How much does a Pet Supplies Plus franchise cost?
A single Pet Supplies Plus Store has an Estimated Initial Investment of $520,250 to $1,818,900. The range comes from the April 20, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued by PSP Franchise Operations SPV, LLC and applies to the standard leased retail Store format, typically about 5,000 to 8,000 square feet. It includes the $49,900 Initial Franchise Fee and $40,000 to $300,000 of Additional Funds for the first six months of operation.
2026 FDD basis: Item 7, pages 16–20. The total covers opening inventory, equipment, POS installation, training travel, Grand Opening advertising, insurance, Leasehold Improvements, lease deposits, professional fees, Pre-Opening Labor, the Set Up Fee, and six months of Additional Funds.
A three-Store Multi-Unit Agreement is disclosed separately at $590,250 to $1,888,900. That “3-Pack” figure includes the Multi-Unit Fee and the cost to open and operate only the first Store for six months; it does not fund construction and opening of Stores two and three.
- Legal franchisor
- PSP Franchise Operations SPV, LLC
- Document
- 2026 Pet Supplies Plus Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 20, 2026
- Cost Items used
- Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17
- Formats covered
- Single Store, approved retail-store conversion and Multi-Unit Agreement
- Information checked
- July 18, 2026
The official franchise site does not publish a matching public copy of the 2026 FDD, so FDD citations below are unlinked and identify the year, Item and page. Wisconsin’s regulator lists PSP Franchise Operations SPV, LLC among its active franchise registrations.
As checked July 18, 2026, the official financial requirements page displayed a rounded $536K–$1.9M investment, while the official franchise FAQ displayed $536,520–$1,965,005 and referenced older disclosure language. Those website figures differ from the April 20, 2026 FDD. This article uses the newer 2026 FDD amounts.
What is included in the $520,250 to $1,818,900 range?
The 2026 Item 7 range is not just a franchise fee. It combines contract payments to PSP, purchases from PSP Distribution Operations SPV, LLC and other Designated Suppliers, third-party build-out and occupancy costs, and six months of initial operating capital. The largest source of uncertainty is Leasehold Improvements, disclosed at $25,000 to $825,000.
Store assets, premises and opening inventory
| Item 7 category | 2026 range | When paid | Primary payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $49,900 | At Franchise Agreement signing | PSP |
| Inventory | $150,000–$260,000 | Before opening | PSP Distribution and other Designated Suppliers |
| Equipment | $187,200–$251,700 | Before opening | Approved and Designated Suppliers |
| POS Equipment Installation | $3,150–$3,300 | Before opening | Designated POS installer |
| Leasehold Improvements | $25,000–$825,000 | As incurred | Landlord or builder |
| Prepaid Rent / Security Deposit | $0–$24,000 | At lease execution | Landlord |
| Insurance | $2,000–$7,000 | Before opening | Chosen insurers |
Source: 2026 Pet Supplies Plus FDD, Item 7, pages 16–19. The Equipment low estimate assumes third-party financing; the high estimate assumes an outright purchase.
Pre-opening services and the initial operating period
| Item 7 category | 2026 range | When paid | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Training | $4,000–$8,000 | As incurred | Estimated travel, meals and lodging for one trainee |
| Grand Opening Advertising | $30,000 | Generally the 10th day of the month Store set-up begins | First Store launch campaign; unspent amounts are refundable within 90 days after opening |
| Legal & Accounting | $4,000–$10,000 | As incurred | Professional services |
| Pre-Opening Labor | $10,000–$35,000 | As incurred | Recruiting and hiring the Store management team |
| Set Up Fee | $15,000 | Generally the 10th day of the month Store set-up begins | PSP’s on-site advisory role for set-up or relocation |
| Additional Funds — Initial Period | $40,000–$300,000 | During the first six months | Payroll, rent, wages, replacement inventory, licenses, security, repairs, maintenance and miscellaneous expenses |
Source: 2026 Pet Supplies Plus FDD, Item 7, pages 16–20. Additional Funds are already included in the official total and should not be added again.
Interpretation: premises work and six-month working capital explain substantially more of the total spread than the fixed Initial Franchise Fee or Set Up Fee.
When is the money paid?
