Independent owner-earnings estimate
A U.S. TAB owner may generate an estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit of roughly $22,000 to $80,000 annually, with a base analytical scenario near $33,000. This is not an official profit figure. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports member dues, member counts, service hours, and selected additional revenue—not outlet profit, owner compensation, EBITDA, or net income.
Independent estimate
The earnings range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by TAB Boards International, Inc. It combines identified 2026 FDD facts with an IRS consulting-industry margin benchmark and explicit modeling assumptions. Actual results can differ materially because of territory demand, membership mix, pricing, additional consulting revenue, sales activity, labor, travel, meeting costs, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Data basis
Legal franchisor: TAB Boards International, Inc., a Colorado corporation. Current document: 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issuance date April 7, 2026. Item 19 status: an official financial performance representation covering 2025 member dues, member counts, service hours, and selected additional revenue, but no owner-profit measure. Relevant population: domestic TAB Members and selected domestic franchisees; populations differ by chart. External benchmark: IRS Tax Year 2023 nonfarm sole proprietorship data for Management, Scientific, and Technical Consulting Services. Date checked: July 22, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD link was verified on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD references are cited by year, Item, and page.
Estimated annual owner-operator benefit
Before personal income taxes and financing principal; includes the economic value of owner labor.
Base annual revenue anchor
Fourteen members at $700 monthly dues plus $15,398 of additional revenue.
IRS owner-operator margin proxy
Tax Year 2023 net income less deficit divided by business receipts for the consulting industry group.
Median TAB Members
Item 19 Chart Five, as of December 31, 2025; average was 18.
Mature annual minimum royalty
$1,800 per month from month 25 onward, subject to the FDD’s greater-of calculation.
Item 19 evidence
What does the 2026 TAB Item 19 actually measure?
Officially, Item 19 measures pricing, membership, service time, and selected additional revenue—not annual outlet sales or owner earnings. The applicable period is principally calendar year 2025, and the disclosure uses several different domestic member and franchisee populations. Those figures are useful revenue building blocks, but they cannot be silently renamed profit.
| Official Item 19 measure | Average | Median | Population and limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly Membership Dues — standard TAB Members | $696.80 | $700.00 | 934 domestic standard members; scholarships at $100 or less and designated scholarship members excluded. |
| Monthly Membership Dues — coaching-only members | $611.75 | $650.00 | 96 domestic coaching-only members; scholarship exclusions also apply. |
| Number of TAB Members per franchisee | 18 | 14 | Domestic non-resigned members as of December 31, 2025; Item 19 does not provide a distribution by franchisee. |
| Additional Revenue From the TAB Opportunity | $86,039 | $15,398 | Voluntary, unaudited survey of a mature domestic subset. The average is highly skewed by the top third. |
| Monthly estimated service hours for one eight-member board | 23.1 | 22.0 | Anonymous 2024 survey; 57 respondents; not audited; some respondents were no longer in the system. |
Revenue is not earnings
Membership Dues and Additional Revenue From the TAB Opportunity are gross-revenue measures. The disclosure does not show operating expenses, facilitator compensation, owner salary, owner distributions, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, debt service, or personal taxes. Item 19 also does not prove that the median member count and median dues occurred in the same TAB Business.
Sample interpretation matters. Chart Nine displays 32 franchisees, while Note 10 states that 31 franchisees met the defined subset and that six, or 19%, attained or surpassed the average. That internal count difference should be reconciled through written substantiation before the additional-revenue figures are used in a purchase model. Item 20 separately reports 83 U.S. franchised TAB Businesses at year-end 2025, after 11 openings, four non-renewals, and 10 outlets ceasing operations for other reasons during the year. The Item 19 and Item 20 populations are therefore not interchangeable.
Scenario model
How was the annual owner-earnings range modeled?
The $22,000 to $80,000 range is estimated by combining three FDD-anchored revenue scenarios, an official IRS owner-operator margin proxy, and the recurring TAB fees disclosed in Item 6. The model represents a mature, actively operated U.S. TAB Business using a home or existing office. It is not a forecast of what a particular territory will produce.
What revenue assumptions create the three scenarios?
The revenue scenarios use actual Item 19 dues, member-count, and additional-revenue observations, but the combinations are editorial assumptions. Item 19 does not publish total annual revenue for a matched outlet cohort, so these inputs should be treated as analytical illustrations rather than reported franchisee results.
- Conservative revenue: $109,200. Fourteen members, the Item 19 median, multiplied by the $650 coaching-only median monthly dues and 12 months, with no Additional Revenue From the TAB Opportunity.
