How Much Does a SpeedPro Imaging Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Official 2025 owner-benefit evidence
$103,840–$206,402

SpeedPro Imaging’s official average Owner Discretionary Profit in the two middle performance quartiles was $103,840 and $206,402 per Studio for 2025. The full set of official quartile averages was much wider: a loss of $32,831 in the fourth quartile and $461,425 in the first quartile. These are group averages, not a guaranteed or probability-based earnings range.

Evidence mode: Mode A — official earnings disclosure Confidence: High Format: U.S. SpeedPro Studio Period: January 1–December 31, 2025
Data basis

Legal franchisor: SP Franchising LLC. FDD: 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 10, 2026. Item 19 population: 98 franchised SpeedPro Studios that operated for the full 2025 reporting period under the same franchisee entity and supplied unaudited fiscal-year financial statements. Evidence status: Item 19 directly reports EBITDA, Owner Payroll add-backs, and Owner Discretionary Profit. The public franchise site provides an official summary of selected 2026 FDD highlights, but no matching official public FDD file was verified; FDD references below therefore identify the year, Item, and page in plain text. Date checked: July 19, 2026.

Official earnings measure Item 19 reports Owner Discretionary Profit for a broad franchised-Studio cohort rather than supplying sales alone.
High confidence, material dispersion The measure is directly disclosed and well defined, but quartile results vary from negative to strongly positive.
98 of 124 Reporting Studios OFFICIAL — franchised Studios included in the 2025 profit-and-loss cohort.
27.1% First-quartile ODP margin OFFICIAL — average Owner Discretionary Profit divided by average Gross Sales for that quartile.
−6.6% Fourth-quartile ODP margin OFFICIAL — the lowest performance quartile produced an average owner-benefit loss.
6% / 4% Royalty schedule OFFICIAL — 6% on the first $60,000 of monthly Gross Sales and 4% above that, subject to minimums after ramp-up.
Up to 2% Marketing Fund Fee OFFICIAL — the 2026 FDD sets tiered monthly rates and a 2% maximum.
$350/mo. Base technology fee OFFICIAL — current base fee for one POS system, with possible usage-related increases.
Item 19 evidence

What does SpeedPro Item 19 actually report as owner earnings?

The official 2025 disclosure reports Owner Discretionary Profit of $461,425, $206,402, $103,840, and −$32,831 as the average results for the first through fourth quartiles. These figures apply to 98 qualifying U.S. franchised SpeedPro Studios and are ranked by the Studios’ ODP, not by Gross Sales.

The two middle-quartile averages—$103,840 and $206,402—are the most decision-useful central reference points, but they are not a statistical confidence interval and do not mean a new buyer has a 50% probability of landing between them. The first-quartile average shows substantial upside among the highest-ODP group; the fourth-quartile average shows that owner benefit can be negative.

2025 ODP quartile Average Gross Sales Average EBITDA Average ODP
First quartile — 25 Studios $1,704,788 $324,672 $461,425
Second quartile — 25 Studios $1,008,220 $94,768 $206,402
Third quartile — 24 Studios $902,827 $26,049 $103,840
Fourth quartile — 24 Studios $496,298 −$63,758 −$32,831

Source: SpeedPro 2026 U.S. FDD, Item 19, Tables 1A–1D, pp. 54–58. Values are franchisor-reported quartile averages for the 2025 reporting period.

How widely did official average ODP vary by quartile?

Average Owner Discretionary Profit per qualifying franchised Studio, 2025.

Average Owner Discretionary Profit by SpeedPro quartile in 2025 First quartile 461,425 dollars; second quartile 206,402 dollars; third quartile 103,840 dollars; fourth quartile negative 32,831 dollars. $460k $250k $0 $461,425 First 25 Studios $206,402 Second 25 Studios $103,840 Third 24 Studios −$32,831 Fourth · 24 Studios

Interpretation: The official data do not support one universal owner-income number. Sales scale and cost control produced a difference of nearly $494,000 between the highest and lowest quartile-average ODP figures.

Source: SpeedPro 2026 U.S. FDD, Item 19, Tables 1A–1D, pp. 54–58. Quartiles are defined by ODP achieved during 2025.

Measure definition

What does Owner Discretionary Profit include—and what does it not include?

Officially, SpeedPro defines Owner Discretionary Profit as EBITDA plus Owner Payroll. For the 2025 reporting Studios, ODP is therefore closest to a pre-tax owner-operator benefit measure: it combines residual business earnings before interest, income taxes, depreciation, and amortization with payroll paid to the owner.

