How much does a Senior Helpers franchise cost?
A new Senior Helpers Care Business requires an estimated initial investment of $176,500 to $231,500 under the April 29, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued by the franchisor. That investment range applies to one new U.S. franchised business and includes the applicable Initial Franchise Fee plus three months of operating capital.
A resale has a separate cost contract. Excluding the price paid to acquire the existing business, the disclosure estimates $87,700 to $230,000 for an acquired operation. The two ranges should not be blended because the transfer table substitutes a $27,500 Transfer Fee for the franchise fee and uses different assumptions for office, staffing, equipment, professional fees, recruitment, and working capital.
Verified new-unit investment range. The 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 15–18, covers one office-based business. It includes a three-month operating-capital allowance, but local licensing, workers’ compensation coverage, financing costs, and expenses outside the stated assumptions can still move the buyer’s cash need.
Data basis: SH Franchising, LLC; Senior Helpers Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 29, 2026; new and resale/transfer formats; cost-relevant Items 5–8, 10, 11, and 17; figures checked July 19, 2026. No matching current disclosure was located on a franchise-controlled public domain, so document citations below use plain-text Item and page references rather than clickable links.
Brand and offer-status context was checked against the official U.S. franchise website. The current disclosure remains the controlling source for the cost figures.
Capital snapshot
What is included in the $176,500 to $231,500 new-unit range?
The April 29, 2026 investment table combines the franchise fee, office and training costs, required operating assets, launch spending, staffing, insurance, permits, and three months of operating capital. Its largest categories are the franchise fee, operating capital, Additional Staffing, Leasehold Improvements, and Furniture & Fixtures and Equipment.
Agreement, office, training, and operating assets
| Cost category | Range | When paid | Main cost relationship |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $55,000–$75,000 | At signing | Paid to SH Franchising, LLC; territory population sets the tier. |
| Travel and Living Expenses While Training | $2,000–$3,000 per participant | During training | Airlines, hotels, and restaurants; wages and workers’ compensation during training are also the franchisee’s responsibility. |
| Lease, Utility and Security Deposits | $11,000–$13,000 | At lease signing or account setup | Approximately 1,000 square feet, signage, and a separate Center of Excellence training area. |
| Leasehold Improvements | $17,000–$23,000 | As incurred | Varies with office condition and any tenant-improvement allowance. |
| Furniture & Fixtures and Equipment, including Computer System | $17,500–$20,400 | When ordered | Includes training-area assets, computer hardware, required software setup, and the $1,500 IT Jump Start program. |
| Business License & Permits | $0–$12,500 | As incurred | Depends on state and local licensing requirements for the care agency and office. |
| Insurance | $4,000–$5,000 | Before opening | Initial property and public-liability premium estimate; other coverage can vary materially. |
Launch, staffing, and working capital
| Cost category | Range | When paid | What the category covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Promotional Items | $2,500–$4,000 | When ordered | Approved-vendor items and printing used for territory marketing. |
| Additional Staffing | $23,000–$25,000 | As incurred | Initial full-time office support and marketing personnel. |
| Supplies | $700–$1,500 | When ordered | Office supplies used in operating the Franchised Business. |
| Initial Advertising | $6,000–$7,000 | Before and during launch | Recommended opening-period advertising and promotional campaigns. |
| Legal/Professional Fees | $100–$1,300 | As incurred | Attorney, accountant, risk-management, and other advisory review. |
| Recruitment | $1,500–$2,000 | As incurred | Recruiting employees and caregivers. |
| Additional Funds (3 months) | $36,200–$39,800 | During the first three months | Payroll, payroll taxes, service and royalty charges, Marketing Fund contributions, rent, technology fees, additional advertising, professional fees, supplies, deposits, and other startup-period expenses. |
Source: Item 7, pages 15–18; related supplier and insurance obligations in Item 8, pages 21–24. The three-month amount is already included in the official total and must not be added a second time.
