How to Start an ActionCOACH Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening path

How long does it take to open an ActionCOACH franchise?

About 1–2 months Typical post-signing opening estimate

The May 1, 2026 disclosure document states that a Minnesota or Wisconsin PARTNER Business Coach typically starts business about one to two months after signing and fully funding the agreement. This is an estimate, not an opening deadline or promise. Training availability and the franchisee’s pre-opening preparation are the stated timing drivers.

Offer reviewed: ActionCOACH PARTNER Business Coach franchise in Minnesota and Wisconsin.
Contracting entity: Buji, LLC, the regional Master Licensee; ActionCOACH North America, LLC is the national franchisor but is not a party to this agreement.
Evidence basis: 2026 FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; PARTNER Business Coach Franchise Agreement; MDC Agreement; Firm Addendum; Business Coach Agreement.
Timeline mode: Official total timeline expressed as a typical estimate from signed-and-funded agreement to starting business. Checked July 17, 2026.

Primary source: ActionCOACH Business Coach Franchise Disclosure Document, Buji, LLC, issued May 1, 2026, Item 11, p. 22. Public context: the official ActionCOACH U.S. franchise website.

14 Calendar-day review period Before a binding agreement or franchise payment.
10 Initial training days Five live days plus five real-time virtual days.
16 Optional Fast-Start hours Self-paced module for the Business Master Class.
120 Days after signing Backstop trigger for disclosed minimum recurring fees.
Scope matters

This article describes the Buji, LLC offer for Minnesota and Wisconsin. ActionCOACH uses other Master Licensees elsewhere, so a buyer outside these two states should not assume the same contract, territory rule, training fee trigger, or opening sequence applies.

Qualification

What must an applicant qualify for before ActionCOACH awards the franchise?

Buji, LLC retains discretion to award or withhold a franchise at any stage. The 2026 FDD does not disclose a minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit score, degree, or required years of coaching experience. It emphasizes character, cultural alignment, willingness to learn the system, leadership, relationship building, and the ability to honor financial and legal commitments.

The official ActionCOACH franchise FAQ says a formal business degree is not required and that business, leadership, or entrepreneurship experience is helpful. That marketing guidance is a preference, not a contractual minimum, and meeting it does not guarantee approval.

Provide accurate applicant details: identity, contact information, proposed entity, ownership percentages, intended state, and office plan.
Accept an owner-role structure: personally operate the business or appoint a Buji-approved Managing Director Business Coach.
Clear conflicts: confirm no agreement prevents compliance with the ActionCOACH contract and competition restrictions.
Complete the discovery process: official marketing materials describe calls, a model review, DISC assessment, document review, franchisee conversations, and Discovery Day.
Fund the launch: no standard franchisor financing program or loan guarantee is disclosed.
Verify professional boundaries: the franchise cannot provide licensed legal, accounting, tax, or similar services unless separately structured and properly licensed.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 2–5; Item 10, p. 21; Item 15, pp. 35–36; Business Coach Franchise Agreement, acknowledgments and §22.2; official ActionCOACH franchise FAQ.

Verified sequence

What happens between the first inquiry and starting the business?

The process is a service-business launch rather than a retail buildout. The critical path is award, federal disclosure timing, contract execution, owner or MDC certification, compliant systems and insurance, and readiness to deliver only approved ActionCOACH services.

1
Complete discovery and fit review

Action: Discuss the model, complete requested assessment steps, review the territory concept, and speak with current or former franchisees.

Actor: Applicant and franchise sales team.

Timing: No contractual duration is disclosed.

Blocker: Buji may decline the application at its discretion.

2
Define the owner, entity, and operator

Action: Identify every owner and decide whether the owner or an approved MDC will manage and coach.

Actor: Applicant; Buji approves an MDC.

Timing: Before final agreements are completed.

Blocker: Inaccurate application information can support immediate termination later.

3
Receive and review the complete FDD

Action: Read all 23 Items, agreements, state addenda, and franchisee lists; sign one receipt copy only to record delivery.

Actor: Buji delivers; applicant reviews.

Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing or paying.

Next dependency: The waiting period must expire before the sale closes.

4
Complete award and signing documents

Action: Execute the PARTNER Franchise Agreement, personal guaranty for each owner, confidentiality documents, Compliance Questionnaire, DDMA attachment, and direct-debit authorization.

