How much does The Exercise Coach franchise cost?
The 2026 estimated initial investment is $262,735 to $481,369 for one The Exercise Coach Studio. A buyer taking area-development rights for two to three Studios has a disclosed initial investment of $302,735 to $548,869, but that second range includes the development rights and the cost to open only the first Studio—not the later Studios.
Exercise Coach USA, LLC reports both ranges in its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The single-Studio total includes $164,540 to $215,589 payable to the franchisor or an affiliate. The area-development total includes $204,540 to $283,089 payable to the franchisor or an affiliate. Source: 2026 FDD cover; Item 7, pages 11–15.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Exercise Coach USA, LLC. Issuance date: April 20, 2026; amended April 30, 2026. Formats reviewed: one Studio and an Area Development Agreement for two to three Studios. Main cost sources: Item 5, pages 4–6; Item 6, pages 6–11; Item 7, pages 11–15; plus cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information checked July 14, 2026. The official U.S. brand website is linked for general franchise information; the FDD figures below are cited in plain text by Item and page.
Nonrefundable; due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Covers Management Training for up to four people and initial coach certifications.
Includes equipment plus estimated shipping, installation and setup.
Combined pre-opening and 90-day post-opening commitment.
Included in Item 7 and intended for the first three operating months.
Greater of 6% of Gross Sales or $1,000 per month.
The ADA range is not a budget for opening two or three Studios. It combines development rights with the initial investment for the first Studio only. Each later Studio will require its own development and opening capital under the then-current Franchise Agreement and cost conditions.
What is included in the single-Studio investment range?
The $262,735 to $481,369 range includes contract fees, site and construction costs, equipment, technology, opening inventory, launch marketing, pre-opening payroll, a surety-bond premium and a three-month operating reserve. That reserve is already inside the official total and should not be added again.
Contract, training and premises
These costs begin with the two signing payments and then move to training, lease review, deposits, rent, utilities, construction and signage before opening.
| Expenditure | 2026 amount | When paid | FDD page(s) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $49,500 | At Franchise Agreement signing | p. 11 |
| Initial Training Fee | $5,000 | At Franchise Agreement signing | p. 11 |
| Initial Training Expenses | $1,500–$10,000 | As incurred during training | pp. 11, 13 |
| Legal Fee Reimbursement for lease review | $3,500–$5,000 | As incurred before opening | pp. 11, 13 |
| Lease Deposit & Rent (three months) | $8,000–$24,000 | Deposit before opening; rent monthly | pp. 11, 13 |
| Utilities Deposits | $100–$1,000 | Before opening | p. 11 |
| Construction | $0–$85,000 | As incurred before opening | pp. 12–13 |
| Interior & Exterior Signage | $2,300–$8,000 | Before opening | pp. 12, 13 |
Studio setup and launch
The Studio setup group is dominated by the Equipment Package and the Grand Opening Marketing Commitment, with smaller required allocations for technology, safety, inventory, uniforms, licenses and insurance.
| Expenditure | 2026 amount | What it covers | FDD page(s) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Decorating, Cleaning Station, Furniture, Fans & Furnishings | $4,200–$6,315 | Specified studio furnishings and setup items | p. 12 |
| Equipment Package | $106,540–$156,089 | Exercise equipment, shipping, installation and setup | Items 5 and 7, pp. 5, 12–13 |
| Technology Systems | $2,850–$6,850 | Computer/POS, audiovisual, music, security and telephone systems | pp. 12–13 |
| First Aid Equipment | $1,350–$2,100 | AED machine and first-aid kit | pp. 12, 14 |
| Opening Inventory | $2,550–$4,250 | Office, cleaning and safety supplies plus approved nutrition products | pp. 12, 14 |
| Uniforms | $600–$1,000 | Required employee uniforms | p. 12 |
| Grand Opening Marketing Commitment | $29,195–$43,275 | Pre-opening campaign plus $15,000 during the first 90 days after opening | pp. 12, 14 |
| Business Licenses | $250–$750 | Required government licenses and permits | p. 12 |
| Professional Fees | $4,000–$5,240 | Optional but recommended legal and accounting support | pp. 12, 14 |
| Insurance | $800–$1,500 | Three months of premium; high end assumes optional pandemic insurance | pp. 12, 14 |
The $43,275 high-end launch-marketing estimate is not merely the highest stated minimum. It assumes a territory with at least 15,001 qualified households and $7,500 of spending above the $20,775 pre-opening minimum, followed by the required $15,000 post-opening spend. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, page 14.