The office is not a home-based or virtual format. The disclosure assumes an approved office of about 1,000 square feet with signage and a dedicated training area. Lease terms, buildout condition, licensing, and insurance therefore remain material range drivers even though this is a service business.
How does buying an existing business change the cost?
For a 2026 resale, the disclosed range is $87,700 to $230,000, excluding the acquisition price. The transfer table replaces the new-unit franchise fee with a $27,500 transfer charge and allows several categories to start at $0 if the buyer can retain the existing office, staffing, leasehold improvements, furniture, fixtures, or equipment.
The acquisition range excludes the price paid for the existing business.
Interpretation: an acquisition can require substantially less setup capital at the low end, but its high end nearly reaches the new-unit maximum before the business purchase price is counted. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 15–21.
| Cost category | New business | Resale/transfer | Why the ranges differ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchisor payment | $55,000–$75,000 | $27,500 | Initial Franchise Fee versus Transfer Fee; broker fees may also apply to a transfer. |
| Leasehold Improvements | $17,000–$23,000 | $0–$23,000 | An existing office may reduce or eliminate immediate work. |
| Additional Staffing | $23,000–$25,000 | $0–$50,000 | The acquired business may already have staff or may need a larger transition budget. |
| Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment | $17,500–$20,400 | $0–$12,000 | Usable assets may transfer with the business, subject to standards. |
| Legal/Professional Fees | $100–$1,300 | $1,000–$5,000 | A business acquisition may require more legal, accounting, and HR review. |
| Three-month operating capital | $36,200–$39,800 | $36,000–$60,500 | The resale estimate assumes some billed activity but allows a wider transition range. |
The purchase price is not inside the disclosed resale range. A buyer must evaluate the acquisition consideration separately from the transfer, transition, and working-capital estimate.
Why does the franchise fee vary by service-area size?
The April 29, 2026 disclosure prices the Initial Franchise Fee by the number of residents age 65 or older in the Territory. The standard area uses the lowest population band; three larger bands have higher fixed fees.
Each column shows the fixed amount for one population band.
Interpretation: a larger area can add up to $20,000 to the base fee before other startup categories change. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pages 8 and 15–16. The official area information identifies current U.S. availability but does not replace the document’s fee schedule.
Qualified U.S. military veterans receive a 15% discount on the franchise fee. The discount applies only to that fee, not to rent, improvements, staffing, equipment, insurance, operating capital, or the remaining startup categories. The eligibility terms appear in Item 5 and are also described on the official veteran franchise incentive page.
When is the startup money paid?
The startup estimate is not paid on one date. Cash moves through five practical milestones: agreement signing, office commitments, ordering and setup, training and launch, and the first three months of operations.
Sign the Franchise Agreement
Pay the $55,000 to $75,000 franchise fee in a lump sum. It is fully earned and nonrefundable. For an acquisition, the $27,500 transfer charge is due at closing instead.
Commit to the approved office
Fund lease, utility, and security deposits when the lease or service accounts begin, then pay Leasehold Improvements as work is completed. The franchisor must approve the proposed office before the lease is signed.
Order operating assets and systems
Pay for Furniture & Fixtures, training-area equipment, Computer System components, the IT Jump Start program, supplies, signage, and promotional items when ordered or installed.
Complete training and pre-opening work
Pay participant travel and living expenses during training, insurance before opening, and recruitment, staffing, permits, professional fees, and Initial Advertising as incurred. The official training and launch overview describes the remote, classroom, and office-preparation sequence.
Carry the first three operating months
Use the included operating-capital allowance for payroll, payroll taxes, rent, royalty charges, system marketing contributions, technology fees, professional costs, additional advertising, supplies, and other startup-period obligations.
The agreement requires opening within 240 days. After that deadline, a $500 late-opening charge becomes due at the start of each additional 30-day period. The franchisor’s separate franchise purchase process describes the pre-signing sequence, but the contractual payment deadlines come from the disclosure and agreement.
Which fees continue after opening?
