How Much Does a U-Save Car and Truck Rental Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a U-Save Car & Truck Rental franchise cost?

The 2026 U-Save Car & Truck Rental Franchise Disclosure Document estimates a total initial investment of $167,900 to $1,547,250 for one U-Save vehicle-rental outlet. The same Item 7 range applies whether the approved outlet is a stand-alone retail operation or operates alongside another vehicle-related business; the FDD does not publish separate cost ranges for those site arrangements.

$167,900–$1,547,250

Estimated Initial Investment, 2026 FDD Item 7, pages 9–12.

The total includes the Initial Franchise Fee, reservation and systems payments, premises, equipment, an opening fleet of 20 vehicles, insurance, and $10,000 to $50,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. It does not include owner compensation or debt service.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: U-Save International LLC. FDD issuance date: April 30, 2026. Cost disclosures reviewed: Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, 12 and 17. Information checked: July 20, 2026. The official U-Save website identifies the current brand operator, and the Wisconsin active-registration list showed U-Save International LLC registered through May 13, 2027. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD Item and page references in this article are intentionally unlinked.

What are the key capital figures?

The initial franchise fee is only one part of the capital requirement. The 2026 disclosures also create substantial fleet, premises and working-capital obligations, while publishing no fixed liquid-capital or net-worth threshold.

$10,000–$800,000 Initial Franchise Fee Due in a lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed; nonrefundable.
$13,200–$830,000 Paid to the franchisor Cover-page amount included within the total initial investment.
20 vehicles Opening fleet minimum Item 7 vehicle estimate assumes purchase in full; leasing or financing may reduce initial cash outlay.
$10,000–$50,000 Additional Funds First three months; includes rent, utilities, recruiting and wages.
90–180 days Estimated time to open Item 11 estimate from signing to opening, subject to site, permits, financing, training and fleet acquisition.
Not disclosed Liquid capital / net worth The 2026 FDD does not state a fixed minimum for either qualification.
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the $167,900 to $1,547,250 range?

The range contains 14 disclosed expenditure categories. The largest possible amounts are the Initial Franchise Fee and Vehicles, but the total also incorporates premises, systems, professional services, insurance and three months of Operating Expenses / Additional Funds.

Payments tied to the franchise and reservation systems

These payments are incurred at signing or during pre-opening preparation. Item 7 groups the Central Reservations Systems Set-Up at $700 to $5,000, while Item 5 describes a refundable security deposit and a separate nonrefundable GDS Set-Up Fee.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 range Payment timing and payee FDD reference
Initial Franchise Fee $10,000–$800,000 Lump sum at Franchise Agreement signing; U-Save International LLC Items 5 and 7, pp. 4 and 9
Initial Reservation Deposit $2,500–$25,000 Lump sum at Franchise Agreement signing; U-Save International LLC Items 5 and 7, pp. 5 and 10
Central Reservations Systems Set-Up $700–$5,000 At Central Reservations Systems Agreement signing; U-Save International LLC Item 7, p. 10
Your Training Expenses $500–$3,000 As required; transportation, lodging and meal suppliers Item 7, pp. 10–11

Premises, equipment and fleet

The premises and fleet categories create most of the operational capital exposure. U-Save must approve the site, but the franchisee negotiates the lease, completes improvements and purchases or leases the required assets.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 range What the category covers FDD reference
Premises Deposits $6,500–$24,750 Landlord and utility deposits; some amounts may later be refundable Item 7, pp. 10–11
Leasehold Improvements $25,000–$75,000 Build-out affected by premises condition, size, location and local contract costs Item 7, pp. 10–11
Furniture, Fixtures, Equipment and Signage $6,000–$17,500 Office furniture, storage, lighting and signage Item 7, pp. 10–11
Computer Systems $2,000–$10,000 Hardware, credit-card reader, reservation systems and rental-counter software Item 7, pp. 10–11
Vehicles $100,000–$500,000 Purchase in full of an opening fleet of 20 automobiles, vans, light-duty trucks and specialty vehicles Item 7, pp. 10–11

