How Much Does a Tutoring Center Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

About $7,000–$76,000 manager-run, or $86,000–$155,000 owner-operated

These are independent annual scenario estimates for one mature U.S. The Tutoring Center location. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports student enrollment, not revenue, operating profit, owner compensation, or take-home pay. The higher owner-operated figures include the estimated value of replacing a paid Center Director and are therefore not pure passive business profit.

FDD: 2026 Evidence mode: Structural FDD-anchored estimate Confidence: Limited Format: Mature U.S. tutoring Center
Independent estimate—not an Item 19 earnings claim. The model combines The Tutoring Center Franchise Corp.'s disclosed enrollment cohorts and recurring fees with separately identified tuition, margin, and manager-compensation assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of local tuition, student retention, location, rent, instructor payroll, required purchases, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: The Tutoring Center Franchise Corp. Issuance date: March 12, 2026. Item 19 period: January 1 through December 1, 2025. Applicable population: 65 franchised Centers open at least 12 months, excluding seven newer Centers and three United Arab Emirates Centers; the enrollment data were unaudited and had a stated average response rate of 95%. Evidence mode: Mode D because Item 19 discloses enrollment but no sales or earnings. External labor benchmark: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2023 industry wage data. Checked July 15, 2026.
65
Mature Centers in Item 19
OFFICIAL. The four enrollment groups contain 16, 16, 16, and 17 franchised Centers.
48
Base enrollment anchor
OFFICIAL INPUT. This is the mid-lower quartile median, not a systemwide median.
$21,600
Core annual fixed franchise charges
DERIVED. Mature-unit royalty, program, and technology fees before escalators or optional programs.
$79,300
Center Director labor proxy
BENCHMARK. May 2023 BLS annual mean wage for education administrators in Other Schools and Instruction.
Item 19 evidence

What does The Tutoring Center Item 19 actually report?

Item 19 officially reports student enrollment—not revenue or owner earnings. For the 2025 measurement period, The Tutoring Center Franchise Corp. divided mature franchised Centers into four groups based on enrollment and disclosed each group's median, average, range, and count. The figures apply to Centers open at least 12 months, not new units in ramp-up.

The strongest same-brand evidence is therefore operational volume. It indicates substantial system variation: the bottom-quartile median was 33 enrolled students, while the top-quartile median was 84. The reported category ranges ran from 12 students at the low end to 151 at the high end. None of those enrollment numbers states what families paid, how long students remained enrolled, how much instructor time was required, or how much cash remained for an owner.

Median student enrollment by Item 19 quartile
Mature franchised Centers, January 1–December 1, 2025
Median student enrollment by quartile Official 2025 Item 19 medians for 65 mature franchised Centers: bottom 33, mid-lower 48, mid-upper 60, and top 84 students. 0 25 50 75 33 48 60 84 Bottom 25% Mid-lower 25% Mid-upper 25% Top 25%
Interpretation: enrollment volume varies enough that a single clean earnings number would conceal the main operating risk. The chart does not show tuition, revenue, expenses, or profitability.
Source: The Tutoring Center 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pages 33–35. The disclosure states that the data are unaudited and that individual enrollment results may differ.
Revenue is not earnings A Center with 84 enrolled students can still produce modest owner earnings if tuition is low, payroll is inefficient, occupancy is expensive, or student turnover is high. Conversely, a smaller Center with stronger pricing, scheduling, and cost control may retain more cash. Item 19 does not resolve those variables.
Scenario model

How were annual owner earnings estimated?

The estimate converts disclosed enrollment into modeled revenue, then applies an explicit after-manager operating-margin sensitivity. This is a scenario calculation, not a franchisor-reported result. Each case uses one official enrollment cohort and two editorial assumptions: average monthly revenue per enrolled student and the cash operating margin after paying a Center Director.

What formulas produce the three scenarios?

The manager-run result equals modeled annual revenue multiplied by the assumed after-manager margin. The owner-operator benefit then adds a $79,300 labor-value proxy when the Designated Owner personally replaces the paid Center Director. Dollar outputs are rounded to the nearest $1,000 only after calculating with full inputs.