The recurring structure combines sales-based charges, fixed periodic fees, employee-count technology tiers, per-license software charges, local advertising, and required training expenses. Core system charges are generally collected by automatic electronic debit.
| Ongoing obligation | Amount or basis | Payment timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5% of Gross Sales | Biweekly | After Year 1, the greater of 5% of Gross Sales or the Minimum Periodic Royalty Payment applies. Eligible first-time owners can pay 2.5% for the first six months when the agreement is signed and fee paid on Discovery Day. |
| Marketing Fund | 1.5% of first $2M; 0.75% above $2M | Biweekly | Per Territory per calendar year, minimum $75 per billing period; may rise up to 2% of Gross Sales after notice. |
| Local advertising | Greater of $1,500 monthly or 2% of Gross Sales | Monthly | Starts at least two weeks before operations and is separate from the Marketing Fund contribution. |
| Brand Management Fee | Currently $100 per two-week period | Biweekly | Per Territory; can increase to $375 per two-week period after notice. |
| IT Fee | $465, $485, or $535 monthly | Monthly | Tiered for fewer than 50, 50–99, or 100-plus employees; an administrative fee of up to 10% may be added to increased IT costs. |
| Home Care Software | $10 per active client; $85 monthly minimum | Monthly | Required WellSky license; the $750 training fee is part of the startup technology discussion. |
| Email/Microsoft Office/SPAM/Support | $22 per license | Monthly | Required vendor license. |
| National conference | About $1,199 main attendee; $499 additional attendee | As incurred | Attendance is required; nonattendance adds a $2,000 fee plus registration. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 8–15; Item 7, pages 16–20; Item 8, pages 21–24.
Minimum biweekly Royalty schedule after Year 1
Beginning in Year 2, each biweekly Royalty is the greater of 5% of Gross Sales for the period or the disclosed Minimum Periodic Royalty Payment.
| Year of Operation | Minimum Periodic Royalty Payment | Billing basis |
|---|---|---|
| Year 2 | $769.23 | Per two-week period |
| Year 3 | $1,057.69 | Per two-week period |
| Year 4 | $1,250.00 | Per two-week period |
| Year 5 | $1,442.31 | Per two-week period |
| Year 6 | $1,634.62 | Per two-week period |
| Year 7 | $1,826.92 | Per two-week period |
| Year 8 | $2,019.23 | Per two-week period |
| Year 9 | $2,211.54 | Per two-week period |
| Year 10 and later | $2,403.85 | Per two-week period |
Source: Item 6, pages 13–15. These are minimum royalty payments, not estimates of annual sales or operating results.
Which fees arise only after a specific event or default?
The 2026 fee table also creates event-triggered obligations that are not part of the normal monthly budget. The amount depends on the transaction, lateness, noncompliance, audit result, insurance failure, or termination circumstance.
- Transfer Fee50% of the then-current franchise fee, or more if needed to reimburse review expenses; a 25% to 50% ownership transfer carries a $5,000 fee. Certain controlled-entity transfers are waived.
- Offering Fee$7,500 or a greater amount needed to cover the franchisor’s review costs for a proposed stock or partnership-interest offering.
- Late reporting and payment costsInterest of 1.5% per month or the highest lawful commercial rate; $150 per day for late Gross Sales reporting, capped at $600 per occurrence; and an additional $250 when Gross Sales must be estimated.
- Late Opening Date Minimum Royalty$500 for each 30-day period beginning after the 240-day opening deadline.
- Audit CostsThe cost of the examination when required reports are missing or late, or when an examination finds a Gross Sales understatement exceeding 5%.
- Non-Compliance Fee$500 per occurrence plus $100 for each week the separate default or noncompliance remains uncured.
- Cross-Territorial Policies Payment50% of Gross Sales from affected clients plus an administrative fee of $2,500, $5,000, or $10,000 for first, second, or third violations; intentional violations can require 100% of affected Gross Sales.
- Insurance, indemnification, and attorneys’ feesVariable reimbursement obligations can arise when required insurance is not maintained or the franchisor incurs covered losses or enforcement costs.
