A defensible modeled range for a mature, actively owner-operated iTrip Vacations territory is approximately $40,000 to $115,000 in estimated pre-tax owner-operator benefit, with a base scenario near $70,000. The 2026 iTrip, LLC Franchise Disclosure Document does not report owner profit. Its strongest official figure is a 2025 median of $1,767,339 in Total Rental Revenue including Certain Taxes per territory, which is guest-paid rental flow, not the franchisee's business revenue or take-home pay.
The FDD is cited by year, Item and page because a matching 2026 public FDD on an official franchise-controlled website was not verified. Brand and operating-model context is linked to the official U.S. iTrip franchise website.
What does iTrip Item 19 actually measure?
Officially, Item 19 measures gross rental-related money generated through managed properties, including specified occupancy and sales taxes; it does not measure franchisee revenue, operating profit or owner income. The applicable period is calendar 2025 and the principal population is 100 territories operated for at least 12 months by 82 franchisees.
The FDD does not disclose owner salary, owner draw, distributions or retained earnings. The FDD defines Total Rental Revenue including Certain Taxes broadly: guest-paid rental or lease revenue, cleaning and processing charges, related fees, Approved Services and Approved Products, plus specified taxes collected for taxing authorities. Outside Item 19, the FDD's royalty-base definition of Total Rental Revenue excludes applicable taxes. That definitional change prevents a direct “median sales times margin” calculation without an explicit tax adjustment.
The official $1.77 million median is closer to gross booking flow than to an iTrip owner's accounting revenue. Property-owner remittances, taxes, cleaning or maintenance pass-throughs and other guest-paid amounts can move through the system without becoming owner profit. Item 19 expressly says costs of sales, operating expenses and taxes still must be deducted to calculate net income.
FDD sources for the official metrics: 2026 iTrip, LLC FDD, Item 19, pages 64-66; Item 6, pages 8-22. The BLS benchmark is for 2025; the Economic Census benchmark is for 2022.
| 2025 Item 19 cohort | Territories | Average per territory | Median per territory | Met/exceeded average |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All Representative Franchisees | 100 | $2,395,376 | $1,767,339 | 31 |
| Franchisees operating within a single territory | 66 | $2,624,840 | $1,335,300 | 21 |
The all-territory median is the central revenue anchor because it is less sensitive than the average to very large territories. Only 31 of 100 territories met or exceeded the $2.40 million average. The single-territory median is lower at $1.34 million, showing why a buyer should not treat the all-system average as typical. Item 19 reports per-territory figures, not per-owner portfolio earnings; one-territory results should not be multiplied across a development schedule without accounting for staffing, ramp-up and shared overhead.
The FDD says the data were pulled from proprietary software and were not audited or independently verified. It also says some included franchisees entered with an existing book of business and relevant experience. In addition, the subgroup territory counts and subgroup revenue totals shown in the Item 19 table do not add to the stated all-territory totals, so this analysis does not combine the subgroup rows. Source: 2026 iTrip, LLC FDD, Item 19, pages 64-66.
How was the annual owner-earnings range estimated?
The estimated range is built from the official Item 19 median, the FDD's royalty and recurring-fee rules, and explicit assumptions for the portion of booking flow retained as management-fee revenue. It is a mature-territory model, not a first-year forecast, and all outputs are before personal income taxes, financing interest, financing principal, depreciation and capital expenditures. Manager compensation is embedded in the payroll proxy; owner compensation is not deducted separately because the owner-operator output adds labor value to residual business profit.
Estimated owner-operator benefit = manager-run operating result + replacement-manager labor value.
- Rental-flow spread: 80%, 100% and 120% of the official $1,767,339 all-territory median. The spread is analytical, not FDD-reported.
- Tax conversion: Item 19 rental flow is divided by 1.10 to create an estimated tax-exclusive fee base. The 10% uplift assumption varies materially by jurisdiction.
- Client Management Fee: 18%, 20% and 22% of tax-exclusive rental flow for Conservative, Base and Upside scenarios.