Payroll, financial assurance and working capital
The final cost group funds certified coaches before opening, the initial financial-assurance premium and three months of operating reserves.
| Expenditure | 2026 amount | Important qualification | FDD page(s) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-opening Payroll | $10,000–$20,000 | Three certified coaches during the three months before opening; the low case assumes two are unpaid owners or owners’ spouses | pp. 12, 14 |
| Surety Bond Premium (initial) | $500–$1,500 | Only the premium or issuance cost; required principal is at least $50,000 per Studio | pp. 12, 14 |
| Additional Funds (three months) | $30,000–$45,000 | Operating expenses and working capital; excludes owner wages or salary | pp. 12, 14–15 |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $262,735–$481,369 | Official single-Studio total | p. 12 |
The three-month reserve covers payroll other than owner compensation, technology charges, the Balance Tracker payment, third-party software, inventory replenishment, telephone, utilities and miscellaneous working capital. The first three months of rent, local advertising and insurance are separately included elsewhere in Item 7.
Why can the opening cost vary by more than $218,000?
The largest disclosed variables are the required equipment order, construction, the three-month reserve, launch marketing, lease deposit and rent, and pre-opening payroll. Construction can be $0 when a landlord tenant-improvement allowance covers the work, while the high estimate assumes no such allowance. Item 7 assumes leased premises; the cost to purchase real estate is excluded because the franchisor says it varies too widely to estimate.
The bars use a common $160,000 scale. Exact official low and high amounts are printed beside each category.
Interpretation: Equipment and premises decisions dominate the disclosed spread; the chart does not imply that every high amount will occur together. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 11–15. Official FDD figures; no derived midpoint is used.
What makes the Equipment Package range franchise-specific?
The package is purchased from affiliate Gymbot and includes proprietary EXERBOTICS® equipment, non-proprietary equipment, shipping, installation and setup. Three optional machines and variable logistics costs materially change the package price.
The package also includes the first and last $799 monthly payments for the EXERBOTICS® Balance Tracker, stated as $1,600 after rounding. The full purchase price is due when the order is placed. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, page 5.
When is the franchise money paid?
The first mandatory payments occur at contract signing, followed by site, equipment, training and launch expenditures before opening. Operating reserves are then used during the first three months after opening.
Sign the Franchise Agreement
Pay the $49,500 initial fee and $5,000 training fee. Qualified veterans receive a 10% discount on the initial fee, reducing it to $44,550. Extra Management Training participants above four may cost $625 each.
Secure the site and approve the lease
Fund the security deposit and rent, utilities deposits, legal review, design and construction obligations. The official lease estimate assumes one month’s security deposit plus three months of rent for an 800- to 2,000-square-foot Studio.
Order equipment and build the Studio
Pay the required equipment order in full when placed. Signage, furnishings, Technology Systems, First Aid Equipment, Opening Inventory, uniforms, licenses, insurance and professional costs are generally paid before opening.
Complete training and Grand Opening preparation
Pay travel and living expenses as incurred, fund pre-opening payroll for the required certified coaches, and spend the applicable pre-opening marketing minimum based on qualified households in the territory.
Open and fund the initial operating period
Use the $30,000 to $45,000 operating reserve for the first three months. The royalty is waived for the first full or partial month after opening, but other disclosed fees and the $15,000 post-opening marketing commitment still apply according to their own start dates.
Payment amounts and timing: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 4–6 and Item 7, pages 11–15. The FDD expects most franchisees to open within 300 days after signing, but site selection, lease negotiation, financing, construction, equipment delivery, staffing and training can affect timing. Opening-timing source: Item 11, page 25.
How does an Area Development Agreement change the upfront cost?
