How Much Does a Stroll Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Annual owner-earnings answer
About $20,000–$135,000

This is an independent estimate of annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit for one mature Stroll publication. It starts with the 2025 FDD's official one-publication Commission medians—$25,293 for the bottom 10% and $150,436 for the top 10%—then reserves 10% to 20% for owner-paid local operating costs that the disclosure does not quantify. It is not a systemwide median or a prediction.

Evidence mode: Mode A — official earnings disclosure Confidence: Limited Format: One STROLL publication Period: July 2024–June 2025
Official
$25,293
Bottom-decile median Commission
One-publication franchisees, 2025 FDD reporting period.
Official
$150,436
Top-decile median Commission
One-publication franchisees; not a typical-system result.
Official
17.2%–50.5%
Average net-profit percentages
Bottom and top margin deciles; these are different rankings from Commission deciles.
Official
394
Reporting publications
In print for a full year and included in Item 19.
Derived
73.1%
Publication coverage
394 reporting publications divided by 539 STROLL publication franchises in the period.
Benchmark
$61,460
Replacement-operator wage proxy
BLS 2024 median wage for advertising sales agents; employer burden is additional.
Item 19 evidence

What does the Stroll FDD actually report?

The official disclosure reports Commission payments and publication-level net profit percentages, not a single systemwide owner salary. For the largest owner cohort—246 franchisees managing one publication—the official table shows only the top and bottom 10%, leaving the middle 80% undisclosed.

A Stroll Commission is a cash payment calculated from Cash Received after the 15% Royalty, affiliate Publication Expenses, and other applicable Item 6 deductions. It is closer to owner-linked cash flow than Gross Sales, but it is not automatically final take-home pay because the FDD does not quantify every local expense paid directly by a franchisee.

How wide were the official one-publication Commission bands?

Item 19 discloses ranges, averages, and medians for the bottom and top 10% of one-publication franchisees.

Median Average
Official Stroll one-publication annual Commission bands Bottom ten percent ranged from 7,144 dollars to 33,721 dollars, with a median of 25,293 dollars and average of 23,343 dollars. Top ten percent ranged from 130,509 dollars to 291,162 dollars, with a median of 150,436 dollars and average of 165,399 dollars. $0 $75k $150k $225k $300k Bottom 10% $7,144 $33,721 Median $25,293 Avg. $23,343 Top 10% $130,509 $291,162 Median $150,436 Avg. $165,399

Interpretation: the official extremes are wide, but the chart cannot show a typical owner because the FDD does not disclose the median or average for all 246 one-publication franchisees.

Source: N2 Franchising, Inc. 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 51–53. Annual figures; one-publication Reporting Franchisees.

Scenario model

How was the annual owner-earnings range estimated?

The estimate uses the official one-publication Commission medians as the outside anchors, creates a transparent midpoint only because the FDD omits the middle 80%, and then deducts a 10% to 20% reserve for normal owner-paid local costs not quantified in Item 19. The midpoint is an analytical bridge, not the system median or the most likely outcome.

  • Conservative anchor$25,293, the official bottom-decile median Commission, less a 20% local-cost reserve.
  • Base anchor$87,865, the arithmetic midpoint between the two disclosed decile medians, less a 15% local-cost reserve.
  • Upside anchor$150,436, the official top-decile median Commission, less a 10% local-cost reserve.
  • Reserve coverageInsurance, sales travel, home-office or office costs, local marketing, professional services, event costs, and assistants. It excludes financing, personal income taxes, and a paid replacement operator.
Scenario Commission anchor Local-cost reserve Estimated owner-operator benefit Manager-run residual
Conservative $25,293 20% $20,234 −$41,226
Base $87,865 15% $74,685 $13,225
Upside $150,436 10% $135,392 $73,932

Formula: owner-operator benefit = Commission anchor × (1 − local-cost reserve). Manager-run residual = owner-operator benefit − $61,460 BLS wage proxy. Figures are rounded to the nearest dollar after calculation.

Owner role

How does owner involvement change Stroll earnings?

Owner involvement can change the economic result substantially because Item 15 allows a non-operating owner only if an approved, trained manager directly supervises the business. For an active owner, the modeled benefit includes compensation for selling advertising and managing the publication; for a manager-run owner, that labor must be purchased.

The manager-run comparison subtracts the BLS median annual wage for advertising sales agents, $61,460 in May 2024. This is a role proxy, not a Stroll-specific manager quote. It excludes payroll taxes, benefits, recruiting costs, and geographic wage differences, so a fully loaded manager cost would generally be higher.

What remains after replacing the owner with a paid operator?

Estimated annual pre-tax benefit by scenario; debt service and personal taxes are excluded.