- Royalty: 4.90%, 5.50% and 6.10%, respectively, matching the FDD royalty schedule for those Client Management Fees.
- Payroll: 41.7% of estimated management-fee revenue, derived from 2022 U.S. Economic Census annual payroll divided by revenue for NAICS 531311 employer establishments.
- Other operating costs: 12%, 10% and 8% of estimated management-fee revenue. These are editorial assumptions for nonpayroll costs not separately disclosed by Item 19.
The model also deducts the FDD's 1%-3% payment-processing range at 3%, 2% and 1% of the estimated tax-exclusive fee base across the scenarios, plus $27,300 of annual fixed or proxy costs: $14,220 for Primary Market digital marketing below $5 million of annual Total Rental Revenue, $6,480 for software, the Item 7 $6,000 annual insurance estimate and one $600 annual-conference registration. It excludes conference travel, Limited Damage Waiver economics and cleaning or maintenance pass-through economics because the FDD does not provide a compatible net-cost or net-revenue measure. Item 19 does not separate Primary Market and Boutique Market territories, so applying the Primary Market digital-marketing charge is an explicit format choice rather than a cohort-specific fact.
FDD sources for the model inputs: 2026 iTrip, LLC FDD, Item 6, pages 8-22; Item 7, pages 22-26; Item 19, pages 64-66.
| Scenario | Item 19 rental-flow anchor | Estimated management-fee revenue | Manager-run result | Owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $1,414,000 | $231,000 | -$22,000 | $42,000 |
| Base | $1,767,000 | $321,000 | $7,000 | $72,000 |
| Upside | $2,121,000 | $424,000 | $49,000 | $113,000 |
Annual pre-tax benefit per mature territory, including the value of owner labor and excluding financing and personal taxes.
Interpretation: The range is driven by booking flow, Client Management Fee, payment processing and assumed nonpayroll costs. It is not a probability distribution, and the Base case is not presented as the most likely result.
Sources: 2026 iTrip, LLC FDD, Items 6, 7 and 19; U.S. Census Bureau definition of NAICS 531311; 2022 Economic Census table EC2253BASIC. Calculations rounded to the nearest $1,000 after using unrounded inputs.
The current same-brand FDD supplies a broad revenue-flow measure and recurring fees, but not franchisee accounting revenue, expenses, profit or owner compensation. The model therefore relies materially on an industry payroll proxy and explicit scenario assumptions.
How much does active owner involvement change the result?
Owner involvement changes the modeled result by about $64,000 a year because the owner-operator scenario assumes the owner performs work that otherwise requires a paid property-management manager. This is an estimated labor substitution for a mature U.S. territory, not passive business profit.
The FDD requires the owner or Operating Owner to participate personally in day-to-day management unless iTrip permits otherwise in writing, and each business must have an approved, trained Designated Manager. The official ideal-candidate page describes full-time owner/operators, while an official operating-model article states that absentee ownership is not the intended model. This evidence makes an active-owner case more relevant than a passive-income case.
The gap is the $64,290 BLS replacement-manager wage; owner-operator benefit includes compensation for work performed.
Interpretation: A manager-run territory has materially less residual operating profit in this model. The owner-operator figure is higher because it combines business residual with labor value; it should not be described as passive income.
Source: 2026 iTrip, LLC FDD, Item 15, pages 56-57; BLS 2025 wage data for property, real estate and community association managers in Real Estate and Rental and Leasing.
What does the Base-case bridge contain?
