How Much Does a Nathan's Famous Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Annual owner-earnings answer
−$71,000 to $118,000

Estimated annual pre-tax owner earnings for a manager-run Nathan’s Famous traditional restaurant range from an approximately $71,000 operating loss in the Conservative scenario to about $118,000 in the Upside scenario. The Base scenario is about $5,000. These are independent unit-level scenarios, not earnings figures reported in Item 19.

2025 FDD Mode D: structural FDD-anchored estimate Traditional restaurant proxy Evidence confidence: LIMITED
Independent estimate—not an Item 19 financial performance representation This analysis combines identified facts from the 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document with Nathan’s Famous, Inc. company-operated restaurant data and an explicitly labeled scenario spread. Actual results can differ materially because of location, unit format, sales volume, food costs, labor, occupancy, financing, owner involvement, and execution.
Data basis
Legal franchisor
Nathan’s Famous Systems, Inc., as identified on the 2025 U.S. FDD cover and in Item 1.
FDD date
Issued July 23, 2025. Item 19 makes no financial performance representation. Item 20’s 2025 reporting row showed 71 U.S. franchised restaurants and four company-owned restaurants.
Applicable format
A traditional restaurant proxy only. It should not be transferred to a kiosk, Mobile Unit, food-court restaurant, or other materially different footprint.
Operating proxy
Nathan’s Famous, Inc. fiscal 2026 company-owned restaurant sales and expenses for the year ended March 29, 2026, from its official Form 10-K filing record.
Owner-labor benchmark
May 2024 median wage of $63,040 for food service managers in food services and drinking places, from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Date checked
July 16, 2026. The official Nathan’s Famous U.S. franchise website was active on that date.
Scenario
−$71K to $118K
Manager-run owner earnings

Annual pre-tax unit-level range before financing, depreciation, capital expenditures, and personal taxes.

Scenario
$5K
Base residual

The analytical Base case is near break-even after the disclosed royalty and marketing burden.

Derived
$3.127M
Company-store sales proxy

$12.508 million of fiscal 2026 company-owned restaurant sales divided by four stores.

Derived
0.2%
Base franchised margin proxy

Company-store cash-style residual adjusted for the franchise royalty and incremental marketing burden.

Benchmark
$63,040
Owner-manager labor value

BLS median annual wage used only when the owner replaces a paid food service manager.

Item 19 evidence

What does the Nathan’s Famous FDD actually disclose about earnings?

The official answer is that the 2025 Nathan’s Famous FDD does not disclose restaurant sales, profit, EBITDA, Net Income, owner compensation, or cash flow. Item 19 states that Nathan’s Famous Systems, Inc. makes no financial performance representations. Therefore, no official Nathan’s Famous owner-income average or median can be published from the FDD. This is an official FDD fact for the current U.S. restaurant offer, not an inference. See 2025 Nathan’s Famous FDD, Item 19, p. 57.

Item 20 provides system structure rather than performance. In Item 20’s 2025 reporting row, the U.S. restaurant population included 71 franchised outlets and four company-owned outlets, unchanged in total from the start of that reporting year. The same table shows that the franchised population declined from 79 at the start of 2023 to 71 at the end of 2025. Those counts help frame sample and survivorship risk, but they do not reveal what any outlet earned. See 2025 Nathan’s Famous FDD, Item 20, pp. 57–58.

Revenue is not earnings

The parent company separately reported company-owned restaurant revenue. Revenue pays food, paper, restaurant labor, occupancy, utilities, repairs, insurance, advertising, franchise fees, and other costs before anything remains for the owner. The $3.127 million per-store figure used below is a sales proxy, not owner income.

Scenario model

How is the annual owner-earnings range calculated?

The traditional-restaurant range is an estimate derived from a fiscal 2026 company-operated restaurant proxy, then adjusted for franchise fees and scenario uncertainty. Nathan’s Famous, Inc. reported $12.508 million in fiscal 2026 sales from four company-owned restaurants, $7.167 million of company-owned restaurant cost of sales, and $4.417 million of restaurant operating expenses. The resulting cash-style operating residual is $924,000, or 7.4% of sales, before restaurant depreciation, corporate overhead, interest, and taxes.

The fiscal 2026 Form 10-K also states that the four stores were all in the New York metropolitan area, one was seasonal, three ranged from approximately 3,500 to 10,000 square feet, and the original Coney Island restaurant was unique in its presentation and operations. That makes the $3.127 million average a blunt proxy rather than a comparable franchised-unit average.

