How does opening an Adam & Eve franchise work?
A start-up outlet has an official FDD estimate of 6–10 months from Franchise Agreement signing to opening. A conversion location instead has a 45-day contractual opening deadline unless AEFC, Inc. grants a written extension. Multi-unit developers must follow the Mandatory Development Schedule in their executed agreement. Site, lease, permits, buildout, staffing and readiness remain franchisee-controlled workstreams; AEFC controls required approvals and written opening authorization.
What must a candidate qualify for before Adam & Eve awards the franchise?
The public Steps to Ownership sequence uses an inquiry, initial discussion and Let’s Get Acquainted (LGA) form before FDD review. The LGA form asks about business ownership, education, liquid capital, banking, credit and bankruptcy history; these are screening inputs, not disclosed hard minimums. The website then places Discovery Day and background-check approval before final signing. The 2025 FDD states no prior retail/franchise-experience minimum, and the official FAQ says prior ownership experience is not required.
The official FAQ currently mentions $80,000 of liquid assets, while the 2025 FDD does not state that figure as a contractual single-unit qualification threshold. Treat the website number as screening-stage information, not a guaranteed approval standard, and ask AEFC to identify its current financial qualification criteria in writing. For additional multi-unit outlets, the Multi-Unit Development Agreement expressly requires the developer to satisfy AEFC’s then-current financial criteria and demonstrate adequate management skills.
If the franchisee is an entity, every owner signs the Franchise Agreement as a “Principal.” A married Principal whose spouse does not sign the Franchise Agreement must have the spouse execute the Spouse Guaranty. The franchisee must personally manage the outlet or use an approved General Manager; a non-owner General Manager requires prior AEFC approval, must work full time and must successfully complete required training.
Sources: 2025 Adam & Eve FDD, Items 1 and 15, pp. 7 and 35; Franchise Agreement §§ 11.2–11.4, pp. 15–16; Multi-Unit Development Agreement § 5.4, p. 6; official ownership-process and LGA pages linked above.What happens between FDD receipt and signing the agreements?
FDD receipt is not the same event as approval or signing. Under the federal Franchise Rule, the prospect must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding franchise agreement or paying money to the franchisor or its affiliate in connection with the sale. AEFC’s website separately describes its own Q&A, Discovery Day and background-check sequence. Those sales-process steps do not shorten the federal disclosure period.
Sources: FTC Franchise Rule and Consumer’s Guide linked above; 2025 Adam & Eve FDD, Item 5, pp. 9–11; Multi-Unit Development Agreement §§ 4.1–5.1, pp. 4–5.What is the evidence-based sequence from inquiry to opening?
The roadmap below combines AEFC’s published candidate sequence with the contractual dependencies in the 2025 FDD and attached agreements. The website governs how AEFC describes its sales funnel; the FDD and signed agreements control contractual opening obligations.
Initial inquiry and discussion
Complete LGA screening
Receive and review the FDD
Q&A, Discovery Day and final approval
Sign the governing agreement for the chosen format
Obtain site consent, lease approval and possession
Design, permit, build and equip the store
Complete training and staff readiness
Pass final readiness checks and obtain written authorization
How do the disclosed opening clocks differ by format?
The start-up path has an official planning estimate and an outer contractual default threshold; the conversion path substitutes a much shorter opening deadline because the existing location is already treated as approved for conversion. These values share the Franchise Agreement signing event as their timing trigger, but they are not interchangeable.
Months from Franchise Agreement execution; conversion’s 45 days is shown as approximately 1.5 months for visual comparison.
Interpretation: the 6–10-month period is an official start-up estimate, not a promise; the 45-day conversion period and 12-month start-up threshold are contractual deadlines, not expected averages.
Source: 2025 Adam & Eve FDD, Item 11, pp. 25–26; Franchise Agreement § 8.3, pp. 12–13; Franchise Agreement Attachment 10, Conversion Franchise Addendum § 4, pp. 63–64.For additional multi-unit outlets, the developer receives the then-current FDD and signs the then-current Franchise Agreement. The Multi-Unit Development Agreement states that the developer does not receive the initial training program again for each additional outlet. A development-schedule extension request must be submitted in writing at least 60 days before the applicable Mandatory Open Date and remains subject to the agreement’s stated conditions.
