How Much Does a Minuteman Press Franchise Owner Make?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Owner earnings answer
$44,800–$107,400

Estimated annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit per U.S. Minuteman Press Center, with a base scenario of about $72,700. After substituting a paid manager at a $65,320 printing-industry wage proxy, the modeled manager-run residual ranges from approximately -$20,600 to $42,100.

Evidence mode: Mode C — FDD-anchored estimate Confidence: Limited Period: 2026 FDD; 2025 results Format: U.S. franchised Center
Independent estimate This range is an independent analytical scenario, not an Item 19 financial performance representation by Minuteman Press International, Inc. It combines identified facts from the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document with separately identified scenario assumptions and a U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wage benchmark. Actual results can differ materially by location, Center maturity, sales mix, labor, occupancy, equipment financing, owner involvement, local marketing and execution.

Data basis and evidence status

The direct answer is estimated, not official. Item 19 reports 2025 Gross Sales and two selected expense ratios, but it does not report Operating Profit, EBITDA, Net Income, cash flow, owner salary or distributions.

Legal franchisor
Minuteman Press International, Inc.
FDD issuance
March 31, 2026
Item 19 population
U.S. franchised Minuteman Press and International Minute Press Centers; no company-operated comparison population
Sales study
609 of 775 U.S. franchised Centers, or 79%, reporting all 12 months for 2025 and meeting the stated eligibility rules
Cost survey
90 of 775 U.S. franchised Centers, or 11%, responding to a February 2026 survey about 2025 costs
Benchmark used
2025 BLS median annual wage for first-line supervisors/managers of production and operating workers in Printing and Related Support Activities
Date checked
July 20, 2026
$559,528
Annual Gross Sales Median

OFFICIAL. 2025 result for the 609-Center U.S. reporting cohort.

$769,858
Annual Gross Sales Average

OFFICIAL. Only 199 reporting Centers, or 33%, attained or surpassed it.

33%
Cost of Goods Sold median

OFFICIAL. Based on the 90-Center cost survey.

22%
Labor Costs median

OFFICIAL. Wages, payroll taxes and benefits, excluding one franchise owner.

6%
Continuing royalty

OFFICIAL. Applied to gross revenue, subject to the disclosed incentive program.

$65,320
Manager wage proxy

BENCHMARK. 2025 BLS industry median, not a Minuteman Press wage.

Item 19 evidence

What does Minuteman Press Item 19 actually measure?

Officially, Item 19 measures Gross Sales and selected production and labor costs—not owner earnings. The applicable period is calendar year 2025, and the principal population is U.S. franchised Centers that were operational for the full year, supplied all 12 months of sales reports and were not under audit.

The difference between the median and average is material. The Annual Gross Sales Median was $559,528, while the Annual Gross Sales Average was $769,858. Only 33% of reporting Centers reached or exceeded the average, so the average is not a typical-owner earnings anchor. The median is the more defensible central revenue input for this analysis.

Official Item 19 measure 2025 result Population and limitation What it means
Annual Gross Sales Median $559,528 609 U.S. franchised Centers Middle reporting Center by Gross Sales; approximately half met or exceeded it.
Annual Gross Sales Average $769,858 609 U.S. franchised Centers Arithmetic mean; 199 Centers, or 33%, attained or surpassed it.
Reported Gross Sales range $70,571–$15,969,537 Same sales-study cohort Shows extreme dispersion; it is not an earnings range.
Cost of Goods Sold median 33% 90 survey respondents, 11% of U.S. Centers Paper, outside purchases/services, click charges and production materials.
Labor Costs median 22% 90 survey respondents, 11% of U.S. Centers Wages, payroll taxes and benefits, explicitly excluding one franchise owner.

Source: 2026 Minuteman Press Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 33–36. The sales and cost tables are unaudited. No matching public FDD on an official franchise-controlled domain was verified, so the FDD citation is intentionally unlinked.

Revenue is not earnings Gross Sales does not deduct materials, payroll, royalty, rent, utilities, insurance, equipment costs, technology, marketing, professional fees, debt service or personal taxes. The FTC likewise cautions that high gross sales can coexist with weak or negative profit when overhead is high.
Scenario model

How is the annual owner-earnings range estimated?

The estimated owner-operator benefit is $44,800 in the Conservative scenario, $72,700 in the Base scenario and $107,400 in the Upside scenario. These are independent estimates for one mature U.S. franchised Center, before personal income taxes and financing principal payments.