Opening, compliance and first-three-month costs

These categories cover launch marketing, professional review, permits, insurance and initial operating liquidity. The Additional Funds estimate is already included in the official Item 7 total and must not be added a second time.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 range Payment basis FDD reference
Grand Opening Marketing $500–$5,000 Required opening advertising before and around launch Items 7 and 11, pp. 10 and 17
Professional Fees $2,000–$10,000 Entity formation and accounting or legal review Item 7, pp. 10–11
Licenses and Permits $200–$4,000 Government charges before opening or as required Item 7, pp. 10–11
Insurance $2,000–$18,000 Required coverage before opening; affected by fleet, premises, employees and lease terms Items 7 and 8, pp. 10–12
Operating Expenses / Additional Funds — Three Months $10,000–$50,000 Rent, utilities, initial recruiting and wages; excludes owner compensation and debt service Item 7, pp. 10–12
Total Estimated Initial Investment $167,900–$1,547,250 Official 2026 FDD total; Item 7, p. 10
FDD CAVEAT

The Central Reservations Systems figures do not fully reconcile inside the 2026 FDD. Item 7 lists $700 to $5,000. Item 5 separately states a $700 security deposit without GDS or $2,000 with GDS, plus a $1,000 GDS Set-Up Fee when selected. A buyer should obtain a written schedule explaining the Item 7 high end, the refundable portion and the exact amount due at signing.

FLEET CAPITAL

Why can vehicle requirements create capital needs after opening?

Item 7 prices an opening fleet of 20 vehicles, but Item 12 requires 50 vehicles by month six. That is a disclosed increase of 30 vehicles, or 150% above the opening minimum, without a separate FDD estimate for the acquisition cost of that post-opening increase.

The opening-fleet estimate and the month-six requirement are not the same obligation
20 vehicles required on opening date
50 vehicles required by month six

Derived difference: 30 additional vehicles and a 150% increase from the opening minimum. The FDD states that year-three and later fleet minimums are negotiated, with a stated ceiling of 2,000 vehicles unless the franchisee elects to exceed it with reasonable franchisor approval. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 7 and 12, pages 11 and 21–22.

The $100,000 to $500,000 Vehicles line assumes full purchase of the opening fleet. Item 7 says initial costs may be lower when the fleet is leased or financed, but it does not provide lease terms, lending terms, monthly fleet payments or a cost for the additional vehicles required by month six. The Additional Funds footnote names rent, utilities, recruiting and wages; it does not expressly say that the month-six fleet expansion is included.

COST IMPLICATION

The official Item 7 total may not resolve the full six-month fleet funding requirement. A buyer should model the opening 20 vehicles and the move to 50 vehicles as separate cash events, using actual purchase, lease, floorplan or other financing terms rather than assuming the Item 7 Vehicles high end covers both stages.

Fleet specifications can also affect replacement costs. Item 8 says at least 80% of the fleet must generally be no older than the current model year minus three model years and have no more than 60,000 miles; the fleet must contain at least 60% passenger vehicles. The official site shows U-Save operating U.S. rental locations and identifies U-Save International LLC in its footer; an official U.S. location page is useful for confirming the current operating brand, but it does not replace the FDD fleet-cost disclosures.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the startup money paid?

The cash does not leave at one moment. Contract fees are due at signing, while premises, systems, fleet, insurance and working-capital expenses arise across the 90-to-180-day pre-opening period and the first three months of operation.

1
At Franchise Agreement signingPay the $10,000 to $800,000 Initial Franchise Fee and the $2,500 to $25,000 Initial Reservation Deposit. Both are described as nonrefundable.
2
At Central Reservations Systems Agreement signingPay the applicable systems security deposit and any GDS Set-Up Fee. The security deposit may be refundable if the account is current and return is requested within 90 days after termination of that agreement; the GDS Set-Up Fee is nonrefundable.
3
During site approval and build-outPay landlord and utility deposits, Leasehold Improvements, Furniture, Fixtures, Equipment and Signage, Computer Systems, Professional Fees, Licenses and Permits, and required Insurance as vendors or agencies require.
4
Before openingComplete initial training, fund travel for two attendees, obtain required licenses, acquire at least 20 vehicles and spend $500 to $5,000 on Grand Opening Marketing during the 30 days before and 30 days after opening.
5
During the first three operating monthsUse the $10,000 to $50,000 Additional Funds allowance for disclosed operating costs while also preparing to satisfy the 50-vehicle minimum by month six and monthly Royalty Fee and Marketing Fund obligations.

The FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains that a prospective franchisee must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a contract or paying money to the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC Franchise Rule page provides the governing disclosure framework.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after the U-Save outlet opens?

The main continuing charges are the Royalty Fee, Marketing Fund Contribution, annual local-marketing expenditure and reservation-related charges. Several are stated as the greater of a percentage of Gross Revenue or a minimum dollar amount, so the minimum is a floor rather than a forecast of the actual fee.

