How Much Does a Rent-A-Wreck Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Annual owner earnings estimate

About $5,000–$56,000 manager-run, or $80,000–$131,000 as owner-operator benefit

For an illustrative U.S. Rent-A-Wreck location with 20 to 50 rental vehicles, the strongest defensible estimate is roughly $5,000 to $56,000 in annual pre-tax owner earnings when a paid manager is already reflected in operating costs. An active owner who replaces that manager could receive an estimated $80,000 to $131,000 in total owner-operator benefit, but about $75,000 of that second range is modeled compensation for full-time work—not passive business profit.

Evidence mode: C — FDD-anchored scenario Confidence: Limited FDD: 2026 U.S. disclosure Period: 12 months
Legal franchisor
NPR Auto Group, LLC
FDD basis
Issued June 9, 2026; Item 19, pages 52–55; Item 20, pages 56–63
Item 19 status
Official operating metrics and revenue productivity, but no outlet sales total, operating profit, EBITDA, net income, cash flow, or owner compensation
Applicable population
22 U.S. franchised locations with 12 complete months of voluntarily submitted data; mixed sites, geographies, fleet sizes, and operating ages
Benchmark basis
2024 Avis Budget Group Americas Adjusted EBITDA margin used only as a broad car-rental operating proxy; BLS wage framework used to identify the general-manager labor component
Date checked
July 13, 2026
Official FDD $857 Average monthly revenue per vehicle

Reported for 22 franchised locations during the FDD sample period.

Official FDD 63% Average fleet utilization

The median was 61%, with a reported range of 26% to 84%.

Official FDD 22 / 46 Complete-reporting locations

About 48% of eligible full-year franchised locations were represented.

Scenario $21,600 Base manager-run owner earnings

Six percent of modeled annual revenue of $359,940, before personal tax and debt principal.

Item 19 evidence

What does the 2026 Rent-A-Wreck FDD actually measure?

Officially, Item 19 measures rental revenue productivity and fleet operating activity—not owner earnings. For the 12-month period ending January 31, 2026, the 22 reporting franchised locations averaged $857 in monthly revenue per vehicle, $56.19 in revenue per rental day, $419 in revenue per closed rental agreement, 63% utilization, and an 8.72-day average rental length. The FDD expressly states that these figures exclude the costs and operating expenses required to determine net income or profit. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 52–55.

Official Item 19 metric Mean Median Reported range
Revenue per rental day $56.19 $49.27 $25.83–$104.24
Revenue per closed rental agreement $419 $442 $226–$628
Monthly revenue per vehicle $857 $867 $382–$1,771
Fleet utilization 63% 61% 26%–84%
Average rental length 8.72 days 7.74 days 4.3–11.4 days
Revenue is not earnings A vehicle generating $857 per month does not place $857 in the owner's pocket. Fleet acquisition or lease cost, depreciation, vehicle interest, insurance, repairs, cleaning, labor, rent, payment processing, reservation commissions, royalties, advertising, technology, and other overhead must be paid first.

How representative is the Item 19 sample?

The population is useful but incomplete, so the result should not be treated as a systemwide average. Of 46 Rent-A-Wreck franchised businesses open for the full sample period, 22 supplied complete monthly data and 24 did not. That means approximately 48% of the eligible locations were represented. The FDD describes the reporting outlets as a mixed group of airport, free-standing, and co-located operations with varied fleet sizes and operating histories. It does not publish separate owner earnings by format. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 54–55.

Why is the one corporate location not the primary earnings anchor?

The corporate-store result is official but too narrow to establish typical franchise economics. One affiliate-operated Maryland location reported $1,185 of average monthly revenue per vehicle and 84% utilization. It had operated for more than 15 years and was described as most similar to a Six-Mile Primary Service Area. A single mature company-operated outlet cannot establish a representative franchised-unit profit margin, so this analysis keeps it as context rather than replacing the 22-location franchised sample.

Scenario model

How is the annual owner-earnings range calculated?

The calculation converts Item 19's revenue-per-vehicle metric into annual unit revenue, then applies a transparent 3%–9% all-in operating-margin sensitivity. Fleet assumptions of 20, 35, and 50 vehicles sit within the 10-to-50 vehicle illustration used in Item 7, while monthly revenue per vehicle is modeled at 80%, 100%, and 120% of the $857 Item 19 average. The percentage spread is analytical, not FDD-reported.

Estimated pre-tax owner earnings = modeled annual revenue × modeled all-in operating margin
Scenario Fleet × monthly revenue per vehicle Annual revenue Modeled margin Manager-run owner earnings
Conservative 20 × $686 $164,640 3% $4,939
Base 35 × $857 $359,940 6% $21,596
Upside 50 × $1,028 $616,800 9% $55,512

How owner involvement changes annual economic benefit

Manager-run residual profit versus owner-operator benefit after adding an illustrative $75,000 value for full-time general-manager labor.