An ADA requires a buyer to prepay the $49,500 first-Studio fee plus the full development payment for the additional Studios committed. Most area developers purchase rights for two or three Studios, producing a $40,000 to $65,000 upfront development payment.
| Total Studios committed | Initial Franchise Fee for that added Studio | Cumulative Development Fee | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $49,500 | — | First-Studio fee due with ADA |
| 2 | $40,000 | $40,000 | Entire Development Fee due with ADA |
| 3 | $25,000 | $65,000 | Entire Development Fee due with ADA |
| 4 | $25,000 | $90,000 | Entire Development Fee due with ADA |
| 5 | $20,000 | $110,000 | Entire Development Fee due with ADA |
| Each Studio after 5 | $20,000 | +$20,000 each | Included in upfront Development Fee |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, page 6; Item 7, pages 12 and 15.
Which fees continue after the Studio opens?
The operating cost structure combines Gross Sales-based charges, monthly minimums, local advertising expenditures, technology charges and the $799 Balance Tracker payment. The royalty and brand-fund contribution are separate from the local-marketing minimum.
| Recurring obligation | 2026 amount or basis | Timing and interaction | FDD page(s) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Greater of 6% of Gross Sales or $1,000/month | Due on the 7th day after each reporting period; waived for the first full or partial month after opening | p. 6 |
| Brand Fund Fee | 1% of Gross Sales | Due on the same schedule as Royalty Fee; not credited to Local Marketing | p. 6 |
| Digital Marketing Fee | Up to $1,000/month; currently $790 | Paid to FranBoost; credited toward Local Marketing | p. 6 |
| Local Marketing after Grand Opening Period | $4,000/month | Minimum local spend; first month prorated | p. 7 |
| Cooperative Advertising Fee | Up to $2,000/month | Only if imposed through a cooperative; credited toward Local Marketing | p. 7 |
| Proprietary Technology Fee | Up to $1,000/month; currently $518 | Begins the first full month after EXERBOTICS® equipment installation | pp. 7, 11 |
| Third-party Technology Fee | Up to $750/month; currently $596 | Collected for designated third-party systems; additional direct third-party fees may apply | pp. 7, 11 |
| EXERBOTICS® Balance Tracker | $799/month | Paid to Gymbot; first and last monthly payments are included in the Equipment Package | p. 7 |
Gross Sales basis. Item 6 defines Gross Sales broadly as gross sums collected or invoiced from goods and services sold by the Studio or otherwise related to it. The definition excludes sales or use taxes, ordinary-course sales of furniture, fixtures and equipment, and client refunds, while separate rules apply to complimentary sessions and prepaid products. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, page 10.
Each bar uses a $1,000 monthly scale. The current amount is shown first; the second bar shows the contractual maximum or the fixed disclosed amount.
Interpretation: The current technology and digital-marketing charges can change within the disclosed caps. The $790 digital charge is credited toward local marketing, so it should not automatically be added on top of the full $4,000 monthly minimum. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 6–8 and notes on page 11.
Fixed-dollar fees and minimum fees may be adjusted for U.S. Consumer Price Index changes under the FDD’s formula. Exercise Coach USA, LLC must give at least 60 days’ notice, and it may make no more than one CPI adjustment during any five-year period. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, page 11.
Which fees arise only in particular circumstances?
Item 6 also creates costs for extra training, relocation, renewal, transfer, inspections, audit failures, late payment, defaults and early termination. These are not normal monthly charges, but they can be material when the triggering event occurs.
- Training and certification.Up to $500 per person per day plus Travel Expenses for onsite training; GSC Certification up to $250 per person and SBB Certification up to $550 per person; required conferences up to $500 per person per day.
- Relocation.$2,500 when a request to relocate the Studio is approved.
- Renewal.20% of the non-discounted Initial Franchise Fee in effect when the renewal agreement is signed. Renewal also requires remodeling and equipment upgrades to then-current standards.
- Transfer.$15,000 for a Franchise Agreement transfer, reduced to $7,500 when the buyer is an existing system franchisee; that reduced fee covers multiple Studios transferred to the same existing franchisee at one time. The $25,000 ADA transfer charge covers the related Franchise Agreements transferred with it. Broker commissions or resale-service reimbursement may be additional.
