How Much Does a National Property Inspections Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Verified 2026 cost answer

How much does a National Property Inspections franchise cost?

The 2026 National Property Inspections Franchise Disclosure Document estimates a total initial investment of $41,000 to $54,950 for one U.S. protected-territory inspection business. The model may be operated from home, so the Item 7 range does not include real estate expense. It does include the $34,900 Initial Franchise Fee and the listed pre-opening costs.

$41,000-$54,950
Estimated Initial Investment. This is the 2026 FDD Item 7 total for this format, not the cash fee paid only to the franchisor. It includes a $1,000-$3,000 reserve line but excludes any separately chosen office and the cost of acquiring or operating a vehicle. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 9-12.

Data basis: National Property Inspections, Inc., a Nebraska corporation; FDD issued May 12, 2026; U.S. protected-territory inspection business that may operate from a home address; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17 reviewed; information checked July 22, 2026. A matching public 2026 FDD was not located on an official NPI-controlled website, so FDD references below are unlinked. Current official context is available through the official U.S. franchise website and its investment information.

Key cost figures

Initial Franchise Fee $34,900 Lump sum due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Additional Funds $1,000-$3,000 Already inside the opening total; no general operating-period length is stated.
Royalty Fee 8% Of Gross Sales, or the applicable $300-$500 monthly minimum, whichever is greater.
Fund Contribution 2% Of Gross Sales, paid monthly in the same manner as the royalty.
Software Fee $600/year FDD estimate for anticipated required proprietary software; verify current implementation.
Opening Window 60-120 days Estimated time from signing to launch; opening is required within 120 days.
Item 7 investment

What is included in the $41,000-$54,950 investment range?

The 2026 opening total combines the franchise fee with training travel, required memberships, vehicle signage, launch advertising, insurance, professional fees, licensing, apparel, tools and Additional Funds. The FDD does not disclose a second opening range for a freestanding office, conversion or multi-unit agreement.

Franchise fee, training and launch costs

Cost category 2026 range When due Payee
Initial Franchise Fee $34,900 At signing of the Franchise Agreement Franchisor
Travel/Living Expenses for Training $750-$1,650 During Initial Training Airlines and restaurants
Association/Organization Membership $1,000-$2,000 Upon joining Local Board of Realtors and inspector association
Vehicle Signage $500-$1,500 Upon completion of initial training Supplier
Advertising/Promotions $600-$1,500 Within the first 60 days Supplier
Insurance Premium $600-$1,500 At start of operation Preapproved insurance carrier acceptable to the franchisor

Professional, licensing and operating-start costs

Cost category 2026 range When due Payee
Legal $500-$1,000 Before opening Lawyer
Accounting $250-$500 Before opening Accountant
Licenses $200-$4,900 Before opening Appropriate government agency
Apparel $200-$500 Before opening Supplier
Tools and Equipment $500-$2,000 At start of operation Franchisor
Additional Funds $1,000-$3,000 As incurred Suppliers, employees and franchisor
Total Estimated Initial Investment $41,000-$54,950 Official Item 7 total
Initial fee package

What does the $34,900 Initial Franchise Fee cover?

The franchise fee is due at signing and is generally nonrefundable. It includes the start-up Franchise Package: the initial training program, hotel accommodations plus breakfast and lunch during in-person training, a portable computer, portable printer, digital camera, initial marketing materials, basic tools and equipment, and certain other package items. Travel, airfare, ground transportation and other attendance costs remain the franchisee's responsibility. See 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 4-5 and Item 11, pp. 16-23; the official site also describes its official training and field support.

In-person training

The FDD allows up to two weeks and states that the franchisor pays for one hotel room, breakfast and lunch for the required attendee; the attendee pays transportation and other costs.

Field training allowance

Up to $150 per day for no more than five days, capped at $750. The allowance may rise to no more than $1,500 where a state requires more than five field-training days.

Equipment included

Portable computer, portable printer, digital camera and basic tools are included; the separate $500-$2,000 tools range covers items such as a ladder and recommended personal protective equipment or thermal imaging camera.

Fee reduction

Eligible U.S. military veterans and first responders pay a 20% reduced Initial Franchise Fee of $27,920 if the qualifying person owns at least 51% of the franchisee entity. The official opening total remains $41,000-$54,950; the FDD does not publish a replacement total for an incentive recipient. The official franchise site confirms the reduction on its official incentive page.