Continuing fee Amount or basis Timing 2026 FDD reference
Royalty Fee Greater of 6% of Gross Revenue or $500/month in year 1, $1,000/month in year 2, $1,500/month in year 3+ By the 15th of each month Item 6, p. 5
Marketing Fund Contribution Greater of 2% of Gross Revenue or $500/month By the 15th of each month Items 6 and 11, pp. 5 and 17
Required Minimum Expenditure for Local Marketing and Advertising $5,000 annually Annual; paid to third parties Items 6 and 11, pp. 5 and 17
GDS Support Fee $75/month, subject to increase; not above $200 Monthly when GDS is used Item 6, p. 5
Booking Fees $5–$20 per reservation; not above $20 Monthly as incurred Item 6, p. 5
No Show Fees $3.95–$9.95 per incident; not above $15 Monthly as incurred Item 6, p. 5
Broker Commissions 10%–32% per reservation Monthly as incurred Item 6, pp. 5–6
Broker Overrides / Marketing Contributions 10%–25% per reservation Monthly as incurred Item 6, p. 6
Customer Complaint Fee $0.15 per complaint lodged with the Central Reservations System Monthly as incurred Item 6, p. 6
Required computer maintenance and upgrades $0–$300 estimated annually As maintenance or upgrades are needed Item 11, p. 19
Gross Revenue basis
All revenue and income from operation of the U-Save outlet, including rental charges, time and mileage, counter-product purchases and damage-waiver purchases, subject to the FDD’s stated exclusions for certain taxes, documented refunds, documented promotional discounts and damage charges.
Collection method
The FDD states that U-Save will collect Gross Revenue, deduct fees payable to it and distribute the balance to the franchisee.
Advertising cooperative
Not currently assessed. If a cooperative is formed, participation is required and the franchisee pays its share of actual advertising costs; the amount would be additional to the Marketing Fund, subject to the credit described in Item 11.
Internal Systems Fee
Currently $0, but Item 6 permits a charge up to $500 per month for new or improved internal systems technology.
CONDITIONAL OBLIGATIONS

Which fees apply only when a specific event occurs?

Item 6 contains a long set of event-triggered charges. They are not ordinary opening costs, but they can become material after a relocation, transfer, default, training issue, audit, customer dispute or failure to maintain required insurance and records.

Customer Dispute Resolution Refund amount, minimum equal to the greater of full rental charges or $100 Reimburses U-Save when it resolves a customer dispute on the outlet’s behalf.
Late Charge and Interest 5% of overdue amounts; 18% per year or legal maximum Applied to unpaid amounts from the due date.
Non-sufficient Funds Fee $100 per occurrence Triggered by a returned check or denied electronic transfer.
Relocation Fee $5,000 Due when U-Save approves relocation; new-site and build-out costs are separate.
Successor Term Fee $5,000 Due before signing a successor agreement; renewal can also require equipment and asset upgrades to then-current standards.
Transfer Fee Generally 75% of then-current Initial Franchise Fee Reduced to 50% for transfer to an existing franchisee in good standing; $1,500 for specified internal ownership transfers; $3,500 to a spouse, parent or child after death or permanent disability.
Replacement or Additional Trainees $100 per person Due before training for personnel beyond the initial training group.
Additional Training $500 per day tuition plus travel and living costs May apply to mandatory or optional programs, annual meetings or conventions.
Remedial Training $600 per trainer plus travel and living costs May be required when requested by the franchisee or when the outlet operates below standards.
Interim Management Support 20% of Gross Revenue plus expenses Additional to regular Royalty Fee and Marketing Fund Contribution when U-Save provides on-site management.
Books and Records Examination Examination and related costs, not above $1,000 Payable when an examination identifies an understatement of Gross Revenue by 3% or more, together with amounts owed and interest.
Evaluation Fee Actual inspection and testing costs, not above $1,000 Can apply when approval is requested for an unapproved item or supplier.
Accounting Services Actual costs, not above $1,000 Can be imposed for noncompliant records or if a designated service is required systemwide.
Operations Manual Replacement $150 plus shipping Applied if U-Save replaces the Operations Manual.
Liquidated Damages Greater of $50,000 or up to 24 months of stated historical fee averages Triggered by termination for franchisee default and calculated under the Item 6 formula.
Insurance Reimbursement Amount paid by U-Save, plus 10% administration and actual expenses Applies if the franchisee fails to satisfy required insurance obligations.
Non-compliance Reimbursement Actual costs and expenses, not above $1,000 Covers costs U-Save incurs to address specified noncompliance.
Quality Review Services Actual cost, not above $1,000 Monthly when third-party mystery shopping, customer-satisfaction monitoring or other quality review services are used.
Legal Fees and Expenses Actual costs and expenses May be recoverable for failures to pay or comply and under prevailing-party provisions.
PAYMENT RISK