Pet Supplies Plus capital is committed in stages rather than on one opening-day invoice. The 2026 FDD places the first non-refundable contract payment at signing, occupancy payments at lease execution, most Store assets before opening, and Additional Funds across the first six months.
Sign the governing agreement
A single-unit buyer pays the $49,900 Initial Franchise Fee when signing the Franchise Agreement. A Multi-Unit Agreement buyer instead pays the full Multi-Unit Fee at signing. These fees are fully earned and non-refundable when paid.
Secure the approved premises
Prepaid Rent and the Security Deposit, disclosed at $0 to $24,000, are due when the lease is executed. Leasehold Improvements, architectural work and site-development costs are paid as incurred. The FDD requires a lease within 12 months after signing the Franchise Agreement.
Fund set-up and pre-opening purchases
Inventory, Equipment, POS installation, Insurance, Training expenses and Pre-Opening Labor are incurred before opening. The $30,000 Grand Opening advertising requirement and $15,000 Set Up Fee are generally collected on the 10th day of the month in which Store set-up begins.
Carry the first six months
The $40,000 to $300,000 Additional Funds estimate supports payroll, rent, wages, replacement inventory, licenses, security, repairs, maintenance and miscellaneous expenses during the initial six-month operating period.
The official opening timeline is approximately 8 to 18 months from Franchise Agreement signing, with opening required no later than seven months after lease signing. A buyer therefore needs a cash schedule that covers both pre-opening construction and the first six months after opening, not merely the Initial Franchise Fee. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pages 28–29.
How much cash and net worth does the official site require?
The official Pet Supplies Plus franchise site currently states a $300,000 liquid-assets minimum and $600,000 minimum total net worth. Those qualification thresholds are not substitutes for the 2026 Item 7 investment range: Liquid Capital is cash or near-cash available to deploy, while Net Worth includes assets minus liabilities and is not the same as spendable funds.
Pet Supplies Plus publishes the financial qualifications on its official franchise qualifications page. The 2026 FDD does not state that meeting these thresholds guarantees approval or financing.
How do conversion, repeat-store and multi-unit commitments change the upfront fees?
The standard $49,900 Initial Franchise Fee does not apply identically in every circumstance. Item 5 creates separate fee paths for approved conversions, existing franchisees, qualified veterans, eligible first responders, PSP employees and Multi-Unit Agreement buyers. A discount changes the franchise-rights payment only; it does not reduce every Item 7 category.
Initial fee reductions and alternative contracts
Initial Franchise Fee
Multi-Unit Fee
Multi-Unit Fee
Interpretation: committing to more Stores increases the non-refundable fee paid at signing, but the Multi-Unit Fee does not pay the separate real estate, build-out, inventory, equipment or working-capital costs for every future Store.
The 2026 FDD’s three-Store “3-Pack” total of $590,250 to $1,888,900 is not the cost to open three operating Stores. It combines the $119,900 Multi-Unit Fee with $470,350 to $1,769,000 for the first Store, which is the single-Store Item 7 range less the $49,900 Initial Franchise Fee. Stores two and three require later Franchise Agreements and their own development capital.
Which fees continue after opening?
After opening, the main recurring obligations are the Royalty, required advertising, the Technology Fee and POS Leasing Payments. Some Store services add separate recurring charges. The 2026 FDD states percentage fees only on their disclosed Gross Sales basis; it does not convert them into annual dollar estimates.
| Ongoing fee | Amount or basis | Timing | When it applies |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty | 2% of monthly Gross Sales for first 12 months; 3% afterward | 10th of each month for prior month via EFT | All Stores, subject to a possible temporary conversion waiver |
| Local Marketing Spend and National Advertising Fund | First 12 months: $3,350 + $1,000 monthly; afterward: lesser of 3.5% of Gross Sales or $8,333 monthly | Monthly; LMS uses a quarterly lookback | All Stores; $100,000 annual combined cap |
| Technology Fee | Up to $1,500 monthly | 10th of current month via EFT | Based on Store build-out and selected services; may rise up to 10% annually |
| POS Leasing Payments | Estimated $295–$431 monthly plus applicable tax | Monthly after installation via EFT | Required leased POS System; configuration dependent |
| Grooming Scheduling Software | Currently $135 monthly, plus text-message charges | Monthly | Stores offering grooming services |
| Third-Party Courier | Typically $150–$1,700 monthly | Monthly | Only when using the third-party courier; not required if employees fulfill delivery |
| Advertising Cooperative | Set by Cooperative | As determined locally | Credited toward the Advertising Requirement, unless a majority votes to increase it |
Source: 2026 Pet Supplies Plus FDD, Item 6, pages 8–15. Gross Sales excludes separately stated sales tax and documented refunds, chargebacks, credits and allowances made in good faith under PSP procedures.