The estimated Base case produces about $7,000 of manager-run operating profit and about $72,000 of owner-operator benefit. The following annual bridge is scenario-based, applies to a mature territory at the 2025 Item 19 median and reconciles after rounding.
| Base-case bridge | Annual amount | Classification |
|---|---|---|
| Estimated management-fee revenue | $321,334 | Scenario revenue, not Item 19 owner earnings |
| Payroll proxy | -$134,150 | Government benchmark |
| Royalty at 5.50% | -$88,367 | FDD-based calculation |
| Payment processing at 2% | -$32,133 | FDD range / scenario midpoint |
| Other operating costs at 10% | -$32,133 | Editorial scenario assumption |
| Fixed and proxy annual costs | -$27,300 | FDD facts and insurance proxy |
| Manager-run operating result | $7,251 | Derived scenario result |
| Add replacement-manager labor value | +$64,290 | BLS wage benchmark |
| Owner-operator benefit | $71,541 | Pre-tax scenario benefit |
The 41.7% payroll proxy equals $18.893 billion of annual payroll divided by $45.256 billion of revenue in the U.S. 2022 Economic Census row for NAICS 531311 employer establishments. Annual payroll is not total compensation and may omit employer benefits and payroll taxes. The BLS wage excludes self-employed owners. These differences are one reason the results are rounded and confidence is Limited.
Which variables can move iTrip owner earnings the most?
For the 2025 representative-territory population, the largest earnings driver is the relationship between tax-exclusive rental flow and the revenue the franchisee actually retains through Client Management Fees and ancillary services. That relationship is uncertain because Item 19 reports gross guest-paid activity, while the FDD does not disclose a franchisee income statement or net economics for cleaning, maintenance, processing and damage-waiver programs.
Item 20 shows franchised outlets declining from 114 at the start of 2025 to 105 at year-end. During 2025, the table reports three openings, three terminations, one nonrenewal, three reacquisitions and five outlets ceasing for other reasons. These counts do not establish why any specific outlet left or whether it was profitable, but they increase the importance of interviews with current and former franchisees. The 100 Item 19 territories should not be divided by the 105 Item 20 outlets to claim a coverage percentage because the FDD uses different unit labels and does not establish that the denominators are identical. Source: 2026 iTrip, LLC FDD, Item 20, pages 67-72.
What should a buyer verify before relying on this range?
For a proposed U.S. territory, a buyer should replace every editorial assumption with territory-specific records and franchisee evidence before using the range in a financing or purchase decision. The FTC advises prospects to distinguish gross sales from profit, request Item 19 substantiation and compare the claim with current and former franchisee experience.
- Request the written Item 19 substantiation. Reconcile the 100-territory total with the single-, two- and three-or-more-territory subgroup rows, and ask how taxes and transfers were handled.
- Obtain actual franchisee income statements. Ask owners near the target market for management-fee revenue, owner remittances, cleaning pass-throughs, payroll, processor costs, royalty, marketing, insurance and operating profit.
- Separate owner labor from business profit. Record hours worked, responsibilities retained by the owner and the full cost of a trained Designated Manager.
- Model the target territory's taxes and fee mix. Replace the 10% tax uplift, 18%-22% Client Management Fee and 1%-3% processing assumptions with written local and contractual data.
- Test ramp-up and client acquisition. Determine how many properties are needed, expected time to sign them, acquisition cost, churn and whether any existing book of business transfers with the territory.
- Keep financing separate. Add the buyer's actual interest, principal schedule and required reserves after calculating operating earnings; do not treat loan proceeds as income or principal as an operating expense.
The FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains why gross sales can coexist with low or negative profit and recommends speaking with current and former franchisees listed in Item 20. That due diligence is especially important here because Item 19 stops at rental flow.
What is the strongest defensible earnings takeaway?
Using the 2025 Item 19 population and the April 30, 2026 FDD, the strongest defensible estimate is approximately $40,000 to $115,000 in annual pre-tax owner-operator benefit per mature territory, with a transparent Base case near $70,000. It is scenario-based, not an official iTrip earnings disclosure. A manager-run result is materially lower in the same model, ranging from an approximately $22,000 operating loss to about $49,000 of operating profit before financing and personal taxes.
The most important driver is the share of gross rental flow converted into retained management-fee and ancillary revenue. The largest unresolved uncertainty is that Item 19 discloses gross rental-related activity including taxes but no franchisee income statement. Before deciding, a buyer should verify the Item 19 substantiation, obtain territory-level profit-and-loss statements and test owner labor, fee-base taxes, processor charges and ramp-up assumptions in interviews with current and former franchisees.