Gross Sales
Revenue from products, services, and other receipts under the FDD definition. It is not owner income.
EBITDA
Earnings before interest, income taxes, depreciation, and amortization after the reported operating expense categories, including Owner Payroll within labor costs.
Owner Payroll
Compensation paid through payroll to the owner and included in the Labor Costs line. It is added back to EBITDA to calculate ODP.
Owner Discretionary Profit
EBITDA plus Owner Payroll. It can include both return on ownership and compensation for work performed by the owner.
Not included in take-home pay
Personal income taxes, financing principal payments, owner-specific capital expenditures, and any cash retained in the business are not converted into after-tax take-home income by Item 19.
Revenue is not earnings

The 2025 same-store table reports average Gross Sales of $1,030,364 for 96 Studios, but that revenue figure cannot be read as owner income. The P&L cohort’s quartile data show why: a Studio can produce substantial sales while labor, materials, occupancy, administrative costs, and other expenses materially change EBITDA and ODP.

Owner role

How does hands-on ownership change the result?

The official 2025 evidence shows that adding back Owner Payroll increased quartile-average ODP above EBITDA by $30,926 to $136,752. This difference applies to the reporting franchised Studios and measures owner payroll recorded in their P&Ls; it does not establish the salary required for a hired general manager.

The current FDD requires every Studio to have a trained Control Person who actively directs business affairs, oversees day-to-day management, and supports sales and marketing. The Control Person may be an owner or an employee, so manager-run operation is structurally possible. However, the Studio must remain under direct supervision, and the official franchise site has historically described SpeedPro as an owner-operator-oriented model. The current FDD—not promotional wording—controls the contractual requirement.

How much did Owner Payroll add to the disclosed owner-benefit measure?

The distance from EBITDA to ODP equals the official average Owner Payroll add-back in each quartile.

EBITDA after Owner Payroll ODP after adding Owner Payroll back
SpeedPro EBITDA and Owner Discretionary Profit by quartile The chart compares EBITDA with Owner Discretionary Profit for four quartiles and labels the owner payroll add-back. $0 $100k $200k $300k $400k $500k First quartile $324,672 $461,425 +$136,752 owner payroll Second quartile $94,768 $206,402 +$111,633 Third quartile $26,049 $103,840 +$77,791 Fourth quartile −$63,758 −$32,831 +$30,926

Interpretation: ODP is materially higher than EBITDA because it treats Owner Payroll as an add-back. That is useful for an active owner evaluating total pre-tax benefit, but it overstates passive business profit if the owner must hire a replacement manager.

Source: SpeedPro 2026 U.S. FDD, Item 19, Tables 1A–1D, pp. 54–58. Minor one-dollar differences can arise because the displayed table components are rounded.

Manager-run uncertainty

A manager-run owner should not treat ODP as passive income. Item 19 does not disclose a separate general-manager wage, the number of owner hours worked, or ODP segmented by owner-operated versus employee-managed Studios. EBITDA is not a perfect manager-run proxy either, because the recorded Owner Payroll may differ from the compensation required to recruit and retain a qualified Control Person.

Expense treatment

Are royalties and recurring franchise fees already reflected in the disclosed profit?

Mostly yes for the reported P&L categories, but not with complete line-item transparency. Official Item 19 notes say Advertising & Marketing includes the Marketing Fund Fee and General & Administrative expense includes SpeedPro royalties. The 2025 ODP figures therefore should not be reduced by those fees a second time.

The 2026 FDD separately discloses a base Technology Monthly Fee of $350, possible usage-related increases, convention costs, insurance obligations, and other contingent charges. Item 19 does not isolate the technology fee as its own expense line, so a buyer should confirm how each Studio classified software and system costs in the unaudited P&L statements.

  • Royalty: no royalty for a new Studio’s first 12 months; thereafter 6% of the first $60,000 in monthly Gross Sales and 4% above $60,000, subject to phase-in minimum royalty amounts.
  • Marketing Fund Fee: tiered monthly rates for new Studios and transferees, with a maximum of 2% of Gross Sales.
  • Technology: current base fee of $350 per month for one POS system, with potential storage, CRM-contact, and future annual increases under the FDD terms.
  • Capital and financing: depreciation is excluded from EBITDA, financing principal is not an operating expense, and personal income taxes are not part of ODP. Equipment replacement and growth capital can still reduce cash available to the owner.
Population and uncertainty

How representative is the 98-Studio earnings cohort?