Default-related charges can overlap. A late payment can create a 5% Late Charge, interest, collection expenses and legal fees; termination for default can also trigger Liquidated Damages. These are separate contractual categories, not one capped remedy.

FUNDING AND QUALIFICATIONS

Does U-Save state a liquid-capital minimum or offer financing?

The 2026 FDD does not disclose a fixed Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. It does disclose possible franchisor, parent or affiliate financing for the Initial Franchise Fee only, subject to qualification and documentation.

Minimum down payment
$10,000.
Amount financed
Up to $775,000 of the Initial Franchise Fee.
Interest rate
0% under the disclosed Item 10 program.
Term
Up to 18 months for financed amounts below $50,000; up to three years for financing above $50,000.
Collateral
A Security Agreement grants a security interest in business assets including bank accounts, accounts receivable, Computer Systems, Furniture, Fixtures, Equipment and Vehicles.
Other funding
The FDD says U-Save provides no other direct or indirect financing. Approval is not guaranteed, and spouse-related signature or guaranty obligations may apply.

Financing the Initial Franchise Fee does not finance the rest of Item 7. The buyer still needs a plan for the Initial Reservation Deposit, reservations systems payments, premises, Leasehold Improvements, Computer Systems, Vehicles, Insurance, Grand Opening Marketing and Additional Funds. The Mississippi Secretary of State business search is an official tool for checking entity records, but it does not verify financing approval or replace the Promissory Note, Security Agreement and Personal Guaranty terms attached to the FDD.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What should be confirmed before relying on the official range?

The most important unresolved issues are the exact territory-based Initial Franchise Fee, the Central Reservations Systems payment, fleet funding through month six, site-specific premises costs and the monthly reservation-channel charges that depend on actual booking activity.

  • Obtain the exact Initial Franchise Fee in writing. The $10,000 to $800,000 range is determined by trade area, population demographics and commercial-account opportunities.
  • Reconcile the Central Reservations Systems amount. Confirm the security deposit, GDS election, refundable amount and why Item 7 permits a $5,000 maximum.
  • Separate opening-fleet cash from month-six fleet cash. Price 20 vehicles at opening and the move to 50 vehicles under the intended purchase, lease or financing structure.
  • Confirm whether the site is stand-alone or attached to an existing vehicle-related business. The FDD permits both arrangements but supplies only one investment range.
  • Price required Insurance from the actual fleet and lease. Item 8 specifies multiple coverage requirements; Item 7’s $2,000 to $18,000 estimate can vary with fleet size, premises, employees and landlord requirements.
  • Test Additional Funds against owner and debt obligations. The three-month estimate excludes owner compensation and debt service and is described as non-exhaustive.
  • Model reservation-channel fees separately. Booking Fees, No Show Fees, Broker Commissions, Broker Overrides and customer-resolution costs vary with channel and circumstance.
  • Review renewal, transfer and default economics. A $5,000 Successor Term Fee does not include required asset upgrades, and transfer or default charges can be much larger.

The FDD states that required or approved supplier purchases may represent approximately 36% to 67% of establishment costs and 35% to 50% of ongoing operating costs. Those percentages do not create a new dollar estimate; they identify the extent to which approved-item and supplier requirements can influence the official range.

CAPITAL SYNTHESIS

What does the U-Save cost range mean for a prospective franchisee?

The verified 2026 starting range is $167,900 to $1,547,250, but the buyer’s cash requirement cannot be reduced to the Initial Franchise Fee. The principal variables are the territory-based fee, the opening vehicle fleet, the move from 20 to 50 vehicles by month six, premises and build-out, insurance, reservation-channel use and the financing structure.

The FDD does not publish a fixed Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum. It does include $10,000 to $50,000 of Additional Funds for three months, but that amount excludes owner compensation and debt service. After opening, the Royalty Fee and Marketing Fund Contribution each have minimum monthly floors, while reservation, transfer, relocation, training, audit, insurance and default charges apply according to use or circumstance.