- Liquidated damagesFor a qualifying default, abandonment, or cessation during the first two operating years, the formula is the average biweekly Royalty and Marketing Fund contributions for the preceding 12 months—or the shorter operating period—multiplied by 52.
- Renewal and successor agreementNo fixed renewal fee is disclosed. Four additional five-year terms may be available if the conditions are met, but the then-current agreement can contain different fee requirements.
Source: Item 6, pages 10–13; transfer conditions in Item 17, pages 46–49.
How much liquid capital or net worth is required?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a fixed Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum. Current official franchise pages checked July 19, 2026 generally state $55,000 in available funds and a $200,000 balance-sheet threshold, but one section of the investment page still states $50,000 of liquid assets. Because the website is internally inconsistent and also displays older startup figures, buyers should treat the thresholds as screening language and obtain the current written standard from the franchisor.
Available funds and net worth are not interchangeable. The first addresses money that can be made available; the second measures assets minus liabilities and is not the same as cash for startup payments.
The official investment page still publishes earlier startup figures and conflicting liquid-capital wording. For capital planning, use the current disclosure ranges and ask for dated written confirmation of both screening requirements.
Does the franchisor finance the startup?
No direct franchisor financing is offered to new franchisees. The financing disclosure says the franchisor has financed the franchise fee only for certain exceptionally performing existing franchisees purchasing an additional business, historically over two to three years at 8% to 9% simple annual interest. It expressly says this financing will not be offered to a new franchisee.
The official website discusses third-party lender assistance, but lender approval, interest rates, collateral requirements, and available proceeds are not guaranteed. Financing costs also are not included as a fixed startup amount. Source: Item 10, page 26.
Which costs remain unresolved by the official range?
The official investment range is an estimate built from franchisor experience, not a promise that every buyer can open within it. The following items need location-specific or transaction-specific verification before the buyer sets a final capital reserve.
- Service-area population and fee tierConfirm which of the four disclosed fee bands applies to the awarded area.
- Office and training areaPrice the approved 1,000-square-foot office, deposits, signage, training area, Leasehold Improvements, and any tenant allowance.
- Licensing and insuranceVerify state care-agency licensing, local permits, workers’ compensation, professional liability, cyber, automobile, fidelity-bond, and other required coverage. The disclosure says some insurance costs cannot be estimated.
- Staffing and payroll timingConfirm opening headcount, wage timing, payroll taxes, benefits chosen by the franchisee, and whether the disclosed three-month allowance is sufficient for the planned launch.
- Technology and changing standardsConfirm WellSky active-client charges, the employee-count IT tier, email-license count, payroll administrator fees, telephone and internet costs. Updated System Standards can also require new assets, renovations, services, or other capital and operating changes.
- Required suppliersThe 2026 disclosure estimates that approved or specification-compliant purchases represent 20% to 40% of establishment purchases and 70% to 90% of continuing purchases. Confirm the current vendors and pricing. Source: Item 8, pages 21–24.
- Acquisition economicsKeep purchase consideration, transaction financing, due-diligence costs, broker fees, asset replacement, and transition staffing separate from the disclosed transfer estimate.
- Personal living reserveThe three-month operating-capital description covers business expenses; it does not state that the range includes the owner’s personal living expenses or a personal compensation reserve.
The FTC explains why buyers should distinguish the franchise fee, total startup costs, ongoing royalties, advertising charges, supplier obligations, and expenses outside Items 5–7 in its Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise. State filing requirements and franchise-search tools are available through the California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation franchise resources.
What should a prospective franchisee take from the disclosures?
The verified starting point is $176,500 to $231,500 for a new franchised office, or $87,700 to $230,000 for an acquisition before the purchase price. The most important sources of variation are area population, office and dedicated training area costs, state licensing, staffing, required technology, insurance, and the first three months of operating capital.
The franchise fee, total startup investment, website screening thresholds, and ongoing fees answer different questions. A buyer should confirm the area fee tier, current financial qualifications, site-specific office budget, employee-count IT tier, required vendor pricing, and any acquisition consideration before deciding how much cash must be available and when it must be funded.