Company-store residual margin = ($12.508M − $7.167M − $4.417M) ÷ $12.508M = 7.4%
Base franchised proxy margin = 7.4% − 5.5% royalty − 1.7 percentage-point incremental marketing burden = approximately 0.2%

The 1.7-point marketing adjustment is the FDD’s 2.5% Marketing Development Fund rate less the approximately 0.8% company-store advertising expense already included in the company operating-expense proxy. This treatment is designed to avoid charging the same advertising cost twice. See 2025 Nathan’s Famous FDD, Item 6, pp. 12–15.

The FDD does not provide a sales distribution. Consistent with the stated scenario method, Conservative, Base, and Upside revenue are modeled at 80%, 100%, and 120% of the $3.127 million company-store sales proxy. Margin is modeled at the derived 0.2% Base rate, plus or minus three percentage points. Both spreads are editorial assumptions, not franchisor-reported ranges or probabilities.

Scenario Revenue anchor Margin assumption Manager-run earnings Owner-operator benefit
Conservative $2,501,600 −2.85% −$71,176 −$8,136
Base $3,127,000 0.15% $4,840 $67,880
Upside $3,752,400 3.15% $118,380 $181,420
What could a manager-run restaurant leave for the owner?

Annual pre-tax owner earnings under the three independent scenarios.

Nathan's Famous manager-run owner earnings scenarios A column chart showing negative seventy-one thousand one hundred seventy-six dollars in the Conservative scenario, four thousand eight hundred forty dollars in the Base scenario, and one hundred eighteen thousand three hundred eighty dollars in the Upside scenario. $120K $0 −$80K −$71,176 Conservative $4,840 Base $118,380 Upside

Interpretation: The model crosses zero near the Base case, so modest changes in sales or operating margin can move the owner from a loss to a six-figure residual.

Source and method: Derived from Nathan’s Famous, Inc. fiscal 2026 company-owned restaurant results; 2025 Nathan’s Famous FDD Item 6 recurring fees; 80%/100%/120% revenue and ±3 percentage-point margin assumptions.

Recurring fee effect

Why does the Base franchised margin fall close to zero?

For the fiscal 2026 traditional-restaurant proxy, the derived company-store operating margin starts at 7.4%, but a franchisee bears recurring charges that company-owned restaurants do not bear in the same way. The 2025 FDD requires a 5.5% royalty and a 2.5% Marketing Development Fund contribution on Gross Sales. The company-store expense proxy already contains approximately 0.8% of restaurant sales for advertising, so the scenario adds only the remaining 1.7 percentage points of marketing burden.

How the recurring franchise burden changes the Base margin

A reconciled percentage-point bridge from the company-store cash-style residual to the franchised proxy.

Margin bridge from company-store residual to franchised proxy The company-store residual is seven point four percent. Subtracting a five point five percent royalty leaves one point nine percent. Subtracting one point seven percentage points of incremental marketing leaves a zero point two percent franchised proxy margin. 8% 0% 7.4% Company-store residual −5.5 pts Royalty −1.7 pts Incremental marketing 0.2% Franchised Base proxy

Interpretation: The recurring fee burden is larger than the unadjusted company-store residual cushion, making sales execution and controllable expenses decisive.

Source and method: Company-store residual and advertising expense from the official fiscal 2026 year-end results and Form 10-K; royalty and Marketing Development Fund rates from 2025 Nathan’s Famous FDD, Item 6, pp. 12–15.

Fee sensitivity

At $3.127 million of annual Gross Sales, the 5.5% royalty equals about $172,000 and the 2.5% Marketing Development Fund contribution equals about $78,000. Those are revenue-based obligations, so they remain due even when the restaurant’s operating margin is weak.

Owner role

How does active owner involvement change the result?

For the current U.S. restaurant offer and this traditional-restaurant scenario, an active owner can improve the estimated economic benefit only when the owner genuinely replaces paid management labor. Item 15 does not require the franchisee personally to operate the restaurant, but it encourages active participation and requires either the owner or an approved Operating Partner to devote full time, energy, and best efforts to management. See 2025 Nathan’s Famous FDD, Item 15, p. 48.

Manager-run scenario

The operating proxy includes company restaurant labor and related expenses. It does not isolate a general manager’s compensation, but the manager-run scenario treats normal management labor as embedded in the expense base. The residual is estimated pre-tax owner earnings before financing, depreciation, capital expenditures, and personal taxes.

Owner-operator scenario

The owner-operator benefit adds $63,040—the BLS median wage for food service managers in food services and drinking places—to the manager-run residual. This is not passive profit. It combines residual business economics with the market value of labor performed by the owner, and it excludes benefits and employer payroll taxes.