The franchisor may also, in its discretion, credit or refund the amount paid for a Carson Dunlop education course completed before signing; the FDD says that course currently costs approximately $5,000. This is discretionary, so it should not be treated as a guaranteed reduction.

Cash milestones

When is the money paid?

The largest fixed payment occurs when the Franchise Agreement is signed. Most remaining opening costs arise during training, licensing and the 60-to-120-day launch window.

  1. At signing: pay the $34,900 Initial Franchise Fee. The opening table also associates the tools entry with the Franchise Agreement, while its when-due column states the start of operation; confirm the invoice timing for that $500-$2,000 category.

  2. During initial training: incur $750-$1,650 of travel and living expense. Hotel, breakfast and lunch for the required attendee are included, but transportation and other attendance costs are not.

  3. Before opening: pay legal, accounting, licensing and apparel costs; join the local Board of Realtors and an appropriate inspector organization; obtain insurance.

  4. By launch and the first 60 days: complete vehicle signage, tools and equipment purchases, and $600-$1,500 of advertising or promotions if pursuing the conditional Royalty Waiver.

  5. After opening: maintain sufficient funds in the Electronic Depository Transfer Account for royalty, the fund charge, the software charge if applicable, and other franchisor or affiliate charges.

National Property Inspections estimates 60-120 days from agreement execution to opening and requires the business to open within 120 days. Licensing, permitting, financing, zoning, local ordinances, weather and shortages may affect timing. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 17-18.

Home-based cost structure

Which costs are outside or not fully resolved by the official range?

The format may operate from home, which keeps real estate outside the official opening estimate. That makes the disclosed total comparatively compact, but it also means several buyer-specific obligations must be budgeted separately.

What “Additional Funds” does and does not establish

$1,000-$3,000 The disclosed range includes this amount for initial start-up expenses not separately listed.
3 months The high end includes three months of the optional Tech Suite at $100 per month.
No stated runway The FDD does not give a general operating-period length or expressly include owner compensation or personal living expenses.
  • Office space: no real estate amount is included. A franchisee choosing an office may lease space; the FDD estimates $10-$25 per square foot in most regions but does not supply a size, term or total occupancy budget.
  • Vehicle cost: vehicle signage is included, but the cost of buying, leasing, maintaining or operating a motor vehicle is not estimated because a private vehicle may be used.
  • Future Computer System changes: the franchisor may require new or modified hardware, software, service or support within 90 days after notice, and Item 11 says future costs cannot be estimated.
  • State-specific licensing: the $200-$4,900 range can include state-required training. A State Training Reimbursement Addendum may reimburse qualifying course costs in listed states, but the amount and eligibility must be confirmed for the buyer's state.
  • Personal liquidity: the 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. The total investment is not a substitute for a buyer-specific cash reserve.

Required association costs include a local Board of Realtors affiliate membership and an inspector organization appropriate to the territory, with the FDD naming ASHI membership information and InterNACHI membership information as examples. Local and professional organization dues recur annually.

Ongoing fees

What fees continue after opening?

The core recurring charges are an 8% Royalty Fee, a 2% fund charge and, when implemented, an annual software charge. The royalty also has escalating monthly minimums, so it is not solely percentage-based.

Ongoing obligation Amount or basis Timing 2026 FDD source
Royalty Fee 8% of Gross Sales or monthly minimum, whichever is greater Due by the 10th day of each month Item 6, pp. 5-8
Fund Contribution 2% of Gross Sales Monthly, same manner as royalty Items 6 and 11, pp. 5 and 18-20
Software Fee Estimated $600 per year Annually when proprietary software is required Items 6 and 11, pp. 5 and 20
Local Advertising Up to 2% of Gross Sales suggested Monthly; no general minimum outside waiver conditions Items 6 and 11, pp. 5-6 and 19-20
Ongoing Training/Annual Meeting Currently $475; no more than $750 per offering As required, plus attendance costs Items 6 and 11, pp. 6 and 23
Optional Tech Suite $100 per month Monthly if selected Items 7 and 11, pp. 11 and 20

Gross Sales includes revenue derived from the Franchised Business in cash, credit, barter or other forms, excluding collected sales, use or service taxes remitted to the proper authority and reduced by documented good-faith refunds, credits, allowances and charge-backs. The fund charge uses the same disclosed revenue base.