Scenario Enrollment and tuition assumption Modeled annual revenue After-manager margin
Conservative 33 students × $350 per month × 12 $138,600 5%
Base 48 students × $425 per month × 12 $244,800 10%
Upside 84 students × $500 per month × 12 $504,000 15%
  • Enrollment anchors are official; tuition assumptions are not. The 33, 48, and 84 student counts are Item 19 quartile medians. The $350, $425, and $500 monthly revenue-per-student figures are analytical assumptions because the FDD and official U.S. site do not disclose a price schedule.
  • The margin band is analytical, not an industry claim. The 5%, 10%, and 15% rates are defined as cash operating margins after a paid Center Director, instructional labor, payroll burden, occupancy, utilities, insurance, supplies, ordinary marketing, and disclosed recurring franchise charges.
  • Financing and taxes are outside the model. The figures exclude loan principal, interest expense, depreciation, amortization, capital expenditures, personal income taxes, owner draws, and distributions.
  • The scenarios are not probabilities. “Base” is a central working case, not a forecast or statement that this outcome is most likely.
Owner role changes the economic benefit
Estimated annual pre-tax manager-run earnings versus owner-operator benefit
Manager-run earnings versus owner-operator benefit Three scenario comparisons. Owner-operated benefit is manager-run residual profit plus a 79,300 dollar labor-value proxy for replacing a paid Center Director. $0 $50k $100k $150k Conservative Base Upside $7k $86k $24k $104k $76k $155k Manager-run earnings Owner-operated benefit
Interpretation: the $79,300 gap is compensation for work performed by an owner who serves as Center Director. It should not be described as passive profit, a distribution, or a guaranteed salary.
Sources and formulas: 2026 FDD Item 19 enrollment anchors; editorial tuition and margin assumptions; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2023 annual mean wage of $79,300 for Education Administrators, All Other, in Other Schools and Instruction. Results rounded to the nearest $1,000.
Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

Active operation can raise the owner's total economic benefit, but mainly because the owner is supplying management labor. The 2026 FDD says the Designated Owner must manage the Center, and the franchise agreement states that the Designated Owner may—and usually does—serve as Center Director. A separate trained Center Director is required if the Designated Owner takes outside employment and is no longer present for all business hours.

What does “manager-run earnings” mean here?

Manager-run earnings are residual pre-tax cash operating profit after normal unit expenses and a paid Center Director. The scenario includes recurring franchise charges and ordinary staffing, occupancy, supplies, insurance, utilities, and marketing within the assumed margin. It excludes financing, noncash depreciation and amortization, capital expenditures, owner draws, distributions, and personal income taxes.

What does “owner-operator benefit” mean here?

Owner-operator benefit equals the manager-run residual plus the modeled market value of Center Director labor. The $79,300 proxy comes from the BLS May 2023 annual mean wage for Education Administrators, All Other, within the Other Schools and Instruction industry. The occupation is not a perfect match, the data are older than the FDD, self-employed owners are outside the OEWS wage universe, and benefits or payroll taxes are not added. Local replacement cost can be materially lower or higher.

Owner-operator effect An owner who performs the Center Director role may capture labor value, but still must maintain the Head Instructor and other staffing required by the operating model. The owner-operated range should not be read as what the business would earn while the owner remains passive.
Recurring obligations

Which franchise fees materially affect annual earnings?

A mature Center currently carries at least $21,600 in core fixed annual franchisor charges before escalators, optional programs, or contingent fees. This is a derived FDD calculation, not an estimate of total operating expense. Because the scenario margins are defined as all-in cash operating margins after these charges, the $21,600 is not subtracted again.

Recurring obligation Current amount Annualized amount Scenario treatment
Royalty Fee after opening period $1,500/month $18,000 Included in all-in margin; rises $25 per month each January during the term.
Semi-Annual Program Fees $600 twice yearly $1,200 Included in all-in margin.
Technology Fees $200/month $2,400 Included; FDD permits an increase to $250 per month with notice.
Optional SAT/ACT royalty $400/month $4,800 Excluded from the base model because the program is optional.
Possible minimum digital marketing $250–$400/month $3,000–$4,800 Excluded because the FDD says it was not currently required at issuance.

