How Much Does a Zerorez Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Zerorez franchise cost?

The 2026 Zerorez Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $218,718 to $410,698 to open a Residential Franchise with one approved Mobile Unit. The range includes the entry fee, required software setup, the vehicle and operating equipment, opening supplies, training travel, certifications, computer hardware, insurance, possible premises expense, and a first-year operating reserve.

$218,718–$410,698
Estimated Initial Investment

This is the official Item 7 range for a one-Mobile-Unit Residential Franchise in the March 31, 2026 FDD. It already includes $90,000 to $241,500 of Additional Funds covering the first 12 months; that working-capital allowance should not be added a second time. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14.

The franchisor payment at signing depends on territory size. A Hometown Market of up to 30,000 households carries a $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee; an Operating Territory of more than 30,000 and up to 60,000 households carries a $30,000 fee. Both also require a $1,500 initial license and setup charge for the required software platform. The cover therefore identifies $16,500 to $31,500 as the portion paid to Zerorez Franchising Systems, Inc. or an affiliate.

Legal franchisor
Zerorez Franchising Systems, Inc., a Delaware corporation
Disclosure basis
2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued March 31, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17
Applicable offer
U.S. Residential Franchise using one Mobile Unit; Hometown Market and standard Operating Territory fee levels are shown separately where they differ
Public context
Official U.S. franchising information and the brand’s official Zerorez brand page
Information checked
July 18, 2026
SOURCE CONFLICT

The official Zerorez investment page, checked July 18, 2026, displays a $130,000–$250,000 estimated investment and a $15,000–$60,000 franchise fee. Those figures do not match the March 31, 2026 FDD. For the current contractual cost review, this article uses the later verified FDD figures and treats the website amounts as unresolved supplemental information. A buyer should obtain a written reconciliation before signing or paying.

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $15,000 / $30,000 Hometown Market / standard Operating Territory
Additional Funds $90,000–$241,500 Included in Item 7; covers the first 12 months
Mobile Unit $82,165–$92,145 One approved, equipped and branded vehicle
Royalty Fee 6% or $750/mo. Territory-dependent; minimum schedule also applies
Zr Ware Technology Fee 2.25% Of Gross Sales; may increase within the disclosed cap
Local Advertising At least 15% Of Gross Sales, separate from the Brand Fund
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the $218,718–$410,698 range?

The 2026 disclosure combines one-time acquisition costs, a single equipped service van, pre-opening expenses, and a 12-month operating reserve. The official total reconciles exactly to the disclosed low and high line items; it is not an average or a “typical” budget.

Franchise rights, vehicle and required operating assets

Item 7 category 2026 range When paid What the disclosure covers
Franchise Fee $15,000–$30,000 Upon signing the Franchise Agreement Hometown Market or standard Operating Territory
Zr Ware $1,500 Upon signing Initial license and setup for the required technology stack
Equipment Package $16,979–$18,479 As agreed with vendor Zr Water Equipment for one Mobile Unit, including an initial concentrate supply
Initial Supplies $3,000–$6,000 Before opening Cleaning products and supplies for one Mobile Unit, estimated for 12 months
Mobile Unit $82,165–$92,145 As agreed with vendor Van, installed equipment, waterproof liner and Zerorez-branded wrap

Training, premises, insurance and first-year funds

Item 7 category 2026 range Timing Cost interpretation
Training travel and living, two people $3,000–$5,000 Before opening / as incurred Transportation, lodging, meals and related out-of-pocket costs
Certifications $574 Before opening $349 IICRC training plus approximately $225 for CRI business certification
Computer System, Equipment and Telephone $3,500–$6,000 Before opening Hardware able to run Zr Ware and required communications
Real Property $0–$4,500 Before opening Zero reflects a residence-based start; high end estimates an office/storage lease
Insurance $3,000–$5,000 As incurred One year of liability, property/casualty and vehicle coverage; workers’ compensation is not estimated
Additional Funds $90,000–$241,500 As incurred during first 12 months Security deposits, software, advertising, rent, payroll, insurance, transitional living costs and other operating expenses
Official Estimated Initial Investment $218,718–$410,698 Signing through first 12 months One-Mobile-Unit Residential Franchise

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14; cost qualifications in Items 8 and 11, pp. 15–28.