Payment timing

A temporary royalty waiver runs from the Royalty Commencement Date through the following 60 days only while the franchisee remains compliant and spends the greater of 8% of Gross Sales or $300 per month on approved local advertising. The waiver applies to royalty, not the separate 2% fund charge. Supporting advertising documentation may be required.

As of the May 12, 2026 issuance date, proprietary software was not yet required, but the franchisor anticipated requiring its Horizon software later in 2026. Once required, the estimated annual charge is $600 and may increase by up to 20% each year beginning 12 months after opening. The buyer should confirm whether that implementation occurred after the FDD was issued.

Conditional obligations

Which fees arise only after a specific event?

Item 6 contains several costs that do not belong in the opening investment but can become material after underreporting, late payment, transfer, default, insurance failure or termination.

  • Late payment: interest at 4% above the prime rate on the first day of each month, or the maximum lawful rate. Insufficient funds can also trigger a $100 processing fee plus additional administrative charges.
  • Audit: estimated $7,500-$15,000, including travel, legal and accounting expense, if an inspection or audit shows the disclosed revenue base was underreported by more than 2% for a reporting period.
  • Insurance reimbursement: if required coverage is not maintained, the franchisor may obtain coverage and charge the cost plus a reasonable expense fee.
  • Non-compliance and enforcement: legal and accounting fees, management expense after death, disability, default or abandonment, indemnification expense, and $500 per day while the franchisor has the right to terminate.
  • Brand Damages after early termination for default: the lesser of 36 or the full months remaining in the term, multiplied by the average monthly royalty plus Fund Contribution; the monthly amount used in the formula cannot be less than $500.
  • Renewal: Item 17 permits one successor 10-year term if conditions are met, but the 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate Renewal Fee. All monetary obligations must be satisfied and the then-current Franchise Agreement must be signed.
Source conflict

The 2026 FDD is internally inconsistent on the Transfer Fee. Item 6 states $4,500 plus administrative costs and expenses, plus 5% of the purchase price. Item 17 states $5,000 plus administrative costs and expenses, with an additional 10% of the amount above $200,000. Do not calculate a transfer budget from one provision alone; obtain written confirmation and compare the operative Franchise Agreement before a sale or ownership change.

Funding and verification

Does National Property Inspections provide financing?

No direct or indirect financing is disclosed. Item 10 states that the franchisor and its affiliates do not finance the franchise and do not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. The official investment page says the recruitment team may connect prospects with preferred lending partners, but that relationship is not approval, a rate quote or a guarantee.

  • Obtain the current FDD and any quarterly update before signing, then reconcile the Item 6 and Item 17 Transfer Fee language.
  • Confirm the exact home-inspector license, state-mandated training and reimbursement schedule applicable to the Designated Area.
  • Ask whether Horizon is now mandatory, the current Software Fee, and the current annual maintenance, update or support cost.
  • Price the required insurance limits, local Board of Realtors dues, professional inspector organization dues and vehicle graphics using the specific territory and carrier.
  • Build a separate cash plan for office rent if chosen, vehicle ownership and operation, personal living expense, owner compensation and any operating runway beyond the disclosed Additional Funds.

The Federal Trade Commission explains that an FDD must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a prospect signs a binding agreement or pays the franchisor or an affiliate. Its Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise also distinguishes the Initial Franchise Fee from other opening and continuing costs.

Official documents and tools NPI official investment page - current public summary of the $41,000-$54,950 investment and financing statement. NPI corporate website - confirms the U.S. brand and legal operating identity. FTC Franchise Rule - official federal disclosure framework.
Capital decision

What is the cost takeaway for a prospective franchisee?

The verified 2026 opening range is $41,000-$54,950. State licensing and required training create the largest disclosed spread. The total does not resolve optional office occupancy, vehicle ownership and operation, personal living expense, owner compensation or a broader operating reserve.

After opening, percentage charges, an escalating minimum royalty and any implemented software charge continue. The most important unresolved contract cost is the conflicting Transfer Fee language between Items 6 and 17.