How much does a Spherion franchise cost?
The 2026 Spherion Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $132,980 to $301,040 to open a new-market Spherion General Staffing franchise in the United States. The range includes the Initial Franchise Fee, office setup, required technology, opening advertising, training travel, licenses, insurance and $50,000 to $120,000 of Additional Funds for Working Capital.
Estimated Initial Investment for one new-market Spherion General Staffing office under the May 14, 2026 FDD. The estimate assumes an approved office location and includes working capital for the first six to eleven months.
Source: 2026 Spherion FDD, Item 7, pp. 18–21. Spherion’s current official investment information displays the same total range.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Spherion Staffing, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company. FDD issuance date: May 14, 2026. Primary format: Spherion General Staffing in a new undeveloped U.S. market. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information checked July 14, 2026. The matching 2026 FDD is not publicly linked on the official franchise-controlled website, so FDD citations below are unlinked by Item and page. See official Spherion U.S. franchise information.
Capital snapshot
What is included in the $132,980 to $301,040 estimate?
The range covers sixteen Item 7 categories. It is not simply the franchise fee, and it is not a separate cash-reserve requirement. The Additional Funds for Working Capital line is already included in the total, so adding it again would double-count $50,000 to $120,000.
Contract, technology and launch costs
| Item 7 category | 2026 range | Payment timing | Primary payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fees | $30,000–$50,000 | Franchise Agreement execution | Spherion Staffing, LLC |
| Computer System Hardware | $6,000–$10,000 | Debited against commission statement | Spherion and approved suppliers |
| Hardware Installation | $800–$3,000 | As incurred | Spherion preferred vendor |
| Opening Advertising | $7,500–$12,500 | Before opening, as incurred | Advertising suppliers |
| Training Expenses | $2,800–$4,690 | As arranged | Travel, lodging and other suppliers |
| Start-up Supplies | $510–$1,050 | As arranged | Suppliers |
| Professional Fees | $1,050–$5,200 | As incurred | Attorney, accountant and consultants |
| Business Licenses | $160–$5,000 | As incurred | Government agency |
Premises, equipment, insurance and working capital
| Item 7 category | 2026 range | What the estimate assumes | Timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Real Property | $2,500 | One month of rent; approximately 1,500 square feet | Monthly, as arranged |
| Furniture and Fixtures | $15,500–$35,000 | Desks, chairs, files and common office furnishings | As incurred |
| Leasehold Improvements | $10,000–$20,000 | Varies with condition, size and landlord contribution | As incurred |
| Signs | $2,000–$10,000 | Approved interior and exterior signage | As incurred |
| Equipment | $500–$15,000 | Telecom and office equipment; high end assumes a security system | As incurred |
| Insurance | $3,500–$6,000 | Pre-opening amount; annual premium may rarely be due upfront | As incurred |
| Utility Expenses | $160–$1,100 | Deposits and service setup | As incurred |
| Additional Funds for Working Capital | $50,000–$120,000 | Office payroll, advertising and other initial operating costs | First 6–11 months |
| Official Item 7 total | $132,980–$301,040 | All sixteen categories above reconcile to the FDD total. | |
Interpretation: working capital creates the largest absolute swing, while premises and equipment create substantial site-specific variation. Source: 2026 Spherion FDD, Item 7, pp. 18–21. The chart selects the largest variable categories and does not replace the complete tables.
The official low end assumes multiple favorable outcomes at once. Lease condition, landlord contribution, security equipment, local licensing, training travel and hiring costs can move independently. The FDD also states that more funds may be needed during or after the first six to eleven months.
How does the market tier change the initial franchise fee?
Spherion assigns the Initial Franchise Fee by the prior year’s temporary-help payroll in the proposed Area. The FDD says the tier is based on published Bureau of Labor Statistics data as indicated by data experts, but it does not identify the exact data series; the BLS employment and wage data program provides official market-level context. For a single undeveloped market, the 2026 FDD lists $30,000 for Tier 3, $40,000 for Tier 2 and $50,000 for Tier 1. The full amount is due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Interpretation: the market-tier decision changes the upfront fee by as much as $20,000, but it does not set the remaining Item 7 costs. Source: 2026 Spherion FDD, Item 5, pp. 8–9, and Item 7, pp. 18–19.
Which franchise-fee discounts are disclosed?
Only one eligible discount applies per Franchise Agreement. The discount changes the Initial Franchise Fee, not rent, equipment, working capital or every other Item 7 category. The 2026 FDD also contains a Territory Development example that does not reconcile cleanly with the displayed tier and discount schedule; this article therefore does not reproduce that disputed example amount.
When is the money paid?
The largest contractual payment occurs at signing, while premises, technology, advertising and training costs are paid during the pre-opening period. Spherion’s official ownership process says the franchise fee is paid with contract signing and describes an opening target of roughly three to four months after signing; the binding timing is the Franchise Agreement and current FDD.
The cover states that $34,745 to $65,025 of the total investment is payable to Spherion or its affiliates. The rest is largely paid to landlords, contractors, insurers, government agencies, professionals and approved suppliers rather than being remitted as one check to the franchisor.
Does Spherion charge a traditional royalty fee?
