How much does a Neat Method franchise cost?
A new U.S. Neat Method franchise requires an estimated initial investment of $37,500 to $44,500 under the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The offer is a home-based professional organizing business, so Item 7 assigns $0 to real estate and does not include a storefront build-out.
This is the 2026 Item 7 range for one home-based Neat Method Franchised Business. It includes the $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $1,500 to $3,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. It does not establish a separate liquid-capital or net-worth threshold.
Data basis: NM Franchise Operations, LLC; U.S. FDD issued April 20, 2026; home-based Neat Method Franchised Business; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; checked July 14, 2026. The official Neat Method franchise page separately confirms the $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee and states that the franchisor does not currently offer financing.
No matching 2026 FDD was verified on an official franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD evidence is cited below in plain text by Item and page rather than linked.
The $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee represents about 67% to 80% of the disclosed total. Subtracting that fee leaves $7,500 to $14,500 for every other Item 7 category combined. These are derived calculations from the official range, not a separate franchisor estimate.
What is included in the $37,500 to $44,500 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total combines the Initial Franchise Fee with a computer, first-personnel hiring costs, training travel, promotional materials, permits, professional fees, insurance, and three months of Additional Funds. The range contains no lease, construction, signage, vehicle, or opening-inventory line item.
| Item 7 expenditure | Amount | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $30,000 | At Franchise Agreement signing | NM Franchise Operations, LLC |
| Computer | $0-$2,500 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Hiring and employing at least one personnel | $1,000-$2,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Training travel and accommodations | $1,000-$2,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Promotional materials | $250-$500 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Business licenses and permits | $250-$500 | As incurred | State and local agencies |
| Professional fees | $2,500 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Insurance | $1,000-$1,500 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Real estate | $0 | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Additional Funds, three months | $1,500-$3,000 | As incurred | Personnel, suppliers, lawyers, insurance agents, Technology Fee |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $37,500-$44,500 | Official 2026 Item 7 total | |
Item 7 does not state that owner compensation is included in Additional Funds. Its payee column lists personnel, suppliers, lawyers, insurance agents, and the Technology Fee, so a buyer should not treat the three-month allowance as a complete personal-living-expense reserve.
The horizontal scale runs from $0 to $3,000. Additional Funds create the widest disclosed variable band, while professional fees are a fixed $2,500 estimate.
Interpretation: a buyer's position within the official range is driven primarily by computer needs, personnel setup, training travel, insurance, and the first three months of operating cash. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 9-10.
Item 7 assigns $0 to real estate because the Franchised Business is normally operated from home. It also does not provide a separate opening-inventory estimate. The annual required-product obligation disclosed in Item 8 is therefore a continuing cash-flow issue, not a line item that should be added automatically to the initial total without brand-specific clarification.
When is the money paid?
The largest payment occurs at contract signing, while the remaining Item 7 expenses are paid as incurred during setup, training, launch, and the first three months. The FDD says a typical opening occurs 60 to 90 days after signing, and failure to open within 90 days may permit termination.
Pay the $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee in one lump sum. Payments made directly to the franchisor are nonrefundable under the FDD.
Pay computer, first-personnel hiring, promotional material, permit, professional-fee, and insurance costs as incurred. The franchisor does not charge a training tuition fee, but the franchisee pays travel, lodging, and food for required attendees.
Begin monthly Royalty Fee, Advertising Fund Contribution, Technology Fee, and Continuing Education and Events Fee payments through electronic funds transfer, generally by the 15th for the applicable prior month.
Use the included $1,500 to $3,000 Additional Funds estimate during the three-month start-up phase. There is no minimum Royalty Fee during the first 12 months, but beginning in month 13 the monthly Royalty Fee must be at least $500.
Which fees continue after opening?
Neat Method's continuing cost contract includes a tiered Royalty Fee, an Advertising Fund Contribution, a monthly Technology Fee, and a monthly Continuing Education and Events Fee. The royalty is not a single fixed percentage: the rate can be 8%, 10%, 13%, 15%, 17%, or 20% of Service Revenue depending on the assigned territory tier and the prior quarter's Service Revenue level.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 8%-20% of Service Revenue | Monthly, by the 15th for the preceding month | Tier and rate are assessed quarterly; $500 monthly minimum begins in month 13. |
| Advertising Fund Contribution | 1%; may rise to 3% | Monthly, by the 15th for the preceding month | FDD wording differs on whether the basis is Gross Revenue or gross Service Revenue. |
| Technology Fee | $250 / $300 monthly | Monthly, by the 15th | Single-owner / partnership or dual-owner market; may increase by up to 25% each year. |
| Continuing Education and Events Fee | $40 monthly | Monthly, by the 15th | May increase by up to 25% each year and is due even if the franchisee does not attend an event. |
| Royalty Surcharge | Conditional formula | When imposed after annual review | May apply from year two or three if annual Service Revenue is below the disclosed $50,000 or $100,000 thresholds. |
The FDD currently sets no minimum local advertising spend, but it requires grassroots activity in the Protected Territory and reserves the right to impose a minimum on 30 days' notice.
These derived totals combine the $500 minimum Royalty Fee, the applicable Technology Fee, and the $40 Continuing Education and Events Fee.
These are derived monthly floors, not franchisor-published totals. They exclude the Advertising Fund Contribution, any Royalty Fee above $500, required product purchases, insurance, local marketing, and other operating expenses. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 4-9.
Item 6 labels the current Advertising Fund Contribution as 1% of monthly Gross Revenue, while Item 11 and the Franchise Agreement describe 1% of monthly gross Service Revenue. Because Gross Revenue can be broader than Service Revenue, the buyer should confirm the controlling definition in the execution copy of the Franchise Agreement and any current amendment.