The official cohort is broad but excludes several groups that matter to a new buyer. The 98 reporting Studios represented locations that ran for the full 2025 year under the same franchisee entity and provided unaudited annual financial statements; they do not represent newly opened, transferred-during-2025, non-reporting, or closed Studios. Every result is per Studio, not per franchise owner or multi-unit portfolio.

At December 31, 2025, the system had 124 operating Studios, all franchised. Item 19 excluded five new Studios that were not open for the entire year, nine Studios transferred during the year, and 12 Studios that did not provide the required financial statements. It also notes two closures during 2025, both involving Studios that had been open longer than 12 months. Item 20 separately reports five openings, two terminations, nine transfers, and a net increase from 121 to 124 franchised outlets during 2025.

This matters because the Item 19 quartiles describe established, continuing operators that supplied data. They do not measure the ramp-up experience of a new Studio, the economics immediately after a transfer, or the outcomes of the two closed locations. The offering permits new Studios, conversions of independent print businesses, transfers, and additional Studios, but Item 19 does not segment the 98-Studio cohort by development path or multi-unit ownership. The FDD also says the financial statements were unaudited, which introduces classification and consistency risk across franchisee P&Ls.

Reasonable range

What is the strongest defensible annual earnings range?

For an actively involved owner, the strongest central evidence is the official $103,840 to $206,402 average ODP recorded by the third and second quartiles in 2025. The complete official range of quartile averages—−$32,831 to $461,425—should remain visible because it captures the material downside and upside in the disclosed population.

The central two-quartile figures are more useful for planning than the first-quartile headline alone, but they are still not a forecast. The largest earnings driver is sales volume combined with labor and overhead discipline. Average Gross Sales fell from $1,704,788 in the first quartile to $496,298 in the fourth, while total expenses increased from 81.2% to 113.0% of sales. Labor, facility lease, and General & Administrative expense ratios were materially heavier in the lower quartiles.

The largest unresolved uncertainty is owner role. Item 19 does not separate owner-operated and manager-run Studios, disclose owner hours, or show the cost of replacing owner labor. A hands-on operator may view ODP as total pre-tax owner benefit; a manager-run buyer should begin with the business’s residual operating result and deduct a market-based manager compensation package validated for the local labor market.

Do not convert ODP into after-tax take-home pay

Personal taxes depend on entity structure, state and local law, deductions, owner compensation choices, and other household circumstances. Debt principal, capital expenditures, and cash retained for working capital also reduce distributable cash without changing the FDD’s ODP definition.

Buyer verification

What should a prospective owner verify before relying on the range?

A buyer should validate the official 2025 figures against written substantiation, current franchisee P&Ls, and the intended owner-role structure. This is an evidence-checking exercise for a U.S. SpeedPro Studio, not a request for an informal income promise.

  • Request the written substantiation supporting Item 19 and confirm how the 98 Studios’ unaudited P&Ls were normalized, reviewed, and categorized.
  • Ask franchisees in each ODP quartile about owner hours, Owner Payroll, distributions, retained cash, equipment purchases, and whether a spouse or related party works in the business.
  • Verify whether royalties, Marketing Fund Fees, technology charges, equipment leases, insurance, outsourced installation, and graphic-design labor are consistently captured in the same expense categories.
  • For a manager-run plan, obtain local compensation evidence for a qualified Control Person and test EBITDA after replacing Owner Payroll with the full wage, payroll-tax, and benefit cost.
  • For a new Studio, separate mature-Studio Item 19 evidence from ramp-up cash needs. Item 7 estimates additional funds for the first six months but does not disclose new-Studio earnings.
  • Review Item 20 contacts, transfers, terminations, and closures; speak with current and former franchisees rather than relying only on top-quartile promotional figures.
Decision synthesis

What is the practical owner-earnings takeaway?

The strongest defensible central range is $103,840 to $206,402 in annual Owner Discretionary Profit for the official 2025 middle-quartile groups, while the full set of official quartile averages spans −$32,831 to $461,425. This is a Mode A official earnings disclosure with high evidence confidence, not a guarantee. The most important driver is the combination of Gross Sales and operating-expense control. The largest uncertainty is how much owner labor is embedded in ODP and what a hired Control Person would cost. Before making a decision, verify the Item 19 substantiation, role-specific P&Ls, fee classification, capital spending, and owner hours through direct franchisee interviews.