FDD CAVEAT

The first-year reserve assumes an owner-operated business. It excludes employee salaries and benefits and contains no allowance for an owner’s draw, even though payroll appears among the general operating expenses described in the note. The FDD also warns that additional cash may be required beyond 12 months. Those exclusions make the official high end a disclosure range, not a guaranteed capital ceiling.

RANGE DRIVERS

Which costs create most of the investment spread?

The first-year operating reserve creates most of the low-to-high variation. Its $151,500 spread is far larger than the difference in the vehicle, entry charge, equipment or computer categories. The upper end is therefore driven primarily by expected cash needs after launch rather than by the basic right to enter the system.

The first-year reserve is already part of the total. Adding $90,000–$241,500 to $218,718–$410,698 would double-count the same working-capital allowance.
The disclosed vehicle amount is not only a bare van price. It includes installed equipment, waterproofing and the branded wrap specified for a compliant service vehicle.
Local conditions remain unresolved. The FDD does not quantify workers’ compensation, employee salaries and benefits, owner compensation, or operating losses beyond the disclosed first-year allowance.
ZEROREZ-SPECIFIC EQUIPMENT

How do territory size and water equipment change the cost?

Territory size changes the entry charge and ongoing royalty basis, while the water-production choice can change required equipment cost. The published total uses the lower-cost water package and does not provide a recalculated total for the more expensive generator alternative.

Hometown Market

Up to 30,000 households. Entry fee: $15,000. Royalty: $750 per month, subject to the disclosed minimum schedule for the first 27 months. Sales generated outside the assigned territory are charged at 6%.

Standard Operating Territory

More than 30,000 and up to 60,000 households. Entry fee: $30,000. Royalty: 6% of Gross Sales, subject to the minimum schedule.

The franchisor determines territory availability and whether an area can be divided into a Hometown Market. The public available-territories page can provide current market context, but it does not replace the territory description attached to the signed contract.

WATER-EQUIPMENT CHOICE

Zr Water Equipment is in Item 7; the ERW Generator is an alternative

Zr Water Equipment package $16,979–$18,479

Included in the official opening total. The package includes the water-softening device, storage tank and an initial concentrate supply estimated to cover about four months, depending on use.

ERW Generator package $50,148–$51,648

An approved-vendor alternative described in the disclosure notes. The 2026 FDD does not recalculate the $218,718–$410,698 total for this option, so the higher equipment figure should not be silently inserted into the published total.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–14; required-source rules in Item 8, pp. 15–18.

Either path creates ongoing approved-supplier obligations. Mineralized-water concentrate must be replenished throughout the Franchise Agreement term, while an ERW Generator carries vendor-specific purchase, warranty, installation and maintenance terms. The franchisor estimates that 90% to 100% of both establishment purchases and operating purchases will be made under system specifications.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The cost is not paid as one lump sum. The 2026 FDD places the first franchisor payments at Franchise Agreement signing, major vehicle and equipment commitments during buildout, and the largest variable reserve across the first 12 months after opening.

At Franchise Agreement signing

Pay the nonrefundable $15,000 or $30,000 entry fee and the $1,500 software license and setup charge. The disclosure lists both as due upon signing.

During vehicle, equipment and training preparation

Commit to the van buildout and required operating equipment as agreed with approved vendors. Before opening, pay for supplies, travel and living expenses for two trainees, certifications, computer equipment and any premises deposit or setup expense.

At opening and through month 12

Use the disclosed $90,000–$241,500 first-year reserve for commitments such as deposits, software, advertising, rent, payroll, insurance and transitional living expenses. Many of these obligations recur monthly.

After operations begin

Pay monthly percentage-based fees by the 15th for the prior month. The Royalty Fee or Minimum Royalty Payment begins three months after Operations Commencement, except qualifying existing-business conversions pay royalty immediately and do not receive the minimum-royalty structure.

The FDD describes 90 to 120 days as the typical period from signing to Operations Commencement and requires opening within 75 calendar days after initial training. The official training and onboarding page currently describes a 16-week process tied partly to van and equipment buildout. Its ownership-steps page also places FDD review, funds verification and territory finalization before signing and onboarding.

