How much does a Sit Means Sit franchise cost?
A new U.S. Sit Means Sit franchisee should read the current official investment range as $40,175 to $137,250. The June 19, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document applies that range to one Sit Means Sit dog-training Business in a designated Trade Area. The Business requires at least one suitable Vehicle, but a formal Training Facility is optional.
The $30,000 upfront fee is only one part of the capital requirement. The investment table also includes transportation, equipment and signs, computer hardware and software, training travel, opening collars, insurance, a required dog, pre-opening expenses, and a three-month operating reserve. Existing franchisees have separate totals because the signing charge changes according to franchise history.
These figures answer different questions. The total investment estimates the cost to establish and begin operating the Business; the upfront franchise charge is included inside that total; and a liquidity or net-worth threshold, when used in applicant screening, measures financial capacity rather than opening cost. A buyer should not add those figures together or treat the lower existing-owner range as available to a first-time applicant.
Estimated Initial Investment for a new franchisee. This is the 2026 FDD range disclosed on pages 10-12. The low end assumes no formal premises and minimal transportation cost; the high end includes larger premises, transportation, training, a required dog, and working-capital assumptions.
Data basis: Sit Means Sit Franchise, Inc., a Nevada corporation, is the legal franchisor; Sit Means Sit, Inc. (SMSI) is the cost-relevant affiliate and required supplier. The FDD was issued June 19, 2026. This analysis uses Item 5, pages 4-6; Item 6, pages 6-10; Item 7, pages 10-12; and cost provisions in Items 8, 10, 11, and 17. Information was checked July 23, 2026. The brand's official U.S. franchise information describes the offer, while the Wisconsin active franchise filing list shows Sit Means Sit Franchise, Inc. with an active filing through July 2, 2027. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public webpage, so FDD references below are intentionally unlinked.
Capital snapshot
The operating model is the same; the principal disclosed difference between these totals is the upfront fee schedule.
Source: 2026 Sit Means Sit FDD, Item 7, page 11. Bars show the full disclosed low-to-high ranges; they do not represent averages.
The official franchise FAQ, checked July 23, 2026, still displays a $66,675 to $163,750 total investment. That does not match the June 19, 2026 FDD. For the current U.S. offer, the disclosed ranges above control; a buyer should ask the franchisor to reconcile any website figure before relying on it.
Why are there three investment ranges?
The 2026 disclosure uses one operating model but changes the upfront fee for existing owners. A first-time buyer pays $30,000. Certain existing-owner categories pay $25,000, while a legacy cohort receives a declining schedule for later franchises.
| Buyer category | Initial Franchise Fee | Timing | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| New franchisee | $30,000 | When signing the contract | Item 5, page 5 |
| Existing franchisee: first franchise before July 2020, or additional purchase on/after June 1, 2025 | $25,000 | When signing the additional contract | Item 5, page 5 |
| Legacy cohort: second franchise | $15,500 | When signing | Item 5, page 5 |
| Legacy cohort: third franchise | $13,500 | When signing | Item 5, page 5 |
| Legacy cohort: fourth franchise | $11,500 | When signing | Item 5, page 5 |
| Legacy cohort: fifth and each additional franchise | $10,000 | When signing | Item 5, page 5 |
The $1,500 application fee and deposit is paid earlier. If the parties proceed, it is applied to the signing payment or a territory-reservation payment, but it remains nonrefundable even if either party later decides not to proceed. An existing franchisee who qualifies under the Franchisee Lead Referral Program may receive a $5,000 referral fee or refund connected with an additional territory; Item 7 expressly says that incentive is not reflected in its totals and may be changed or discontinued.
Item 5 contains overlapping date language for existing owners: one paragraph refers to an additional franchise purchased on or after June 1, 2025, while the next preserves tiered pricing for owners whose first franchise was purchased from July 1, 2020 through May 31, 2025. Item 7 labels its totals by the date of the first franchise. An existing owner should obtain written confirmation of the applicable category before signing or reserving another territory.
What is included in the $40,175 to $137,250 range?