Source: The Tutoring Center 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 6, pages 4–9. First-year royalty relief is not used because Item 19 covers Centers open at least 12 months. Initial franchise, training, build-out, equipment, and working-capital amounts in Item 7 are startup investment items and are not treated as annual operating expense.

Uncertainty

How much confidence should a buyer place in the range?

Confidence is limited because the earnings range depends more on undisclosed price and expense data than on disclosed same-brand financial results. Item 19 gives a useful enrollment distribution, but it does not disclose tuition, revenue per student, session utilization, refunds, instructor payroll, occupancy, operating profit, EBITDA, Net Income, Cash Flow, Owner Compensation, or the percentage of Centers reaching any profit threshold.

Strongest evidence
Official 2025 mature-Center enrollment quartiles, cohort counts, ranges, exclusions, and response-rate disclosure.
Largest assumption
Average monthly revenue per enrolled student. A $50 monthly change moves annual modeled revenue by $19,800 at 33 students, $28,800 at 48 students, and $50,400 at 84 students.
Largest cost uncertainty
The all-in unit expense structure, especially instructor payroll, Center Director compensation, rent, required purchases, insurance, and local marketing.
System context
Item 20 shows 73 U.S. franchised outlets at both the start and end of 2025, with seven openings, two nonrenewals, five outlets ceasing for other reasons, and six transfers. Those movements do not disclose causes or profitability.

The FDD's required-purchase disclosure adds another constraint: Items sourced from the franchisor, an affiliate, or approved suppliers are estimated to represent 50%–60% of annual operating expenses, not 50%–60% of revenue. That percentage cannot be converted into a margin without knowing total operating expense, so it is not used as a profit formula.

The official U.S. site says students generally attend two or three 60-minute sessions per week, but it does not disclose tuition. That cadence helps define the service model; it does not validate the scenario prices. The official franchise page also confirms that U.S. franchise opportunities remain offered subject to state registration or exemption and that an offering is made through an FDD.

Buyer verification

What should a prospective owner verify before relying on any earnings estimate?

A buyer should replace every editorial assumption with same-brand records from the franchisor and franchisees. The most useful diligence is not another generic margin article; it is a cohort-matched revenue and expense bridge for mature U.S. Centers with similar enrollment, pricing, rent, staffing, and owner involvement.

  • Request Item 19 written substantiation and confirm the monthly enrollment definition, treatment of freezes or cancellations, exact reporting dates, and why September and November are absent from the listed snapshots.
  • Ask for the current tuition schedule, discounts, enrollment fees, refund policy, average revenue per enrolled student, average student tenure, and session attendance by program.
  • Interview current and former franchisees from Item 20 and obtain actual Profit and Loss statements for mature Centers near the 33, 48, 60, and 84 student cohorts.
  • Separate Center Director compensation from instructor payroll and confirm whether the Designated Owner personally serves as Center Director, supervises daily operations, or hires management.
  • Verify local rent and common-area maintenance, wage rates, payroll burden, insurance, required workbooks and supplies, technology costs, and local advertising.
  • Confirm the Center's actual royalty escalator, technology fee, optional SAT/ACT participation, and whether minimum digital marketing or convention charges currently apply.
  • Model loan interest and principal separately. Do not confuse operating earnings with cash remaining after debt service, and do not estimate personal after-tax take-home pay without tax advice.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible annual earnings range?

The defensible planning range is approximately $7,000–$76,000 in manager-run pre-tax owner earnings, or $86,000–$155,000 in owner-operator benefit for a mature U.S. Center. Both are scenario-based, not official Item 19 earnings figures. The most important driver is revenue per enrolled student combined with enrollment volume; the largest unresolved uncertainty is the actual all-in expense structure of comparable franchised Centers.

For a purchase decision, treat the manager-run residual as business profit before personal taxes, financing principal, interest, depreciation, and capital expenditures. Treat the owner-operated increment as compensation for performing Center Director work. Before using either range, verify Item 19 substantiation, current tuition and retention, matched-center Profit and Loss statements, owner labor, and franchisee explanations for the Item 20 openings, exits, and transfers.