- Base revenue: $132,998. Fourteen members multiplied by the $700 standard-member median monthly dues and 12 months, plus the $15,398 total-group median additional revenue.
- Upside revenue: $231,400. Eighteen members, the Item 19 average, multiplied by the $900 top-third median standard dues and 12 months, plus $37,000, the upper edge of Chart Nine’s middle-third additional-revenue range.
What margin and fee assumptions convert revenue to owner benefit?
The model uses a 50.25% IRS net-income margin as a broad owner-operator proxy, then applies a three-point sensitivity band and subtracts TAB-specific recurring charges. IRS Tax Year 2023 data report approximately $67.087 billion of business receipts and $33.709 billion of net income less deficit for nonfarm sole proprietors in Management, Scientific, and Technical Consulting Services. Schedule C net income generally includes compensation for the proprietor’s own labor, so it is closer to owner-operator benefit than passive business profit.
The conservative, base, and upside margin assumptions are 47.25%, 50.25%, and 53.25%. The FDD calls the royalty schedule a sliding scale but provides no worked example. For reproducibility, this model treats the 20%, 12%, 8%, and 6% tiers as marginal bands, subject to the $60,000 annual cap and the mature $1,800 monthly minimum. A buyer should confirm the franchisor’s actual billing method in writing.
| Scenario | Revenue | Margin proxy | Estimated owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $109,200 | 47.25% | $22,257 |
| Base | $132,998 | 50.25% | $33,372 |
| Upside | $231,400 | 53.25% | $79,929 |
How do the three owner-operator scenarios compare?
Estimated pre-tax annual owner-operator benefit, before financing principal and personal income taxes.
Interpretation: the wide range is driven more by membership pricing, member count, and additional consulting revenue than by the three-point margin sensitivity.
Sources: 2026 TAB FDD, Item 19, pp. 39–42; Item 6, pp. 5–10; IRS nonfarm sole proprietorship statistics. Values are independent scenario calculations.
What does the base revenue-to-benefit bridge look like?
The $132,998 base revenue scenario produces approximately $33,372 of estimated owner-operator benefit after the broad operating-expense proxy and modeled recurring TAB charges. The bridge is before debt principal and personal income tax. Interest is not separately added because the IRS net-income benchmark already contains an interest deduction at the industry level; actual borrower interest can differ substantially.
| Base bridge component | Annual amount | Treatment |
|---|---|---|
| Scenario revenue | $132,998 | Fourteen members at $700 per month plus $15,398 additional revenue. |
| General operating-expense proxy | ($66,166) | 49.75% of revenue, the complement of the 50.25% IRS net-income margin. |
| Royalty Fee | ($25,960) | Editorial marginal-tier interpretation; greater than the $21,600 mature minimum. |
| Marketing Development Fee | ($3,600) | Greater of $300 per month or 2% of monthly collections; annual minimum used. |
| Member Administration and Support Fee | ($1,680) | $10 per member per month for 14 members. |
| Technology Fee and conference registration | ($2,220) | $60 per month plus the current $1,500 annual Facilitator registration fee. |
| Estimated owner-operator benefit | $33,372 | Before personal taxes and financing principal; includes owner labor value. |
The model does not separately quantify credit-card and EFT collection costs, insurance, promotional materials, local campaigns, meeting rooms, food, travel, contractor compensation, or unusual support costs. The IRS margin proxy is assumed to absorb ordinary consulting-business expenses, while the identified TAB-specific fees are subtracted separately. That assumption is a major reason the confidence rating is Limited.
Owner role
How much does owner involvement change the result?
Owner involvement is central because the FDD requires day-to-day management and at least some direct facilitation; the published scenarios are owner-operator benefit, not passive profit. Item 15 says the owner or Managing Party must use best efforts to develop the TAB Business, be personally responsible for daily management and supervision, and facilitate at least one TAB Board per month when additional Facilitators are used.
To separate labor value from residual business profit, the chart below imputes only the time needed to serve boards. It uses the FDD’s median 22 hours per month for one eight-member board and a $48.65 hourly proxy derived from the Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2024 median annual wage of $101,190 for Management Analysts divided by 2,080 hours. This does not include prospecting, member recruitment, administration, networking, planning, or general management, so it understates total owner labor.
How much of the scenario benefit may compensate owner service labor?
Owner-operator benefit compared with residual after an imputed value for board-service hours.
Interpretation: at the conservative scenario, nearly all modeled benefit is attributable to the owner’s board-service labor. Even the residual figures overstate passive profit because business-development and management hours are not included.