Manager-run earnings and owner-operator benefit by scenario Grouped columns show manager-run owner earnings of 4,939 dollars, 21,596 dollars, and 55,512 dollars, and owner-operator benefit of 79,939 dollars, 96,596 dollars, and 130,512 dollars for conservative, base, and upside scenarios. $0 $50k $100k $150k $4.9k $79.9k Conservative $21.6k $96.6k Base $55.5k $130.5k Upside
Manager-run residual profit Owner-operator benefit

Interpretation: Active operation changes the owner's economic result mainly because the owner supplies full-time management labor. The $75,000 labor value is an editorial assumption; it must be replaced with a location-specific employer cost.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 7, 15, and 19; BLS May 2025 industry-specific wage tables. Calculations are independent scenarios.

Why use a 6% central margin?

The 6% midpoint is a proxy, not a Rent-A-Wreck result. Avis Budget Group's 2024 Americas segment reported $551 million of Adjusted EBITDA on $9.111 billion of revenue, or approximately 6.0%. Its filing shows that the segment measure reflects operating expenses, vehicle depreciation and lease charges, selling and administrative costs, and vehicle interest, while excluding certain corporate, unusual, non-vehicle depreciation, and tax items. The 3%, 6%, and 9% band applies plus or minus three percentage points around that public-company observation. Large company-operated airport-heavy economics differ substantially from a small franchised Rent-A-Wreck site, which is the principal reason confidence remains limited. See the Avis Budget Group 2024 Form 10-K.

  • Included: normal unit-level operating expenses, fleet depreciation or lease cost, ordinary fleet interest, paid manager cost in the manager-run case, and recurring franchise fees.
  • Excluded: personal income taxes, financing principal, acquisition debt principal, owner distributions, retained earnings decisions, major one-time losses, and future capital expenditures.
  • Not separately subtracted: reservation-channel fees, travel-agency commissions, and damage-waiver remittances because the FDD does not disclose each scenario's channel mix or product count; the all-in margin assumption is intended to absorb normal operating costs.
  • Rounding: calculations use full values and are rounded to the nearest dollar in the table and nearest thousand in the headline range.

Recurring obligations

How much do minimum franchise fees constrain earnings?

At lower revenue, the contractual minimum royalty and advertising payments can consume a large share of sales. In Year 3 and later, the royalty is the greater of 4% of Gross Revenues or $2,400 per month, and the marketing fee is the greater of 1% or $500 per month. The combined minimum is therefore $34,800 per year before mandatory technology, training, reservation, distribution, insurance-program, or transaction-based charges. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 11–19.

Known royalty and marketing burden by modeled revenue

Year 3+ contractual royalty and marketing amounts as a percentage of each scenario's annual revenue.

Royalty and marketing fee burden by revenue scenario Horizontal bars show combined royalty and marketing charges equal to 21.1 percent of conservative revenue, 9.7 percent of base revenue, and 5.7 percent of upside revenue. Conservative Base Upside 21.1% · $34,800 9.7% · $34,800 5.7% · $34,968 0% 10% 20%

Interpretation: The same dollar minimum behaves very differently across fleet productivity levels. The low-revenue illustration reaches a 21.1% burden before ASAP, reservation, and other recurring charges, making the conservative earnings result especially fragile.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 11–19. Percentages are derived calculations using the three modeled annual revenue figures.

What other recurring charges matter?

Technology and reservation distribution can materially reduce cash flow, but the exact annual amount depends on fleet size and booking mix. Mandatory ASAP-Rent pricing is fleet-based, ASAP-Rates costs $89 per month, Rental Car Online University begins at $27 per month, and the annual meeting and training prepayment is $50 per month. Website, global distribution system, online travel agency, travel-agency commission, and optional damage-waiver charges depend on transaction volume and source.

Recurring FDD obligation 2026 disclosed basis Model treatment
Royalty Greater of 4% of Gross Revenues or $800/$1,600/$2,400 monthly by operating year Absorbed in all-in margin; minimum burden shown separately
Marketing Greater of 1% of Gross Revenues or $500 monthly Absorbed in all-in margin; minimum burden shown separately
ASAP-Rent Fleet-tier charge with monthly minimum and maximum Absorbed in all-in margin
ASAP-Rates $89 monthly Absorbed in all-in margin
Reservation distribution Per-reservation fees plus channel commissions Not separately calculable without channel mix
Insurance and damage waiver Variable; optional program charges and claims experience affect cost Absorbed in all-in margin

Owner role

Does Rent-A-Wreck require an owner to work full time?