Who controls the critical pre-opening dependencies?
AEFC provides standards, reviews and approvals, but the agreements place most execution risk on the franchisee and third parties. The distinction matters because franchisor assistance does not guarantee financing, a site, landlord consent, permits, contractor performance or a particular opening date.
Applicant / Franchisee
- Candidate stageProvide LGA and requested qualification information; review the FDD and agreements.
- PremisesFind the site, negotiate the lease, obtain possession and fund development.
- ReadinessObtain permits and insurance, hire staff, install systems, stock inventory and complete the punch list.
- TrainingEnsure required Principals and managers complete training to AEFC’s satisfaction.
AEFC, Inc.
- Candidate stageConduct its sales-process review, Q&A, Discovery Day and approval decision.
- PremisesProvide site criteria; consent to the site; review the lease and System-related construction plans.
- SystemsProvide required-item and supplier lists, Manual access and design/operating standards.
- OpeningAssess training, may inspect the completed premises and must give written authorization before opening.
Third parties
- LandlordControls lease terms, delivery of possession and landlord-side approvals.
- Government authoritiesControl zoning, business/adult-retail permissions, construction approvals and other locally applicable licenses or certificates.
- Contractors / suppliersControl buildout, installations, inventory, fixtures, signage and technology delivery subject to AEFC standards.
- InsurersIssue the required coverage before opening, subject to the Franchise Agreement’s specifications.
What must be complete before AEFC can authorize the store to open?
The Franchise Agreement makes written AEFC authorization a separate final gate. Before the Opening Date, the franchisee must complete the premises to approved standards, finish required training, hire and train staff, purchase and stock opening inventory, submit the completed punch list and obtain required operating licenses. Required insurance must also be in force, and the grand-opening marketing plan must follow AEFC approval requirements.
The 2025 FDD names required sources including NALPAC for most start-up initial merchandise, Sherwin-Williams for specified paint/flooring, Bella Furniture for specified design and fixtures, and The Packaging Source for check-out products. Local approvals, especially for sexually mature themed retail, remain jurisdiction-specific.
Sources: 2025 Adam & Eve FDD, Items 7–8 and 11, pp. 17–31; Franchise Agreement §§ 8.2–8.3, 12.1.3 and 15; official AEFC supplier and System requirements as disclosed in the FDD.What should a prospective franchisee verify before committing to an opening date?
Verify the format first because start-up, conversion and multi-unit development do not share one opening clock. Confirm AEFC’s current approval criteria, required Principal/spouse signatures, the site-search area versus final Territory, required lease language and—if multi-unit—every Mandatory Open Date and extension procedure in the executed schedule.
Finally, request the most current FDD and any updates before signing. The FTC explains that prospects may request current disclosure information, and the Franchise Rule’s calendar-day timing protects the pre-signing review period. AEFC’s published funnel, qualification questions and marketing pages are useful process context, but the signed Franchise Agreement, Conversion Franchise Addendum or Multi-Unit Development Agreement controls the franchisee’s enforceable opening obligations.
Sources: 2025 Adam & Eve FDD, Items 12, 15, 20 and Exhibit F; FTC Amended Franchise Rule FAQs; official AEFC pages linked throughout.What is the practical opening path to remember?
The verified path is inquiry and screening, FDD review, AEFC approval, agreement signing, then the format-specific real-estate and opening path: a start-up uses the official 6–10-month estimate, a conversion has a 45-day contractual clock unless extended, and multi-unit outlets follow the executed Mandatory Development Schedule.
The key applicant-controlled dependency is coordinating an approvable site, lease, permits, buildout, suppliers, staffing and training. The critical external dependencies are AEFC approvals and written opening authorization plus landlord and government action. Verify the final Territory attachment, local adult-retail approvals and any multi-unit Mandatory Open Dates before committing to an opening date.