PAYMENT TIMING

Financing the van or required operating equipment may reduce the cash paid to a vendor at acquisition, but it does not reduce the disclosed asset cost or remove the related repayment obligation. The FDD states that many franchisees finance these assets, while Item 10 confirms that Zerorez Franchising Systems, Inc. does not provide or guarantee that financing.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The recurring cost structure combines a territory-dependent royalty, a required platform charge, a national advertising contribution and a large local advertising requirement. Several third-party technology and hardware costs sit outside the percentage-based fees.

Ongoing obligation Amount or basis Payment timing Important qualification
Royalty Fee 6% of Gross Sales or $750/month By the 15th, based on prior month Basis depends on Operating Territory; minimum schedule applies
Zr Ware Technology Fee 2.25% of Gross Sales By the 15th, based on prior month May rise by up to 0.5 percentage point per year, capped at 3.5% in the initial term
National Brand Fund Contribution Currently 1% of Gross Sales Monthly with Royalty Fee May rise by no more than 1 point per year, up to 3%
Local Advertising At least 15% of Gross Sales Ongoing local spend A future cooperative contribution up to 5% is credited toward this minimum
Computer maintenance and upgrades $500–$5,000/year As required No contractual limit on hardware or software upgrades required by system standards
QuickBooks Online Currently $250/month Paid to provider Or another approved accounting platform
Fleetio Currently $11/vehicle/month If required Fleetio or another approved fleet-management service may be required in the future

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–11; Item 11, pp. 22–25.

For percentage fees, Gross Sales broadly includes revenue from Zerorez services and products, including fuel, waste-disposal and other customer surcharges. It excludes sales or use taxes collected for government authorities, actual customer refunds and credits, and receipts from selling used equipment. The FDD does not convert these percentages into annual dollars, and this article does not assume a sales level.

Payment-processing charges are separate. The Technology Fee does not include credit-card processor, gateway, outbound telecom or promotional text-message charges.
Approved products remain an operating cost. Concentrate, cleaning products, vehicle components and other specified supplies must continue to meet system requirements.
Annual certifications and training can recur. CRI business certification is approximately $225 per year, and extra FranklinCovey All-Access Pass licenses are $200 per year each.
FEE REDUCTIONS

Can the entry fee be discounted?

Yes. Item 5 discloses several fee-reduction programs, but each reduces only the Initial Franchise Fee—not the service van, required equipment, first-year reserve, insurance, technology, advertising or other startup obligations.

Existing cleaning-business conversion discount

A qualifying similar-services business must have two years of gross-sales history and at least $50,000 in gross sales during the most recent trailing 12 months. The official conversion page confirms that the brand offers an established-business conversion path, while the percentages below come from the 2026 FDD.

Existing-business annual gross sales Entry-fee discount Cost consequence
$50,000–$99,999 50% Remaining fee depends on territory fee level
$100,000–$299,999 60% Other Item 7 categories remain payable
$300,000–$499,999 70% Conversion assets must still meet system standards
$500,000–$749,999 80% Royalty begins immediately at Operations Commencement
$750,000–$999,999 90% Minimum Royalty Payment schedule does not apply
$1,000,000 or more 100% Entry fee waived; other costs remain

Other disclosed discount programs

Zerorez Technician to Owner Pathway Program50% off the then-current residential entry fee after at least three but fewer than five consecutive years as a technician; 100% off after at least five consecutive years, subject to program criteria.
Existing franchisee purchasing an additional franchise10% off the entry fee after at least two years in the system.
Qualifying out-of-territory residential sales25% off the entry fee for a potential additional territory when the disclosed $50,000 sales threshold and timing requirements are met.
Employee or franchisee-employee tenure10% after two consecutive years, 15% after three, 20% after four and 25% after five or more.
Honorably discharged U.S. veteran20% off the entry fee, with eligibility determined by the franchisor.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 5–7. The FDD states that all Item 5 fees are nonrefundable and uniform except for disclosed qualifying discounts.

CONDITIONAL COSTS

Which charges arise only after a trigger event?

Several material fees are not part of the opening total because they depend on later conduct, a transfer, renewal, extra training, an audit or another event. They should remain outside the opening total but inside a long-term cost review.

