How Much Does a Paris Baguette Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Paris Baguette franchise cost in 2026?

The 2026 Paris Baguette Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $727,515 to $1,860,550 to open one U.S. Paris Baguette Cafe. The range includes the $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $30,000 to $100,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months of operation. It assumes a leased site; it does not estimate buying and renovating an existing building or constructing a new building.

Estimated Initial Investment
$727,515–$1,860,550

Single Paris Baguette Cafe, 2026 FDD Item 7, pages 24–29. The FDD uses one overall range while discussing both Traditional Cafes and smaller Non-Traditional Cafes, so the endpoints should not be treated as separate official format totals.

Data basis: Paris Baguette Family Inc., U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 30, 2026; Items 5, 6 and 7 on FDD pages 14–29, with cost-relevant references to Items 8, 10, 11 and 17 and the Franchise Agreement. Information checked July 17, 2026.

The franchisor does not publish a matching 2026 FDD on its public franchise-controlled website. FDD citations below therefore remain plain text by year, Item and page. The official U.S. franchise investment page is used only for current public qualification language and to identify a dated website/FDD difference.

Initial Franchise Fee $50,000 First single Cafe; due by Franchise Agreement signing.
Paid to franchisor or affiliate $117,200–$154,000 Included inside the single-Cafe total, not added on top.
Additional Funds $30,000–$100,000 First three months; excludes owner salary or draw.
Royalty Fee 5% Weekly Gross Sales; generally withdrawn Tuesday by EFT.
Liquid Capital $500,000 Current official franchise-site screening requirement.
Net Worth $1.5 million Current official franchise-site screening requirement.
SOURCE CONFLICT

As checked July 17, 2026, the official franchise investment page still displays a 2025 range of $727,440 to $1,825,100. This article uses the later March 30, 2026 FDD range of $727,515 to $1,860,550. The older public figure should not overwrite the current disclosure.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the estimated initial investment?

The 2026 Item 7 total covers the franchise fee, leased-premises costs, buildout, equipment, opening inventory, training travel, professional expenses and three months of Additional Funds. The official total is the sum of the line items below; Item 5 payments are already embedded in these categories and must not be added a second time.

Premises, equipment and opening assets

Item 7 expenditure 2026 range When due Paid to
Initial Franchise Fee $50,000 At Franchise Agreement signing Paris Baguette Family Inc.
Real Estate or Advance Rent, Security Deposit and other prepaid costs $10,000–$90,000 As incurred Landlord or property owner
Building Costs/Leasehold Improvements $325,000–$1,000,000 Before opening Landlord, architect and/or contractor
Equipment and Fixtures $167,956–$350,000 Before opening Franchisor or approved suppliers
Signs $7,500–$25,000 Before opening Approved suppliers
Smallwares $25,000–$30,000 Before opening Franchisor or approved suppliers
Point of Sale System, Hardware, Software and Surveillance Equipment $8,000–$14,500 As incurred Franchisor or approved suppliers
Opening Inventory $40,000–$60,000 Before opening Franchisor or approved suppliers
Grand Opening Promotion $12,500 Before opening Franchisor or approved suppliers

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 24–26. Amounts are part of the disclosed total and are not separate add-ons.

Professional, training and early operating costs

Item 7 expenditure 2026 range When due Paid to
Licenses, Permits, Fees and Deposits $4,510–$18,710 Before opening Municipalities, utilities or lessor
Miscellaneous Expenses $11,109–$16,450 As incurred Franchisor, vendors or approved suppliers
Insurance $3,405–$4,890 As incurred Insurance provider or broker
Attorneys’ Fees and Business Consultants $6,535–$12,500 As incurred Attorneys, accountants and advisors
Travel and Living Expenses While Training $20,000–$65,000 Before opening Travel and lodging providers
Cost of Goods During Training $4,000 Before opening Franchisor or vendors
Test Fit Drawings and Survey $2,000–$7,000 Before opening Third parties
Additional Funds for First Three Months of Operation $30,000–$100,000 As incurred Franchisor, third parties and employees

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 26–29. The official sum of all Item 7 categories is $727,515 to $1,860,550.

