How much does a Monster Tree Service franchise cost?
The 2026 Monster Tree Service Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $335,040 to $489,775 to develop and open one Franchised Business in one standard Territory. The disclosed area used in Item 7 contains up to 80,000 Single-Family Dwelling Units. The range includes the $49,500 Franchise Fee, a $6,000 Pre-Opening/Grand Opening Marketing Fee, financed equipment assumptions, required pre-opening purchases, 12 months of local advertising, and $128,000 to $197,000 of Additional Funds for the first 12 months.
The figure should be read as an opening-and-ramp-up estimate, not as the amount wired on one date. Some money is paid directly to the franchisor, some is paid to vendors before launch, some may be financed, and the remainder is consumed gradually while the operation is hiring, marketing and serving customers. Keeping those payment channels separate is essential because refund rights, lender conditions and timing differ.
- Legal franchisor
- Monster Franchising SPE LLC
- Document
- 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 29, 2026
- Applicable format
- One operating unit in one area of up to 80,000 Single-Family Dwelling Units
- Cost Items used
- Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17; figures checked July 16, 2026
- Public source status
- No matching 2026 FDD was verified on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD citations below are unlinked. The brand's official Monster Tree Service website is linked separately.
Capital snapshot
What is included in the $335,040-$489,775 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total contains 16 expenditure categories. The largest disclosed ranges are Additional Funds and Equipment and Vehicles; the total also includes one year of ongoing Local Marketing, insurance deposits and initial premiums, training travel, technology, vehicle graphics, tools, permits and other opening costs.
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 range | Payment timing | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchise Fee | $49,500 | On signing the Franchise Agreement | Item 7, p. 29 |
| Pre-Opening/Grand Opening Marketing Fee | $6,000 | On signing the Franchise Agreement | Item 7, p. 29 |
| Training Expenses | $10,000-$11,000 | As incurred | Item 7, pp. 29, 30 |
| Equipment and Vehicles | $59,800-$110,700 | As incurred | Item 7, pp. 29, 31-32 |
| GPS Tracking Systems | $360-$600 | Before opening | Item 7, pp. 29, 32 |
| Small Equipment and Tools | $19,000-$25,000 | Before opening | Item 7, pp. 29, 32 |
| Graphics | $6,700-$10,700 | As incurred | Item 7, pp. 29, 33 |
| Computer, Phone and Other Technology Systems | $3,000-$6,000 | As incurred | Item 7, pp. 29, 33 |
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 range | Payment timing | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ongoing Local Marketing | $24,000 | As incurred over 12 months | Item 7, pp. 29, 32 |
| Insurance | $20,250-$29,250 | As incurred | Item 7, pp. 29, 32-33 |
| Legal and Accounting Fees | $5,500-$8,500 | As incurred | Item 7, pp. 29, 33 |
| Rent for parking location or office | $500-$6,000 | As arranged | Item 7, pp. 29, 33 |
| Office Expense | $550-$2,300 | As incurred | Item 7, pp. 29, 33 |
| Required Operating and Financial Software Program | $1,380-$1,725 | As incurred | Item 7, pp. 30, 33 |
| Business Licenses and Permits | $500-$1,500 | As required by government authorities | Item 7, pp. 30, 33 |
| Additional Funds for 12 months | $128,000-$197,000 | As incurred | Item 7, pp. 30, 34 |
The low and high totals are endpoints, not a recommended budget and not an average. A buyer cannot safely select the low amount from every line without confirming that the same assumptions can occur together in the intended market. Conversely, the high end is not a contractual cap: optional equipment, commercial-office deposits, local labor conditions, supplier price changes and owner compensation can sit outside or above the disclosed assumptions.
The equipment-financing assumption needs written reconciliation
Item 7 assumes required equipment and vehicles are financed through traditional sources, with a 20% deposit plus three months of payments included in the initial range. The detailed table on FDD p. 31 lists a $299,000 low purchase-price total, a $29,800 low “20% Down Payment,” and $239,200 remaining to finance. Those figures do not reconcile. A derived arithmetic check gives $299,000 minus $239,200 equals $59,800, which is also the low equipment amount in Item 7.
For a usable quote, the vendor package should separate purchase price, required deposit, taxes, delivery, registration, vehicle wrapping, the number of payments due before launch and the balance financed. The lender term should then be reviewed independently. A low monthly payment can still require more opening cash if the deposit, delivery costs or first installments fall before the unit is authorized to operate.
This article preserves the official $59,800-$110,700 Item 7 range and treats the low subtotal discrepancy as an explicit verification issue. A buyer should obtain the current equipment package invoice, deposit requirement, payment schedule and lender terms before calculating cash needed at closing.
When is the money paid?
The cash requirement is staged rather than paid as one check. The Franchise Fee and Pre-Opening/Grand Opening Marketing Fee are tied to signing; equipment, insurance, training travel and systems are paid during the estimated four-to-nine-month opening period; Additional Funds are then spent through the first 12 months of operation.