How does the territory tier affect the royalty rate?
Each Protected Territory is assigned Tier 1 through Tier 4. The FDD uses different quarterly Service Revenue thresholds for each tier, but the available Royalty Fee percentages are the same six rates. The table below shows the 20% band and the threshold at which the 8% rate is disclosed; intermediate thresholds produce 17%, 15%, 13%, and 10% rates.
| Protected Territory tier | 20% Royalty Fee band | 8% rate threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Tier 1 | $0-$32,499 quarterly | $87,500 quarterly |
| Tier 2 | $0-$29,999 quarterly | $78,750 quarterly |
| Tier 3 | $0-$26,249 quarterly | $68,750 quarterly |
| Tier 4 | $0-$22,499 quarterly | $58,750 quarterly |
This table explains the fee denominator and thresholds only; it is not a sales forecast. The franchisor may move a franchisee between royalty percentages after each quarterly assessment.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7-9.What cost obligation is not resolved by the startup range?
The most distinctive unresolved cost is the Minimum Annual Purchase Requirement in Item 8. A franchisee must purchase a minimum amount of NEAT Method product each calendar year, and the obligation is calculated as the lesser of two percentage-based measures.
If actual purchases fall short, the franchisor reserves the right to charge the difference. It may increase the Minimum Annual Purchase Requirement by no more than 25% per year on 30 days' written notice.
- Not a separate opening-inventory line. Item 7 contains no opening-inventory category, and Item 8 estimates required purchases in establishing the business at 0%.
- Material after opening. Item 8 estimates required purchases at 10% to 20% of total operating costs, but does not convert the annual formula into a fixed dollar amount.
- Supplier review costs may arise. A proposed unapproved supplier can trigger reimbursement of the franchisor's review and testing costs.
- Do not add a guessed inventory amount. The buyer needs the assigned percentage, expected purchasing workflow, and current product terms before preparing a cash budget.
Which fees apply only after a renewal, transfer, default, or audit?
Several material charges are event-driven rather than part of the initial investment. They matter most when ownership changes, the five-year term ends, payments are late, records are inaccurate, or the Franchise Agreement ends early.
- Renewal: $5,000 under the current Item 6 table. The fee is due on renewal for a new five-year term. Item 17 also requires payment of the then-current renewal fee, so the amount at the actual renewal date may differ.
- Transfer assessment: $2,500. Due when the franchisee submits a request to transfer the Franchised Business to a new owner.
- Transfer training: $30,000. The new owner pays this when signing a new Franchise Agreement.
- Audit: underpayment plus audit costs. If an audit finds nonpayment or underpayment of 5% or more, the franchisee must reconcile the amount and reimburse actual audit costs.
- Late payment: interest plus $100 per late month. Interest is the higher of 18% per year or the maximum lawful rate, accruing from the original due date.
- Early termination: variable Liquidated Damages. The formula uses the average monthly Royalty Fees and Advertising Fund Contributions multiplied by the lesser of 36 or the months remaining in the term.
Does Neat Method state a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold for the standard home-based offer. That absence does not mean every applicant with $37,500 can qualify; it means the disclosure does not provide a separate published financial-qualification number that can be treated as the required cash minimum.
Item 10 says NM Franchise Operations, LLC offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation. The official U.S. franchise information also states that financing is not offered at this time. Any outside loan would therefore be independent of franchisor approval and would not change the contractual fee schedule.
The home-based format removes a disclosed real-estate cost, but it does not eliminate local business-license, insurance, professional-fee, personnel, travel, technology, or required-product cash needs. The FDD's Special Risks section also states that a spouse may be required to sign a guarantee that makes marital and personal assets liable for obligations under the Franchise Agreement, subject to applicable state law.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Special Risks, p. 5; Item 7, pp. 9-10; Item 10, p. 14; Item 11, pp. 14-19.What should be confirmed before signing?
The official range is unusually compact because the business is home-based, but the range alone does not settle the royalty tier, product-purchase formula, travel budget, fee increases, or the Advertising Fund denominator. Those items should be resolved against the current execution documents.
- Confirm the assigned Protected Territory tier. It determines the quarterly thresholds used to set the 8% to 20% Royalty Fee.
- Confirm single-owner or partnership/dual-owner status. The monthly Technology Fee is currently $250 or $300.
- Reconcile the Advertising Fund basis. Ask whether the controlling agreement uses Gross Revenue or gross Service Revenue.
- Obtain the current product-purchase percentage. The FDD states percentage bands rather than one fixed annual requirement.
- Price the required training trip. Item 7 provides $1,000 to $2,000, but the franchisee pays travel, lodging, and food for required attendees.
- Check state and local requirements. Licenses, insurance coverage, and professional setup costs can move the buyer within or beyond the disclosed line-item ranges.
- Keep the three capital concepts separate. Estimated Initial Investment, available cash, and applicant Net Worth are not interchangeable, and the FDD publishes only the first of those figures.
Cost synthesis: the verified 2026 starting range is $37,500 to $44,500, led by the nonrefundable $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee. The main initial variables are computer needs, personnel setup, training travel, insurance, and three months of Additional Funds. After opening, the material obligations are the tiered Royalty Fee, Advertising Fund Contribution, Technology Fee, Continuing Education and Events Fee, and Minimum Annual Purchase Requirement. The most important unresolved contract question is the precise advertising-fee denominator and the product-purchase percentage that will apply to the buyer's territory and agreement.