COST IMPLICATION

Item 7 says Additional Funds cover estimated cost of sales and operating expenses for the first three months, but exclude the owner’s salary or draw, non-Cafe management expenses, personal living expenses and trainee wages. A buyer’s cash plan therefore may need resources outside the disclosed $30,000 to $100,000 category.

FORMAT AND DEVELOPMENT PATH

Does the cost change for Traditional, Non-Traditional or multi-unit development?

Yes, but the 2026 FDD does not publish a complete separate Item 7 total for Traditional and Non-Traditional Cafes. It provides one blended single-Cafe range and a separate first-location range for a four-Cafe Area Development Agreement.

Traditional Cafe
Typically about 3,000 square feet or more. The Building Costs/Leasehold Improvements estimate is based on a Traditional Cafe premises of roughly 3,000 to 4,000 square feet.
Non-Traditional Cafe
May be in grocery stores, airports, hospitals or stadiums and may be smaller, around 1,000 square feet or more. Item 7 says the low end of the real-estate/deposit category is typically possible only for a Non-Traditional Cafe.
Separate format total
Not disclosed. The low endpoint of the overall investment range is not labeled as an official Non-Traditional total, and the high endpoint is not labeled as an official Traditional total.

The official Paris Baguette prototype page describes updated design elements but does not publish a separate cost range by prototype or unit format.

How the four-Cafe Area Development Fee works

The area-development structure changes when cash is committed, even though each Cafe still receives its own Franchise Agreement.

$80,000 Area Development Fee at signing for a four-Cafe Development Schedule: $20,000 multiplied by four Cafes.
$20,000 Credit per Cafe against the discounted $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee, provided the Area Developer remains fully compliant with the Development Schedule.
$20,000 Remaining franchise-fee amount per Cafe, due at the earlier of signing that Cafe’s Franchise Agreement or 12 months before its scheduled opening date.
FORMAT DIFFERENCE

The single-Cafe Item 7 range should not be used as a format-specific quote. Obtain the site-specific preliminary budget, landlord work letter, approved plans and current equipment package for the exact Traditional or Non-Traditional location before treating either endpoint as usable.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The full investment is not due at one time. The largest cash requirements move from agreement fees to site control, construction and equipment, then to pre-opening purchases and early operating funds.

Agreement signing

A single-Cafe franchisee pays the $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee before or when signing the Franchise Agreement. A four-Cafe Area Developer pays the $80,000 Area Development Fee when signing the Area Development Agreement.

Site control and design

Advance rent, security deposits, prepaid site costs, test-fit drawings, surveys, legal advice and consultant costs arise as the lease and location are evaluated and documented.

Construction and procurement

Building Costs/Leasehold Improvements, Equipment and Fixtures, Signs, Smallwares, the POS System, software setup and surveillance equipment are paid as required, principally before opening.

Training and opening inventory

Training travel and living expenses, approximately $4,000 of goods used during on-site training, Opening Inventory, insurance, licenses and the $12,500 Grand Opening Promotion are funded before opening or as incurred.

First three months and continuing fees

The $30,000 to $100,000 Additional Funds category is spent as operating needs arise. Royalty and Marketing Fund Fees begin after opening on the schedules disclosed in Item 6.

Which Item 5 amounts may go directly to Paris Baguette or an affiliate?

The FDD cover states that $117,200 to $154,000 of the single-Cafe investment must be paid to the franchisor or its affiliate. Item 5 identifies the Initial Franchise Fee, Opening Inventory, chairs and stools, specified Smallwares, training goods and software setup as franchisor/affiliate payments; Paris Baguette also reserves the right to collect the $12,500 Grand Opening Promotion amount for use on the Cafe’s behalf. These amounts are already reflected in Item 7 categories.

PAYMENT TIMING

The Area Development Fee is front-loaded. For a four-Cafe agreement, the entire $80,000 is paid at Area Development Agreement signing even though the Item 7 area-development total covers only the first Cafe plus that development commitment.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after a Paris Baguette Cafe opens?

The principal continuing percentage obligations are a 5% Royalty Fee, a current 2% Marketing Fund Fee and a 1% Local Marketing Requirement, each based on the FDD’s definition of Gross Sales. Software and required-supplier costs continue separately.