Under that labor-replacement assumption, estimated owner-operator benefit ranges from approximately an $8,000 loss to $181,000 annually, with a Base scenario of about $68,000. The difference from the manager-run figures is exactly $63,040 in each scenario. An owner who does not replace a paid manager should not add that amount.

Owner-operator effect

The owner-operated Base case looks materially better than the manager-run Base case, but almost all of the difference is compensation for full-time management work. It should not be presented as an increase in passive business profit.

Scope and uncertainty

What are the largest uncertainties in this earnings range?

The largest uncertainty is the absence of franchised-unit sales and profit data in Item 19. The estimate therefore relies on four company-operated restaurants that differ from many franchise formats. One is seasonal, all are in the New York metropolitan area, three are larger than the FDD’s stated 1,500-to-3,000-square-foot free-standing format, and the original Coney Island location is operationally unique.

Included in the proxy
Food and paper, company restaurant labor and related costs, occupancy, utilities, repairs and maintenance, delivery fees, local marketing and advertising, and restaurant insurance.
Excluded or unresolved
Personal income taxes, loan principal, interest, restaurant depreciation, maintenance capital expenditures, remodel spending, owner-specific overhead, and the exact general manager compensation embedded in labor.
Closest application
A full traditional Nathan’s Famous restaurant after stabilization, subject to major comparability limitations.
Do not transfer directly
Kiosks, Mobile Units, food-court units, co-branded operations, limited-menu formats, international restaurants, or portfolios with shared overhead.
  • Revenue spread: 80%, 100%, and 120% of the $3.127 million company-store average. This is analytical, not an FDD-reported distribution.
  • Margin spread: the 0.15% derived Base margin minus or plus three percentage points. These are sensitivity cases, not outcome probabilities.
  • Advertising adjustment: the model credits the company-store proxy for advertising expense already included before adding the FDD’s 2.5% fund requirement.
  • Manager-run treatment: restaurant management labor is assumed to be embedded in the company-store labor ratio even though the 10-K does not disclose a separate manager line.
  • Owner-operator treatment: $63,040 is wage value only. It does not include employee benefits, payroll burden, or a premium for entrepreneurial risk.

The confidence rating is LIMITED because the result depends materially on a small, atypical company-operated proxy and editorial sensitivity bands rather than a relevant Item 19 franchised-unit sales or earnings disclosure. The FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide provides the regulatory framework for franchise disclosures, but it does not make this independent estimate an official franchisor claim.

Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on these figures?

For this 2025 U.S. traditional-restaurant analysis, a buyer should replace the independent proxy with location- and format-specific evidence before making a decision. The most useful work is to reconcile actual franchisee profit-and-loss statements to the exact FDD definition of Gross Sales and to the recurring obligations in Item 6.

  • Confirm whether Nathan’s Famous Systems, Inc. has written substantiation for any supplemental financial performance information provided during due diligence, and compare it with Item 19.
  • Interview current and former franchisees listed in Item 20 and request trailing 24-to-36-month sales, food and paper, labor, occupancy, delivery, insurance, repairs, and local marketing data for the same format.
  • Separate mature stores from openings, relocations, seasonal units, transfers, and recently remodeled restaurants.
  • Verify whether the owner will replace a paid general manager, share duties with an Operating Partner, or remain manager-run. Do not count owner labor twice.
  • Model the exact lease, common-area maintenance charges, local wage schedule, staffing plan, delivery commissions, and hours of operation for the proposed site.
  • Keep debt service separate: quantify interest and principal from the buyer’s actual financing terms rather than deducting a generic loan payment.
  • Budget maintenance capital expenditures and required remodels separately from depreciation; neither is captured reliably in the scenario residual.
  • Do not multiply one-unit figures across a multi-unit development without incorporating ramp-up, management layers, shared overhead, and different opening dates.
Decision synthesis

What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?

Using the 2025 U.S. FDD and fiscal 2026 company-store proxy, the strongest defensible range is an independent estimate of approximately a $71,000 annual loss to $118,000 of pre-tax owner earnings for a manager-run traditional restaurant, with a Base scenario near $5,000. An owner who fully replaces paid restaurant management may have an estimated owner-operator benefit of roughly an $8,000 loss to $181,000, including $63,040 of labor value rather than passive profit.

The most important earnings driver is the combination of unit sales and labor/occupancy control because the Base company-store residual is largely consumed by the 5.5% royalty and incremental marketing burden. The largest unresolved uncertainty is that the 2025 Item 19 provides no franchised-unit revenue or profit distribution and the available company-operated stores are a small, atypical comparison group. A buyer should verify the exact Item 19 status, any written substantiation, and format-matched franchisee operating statements before treating any point in this range as relevant to a specific site.