Which charges arise only after a triggering event?
Why can the actual opening cost vary so widely?
The range widens because Pet Supplies Plus combines a large retail footprint, mandatory inventory, approved equipment and technology, and site-specific construction. The 2026 Item 7 total is therefore sensitive to the premises, Store size, landlord concessions, equipment financing and the amount of six-month operating capital required.
- Leasehold Improvements
- $25,000 to $825,000. The amount depends on the Store’s size and condition, architectural and engineering work, landlord negotiations, tenant-improvement allowances and who bears build-out costs.
- Required Inventory
- $150,000 to $260,000, depending on Store size and location. Approximately 75% to 90%, or $112,500 to $234,000, must be purchased from affiliate PSP Distribution Operations SPV, LLC.
- Equipment
- $187,200 to $251,700, including equipment, interior and exterior signage, and specified computer accessories. The low estimate assumes third-party financing; the high estimate assumes an outright purchase.
- Additional Funds
- $40,000 to $300,000 for the first six months. The category includes operating obligations but the FDD does not state that it covers the owner’s personal living expenses.
- Store configuration
- The standard Store is typically 5,000 to 8,000 square feet in a stand-alone or shopping-center setting. POS capital cost and monthly lease payments vary with lane count and configuration.
- Conversion condition
- An approved existing pet-store conversion may cost less because lease and utility deposits may already be paid and some improvements may exist, but PSP discloses no separate conversion total and requires conformance to current Store standards.
Item 8 requires franchisees to buy approved inventory, equipment, fixtures, furnishings, display units, indoor signage, uniforms, supplies and materials from PSP, its affiliates, or approved or Designated Suppliers. The FDD estimates required sources account for approximately 100% of purchases and leases needed to open and at least 60% of ongoing operating costs. The official franchise site’s support and supplier overview also describes its approved-vendor, Store-design and POS support structure.
The $0 low estimate for Prepaid Rent and Security Deposit does not mean premises can be obtained without cost. Item 7 says that some landlords provide concessions in lieu of tenant-improvement allowances. A lower deposit may therefore coincide with a different rent or build-out allocation.
Does Pet Supplies Plus finance the investment?
No. The 2026 FDD states that PSP offers no direct or indirect financing and will not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. The official franchise FAQ states the same. A buyer using outside debt must arrange it independently, and financing approval is not guaranteed.
The Item 7 Equipment low estimate assumes third-party financing, which means the lower opening outlay may create later debt or lease payments outside the Initial Franchise Fee. The SBA 7(a) program information explains that eligible loans may finance working capital, real estate, equipment, fixtures and supplies, but eligibility and underwriting are lender decisions rather than Pet Supplies Plus commitments.
What later capital obligations should a buyer verify?
What capital figure should a prospective franchisee use?
Use the 2026 FDD single-Store range of $520,250 to $1,818,900 as the official starting contract for a standard leased Pet Supplies Plus Store. Treat the $300,000 liquid-assets and $600,000 Net Worth figures as separate current qualification thresholds, not as the amount needed to open. The main variables to resolve are Leasehold Improvements, the $150,000 to $260,000 inventory obligation, Equipment financing, Store-specific occupancy terms and the $40,000 to $300,000 six-month Additional Funds allowance.
For a Multi-Unit Agreement, use the separate fee formula and development schedule. The disclosed three-Store total of $590,250 to $1,888,900 funds the three-Store rights package and the first Store only; capital for the later Stores remains outside that total. Conversion buyers should obtain a written Store-specific scope because the FDD says costs may be lower but provides no separate conversion range.