Continuing obligation Amount or basis Timing Important qualification
Royalty Fee 5% of weekly Gross Sales Tuesday for the prior Monday–Sunday week, by EFT One-percentage-point reduction for the first 12 months may apply to franchisees in good standing who satisfy the disclosed early-opening condition.
Marketing Fund Fee Currently 2% of weekly Gross Sales With the Royalty Fee Paris Baguette may increase it to 3% of Gross Sales.
Local Marketing Requirement Currently 1% of Gross Sales As incurred; reviewed quarterly Marketing Fund Fee plus Local Marketing Requirement will not exceed 4% of quarterly Gross Sales in aggregate.
Software Costs Currently $250–$500 per month With the first Royalty Fee each month Pass-through services may rise with vendor charges and may be lower if PCI compliance removes certain software.
Technology Fee Not currently collected; initially up to $200 per month if implemented Monthly with the first Royalty Fee The stated maximum is $300 per month.
Ingredients and Branded Supplies Varies As incurred Specified food, paper products and packaging must be purchased from the franchisor, an affiliate or designated suppliers.
Replacement Equipment Varies As incurred Replacement bakery equipment, Smallwares and chairs must come from approved sources.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 17–24. Gross Sales is broadly defined and excludes only specified items such as properly remitted sales taxes, employee tips and certain third-party delivery fees.

FDD CAVEAT

The first-year royalty concession is conditional. Item 6 says the 5% Royalty Fee is reduced by one percentage point for 12 months only if the franchisee is in good standing and opens within nine months of signing; second or later Area Development locations must open at least three months before the applicable Development Schedule deadline.

CONDITIONAL COSTS

Which later fees depend on an event, default or ownership change?

Item 6 contains several charges that do not apply continuously but can become material when a Cafe needs extra support, changes ownership, relocates, renews or falls out of compliance.

Extra site visits

After the included site-evaluation and construction-review visits, the franchisee reimburses reasonable travel, lodging and out-of-pocket costs on demand.

Late or failed payments

Late Fees are the lesser of 18% per year or the maximum lawful rate. The current Insufficient Funds Fee is $150 per occurrence and may increase to $200.

Additional or remedial training

Currently $300 per day per trainer, plus travel and other expenses; the disclosed maximum is $450 per trainer per day plus expenses. Trainee payroll and travel remain the franchisee’s cost.

National conference

Current charge is actual cost per person, plus the attendee’s travel, food and lodging. The fee may rise to 150% of actual cost per person.

Transfer or assisted sale

A franchise transfer carries a $40,000 flat fee plus training, legal, accounting and other costs. If the franchisor sources the buyer, an additional 3% of the purchase price is due.

Securities offering

Currently $3,000 plus review costs and expenses; the stated maximum is $4,500 plus expenses.

Renewal or relocation

Renewal is 50% of the then-current standard Initial Franchise Fee. Relocation is 25% of the then-current standard Initial Franchise Fee, plus the franchisor’s relocation costs.

Franchisor management

If the franchisor steps in to operate the Cafe, the Management Fee is 10% of weekly Gross Sales, subject to a $3,000 minimum and $15,000 maximum, plus expenses. It does not replace the Royalty Fee or other charges.

Audits and reinspections

An Audit Fee can include audit, legal and accounting costs, understated amounts and interest when reporting is understated by at least 2% or records are deficient. A Compliance Audit currently costs $250 plus reinspection expenses and may rise to $375 plus expenses.

Health inspection failure

Currently $300 per franchisor team member per day plus travel, lodging and out-of-pocket expenses if Paris Baguette sends personnel after a failed local health inspection.

Insurance, supplier or enforcement costs

The franchisee can owe actual insurance-procurement costs, supplier-evaluation costs, enforcement expenses, indemnification losses and reimbursement for the franchisor correcting uncured deficiencies.

Early termination

Liquidated damages use the prior 12-month average monthly Royalty Fee and Marketing Fund Fee, multiplied by the lesser of 24 months or the months remaining in the term.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 17–24. Item 6 states that its fees and expenses are nonrefundable and may not be uniform for every franchisee.