The model begins with the official $559,528 median Gross Sales figure. Because Item 19 does not disclose quartiles, the revenue anchors use an explicit analytical spread of 80%, 100% and 120% of the median. The model then applies the official 33% Cost of Goods Sold median, the official 22% Labor Costs median and the 6% royalty. No compatible official all-in operating margin was available for this exact franchised Center format, so the remaining operating-expense assumption is shown explicitly at 29%, 26% and 23% of revenue rather than presented as a sourced margin.

Scenario Modeled Gross Sales Owner-operator benefit Manager-run residual
Conservative $447,600 $44,800 -$20,600
Base $559,500 $72,700 $7,400
Upside $671,400 $107,400 $42,100

Rounded to the nearest $100. A negative manager-run residual means the modeled Center does not produce enough pre-tax operating benefit to cover the full manager wage proxy before debt principal and personal taxes.

Estimated owner-operator benefit by scenario

Annual pre-tax benefit per U.S. Center; owner labor is not treated as a payroll expense.

Conservative, Base and Upside owner-operator benefit estimates Three vertical columns show approximately 44,800 dollars, 72,700 dollars and 107,400 dollars of annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit. $0 $50k $100k $44,800 $72,700 $107,400 Conservative Base Upside

Interpretation: revenue and the unreported overhead burden both move the result. The chart is not a probability forecast, and the Base column is not asserted to be the most likely outcome.

Source and method: 2026 Minuteman Press FDD, Item 19, pp. 33–36; Item 6, pp. 13–14; Item 10, p. 20; Item 11, pp. 21–23. Revenue equals 80%, 100% and 120% of the official 2025 median Gross Sales. Owner-operator benefit equals revenue less 33% Cost of Goods Sold, 22% Labor Costs, 6% royalty and scenario-specific remaining operating expenses of 29%, 26% and 23%.

Which assumptions are included and excluded?

The scenario includes normal unit-level operating expenses and recurring franchise fees, but it does not calculate personal taxes or financing principal. The treatment is deliberately explicit because Item 19 does not provide a complete profit-and-loss statement.

  • Included: the 6% royalty; the $405 annual FLEX support fee within the remaining-expense band; normal occupancy, utilities, insurance, professional fees, maintenance and equipment-related operating costs. Item 11 recommends direct marketing and local advertising equal to at least 5% of Gross Sales; that recommendation is included within the remaining-expense band, not added a second time.
  • Owner compensation: excluded as a payroll expense because Item 19 defines Labor Costs as excluding one franchise owner. The resulting owner-operator benefit therefore combines residual business economics with compensation for the owner’s labor.
  • Manager compensation: excluded from the owner-operator result, then subtracted separately at the 2025 BLS median wage proxy to estimate a manager-run residual.
  • Interest, depreciation and equipment payments: not separately calculated. Item 10 gives examples of an approximately $907 monthly Xerox lease and a $1,200 to $2,000 monthly ML Leasing payment for qualifying reconditioned equipment, but actual packages and terms vary. A buyer should replace the broad remaining-expense assumption with the applicable lease, financing and tax-basis schedules.
  • Excluded: capital expenditures, equipment-financing principal, other debt principal, owner personal income taxes and distributions from retained prior-year earnings.
  • Variable programs: the website fee can run from $0 to $4,740 annually, and the optional Internet Marketing Program from $3,360 to $36,000 annually. Spending outside the modeled operating budget reduces owner benefit dollar-for-dollar.
Owner role

How does owner involvement change the result?

Owner involvement can change the modeled annual result by about $65,320 because Item 19 excludes one owner from Labor Costs. The owner-operator figure is therefore an estimated owner-operator benefit, not pure passive business profit. A manager-run owner must fund the labor that the active owner would otherwise supply.

Item 15 states that the owner or principal—or a fully trained manager—must devote full-time and best efforts to management and operation, and the Center must remain under direct on-premises supervision by a trained manager. The structure permits a non-operating owner, but it does not support a claim of passive ownership without paid management.

Owner-operator benefit versus manager-run residual

The difference is the $65,320 BLS manager wage proxy; values are annual and pre-tax.

Comparison of owner-operated and manager-run scenario results For Conservative, Base and Upside scenarios, owner-operator benefit is compared with the residual after subtracting a 65,320 dollar manager wage proxy. -$25k $0 $25k $50k $75k $100k Conservative Base Upside -$20.6k $44.8k $7.4k $72.7k $42.1k $107.4k
Owner-operator benefit Manager-run residual

Interpretation: paid management consumes most of the Base owner benefit and more than all of the Conservative benefit. The wage proxy is not a quote for a specific market and does not include a custom benefits load.

