Official 2025 clinic-level result
The Joint Corp.'s 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports these unaudited 2025 Net Profit results for 492 qualifying U.S. franchised clinics. They are the strongest available annual earnings evidence, but they measure clinic-level Net Profit—not an owner's salary, after-tax take-home pay, or guaranteed distribution.
The $75,780 to $93,945 interval is an independent editorial reference band formed by placing the FDD's official median and average beside each other. It is not an Item 19 range, forecast, or financial performance representation. No external profit assumption is added. Actual owner cash can differ materially with clinic sales, local labor, occupancy, manager structure, owner involvement, financing, capital spending, legal ownership model, and execution.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: The Joint Corp. FDD issuance date: June 15, 2026. Item 19 period: January 1 through December 31, 2025. The financial performance representation covers U.S. franchised clinics using the prescribed prototypical business format and excludes affiliate-owned clinics. The FDD itself is cited by year, Item, and page because no matching 2026 public FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled domain. This review was checked July 15, 2026. Public context is available from the official U.S. franchise website and the FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide.
The midpoint clinic result among 492 reporting franchised clinics.
Only 204 of 492 clinics, or 41%, achieved or exceeded the average.
Reported Net Profit divided by compatible average Gross Sales.
Revenue for the 492 qualifying clinics; it is not owner earnings.
61.6% of the 799 FPR Clinics and 55.6% of 885 franchised clinics open at year-end.
The highest was $721,366, showing unusually wide dispersion.
Item 19 evidence
What does Item 19 actually measure?
Officially, Item 19 measures “Net Profit” for 492 qualifying franchised clinics in 2025. The FDD defines Net Profit as Gross Sales minus Cost of Goods, Labor, Facilities Expense, Insurance, Operating Expense, Royalty Fees, and National Marketing Fund-related advertising contributions. It excludes taxes, amortization, depreciation, and extraordinary or non-recurring items.
- Gross Sales
- Clinic revenue and receipts, net of refunds, before reductions for chargebacks, collections, payment disputes, or other customer debts.
- Labor
- Chiropractor and wellness coordinator wages, payroll taxes and expenses, bonuses, contract labor, recruiting, health insurance, malpractice insurance, and workers' compensation. Some clinics classified payroll in Operating Expense instead.
- Operating Expense
- Software, merchant fees, licenses and permits, local and cooperative marketing, professional fees, applicable healthcare taxes, dues, and subscriptions. The definition may also capture payroll classified differently by individual clinics.
- Net Profit
- A pre-tax clinic operating result under the FDD definition. It is not defined as cash distributed to an owner, and it does not state a standardized treatment for owner wages, draws, distributions, financing, or replacement capital spending.
The 492 qualifying clinics averaged $578,201 in Gross Sales, but average Net Profit was $93,945. Treating the sales figure as owner income would overstate the disclosed central result by more than six times.
How wide was the official 2025 Net Profit range?
The median and average were close, but the reported low and high were far apart.
Interpretation: the central figures do not describe the downside or upside boundary. One qualifying clinic reported a substantial loss, while the highest result was more than seven times the average.
Source: The Joint Corp. 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, Table B-1, p. 49. Values are unaudited 2025 results for 492 qualifying franchised clinics.
Owner role
How does owner involvement change the earnings result?
The effect is material but cannot be quantified reliably from Item 19. For the 2025 qualifying-clinic population, the profit table does not isolate General Manager compensation, owner salary, chiropractor-owner wages, draws, distributions, or unpaid owner labor. The reported Net Profit may therefore translate differently for a manager-run clinic and an owner-operated clinic.
What does a manager-run owner keep?
For a manager-run clinic, residual Net Profit is the closest official starting point, but it is not a clean distribution figure. Item 15 permits the approved Managing Owner to be offsite when a trained General Manager provides full-time onsite management, yet either the Managing Owner or General Manager must be present during normal business hours. Manager compensation should be an operating expense, but The disclosure does not identify its amount or state exactly where every clinic classified it.
What changes when the owner works in the clinic?
An active owner may capture labor value in addition to residual business profit, but that combined amount should be called estimated owner-operator benefit—not passive earnings. If the owner replaces a paid General Manager or performs compensated clinical work, part of the cash received pays for labor performed. The FDD provides no standardized wage adjustment, so publishing a single owner-operator number would create false precision.
