one paragraph states $1,500 per additional person, while a later paragraph states $500. Because this affects who attends and when, verify the current charge and attendee rules in writing before scheduling extra trainees. Also verify the exact pre-opening checklist because the FDD does not disclose a distinct final opening-certification step.
MULTI-UNIT
How does the Area Development Agreement change the opening process?
The Area Development Agreement is a separate discretionary development path, not a substitute for unit-level Franchise Agreements. The 2025 FDD says Deka Lash currently offers qualified candidates rights for 2–10 outlets. The Area Developer must sign the Franchise Agreement for the first studio at the same time as the Area Development Agreement; each later studio requires the franchisor’s then-current Franchise Agreement, which may differ from the first one.
| Multi-unit requirement | What it means before opening | Timing / consequence |
|---|---|---|
| Mandatory Development Schedule | Open the unit count assigned in the Data Sheet and maintain the required cumulative number of operating studios. | Minimum contract standard is the greater of 20% of committed outlets per year or one outlet per year. |
| First unit agreement | Execute the first unit Franchise Agreement contemporaneously with the Area Development Agreement. | The first studio follows the same site, buildout, training, and 365-day unit-opening requirements. |
| One-time schedule extension | Available only when current, compliant, and making a good-faith effort, with written notice and a general release where enforceable. | Six months; shifts later development dates by six months. |
| Further delay | Monthly delayed-opening fee can extend due unit rights when the stated conditions continue to be met. | Up to 12 months; failure can end undeveloped territorial and development rights. |
The standard Area Development Data Sheet shows possible milestone rows at 12, 24, 36, 48, and 60 months, but the unit counts are blank and must be completed for the specific award. A buyer should therefore verify the actual Development Area, unit count, each Development Period, and every expiration date before treating a generic five-year chart as the binding schedule.
MEDSPA SERVICES
What changes if the studio plans to offer approved Medspa services?
Medspa services are ancillary and require Deka Lash approval. They also introduce a separate jurisdiction-specific dependency: where law requires services to be performed through a professional entity or other Required Provider, the standard franchisee entity is described as a non-professional management services organization and may need a compliant Managed Service Agreement with a professional entity or qualified third party.
The FDD expressly places pre-opening due diligence for ownership structure, provider licensing, service delivery, and the Managed Service Agreement on the franchisee with appropriately experienced independent counsel. This is not a universal permit list: state and local rules vary, so the buyer must verify professional-ownership, provider, facility, zoning, advertising, and other requirements with the applicable authorities before adding those services to the opening plan.
VERIFY BEFORE OPENING
What should a buyer confirm before committing to the final opening schedule?
Ask Deka Lash to reconcile the contract documents and the current Operations Manual against the actual unit you are buying. The most decision-useful confirmations are the exact application approval point, the Designated Search Area, any overlapping protected radii, the site-submission package, the approved lease form, construction-management requirements, the current training calendar, required trainees, staff licensing, insurance certificates, required software, Customer Service Center onboarding, supplier lead times, and the Grand Opening Marketing plan.
Also compare the final Franchise Agreement with the agreement attached to the FDD. The FTC states that the FDD must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before signing or payment, and its Franchise Rule FAQs explain that a franchisor’s unilateral material changes to the agreement can trigger a separate seven-calendar-day review period before signing. State addenda may modify payment timing, termination rights, releases, venue, and other terms, so verify the addendum that applies to the franchisee and location.
For practical diligence, use Item 20 and Exhibits G and H to contact current and former franchisees about actual site search, lease negotiation, buildout, hiring, training availability, and opening delays. The FDD notes that some current and former franchisees may be subject to confidentiality restrictions, so lack of comment from a particular contact should not be treated as evidence about the process.
Verified opening path: qualify and receive approval; complete the federal FDD review period; sign the applicable Franchise Agreement and, if awarded, Area Development Agreement; secure site and lease approvals; finalize the Protected Area; complete layout, buildout, permits, licensing, insurance, systems, suppliers, staffing, training, and pre-opening marketing; then open the approved studio.
Timeline: the FDD gives an official estimate of about 9–12 months, while the contract separately requires opening within 365 days of the Franchise Agreement Effective Date. The largest applicant-controlled dependency is securing and developing an acceptable site. The largest franchisor/third-party dependency is the combined site/lease approval, landlord, construction, licensing, and permitting path. The key deadline to verify is the 365-day opening requirement and how any extension applies to the specific agreement and state addendum.
Primary evidence: 2025 Deka Lash Franchise Disclosure Document, issued August 6, 2025, and attached Franchise Agreement, Area Development Agreement, and lease forms. Public supplemental sources: Deka Lash franchise opportunities, Deka Lash franchising contact page, FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise, and FTC Franchise Rule resources.