Source and method: scenario results above; BLS Printing and Related Support Activities wage data, 2025 median annual wage of $65,320 for first-line supervisors/managers of production and operating workers. BLS data cover employees across NAICS 323 and exclude self-employed owners.

Owner-operator effect The $65,320 difference should not be interpreted as free profit. It is the market-value proxy for management labor performed by an active owner. An owner working full time may receive that economic benefit, but the labor component is compensation for work, not passive return on capital.
Cost bridge and uncertainty

Which costs create the largest uncertainty?

The largest unresolved variable is the 26% Base assumption for operating expenses that Item 19 does not itemize. It must absorb occupancy, utilities, insurance, marketing, technology, repairs, professional services and equipment-related operating costs. The second major limitation is that the official cost ratios came from only 90 Centers and may not describe the same Centers that sit near median sales.

What does the Base scenario bridge look like?

The Base bridge produces $72,700 of owner-operator benefit from $559,500 of modeled Gross Sales. This is a derived scenario for one U.S. Center, not a franchisor-reported profit statement.

Base scenario bridge Share of sales Annual amount Evidence class
Modeled Gross Sales 100% $559,500 Official median anchor, rounded
Cost of Goods Sold -33% -$184,600 Official Item 19 median
Labor Costs excluding one owner -22% -$123,100 Official Item 19 median
Royalty -6% -$33,600 Official Item 6 fee
Other operating expenses -26% -$145,500 Editorial scenario assumption
Estimated owner-operator benefit 13% $72,700 Derived scenario
Less manager wage proxy — -$65,320 2025 BLS benchmark
Estimated manager-run residual — $7,400 Derived scenario

Because the FDD does not disclose rent, equipment lease expense, depreciation, interest or full administrative overhead as a common percentage of sales, a small change in the remaining-expense ratio moves owner benefit directly. The model includes Item 11’s recommended 5% direct-marketing and local-advertising spend inside the remaining-expense band. At Base sales, each one-percentage-point change equals roughly $5,600 per year.

Evidence confidence: Limited Confidence is limited because no official owner-profit measure exists, the cost survey covers 11% of U.S. Centers, the median sales and median cost ratios are not a matched-center profit calculation, and the remaining operating-expense ratio is an explicit analytical assumption.
Buyer verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?

A buyer should replace the scenario assumptions with written substantiation, actual Center-level records and franchisee interviews. The strongest checks concern the unreported overhead burden, owner hours, manager compensation and debt structure.

  • Request Item 19 written substantiation and ask whether the franchisor can segment 2025 Gross Sales and cost ratios by Center age, sales band, geography, owner-operated status and manager-run status.
  • Use Item 20 contacts to interview current franchisees near approximately $450,000, $560,000 and $670,000 in annual Gross Sales—not only million-dollar Centers.
  • Ask each owner for actual Cost of Goods Sold, payroll including benefits, rent, utilities, insurance, local marketing, website and Internet Marketing Program spending, equipment lease payments, repairs and professional fees.
  • Separate owner salary or labor value from distributions, retained earnings and true residual business profit. Ask how many hours the owner works and which paid role the owner replaces.
  • For a manager-run plan, obtain a local wage and benefits quote for the trained on-premises manager required by Item 15 rather than relying solely on the national BLS proxy.
  • Model equipment leasing, acquisition debt, working-capital borrowing and principal payments separately. The FDD’s Item 7 initial investment is not an annual operating expense.
  • If buying an existing Center, request the outlet’s actual monthly profit-and-loss statements, tax returns, payroll reports, royalty statements and equipment obligations; the FTC notes that actual records for an existing outlet can supplement Item 19.
Decision synthesis

What is the most defensible owner-earnings view?

The strongest defensible range is an estimated $44,800 to $107,400 of annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit per U.S. Center, with a $72,700 Base scenario. It is scenario-based—not an official Item 19 earnings figure—and it includes the economic value of one owner’s labor because the FDD’s Labor Costs measure excludes one franchise owner.

The most important earnings driver is the combination of Gross Sales and the unreported overhead burden. The largest unresolved uncertainty is whether a specific Center’s occupancy, equipment, marketing, technology and administrative costs fit within the modeled 23% to 29% remaining-expense band. A manager-run structure is materially less forgiving: after a $65,320 industry wage proxy, the modeled residual ranges from approximately -$20,600 to $42,100.

Before making a decision, verify the Item 19 substantiation, obtain actual records for any existing Center under consideration and interview both active owner-operators and manager-run franchisees. The critical evidence is not a single sales figure; it is a complete reconciliation from Gross Sales to operating expenses, owner labor value, debt service and pre-tax cash available to the owner.