- Manager-run interpretation: use the clinic's actual P&L after verified manager compensation, then separate debt service, capital expenditures, and owner distributions.
- Owner-operator interpretation: separate payment for the owner's labor from the residual return on ownership.
- Licensed versus non-licensed ownership: state corporate-practice rules can require a Franchised Clinic or Managed Clinic structure. The official ownership-model explanation notes that some states require a management model.
- Local wage validation: the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics tables can provide a public starting point for local manager wage research, but a buyer should confirm total employer cost with actual clinic payroll data.
Replacing a manager can increase cash available to an active owner, but it does not make the clinic more profitable by the full amount of the eliminated salary unless the owner's time is valued at zero. The correct comparison is business profit plus labor compensation versus business profit after paying a manager.
Revenue bridge
Where did the average 2025 clinic's Gross Sales go?
Officially, Labor was the largest reported cost at 47.9% of Gross Sales, leaving a 16.2% average Net Profit margin. The percentages below apply to the 492 qualifying franchised clinics and use the FDD's own line-item definitions, including local marketing and software within Operating Expense.
Average Gross Sales allocation for qualifying clinics
Each segment is the FDD-reported percentage of average 2025 Gross Sales.
Interpretation: Labor and Operating Expense together consumed 61.9% of average Gross Sales. A relatively small shift in either category can materially change the 16.2% residual margin.
Source: The Joint Corp. 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, Table B-1, p. 49. Percentages total 100.0%; Cost of Goods was reported as $0.
| Official 2025 line item | Average amount | % of Gross Sales | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales | $578,201 | 100.0% | Revenue, not owner earnings. |
| Labor Expense | $276,787 | 47.9% | Includes clinical and coordinator labor plus payroll-related costs. |
| Facilities Expense | $65,382 | 11.3% | Includes rent, CAM, utilities, property taxes, repairs, and related occupancy costs. |
| Insurance | $7,898 | 1.4% | General and professional liability insurance under the source definition. |
| Operating Expense | $81,152 | 14.0% | Includes software, merchant fees, local marketing, professional fees, and other listed costs. |
| Royalty Fee | $40,474 | 7.0% | Separated from Operating Expense by the franchisor for Item 19. |
| Advertising Fund Contribution | $12,564 | 2.2% | Table B-1's exact label and rounded percentage; do not silently replace it with Item 6's current 2% NMF rate. |
| Net Profit | $93,945 | 16.2% | Pre-tax clinic result under the FDD definition. |
The displayed average line items reproduce $93,944 after subtraction, one dollar below the reported $93,945 Net Profit because the published averages are rounded. The table should not be adjusted to force exact arithmetic.
Which recurring franchise obligations are already reflected?
The official Net Profit table already separates a 7% Royalty Fee and the Advertising Fund Contribution, while its Operating Expense definition includes local marketing and software. Item 6 separately states that the standard royalty is the greater of 7% of Gross Sales or $700 per month, the National Marketing Fund is currently 2%, the Local Advertising Commitment is the greater of 5% of Gross Sales or $3,000 per month, and the current Technology Fee is $599 per month. Those obligations should not be subtracted a second time from Table B-1 without reviewing the clinic's ledger and classification method.
Sales distribution
How much does clinic sales variation affect the earnings range?
Official 2025 Gross Sales varied sharply across the 799 FPR Clinics, so a single average is not a reliable forecast for a specific site. The highest-sales quartile had median Gross Sales of $846,378, while the lowest-sales quartile median was $321,175. The FDD does not publish matching quartile Net Profit, so profit cannot be assigned to each sales quartile without an unsupported margin assumption.
| Gross Sales cohort | Clinics | Median Gross Sales | Average Gross Sales |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quartile 1 — highest sales | 200 | $846,378 | $892,063 |
| Quartile 2 | 199 | $595,430 | $597,694 |
| Quartile 3 | 200 | $451,926 | $457,011 |
| Quartile 4 — lowest sales | 200 | $321,175 | $307,458 |
| All FPR Clinics | 799 | $526,397 | $563,514 |
Source: The Joint Corp. 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, Table A, pp. 47–48. Quartiles are ranked by annual Gross Sales, not by profit or owner earnings.
Gross Sales sets the revenue pool, but labor efficiency determines how much survives. The official average clinic spent 47.9% of Gross Sales on Labor, making patient volume, staffing levels, wage rates, scheduling, and clinician productivity central diligence variables.