No, personal day-to-day operation is not mandatory, but full-time on-premises management is. Item 15 says NPR Auto Group recommends owner participation. Otherwise, the business must be supervised by a trained and competent general manager. Either the owner or general manager must be employed full time and devote normal business hours to managing, operating, and developing the location. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 15, page 45.

Manager-run pre-tax owner earnings
Residual unit-level operating profit after normal operating costs, including paid management and recurring franchise fees, but before personal income taxes and financing principal.
Estimated owner-operator benefit
Manager-run residual profit plus the modeled market value of the full-time management labor performed by the owner. It is not pure business profit and should not be described as passive income.
Owner draw or distribution
A cash movement to the owner. It may be funded by current profit, prior retained earnings, or borrowed cash, so it is not automatically the same as economic earnings.
After-tax take-home pay
Not estimated here. Federal, state, and local taxes depend on entity structure, jurisdiction, deductions, and the owner's circumstances.

How should the $75,000 manager assumption be used?

It is a placeholder for local full-time employer cost, not a published Rent-A-Wreck salary. A buyer should replace it with the expected wage, payroll taxes, benefits, recruiting cost, and coverage required in the specific market. The Bureau of Labor Statistics OEWS industry tables classify Automotive Equipment Rental and Leasing under NAICS 532100 and provide an official framework for checking general and operations manager wages. The U.S. Census Bureau NAICS reference for Passenger Car Rental helps confirm the closest industry classification.

Owner-operator effect The owner-role difference does not mean the business suddenly produces $75,000 more profit. It means the owner performs a job that otherwise requires payroll. An owner working full time should compare owner-operator benefit with alternative compensation for the same time, responsibility, and personal risk.

Uncertainty

What could move actual annual earnings outside this range?

Fleet economics are the largest unresolved variable. Item 19 reveals revenue productivity but not vehicle purchase price, depreciation, gain or loss on disposal, financing rate, repair cost, insurance loss experience, or full labor and occupancy structure for the reporting locations. Those costs can move owner earnings far more than small changes in royalty percentage.

  • Fleet cost and residual value: Ask for vehicle acquisition price, expected holding period, monthly depreciation, interest, reconditioning, and disposal gains or losses.
  • Utilization and rate: Compare local expected utilization with the Item 19 mean of 63%, median of 61%, and full 26%–84% range.
  • Reservation mix: Quantify direct, website, GDS, XML OTA, and travel-agency bookings because delivery fees and commissions differ materially.
  • Insurance: Obtain written quotes and claims-history assumptions; rental-fleet liability and physical-damage economics can dominate unit profit.
  • Format: Separate airport, Six-Mile Primary Service Area, Single Point, satellite, free-standing, andco-located operations rather than averaging unlike models.
  • Owner role: Confirm weekly hours, backup coverage, and the actual all-in cost of a qualified full-time general manager.
  • Debt: Model vehicle financing and acquisition debt separately. Principal repayment is not an operating expense but directly reduces cash available to the owner.

What does Item 20 add to the earnings decision?

Item 20 shows a growing U.S. outlet count, but it does not prove profitability. Franchised outlets increased from 48 at the end of fiscal 2025 to 59 at the end of fiscal 2026. During fiscal 2026, 13 franchised outlets opened and two ceased operations for other reasons; 10 of the 13 openings were satellite locations opened by an existing New Jersey franchisee. The system had one company-operated outlet throughout the three disclosed years. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, pages 56–63.

The FDD also states that no current or former franchisees had signed confidentiality clauses during the prior three fiscal years that restricted discussion of their experience. That makes direct interviews especially important because Item 19 does not disclose profit. Buyers should request written Item 19 substantiation and speak with both current and former operators about fleet-level cash economics.

Decision synthesis

What is the most defensible Rent-A-Wreck owner-earnings conclusion?

The defensible planning range is approximately $5,000 to $56,000 in annual manager-run pre-tax owner earnings, with a base scenario near $22,000. An owner who personally fills the required full-time management role may obtain approximately $80,000 to $131,000 in total owner-operator benefit under the same scenarios, but that figure combines residual business profit with an assumed $75,000 value for labor performed.

This is a limited-confidence, scenario-based estimate, not an official earnings disclosure. The strongest same-brand evidence measures monthly revenue per vehicle and utilization across 22 reporting franchised locations. The most important earnings driver is the relationship among revenue per vehicle, fleet utilization, and vehicle ownership cost. The largest unresolved uncertainty is the absence of franchised-unit expense and profit data.

Before relying on the range, a buyer should verify the exact proposed format and fleet, obtain the 2026 Item 19 substantiation, request complete operating statements from any existing location under consideration, and ask franchisees for vehicle depreciation, insurance, channel commissions, labor, occupancy, and debt-service figures. The official U.S. Rent-A-Wreck website confirms the operating brand and location network, while the Federal Trade Commission Franchise Rule resources explain the disclosure framework governing financial performance representations.