The investment disclosure includes the new franchisee's $30,000 signing fee plus premises, transportation, technology, training, inventory, insurance, licensing, professional costs, a required dog, and a three-month operating reserve. The range is broad because several categories can be zero or minimal at the low end and substantial at the high end.
Premises, transportation, and technology
| Item 7 category | 2026 range | When paid | Main source of variation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Real Property & Leasehold Improvements | $0-$39,000 | Before opening | No formal Training Facility versus leased premises and improvements |
| Equipment and signs | $300-$1,000 | Before opening | Required equipment and brand specifications |
| Sit Means Sit Vehicle(s) | $400-$23,500 | Before opening | Existing suitable Vehicle versus purchase or lease and modifications |
| Computer Hardware and Software | $0-$3,000 | Before opening | Existing compliant equipment versus new system |
| CRM Setup Fee | $1,000 | Before opening | Fixed one-time onboarding and configuration fee |
| Insurance Deposits and Premiums | $150-$3,300 | As arranged | Location, employees, Vehicle coverage, and insurer terms |
Training, opening purchases, and operating cushion
| Item 7 category | 2026 range | When paid | What the amount covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Training Fee | $0-$2,500 | Before opening | One trainee has no additional fee; the high end includes a second trainee |
| Wages, Travel, Lodging and Living Expenses During Training | $2,620-$6,680 | Before opening | Travel mode, distance, attendee count, meals, lodging, and wages |
| Opening Inventory Collars | $630-$1,570 | Before opening | Required purchase from SMSI |
| Pre-opening Advertising | $200-$700 | As incurred | Brochures, business cards, magnets, media, and related materials |
| Licenses and Permits | $25-$700 | Before opening | Local governmental requirements |
| Professional Fees | $0-$3,000 | As incurred | Attorneys, accountants, and other advisers |
| Demonstration Dog | $50-$7,500 | Before training | Adoption at the low end or purchase at the high end |
| Additional Funds - 3 Months | $4,800-$13,800 | As incurred | Operating expenses, including the first three months of the CRM System Fee |
Premises and Vehicle decisions create the largest disclosed swings. The scale runs from $0 to the $39,000 maximum for Real Property & Leasehold Improvements.
Source: 2026 Sit Means Sit FDD, Item 7, pages 10-12. These are official low/high ranges, not a recommended budget or a prediction for a particular market.
The low end depends on a mobile or public-venue model
The investment table assigns $0 to Real Property & Leasehold Improvements at the low end. A franchisee may train in public venues and within the Trade Area, but must still have at least one suitable Vehicle and comply with local zoning and operating rules.
Premises can move the investment outside the disclosed range
The high-end facility assumptions use 1,000 to 3,500 square feet in Las Vegas, including about $6,000 for first and last month's rent and $6,000 to $9,000 for construction and improvements. Buying a facility or constructing a freestanding building will likely cost substantially more than the published range. The franchisor's capital commitment page and home-based format description provide additional official context, but local quotes remain necessary.
The three-month operating reserve is already inside the published total. Do not add the $4,800 to $13,800 a second time. The amount covers three months and includes three monthly CRM charges, but the FDD does not say that it includes the owner's personal living expenses or owner compensation.
When is the money paid?
The first payment can occur at application, while the largest payment generally occurs when the contract is signed. Most third-party costs are then incurred before opening, and the operating reserve is used during the first three months. The 2026 FDD estimates that most franchisees open within one to four months after signing, subject to training, transportation, premises, permitting, and financing delays.
- ApplicationPay the $1,500 application fee and deposit. It covers credit and criminal-background review, is nonrefundable, and is credited only if the transaction proceeds.
- Optional Trade Area reservationPay $5,000 per reserved Trade Area under the reservation agreement. The deposit is credited toward the signing fee if a franchise contract is signed by the deadline. A one-year extension requires another deposit equal to 50% of the then-current signing fee.
- Contract signingA new franchisee pays the $30,000 initial fee when signing, less applicable credits. Existing franchisees follow the separate fee schedule.