Actor: Franchisee, owners, and Buji.

Timing: Fees ordinarily trigger at signing; Minnesota’s financial-assurance condition changes collection timing.

Blocker: Unresolved contract changes or state conditions.

5
Set the office and operating infrastructure

Action: Choose a home office or obtain written approval for a professional commercial office; establish the bank account, hardware, software, CRM, communications, and approved online presence.

Actor: Franchisee; Buji approves a commercial office.

Timing: During pre-opening preparation.

Blocker: Noncompliant office, technology, branding, website, or supplier choices.

6
Complete certification training

Action: The owner or approved MDC completes pre-work and ACNA’s ten-day certification program.

Actor: Trainee; Buji arranges attendance; ACNA oversees training.

Timing: Before normal business operations; sessions recur but availability varies.

Blocker: Unsuccessful completion may lead to termination.

7
Document opening readiness

Action: Put required insurance in force, list Buji and ACNA as additional insureds, finalize approved marketing, enable reporting and payments, and execute personnel agreements if applicable.

Actor: Franchisee, insurer, bank, suppliers, and any MDC.

Timing: Insurance and training must be complete before opening.

Next dependency: Readiness to deliver only authorized services.

8
Start business and complete launch obligations

Action: Begin approved coaching and marketing, use system reporting, attend launch calls, and retain paid receipts for eligible local marketing.

Actor: Franchisee, with disclosed Buji support.

Timing: Typical start is one to two months after signing and full funding; marketing receipts cover the first 90 operating days.

Blocker: Insurance, training, systems, or state-sale issues that remain unresolved.

Federal disclosure timing: FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise and the FTC Franchise Rule, 16 CFR Part 436. Contract sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 9, 11 and 15; Franchise Agreement §§3, 4.7, 7–15 and 17.

Training

What training must be completed before normal operations begin?

The owner or approved MDC must successfully complete ACNA certification before the business opens under the standard path. The disclosed program contains five live or in-person days and five real-time virtual days. Buji may change scheduling, format, location, or content, and the FDD says upcoming dates and format are provided before signing.

Initial certification structure

Two equal five-day components, with 105 disclosed classroom hours in total.

Scheduled days 5 live days 5 virtual days Classroom hours Live / in-person 55 Virtual 50 105 total classroom hours

Interpretation: the day count is split evenly, while the live component contains five more disclosed classroom hours than the virtual component.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 27–28. The optional 16-hour Fast-Start module is separate and does not replace full certification.

Training requirement

The Fast-Start Program may allow a franchisee who completes the 16-hour LMS certification to deliver the Business Master Class before full certification. The FDD describes eligibility, not automatic authorization. Obtain written confirmation of the permitted service, start date, insurance status, and fee triggers before serving a client.

Territory and office

Does ActionCOACH require a site, lease, or buildout?

No retail site is required for this offer. The franchisee may operate from a home office or a professional commercial office within the assigned DDMA. If a commercial office is used, the franchisee selects it and must obtain Buji’s written approval; the office must satisfy current brand and fit-out standards.

The DDMA is the entire state where the principal office is located, but it is non-exclusive. Approval of an office does not create protected territory, prevent other ActionCOACH coaches from operating in the state, or guarantee leads. Direct marketing outside the DDMA is restricted, although pre-existing relationships are treated differently under the FDD and agreement.

Site approval is not territory protection

The general ActionCOACH FAQ uses broad “exclusive territory” marketing language. The May 1, 2026 Buji, LLC FDD and PARTNER Franchise Agreement control this Minnesota/Wisconsin offer and expressly grant a non-exclusive DDMA.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 11–12, pp. 26 and 31–32; Franchise Agreement §§1, 8–9 and Attachment 3.

Operating format

Which agreement path applies to the owner, an MDC, or a larger firm?

The standard opening is a single-coach PARTNER franchise. Alternative documents change who operates or adds coaching capacity; they do not create an area-development or multi-unit right.

Owner-operated PARTNER

The owner signs the PARTNER Business Coach Franchise Agreement, personal guaranty, and confidentiality obligations, completes certification, and serves as the initial Business Coach.

Approved MDC

An owner may appoint one Managing Director Business Coach. Buji must approve the MDC, the MDC must sign the three-party MDC Agreement and an approved Business Coach Agreement, and certification must precede coaching.