Evidence limits
What uncertainty should change a reasonable earnings expectation?
The largest uncertainty is the translation from clinic Net Profit to owner cash, followed by sample selection and outlet maturity. The 2025 profit table covers 492 clinics, not every franchised clinic, and the FDD does not standardize owner compensation, General Manager pay, financing, distributions, or capital expenditures.
- Profit-reporting coverage: 492 clinics supplied Net Profit data—61.6% of the 799 FPR Clinics and 55.6% of all 885 franchised clinics open on December 31, 2025.
- Sales-population exclusions: the 799 FPR Clinics exclude 29 clinics that opened in 2025 and lacked one or more months of sales, 22 clinics transferred during 2025, and 35 clinics sold by the franchisor to franchisees.
- Year-end survivor frame: The FPR population begins with clinics open at December 31, 2025. Item 20 separately reports 16 terminations and 11 clinics that ceased operations for other reasons during 2025, so clinics no longer open at year-end are outside the FPR starting population.
- Maturity disclosure inconsistency: Table B-2 labels 85 months as the average operating period and 73.5 months as the median, while the preceding sentence says the average was 73.5 months. A buyer should request written substantiation and clarification.
- Observed outcomes: official Net Profit ranged from a $214,488 loss to a $721,366 gain. The extremes are historical observations, not conservative and upside planning cases.
Are debt service and taxes included?
No after-tax take-home amount can be supported, and financing should be modeled separately. The Net Profit definition expressly excludes taxes, amortization, and depreciation, but it does not expressly identify interest as a deducted line. Loan principal is not an operating expense. Buyers should therefore subtract actual interest and principal payments from operating cash only after confirming the clinic's accounting treatment, loan amount, rate, and term. Personal income taxes depend on entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and owner circumstances.
Does the FDD support a conservative, base, and upside earnings forecast?
No independent three-scenario forecast is necessary or defensible for the headline because the current FDD already reports an official Net Profit distribution. Creating low, base, and high profit estimates would require assumptions about the relationship between Gross Sales quartiles and profit margins that Item 19 does not disclose. The more disciplined approach is to use the official median and average as central references, preserve the official loss-to-high range, and build a site-specific model from local P&L inputs.
Buyer verification
What should a buyer verify before relying on these figures?
A buyer should reconcile Item 19 to comparable clinic P&Ls and isolate every owner-specific cash adjustment. The most useful evidence is written substantiation plus interviews with current and former franchisees operating similar legal structures, markets, clinic ages, and management models.
- Request Item 19 substantiation: confirm the 492-clinic data set, inclusion rules, accounting consistency, and treatment of owner wages and General Manager compensation.
- Match the comparison clinic: compare state ownership model, clinic age, square footage, rent, local wages, patient volume, membership mix, and manager-run versus owner-operated structure.
- Separate owner labor: identify salary, payroll taxes, benefits, draws, distributions, and unpaid work performed by the Managing Owner.
- Reconcile recurring fees: verify royalty minimums, National Marketing Fund contributions, Local Advertising Commitment, Technology Fee, cooperative advertising, merchant costs, and any required programs without double-counting.
- Model cash below Net Profit: add debt interest, principal, equipment replacement, remodel reserves, working-capital changes, and other capital expenditures.
- Interview exits as well as operators: Item 20 notes that some current and former franchisees have confidentiality restrictions, so document unanswered questions and seek multiple comparable contacts.
Decision synthesis
What is the strongest defensible owner-earnings takeaway?
The strongest defensible central reference is the official 2025 median Net Profit of $75,780 and average Net Profit of $93,945 per qualifying franchised clinic. Using those two figures as a $75,780–$93,945 planning reference is an editorial interpretation, not an official range or forecast. The most important earnings driver is the interaction between Gross Sales and Labor Expense. The largest unresolved uncertainty is how each clinic recorded owner labor, General Manager compensation, financing, and distributions.
A prospective owner should not stop at the average. Verify the Item 19 substantiation, obtain comparable clinic P&Ls, model the exact manager or owner-operator role, and interview current and former franchisees about cash retained after debt service and capital spending. The official range—from a $214,488 loss to $721,366 in Net Profit—shows why location-specific diligence matters more than a single headline number.