- Audit and inspection.Actual audit cost if required reports are late or Gross Sales are understated by 3% or more; actual quality-assurance and reinspection costs in the disclosed circumstances.
- Requested changes or alternate suppliers.A Legal Support Fee of up to $500 per occurrence is reserved but not currently imposed. Review of an alternate product, service or supplier costs $50 per hour plus testing, travel and other out-of-pocket expenses.
- Late payment and noncompliance.$100 late fee plus default interest, a possible $50 NSF fee, and up to $500 per noncompliance incident with another $500 every 48 hours while an uncured breach continues.
- Default management and legal costs.Up to $275 per day while the franchisor manages the Studio, plus actual cure costs, indemnification amounts and attorneys’ fees when applicable.
- Liquidated damages.$75,000 if more than five years remain in the term; otherwise a formula based on historical Royalty Fee and Brand Fund Fee amounts for up to 24 months or the remaining term, whichever is less.
- Prepaid Liabilities.At transfer, expiration or termination, the franchisor may require payment of the Studio’s total outstanding liability for unredeemed gift cards, packages, memberships or other prepaid items; a surety bond may also be required if the Studio closes.
Conditional-fee source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 7–10. The Franchise Agreement also permits periodic remodeling and renovation with no stated limit on cost or frequency. A transferee may have to complete upgrades within one year or a shorter period specified by the franchisor. Source: Item 11, page 25; Item 17, pages 37–38.
Does the 2026 FDD state a liquid-capital minimum or financing program?
The 2026 FDD does not state a general liquidity or net-worth minimum in Items 5, 6, 7 or 10. It does state that area developers must satisfy the franchisor’s minimum financial and performance criteria before signing each additional Franchise Agreement, but those criteria are not quantified in the reviewed cost sections.
The official investment range therefore should not be treated as a disclosed cash-on-hand requirement. The official investment estimate, available cash, net worth and financing approval are different concepts. The FTC’s guide to buying a franchise explains why buyers should compare the FDD’s investment estimate with their own funding capacity and professional review.
What cost questions remain unresolved by the official range?
The FDD provides the contractual range, but site conditions, landlord concessions, optional equipment, local compliance and financing structure can still move the amount and payment schedule. These points should be resolved against the current agreements and the specific proposed territory.
- Confirm the exact Equipment Package quote.Identify optional EXERBOTICS® machines, freight, installation, setup, sales tax and any equipment that will be financed or leased.
- Separate landlord allowance from rent economics.A tenant-improvement allowance can reduce construction cash while increasing rent over the lease term.
- Verify the territory’s Grand Opening Marketing tier.The pre-opening minimum depends on the number of qualified households, while the post-opening requirement is an additional $15,000.
- Reconcile monthly marketing credits.Confirm how the Digital Marketing Fee and any Cooperative Advertising Fee are credited toward the $4,000 Local Marketing Commitment.
- Obtain the financial criteria in writing.The cost sections do not quantify a general Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold, and ADA criteria for later Studios are not stated as numbers.
- Budget for uncapped upgrades.Periodic remodeling, renewal upgrades and transfer upgrades have no disclosed dollar cap in the 2026 FDD.
- Check state-specific filings and addenda.Registration, effective dates and contract modifications can vary by state; use the relevant regulator and the current state addendum.
Official documents and regulatory tools
These official destinations help verify the brand, understand federal disclosure rules and identify the appropriate state franchise regulator.
What is the practical capital takeaway?
A prospective buyer should anchor on the official $262,735 to $481,369 single-Studio range, then identify where the proposed site falls on equipment, construction, rent, launch marketing and payroll. The $30,000 to $45,000 three-month reserve is already inside that total and covers only the first three operating months, excluding owner compensation.
An Area Development Agreement raises the disclosed starting range to $302,735 to $548,869 for rights to two or three Studios, but it does not fund the later Studio openings. After opening, the buyer must separately account for the Gross Sales-based royalty and brand-fund contribution, the $4,000 local-marketing minimum, technology charges, the $799 Balance Tracker payment and event-triggered costs such as renewal, transfer and uncapped remodeling.