Sources: 2026 TAB FDD, Item 15, p. 31, and Item 19 Chart Six, pp. 40–42; BLS Management Analysts wage profile. The labor-value calculation is derived, not reported by TAB or BLS.
Owner-operator effect
A TAB owner who performs facilitation and coaching may receive both residual business profit and compensation for professional labor. Replacing that labor with a third-party Facilitator would reduce owner benefit by the contractor’s actual compensation and related costs. The FDD does not disclose Facilitator pay rates, so a reliable manager-run or fully delegated profit estimate cannot be calculated from Item 19.
Earnings drivers
Which variables move TAB owner earnings most?
Member count, realized monthly dues, and additional consulting revenue are the strongest modeled earnings drivers. Margin matters, but the revenue inputs vary far more than the three-point margin sensitivity. Owner involvement then determines how much of the result is business profit versus compensation for work performed.
- Membership density
- Moving from 14 to 18 members changes both recurring dues and the number of boards to be serviced. Item 19 gives an average and median but no per-franchisee distribution.
- Pricing mix
- Standard-member monthly dues ranged from $105 to $3,016 in the disclosed subset, and coaching-only dues ranged from $126.67 to $1,320. Geography, service scope, and scholarship exclusions can materially change realized revenue.
- Additional Revenue From the TAB Opportunity
- The disclosed median was $15,398, but the average was $86,039 and only 19% of the Note 10 subset attained or exceeded the average. This is a skewed, voluntary, unaudited measure.
- Royalty and marketing burden
- The Royalty Fee uses a declining sliding scale but is subject to monthly minimums, while the Marketing Development Fee becomes the greater of $300 per month or 2% of collections after the first year.
- Facilitator structure
- Using third-party Facilitators may expand capacity, but compensation, training, travel, supervision, and quality-control costs must be included. The owner or Managing Party still has direct operating obligations.
- Financing and taxes
- Debt principal reduces cash available to the owner but is not an operating expense in this estimate. Personal income taxes are excluded because they depend on entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and individual circumstances.
Buyer verification
What should a buyer verify before relying on the range?
A buyer should treat the range as a screening model and replace every major assumption with territory-specific evidence, written Item 19 substantiation, and franchisee records. The most important unresolved uncertainty is the absence of a matched outlet-level income statement showing total revenue, operating costs, owner labor, and recurring franchise fees for the same population.
- Request Item 19 written substantiation and ask TAB Boards International, Inc. to reconcile the 32-franchisee Chart Nine count with Note 10’s 31-franchisee eligible subset.
- Ask for the number of U.S. franchisees behind Chart Five’s 14-member median and 18-member average, plus the full distribution by franchise age and territory.
- Confirm in writing how the Royalty Fee sliding scale is calculated, including whether tiers are marginal, how monthly collections interact with annual thresholds, and how the $1,800 mature minimum is reduced.
- Separate standard members, coaching-only members, scholarship members, Business Assessment Fees, StratPro revenue, HI-MAP revenue, and non-royalty consulting revenue in a territory-level model.
- Ask active and former U.S. franchisees for 2024 and 2025 profit-and-loss statements, owner work hours, marketing spend, member churn, facilitator compensation, travel, meeting, and collection costs.
- Model debt service separately using the buyer’s actual financed amount, rate, term, and fees. Do not subtract the Item 7 initial investment from one year of revenue.
- Review Item 20 departures, transfers, non-renewals, and ceased operations with the franchisor and listed former franchisees; outlet counts do not prove why individual businesses left.
The Federal Trade Commission explains that Item 19 claims must have a reasonable basis and disclose important assumptions and limitations. Prospective buyers may request written substantiation and should compare the disclosure with current and former franchisee experience.
Decision synthesis
What is the strongest defensible earnings conclusion?
The strongest defensible range is approximately $22,000 to $80,000 of annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit, with a base scenario near $33,000. It is scenario-based, not an official TAB profit disclosure. The largest earnings driver is the combination of member count, monthly dues, and additional consulting revenue. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the lack of matched outlet-level expenses and owner-labor data. Before purchasing, a buyer should verify the Item 19 populations and substantiation, confirm the royalty calculation, and test the model against actual U.S. franchisee profit-and-loss statements and work-hour interviews.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to TAB, The Alternative Board Franchise?
- How Does TAB The Alternative Board Franchise Work?
- How to Launch a TAB The Alternative Board Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- How Does TAB The Alternative Board Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a TAB (The Alternative Board) Franchise?