Owner-operated benefit Manager-run residual
Owner-operated benefit compared with manager-run residual Conservative owner-operated benefit is 20,234 dollars and manager-run residual is negative 41,226 dollars. Base owner-operated benefit is 74,685 dollars and manager-run residual is 13,225 dollars. Upside owner-operated benefit is 135,392 dollars and manager-run residual is 73,932 dollars. −$50k $0 $50k $100k $140k Conservative −$41,226 $20,234 Base $13,225 $74,685 Upside $73,932 $135,392

Interpretation: a paid operator can absorb most or all of the modeled economics at lower Commission levels. The owner-operated figures include labor value and should not be described as passive business profit.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Item 15, pp. 41–42 and Item 19, pp. 50–54; BLS Advertising Sales Agents profile. Manager cost is a national wage proxy, not a franchisor disclosure.

Fees and definitions

Which recurring obligations are already reflected, and which are not?

The Commission figures already reflect the franchise-specific deductions in the FDD's Commission formula, including the Royalty and Publication Expenses. The independent reserve is intended only for normal local costs that are not separately quantified in the disclosure; it does not subtract the Royalty a second time.

  • Royalty15% of the advertising value of each publication issue, due monthly and payable whether or not the franchisor or affiliate has collected the advertising payment.
  • Publication ExpensesThe affiliate's cost to design, publish, print, deliver, and perform related publishing tasks; the amount varies with circulation, page count, postage, and the annual Cost Basis.
  • CommissionCash Received less the Royalty, Publication Expenses, and other applicable deductions, plus or minus specified cross-selling and service components.
  • Net profit percentageThe FDD's publication-level calculation of Cash Received less Item 6 costs and expenses, divided by Cash Received. It does not establish an owner's personal after-tax income.
  • Debt service and taxesExcluded. Item 10 states that the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing, and personal tax outcomes depend on the owner's circumstances.

Optional and contingent charges can also affect individual results, including Extended Reach fees, cross-selling allocations, credit-card administration fees, optional lead-generation or client-strategy services, software charges, and event-related costs. The exact mix varies by publication and owner choices. See the 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–25.

Uncertainty

Why is the evidence confidence limited?

Confidence is limited because the FDD gives strong official evidence at the extremes but does not disclose the central Commission distribution, complete owner-paid operating expenses, owner hours, manager payroll, or a matched dollar net-profit figure for the one-publication cohort.

  • Survivorship and maturityOnly publications in print for a full year were included; newer publications were excluded.
  • Population coverage394 of 539 STROLL publication franchises were Reporting Publications, or 73.1%; seven franchisees using a different Commission formula and affiliate-managed publications were excluded.
  • No GREET inferenceThe FDD expressly makes no financial representation for GREET publications, so the Stroll figures should not be extended to that format.
  • Middle 80% missingThe article's base anchor is a modeling midpoint, not an FDD average or median.
  • Owner time missingItem 15 says full-time effort may produce higher advertising revenue and Commissions, but the disclosure does not report hours worked.
  • Multi-unit comparabilityItem 19 separates owners managing one, two, three, and four publications. One-unit economics should not simply be multiplied for a portfolio.

Item 20 also shows a changing outlet population: as of June 30, 2025, the system listed 540 franchised STROLL outlets and 80 company-owned outlets. Openings, transfers, reacquisitions, and closures matter because Item 19's mature reporting cohort may not represent every buyer's ramp-up or exit experience.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should treat the range as a due-diligence framework and replace every editorial assumption with territory-specific evidence. The most valuable checks are the current written Item 19 substantiation, recent Commission statements, and interviews with owners in the same publication-count cohort.

  • Request Item 19 substantiationAsk for the records supporting the one-publication Commission bands and net profit percentages, including how Cash Received and Publication Expenses were calculated.
  • Interview comparable ownersUse Item 20 contacts to ask mature one-publication franchisees about owner hours, travel, assistants, insurance, local events, bad debt, and recurring optional services.
  • Separate active labor from profitAsk what a replacement operator would cost in the target market and whether one person can realistically perform both sales and publication-management duties.
  • Test the territoryVerify the advertiser base, pricing, publication size, required sales performance, collection timing, and current Publication Expense schedule.
  • Reconcile to cashBuild a monthly model from advertising contracts to Cash Received, franchise deductions, local expenses, manager payroll, financing, and owner distributions.
Decision-useful synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?

For a mature, actively operated, one-publication Stroll franchise, the strongest defensible planning range is approximately $20,000 to $135,000 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit. It is scenario-based, anchored to official 2025 FDD Commission medians, and includes owner labor value. The largest driver is advertising sales that convert to Cash Received after Publication Expenses and the Royalty. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the missing middle-80% Commission distribution and unreported local operating costs. Before relying on the range, verify the current Item 19 substantiation, obtain territory-specific expense evidence, and compare notes with mature one-publication franchisees and manager-run owners.