The 2026 FDD does not list a conventional royalty calculated as one percentage of gross sales. Spherion instead uses a commission-and-deduction structure: franchisees receive a 70% commission on Temporary Gross Profits and Full-Time Placement Sales, while Spherion retains the 30% balance. Separate support, marketing, technology and transaction fees can also be deducted from the franchisee’s commission statement.
Spherion’s commission-based cost structure
This structure is unusually important because a buyer cannot compare Spherion with a standard “royalty percentage” without reading the definitions of Sales, Direct Costs, Gross Profits, Temporary Gross Profits and Full-Time Placement Sales in Item 6 and the Franchise Agreement.
Recurring and usage-based Item 6 fees
| Fee entity | Amount or basis | When paid | Cost trigger |
|---|---|---|---|
| Temporary Sales Fee and Full-Time Placement Fee | 30% retained balance | Each Accounting Period | Temporary Gross Profits and Full-Time Placement Sales |
| Franchise Support Fee | 1.9% + 1.9% | Monthly deduction | Total gross payroll plus Full-Time Placement Sales |
| Spherion Marketing Fund | 0.25% of Sales | Monthly deduction or bill | Sales as defined in the FDD |
| Candidate Management System Fee | $10 or $75/license/month | Monthly deduction | Mandatory license type and user count |
| CRM System | $110/license/month | Monthly deduction | Mandatory license count |
| Phone & Fax Systems | $100/5 users; $15 extra user; $5 mainline; $25 talk; $10 fax | Monthly deduction | Desk phones are optional at $214–$270 each |
| I9 Virtual Inspection Fee | $20/inspection | Commission deduction | Temporary employee cannot be verified in person |
| The Work Number | $23.04–$150.29/check | Monthly deduction | Verification option selected |
| Reference Checking Software | $2.50/check | Monthly deduction | Preferred-vendor reference check sent |
| Accounts Receivable Funding Fee | [Prime + 1.5%] × 30/365 | Monthly deduction | Accounts receivable more than 60 days old |
The Franchise Support Fee may increase annually by the most recent CPI-U, capped at 5% of the then-current fee, except that the increase does not take effect after a year in which Spherion meets the corporate performance condition specified in Item 6. Source: 2026 Spherion FDD, Item 6, pp. 16–17.
Vendor costs Spherion may pass through later
Item 6 states that several current vendor charges are not presently passed through, but Spherion may change the policy and require reimbursement. These are not current recurring charges unless the policy changes.
Sources: 2026 Spherion FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–18. Vendor-imposed increases and policy changes can alter these amounts.
Which charges can increase costs after opening?
The largest post-opening uncertainty is not a fixed monthly software fee. It is exposure to receivables, insurance claims, workers’ compensation, Gross Profit Quotas, expansion, transfer and operational exceptions. These obligations are circumstance-dependent and are not captured as a single annual amount in Item 7.
Workers’ compensation and receivables can create costs far larger than a routine monthly license. A buyer should model the contractual trigger, deductible, payment timing and available financing separately rather than treating these obligations as ordinary overhead.
How much liquid capital or net worth does Spherion require?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a fixed Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. Spherion’s official website currently contains conflicting qualification figures, so neither website number should be treated as the controlling disclosure without written confirmation tied to the current offer.
A separate official commercial-model page displayed a $214,325 to $342,575 investment range when checked, while the May 14, 2026 FDD and the official investment page use $132,980 to $301,040. The current FDD governs this article. The conflicting page can be reviewed as official commercial-model information, but its cost figure should not replace Item 7.
What should be verified before relying on a qualification number?
How do Professional Services, territory development and resales change the cost?
The $132,980 to $301,040 range is specifically a new-market Spherion General Staffing estimate. The 2026 FDD identifies three paths that can change the cost contract: a Professional Services Addendum, a Territory Development Agreement and the purchase of an existing location.
A Territory Development buyer should obtain a location-by-location fee schedule rather than extrapolate from one single-unit tier. A resale buyer should separate the negotiated purchase price from transfer charges, required upgrades, lease obligations and working capital. A Professional Services buyer should confirm whether the $10,000 fee is included in the company-payment range applicable to the proposed transaction.
Does Spherion finance the initial investment?
Spherion does not finance the Initial Franchise Fee under Item 7. Item 10 says a franchisee generally must secure initial and continuing capital from other sources. The financing Spherion expressly describes relates to temporary payroll float, receivables and workers’ compensation—not a general loan for the full $132,980 to $301,040 opening budget.
Spherion’s official investment page says in-house financing is available to qualified entrepreneurs, but the current FDD provides the detailed contractual terms only for the workers’ compensation arrangements described above. Financing approval is not guaranteed, and it does not reduce the Item 7 estimate. The FTC Franchise Rule requires disclosure of the offered franchise relationship; buyers should compare any financing proposal with Item 10 and the actual loan documents.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the Spherion cost range?
The verified starting point is $132,980 to $301,040 for a new-market General Staffing office, but the decision depends on the exact Area, office, staffing plan and agreement package. The most important unresolved question is the current financial-qualification threshold because Spherion’s official pages conflict and the 2026 FDD does not state one.
Spherion’s initial investment is driven most heavily by working capital, market-tier franchise fees and office setup. After opening, the cost model shifts to commission retention, the Franchise Support Fee, the Spherion Marketing Fund, mandatory systems and event-triggered exposures. Liquid capital is a separate qualification question and is not interchangeable with either the Item 7 total or Net Worth.