FIRM expansion

A Firm Addendum may authorize up to four additional Business Coaches. Each coach needs approval, certification, a Business Coach Agreement, and advance payment of applicable seat and training fees.

Decision Required approval or document Opening consequence
Entity ownership Every owner discloses percentage interest and signs the personal guaranty. The entity does not shield owners from contractual payment and performance obligations.
Use an MDC Buji approval, MDC Agreement, Business Coach Agreement, and ACNA certification. The MDC receives day-to-day authority and binds the franchisee in dealings with Buji.
Add coaches Firm Addendum, approved coach, seat, training, certification, and individual agreement. No added coach may provide coaching before certification.
Buy a resale Buji’s written transfer consent, buyer qualification, training, and a new agreement. The agreement generally requires at least 60 days after transfer notice before completion.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 6, 15 and 22; Franchise Agreement §§11.5 and 20; Managing Director Business Coach Agreement; Firm Addendum §§1–8.

Responsibilities

Who controls each opening dependency?

The applicant controls most preparation, while Buji controls award, office and personnel approvals, and training coordination. ACNA controls certification and system access; government authorities, insurers, banks, landlords, and suppliers control separate third-party dependencies.

Applicant / franchisee

Supply complete ownership and application information.

Review the FDD, contracts, state addenda, and franchisee contacts.

Choose the office, establish banking, acquire compliant systems, and obtain insurance.

Complete training and execute approved launch marketing.

Buji, LLC

Decide whether to award the PARTNER franchise.

Deliver disclosures and sign the two-party Franchise Agreement.

Approve a commercial office, MDC, and additional Business Coaches.

Provide disclosed pre-training guidance and launch communications.

ACNA and third parties

ACNA oversees certification and system materials.

Insurers issue required coverage and certificates.

Banks activate direct debit; suppliers provide compliant technology and materials.

State and local authorities determine registrations, taxes, employment rules, and any office requirements.

Deadlines and verification

What must be verified before signing and before opening?

Several deadlines affect the path, but the FDD does not disclose a separate fixed “opening authorization” form or a contractual last day to open. The safest evidence-based checkpoint is successful training plus completion of the contract’s pre-opening insurance, payment-system, office, technology, and personnel requirements.

Disclosure date: preserve proof that at least 14 calendar days passed before signing or paying.
State authority: verify that the offer is currently effective where it will be sold; the Wisconsin active-filings list showed Buji, LLC active through April 29, 2027 when checked.
Minnesota fee deferral: confirm exactly which payments are deferred and what evidence releases them. Minnesota explains that fee deferral generally lasts until opening in its financial-assurance guidance.
Training calendar: obtain the actual live and virtual dates, location, format, prerequisites, completion standard, and Fast-Start permission in writing.
Insurance evidence: confirm limits, additional-insured wording, workers’ compensation applicability, and certificate delivery before serving clients.
Territory wording: make sure Attachment 3 identifies the correct state and does not contradict the non-exclusive DDMA language.
Support trigger: reconcile Item 11’s “after opening” description with Agreement §7.1(E), which ties weekly 90-day calls to completion of certification training.
Current Minnesota order: use the Minnesota franchise registration resources to confirm current effectiveness and state-specific documents.
Contractual fee clock

The disclosed minimum royalty and minimum marketing payment begin on the earlier of the first month after the owner or MDC completes training or 120 days after signing. This is a payment trigger, not a promised opening date. Delaying training or launch does not necessarily postpone the minimum-fee clock.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5–6 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§4.1–4.3, 7.1(E) and 14; Minnesota and Wisconsin official regulator pages. Regulatory status and local requirements can change after the date checked.

Verified opening path

An ActionCOACH buyer under this 2026 Minnesota/Wisconsin offer moves from discretionary discovery and award to FDD receipt, the federal 14-calendar-day review period, PARTNER agreement execution, office and systems setup, owner or MDC certification, insurance and payment readiness, and then commencement of approved coaching services. The disclosed total is a typical one-to-two-month estimate from signing and full funding, not a guarantee.

The largest applicant-controlled dependency is completing training and assembling compliant insurance, technology, banking, and marketing. The largest franchisor or third-party dependency is the available certification schedule and any state-sale condition. Before signing, resolve the Minnesota fee-deferral mechanics, non-exclusive DDMA wording, exact training dates, and the absence of a separately defined written opening-authorization procedure.