Renewal Fee — $10,000Due if the franchisee qualifies to renew after the initial 10-year term, signs the then-current Franchise Agreement, satisfies monetary obligations and completes then-current qualification and training requirements. Source: Item 17, pp. 35–36.
Transfer Fee — $7,500 or $30,000$7,500 applies to specified transfers where the seller keeps an interest or transfers to a current Zerorez franchisee. $30,000 applies to a transfer to a new, non-system franchisee and includes training for up to two people. Source: Item 6, pp. 8–11.
Non-Compliance Fee — $100 per day per deviationCharged after the disclosed notice and cure process, plus the franchisor’s actual reasonable expenses related to enforcing compliance.
Late charges and interestA 2% late charge applies to a late royalty payment; unpaid balances can accrue 2% per month, or the maximum lawful amount if lower, under the timing described in Item 6.
Audit costsThe franchisee pays audit expenses and late fees if an audit shows Gross Sales were understated by more than 2%.
Additional training and assistance$1,500 per extra trainee for specified training; special assistance is currently $250 per day plus expenses.
Customer remediation and national acquisition programsReimbursement may be required when the franchisor corrects unresolved customer work. A variable per-customer National Customer Acquisition Fee becomes mandatory if such a program is instituted.
Conference attendance expensesThere is currently no charge for up to four approved attendees, but the franchisee pays travel, lodging and food; extra attendees or a future registration fee may create additional cost.

No separate relocation fee is disclosed. Item 12 says relocation within the assigned territory will be approved, but a buyer should still verify lease termination, moving, signage, vehicle-storage and system-compliance expenses because the FDD does not quantify them as a fixed relocation amount.

FUNDING REQUIREMENTS

Does Zerorez disclose liquid capital, net worth or financing?

The 2026 FDD does not state a numeric franchisee Liquid Capital minimum, Net Worth minimum or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. The official ownership process mentions a background check and funds verification, but the public page does not state a dollar threshold. Total Initial Investment should therefore not be relabeled as a cash-on-hand requirement.

Franchisor financing

Item 10 states that Zerorez Franchising Systems, Inc. offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. Vehicle or equipment financing must come from another source and remains subject to lender terms.

Personal guarantee

When the franchisee is a corporation, limited liability company or another business entity, its shareholders, members and owners must guarantee all obligations owed to the franchisor.

A financing approval would not establish that the borrower has sufficient working capital. The disclosure separately warns that reserves may need to exceed the $90,000–$241,500 first-year estimate and may be required for longer than 12 months. The FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains why buyers should separate the franchise fee, startup expenses, ongoing costs and personal living needs when reviewing capital.

BUYER VERIFICATION

Ask Zerorez for the written standard used in its funds-verification step: required cash, permitted borrowed funds, vehicle-financing assumptions, post-closing liquidity and any lender conditions. Because no numeric threshold appears in the 2026 FDD, a website form, broker estimate or directory figure should not be presented as an official Zerorez qualification.

FINAL COST CHECK

What should a buyer verify before relying on the range?

The decisive cost questions are the selected territory, the approved van and water-equipment configuration, the first-year operating plan, and the current written fee schedule. The 2026 FDD supplies the governing range, but several buyer-specific and local amounts remain open.

Confirm the territory classification.Obtain the household count and written confirmation of whether the territory is a Hometown Market or the standard format.
Reconcile the official website with the current FDD.Request a written explanation for the website’s $130,000–$250,000 investment and $15,000–$60,000 fee figures before using either set in a financing plan.
Choose and price the water-equipment path.Verify whether the approved quote uses Zr Water Equipment or an ERW Generator and whether shipping, installation, financing and maintenance are included.
Build the first-year cash schedule without double-counting.Keep the first-year reserve inside the official opening total, then separately identify any excluded employee compensation, owner living needs and reserves after month 12.
Price third-party fees outside the required platform charge.Confirm payment-processing, gateway, telecom, text-message, QuickBooks, fleet-management and future hardware-upgrade costs.
Review the exact fee basis.Check the Gross Sales definition, minimum royalty milestones, National Brand Fund rate, local advertising minimum and any advertising cooperative requirement in the documents delivered for signing.
Obtain the latest disclosure before payment.The FTC Franchise Rule governs the required disclosure process; verify amendments and state-specific addenda applicable on the signing date.

Cost synthesis: the verified 2026 opening range is $218,718–$410,698 for one equipped service van. The entry fee is only $15,000 or $30,000 of that amount, while the vehicle and 12-month operating reserve carry much more of the capital requirement. After opening, royalty, technology, national advertising and local advertising obligations continue, with conditional charges arising on transfer, renewal, noncompliance, late payment, audit or extra support.