What capital upgrades can be required during the term?

The Franchise Agreement requires a five-year “refresh” estimated at $50,000 to $150,000 and a ten-year “remodel” estimated at $150,000 to $300,000. A grand re-opening campaign is required after a remodel. Paris Baguette may also require improvements for current System Standards, new menu equipment or technology, although the agreement says it will not require a substantial capital improvement during the first two years of the term.

Source: 2026 FDD, Exhibit C, Franchise Agreement Section 7.C, page 18; Item 17, pages 55–58. Renewal also requires satisfactory refurbishment, maintenance and upgrading, plus payment of the Renewal Fee.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital and net worth does Paris Baguette require?

The current official U.S. franchise site screens candidates for at least $500,000 in liquid capital and $1.5 million in net worth. Those figures are financial qualifications, not the price of the franchise and not proof that $500,000 cash will cover the disclosed $727,515 to $1,860,550 initial investment.

The qualification language appears on the official Paris Baguette U.S. franchise information page. The 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate non-borrowed-funds threshold in Items 5 through 10. It does require personal guarantees from owners and spouses in the circumstances described in the disclosure.

Does Paris Baguette provide financing?

No. Item 10 states that Paris Baguette Family Inc., its agents and affiliates do not offer direct or indirect financing and do not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. Item 7 separately says Toast, the current required POS System vendor, offers third-party financing through a financing partner.

That vendor statement is not a promise of approval. Current Toast funding products are described on the official Toast Capital information page, which states that loans are subject to eligibility and credit approval. A prospective franchisee should confirm whether any offer can fund pre-opening hardware or other Item 7 costs before relying on it.

COST DISTINCTION

Estimated Initial Investment, Liquid Capital and Net Worth answer different questions. Item 7 estimates establishment and early-operation costs; liquid capital measures available funds; net worth includes assets minus liabilities and is not the same as cash available to invest.

Are any fee discounts disclosed?

Yes. The first Cafe’s $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee falls to $40,000 for a second and each subsequent Cafe, and each Cafe under an Area Development Agreement uses the $40,000 fee structure. A Cafe majority-owned by a current U.S. military member or an honorably discharged former member may receive a one-time 15% Military Discount on the first Cafe’s Initial Franchise Fee. The FDD says Paris Baguette may modify or cancel that discount.

BUYER VERIFICATION

Which cost questions remain unresolved until a site and agreement are selected?

The FDD provides a defensible national range, but the largest numbers remain site- and format-dependent. The buyer should reconcile the current disclosure to the proposed lease, approved plans and supplier quotes rather than treating either endpoint as a fixed budget.

Confirm the exact Cafe format. Ask for a written budget identifying whether the proposed location is Traditional or Non-Traditional and which assumptions create the quoted buildout and equipment figures.
Separate landlord work from franchisee work. Verify the tenant-improvement allowance, utility connections, impact fees, unusual site work, environmental conditions and every exclusion from Building Costs/Leasehold Improvements.
Reconcile Item 5 with Item 7. Confirm which inventory, chairs, Smallwares, software, training goods and grand-opening amounts will be invoiced by the franchisor or an affiliate, without double-counting them.
Build a personal cash plan outside Additional Funds. The first-three-month amount excludes owner compensation, personal living costs, non-Cafe management expenses and trainee wages.
Price the full agreement term. Include the 5-year refresh, 10-year remodel, possible technology changes, required supplier purchases and renewal or transfer conditions.
Request the latest disclosure and updates before payment. The FTC franchise buyer guide explains Items 5–7 and the 14-day disclosure period; the FTC franchise guidance hub provides current federal guidance.

Cost synthesis: The current verified U.S. range is $727,515 to $1,860,550 for one Cafe, or $777,515 to $1,910,550 for the first Cafe under a four-Cafe Area Development Agreement. The main variables are leasehold improvements, equipment, site costs, format and training travel. Those totals are distinct from the $500,000 liquid-capital and $1.5 million net-worth screening figures, and they do not eliminate continuing Royalty, Marketing Fund, supplier, software, refresh and remodel obligations.