- Before openingPay or arrange transportation, equipment, computer, CRM setup, training travel, opening collars, the required dog, premises, insurance, licenses, and other pre-opening costs.
- Opening and first three monthsUse the $4,800 to $13,800 three-month allowance for operating expenses. The first three current $800 monthly CRM charges are included in this allowance.
Source: June 19, 2026 disclosure, Item 5, pages 4-6; Item 7, pages 10-12; and Item 11, page 18.
State addenda can override the standard payment sequence. The 2026 FDD defers initial fees in Maryland until pre-opening obligations are completed; in Illinois until initial obligations are completed and the Business is operating; in North Dakota until pre-opening obligations are completed, with Trade Area Reservation payments deferreduntil the first reserved franchise opens; and in California until pre-opening obligations are completed and the franchisee is open. See the State-Specific Addenda at pages 37, 34, 43, and 50 respectively.
The official franchise application asks for assets, liabilities, net worth, background information, and Trade Area preferences. The FTC's Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains federal disclosure timing and why a prospect should compare the FDD, signed contract, and local cost evidence before paying.
Which fees continue after opening?
A new 2026 buyer pays a monthly royalty, the monthly CRM charge, and the financial-database license, while also funding local advertising and required digital services. Required products and services can create additional variable operating costs paid to the franchisor, SMSI, Qvinci, or designated suppliers.
| Ongoing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Payee / condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Continuing Royalty for a new 2026 buyer | Greater of 6% of Gross Sales or $800/month | Due by the 5th; late after the 10th | Sit Means Sit Franchise, Inc. |
| CRM System Fee | Currently $800/month | Due by the 5th; late after the 10th | Required CRM access for each Business |
| Franchise Financial Database | Currently $14.95/month | Upon invoice | Current designated provider Qvinci |
| Local Advertising | At least 1% of Gross Sales each quarter | Quarterly spending requirement | Media, approved vendors, and promotional suppliers |
| Digital marketing and SEO | Not disclosed | Ongoing under separate vendor agreement | Required designated third-party provider |
| Required products and supplies | Variable | As ordered or required | SMSI, franchisor, affiliates, or approved suppliers |
Source: June 19, 2026 disclosure, Item 6, pages 6-10, and Item 11, pages 20-21.
The monthly minimum matters because it applies even when the percentage calculation would be lower. The local marketing requirement is separate from the royalty and is spent on approved promotion rather than remitted to a central fund. The digital-services line is also separate: the FDD requires the designated provider but gives no current dollar amount, so it cannot be folded into a reliable monthly total without a vendor quote.
- Gross Sales
- All revenue received or receivable for goods and services sold or promoted under the Marks, excluding separately stated taxes actually remitted, tips paid directly to employees, and isolated equipment or trade-fixture sales outside the ordinary course.
- Advertising structure
- There is no central advertising fund and no required local or regional cooperative. The 1% requirement is direct local advertising expenditure.
- Fee escalation
- Unless otherwise stated, a then-current Item 6 fee may increase by up to 10% per year, calculated cumulatively, plus underlying third-party cost increases even when those exceed 10%.
Legacy royalty schedules remain different
The supplier disclosure estimates that required purchases and leases represent approximately 55% to 90% of the cost of establishing the franchise and approximately 5% to 50% of ongoing operating costs. SMSI is the sole approved supplier for required training, training collars, leashes, and training cots. CRM transitions may create additional onboarding or conversion costs, and the designated website and SEO provider is paid directly at an amount the FDD does not disclose.
Which fees arise only when an event occurs?
Item 6 contains a substantial event-triggered fee schedule. These charges are not part of the normal monthly baseline and should not be converted into a routine annual estimate, but they can become material during training, transfer, noncompliance, default, audit, or early termination.
- Training and personnel: $2,500 for each additional Initial Training Program attendee plus a $150 background check; $1,000 per apprentice plus a $150 background check; optional or individualized training currently $150 per person per day; owners-only meetings cost $150 to $350 per attendee.
- Periodic background checks: currently $150 each, generally no more frequently than annually, for the franchisee and Authorized Trainers.
- Supplier approval: estimated at $3,000 to $4,000 for inspection, testing, travel, and related costs when a franchisee asks Sit Means Sit to approve a new supplier.
- Transfer or Assignment: the greater of the franchisor's out-of-pocket expenses, $5,000, or 10% of the consideration paid for the Business. The estimate is paid with the request and the final fee before transfer.
- System compliance: $100 per occurrence for each week of noncompliance; a failed material inspection may require reimbursement estimated at $3,000 to $4,000.
- Re-certification: mandatory every three years. Attendance has no tuition fee, but travel, lodging, and living expenses remain the franchisee's responsibility. Missing re-certification triggers $2,500 plus reasonable attorneys' fees.
- Payment failures: late interest is 10% per year or the highest lawful rate, whichever is less, with a $25 minimum. Unpaid checks, drafts, or electronic payments carry bank fees of at least $50 plus related costs.
- Default, audit, and legal exposure: default reimbursement and legal fees are estimated at $500 to $100,000; under-reported Gross Sales require the shortfall plus interest up to 18%; indemnification varies with the claim and requires defense at the franchisee's cost.
- Early termination: Liquidated Damages equal the greater of the average monthly royalty for the previous 12 months or the applicable minimum monthly royalty, multiplied by the lesser of 36 months or the months remaining in the term.
- Other possible charges: toll-free call costs are not currently charged; optional accounting or other support services may carry separate fees; Vehicle refurbishment or replacement may be required on transfer, and rebranding may be required at the franchisee's expense if Marks change.
Source: June 19, 2026 disclosure, Item 6, pages 7-10, and Item 17, pages 28-32.
The fee table does not list a fixed renewal fee or a separate relocation fee. The relationship table instead requires a qualifying franchisee to sign a successor agreement that may have different terms, meet then-current training and certification requirements, and provide notice 9 to 12 months before expiration. Moving a Training Facility requires approval and de-identification of the former site, with no stated dollar cap.
How much liquid capital or net worth is required?
The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum for liquid capital, net worth, or non-borrowed funds. The official franchise webpage, checked July 23, 2026, separately states at least $50,000 of Net Worth plus $20,000 of liquidity. Because that same webpage contains cost figures that do not match the 2026 FDD, these amounts should be treated as current website screening language, not as substitutes for the FDD or a lender's underwriting criteria.
Item 10 states that the franchisor and its affiliates do not offer direct or indirect Financing and do not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation. An applicant may use outside financing, but approval is not guaranteed by the franchisor. The official application requires disclosure of assets, liabilities, net worth, and credit-related information.
The contractual structure also extends beyond the applicant's cash contribution. The FDD requires owners and their spouses to sign an Owner Agreement, and the cover risk disclosure states that the spouse can become liable for financial obligations even without an ownership interest. That is a personal-guarantee issue, not another opening-cost line, but it can expose personal and marital assets.
Which costs remain unresolved by the official range?
The published range is an official disclosure, not a location-specific construction or operating budget. A prospective franchisee still needs current written quotes and must identify costs that are disclosed only as variable, then-current, future, or not stated.
A practical verification file should reconcile each quote to the same opening plan: whether premises are used, how many trainees attend, whether a suitable vehicle is already owned, and which services are required at launch. Mixing a low-end premises assumption with a high-end staffing or technology plan produces a number that the franchisor did not publish and that may not match any real operating configuration.
What matters most before committing funds?
For a new franchisee, the verified 2026 opening range is the amount shown in the primary answer above. The principal range drivers are premises, transportation, the required dog, training travel, insurance, technology, and the three-month operating reserve. The $30,000 signing fee does not represent the full opening requirement.
After opening, the clearest fixed or formula-based obligations are the greater of 6% of Gross Sales or $800 per month for the royalty, the current $800 monthly CRM charge, the current $14.95 database license, and at least 1% of Gross Sales spent locally each quarter. Required suppliers, digital marketing, technology replacement, transfer, default, and state-specific timing can materially change the cash profile even when they do not change the published opening range.