The four-to-nine-month development window can create overlapping commitments. A vehicle deposit may be due while travel, insurance and storage costs are already being paid, yet the first-year reserve is intended for expenses after launch. A cash schedule should therefore show the earliest possible due date for every non-refundable payment and should not assume that later operating reserves are available to cover earlier contract defaults.
What fees continue after opening?
The central continuing obligation is the Royalty Fee, billed weekly at the greater of a tiered Applicable Percentage of Gross Revenue or the applicable Minimum Royalty Fee. Brand Fund, Local Marketing, website, technology, GPS and potentially Call Center charges are separate obligations.
1-12
13-24
25-36
expiration
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing and qualification | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Greater of the Applicable Percentage or Minimum Royalty Fee. Percentage tiers are 6.5% of the first $1 million of calendar-year Gross Revenue, 5% from $1,000,001-$2 million, 4.25% from $2,000,001-$3 million, and 3.5% above $3 million. | Weekly; the percentage schedule resets to 6.5% at the start of each calendar year. | Item 6, pp. 14-15 |
| Brand Fund Contribution | Currently 1% of Gross Revenue; maximum 2%. | Same as Royalty Fee; a change requires 30 days' notice. | Item 6, p. 15 |
| Local Marketing and Website Fee | Greater of $2,000 or 5% of Gross Revenue per month on a rolling 12-month average. The $350 monthly Website Fee is credited toward the requirement. | Monthly; website fee can increase 10% on reasonable notice. After the Initial 3-Year Period, the Local Marketing requirement can be waived under the stated performance condition, except website management and search-engine-optimization charges, and can be reinstated. | Item 6, pp. 16, 26 |
| Technology Fee | Currently $1,700 annually. | $750 on April 1 and $950 on October 1; the stated annual increase cap is $250 and cumulative increase cap is $2,500, subject to the separate Allocated Cost rule for newly introduced technology. Required third-party CRM charges may apply. | Item 6, pp. 17, 27 |
| GPS Tracking Software | $40 per vehicle. | Monthly; every operating vehicle requires GPS. | Item 6, p. 17 |
| Call Center Fee | Vendor charges as incurred; no fixed amount disclosed. | A designated Call Center may be required during the Initial 3-Year Period and can be re-imposed in stated circumstances. | Item 6, pp. 19, 27-28 |
| Annual Conference | Determined from anticipated cost, up to $1,000 per attendee under the stated schedule. | As invoiced if a conference is scheduled; non-attendance fee is two times the published registration fee. | Item 6, pp. 18, 27 |
For budgeting, separate the variable percentage calculation from the weekly floor. During each billing period, the franchisor compares the accumulated percentage amount with the accumulated minimum and collects the difference still due. That structure means a zero minimum in the first year does not eliminate the percentage-based charge, while a later weekly floor can apply even when the percentage calculation is lower.
How do territory size and multi-territory commitments change the cost?
The $49,500 Franchise Fee covers a standard Territory with up to 80,000 Single-Family Dwelling Units. A larger Territory adds $0.25 for each SFDU above 80,000. Item 7 does not publish a combined investment range for two or three Territories, so the single-territory $335,040-$489,775 range should not be multiplied or blended without current operating and equipment assumptions.
Fees for simultaneous additional Territories
| Territory licensed in the initial transaction | Franchise Fee | Cumulative Franchise Fees | Contract treatment |
|---|---|---|---|
| First standard Territory | $49,500 | $49,500 | Separate Franchise Agreement |
| Second standard Territory | $40,000 | $89,500 | Separate Franchise Agreement plus Multi-Territory Addendum |
| Third standard Territory | $35,000 | $124,500 | Separate Franchise Agreement plus Multi-Territory Addendum |
Aggregated minimum royalties under the Multi-Territory Addendum
| Time after Original Opening Date | Two Territories | Three Territories |
|---|---|---|
| Months 1-12 | None | None |
| Months 13-18 | $275/week | $233/week |
| Months 19-24 | $550/week | $466/week |
| Months 25-36 | $850/week | $1,101/week |
| Month 37 to end of term | $1,176/week | $1,575/week |
These aggregated minimums apply only while the Multi-Territory Addendum conditions are maintained. Local Marketing phases in on the Effective Date for the first Territory, the 12-month anniversary for the second, and the 18-month anniversary for the third. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 25-26.
The reduced contract fees apply only to the right to license additional areas. They do not establish how many crews, trucks, machines, storage spaces or office systems will be needed across those areas. The correct capital model therefore starts with the separate agreements and staged marketing obligations, then adds an operating plan that the current disclosure and vendor quotations can support.
Can the Franchise Fee be reduced or financed?
Item 5 lists several fee reductions, while Item 10 gives the franchisor discretion to finance up to 75% of the initial fee and any population-based surcharge. Neither a discount nor franchisor financing reduces the third-party Item 7 categories. The simultaneous second- and third-Territory fee schedule is shown in the preceding section and is not repeated here.
| Program | Disclosed reduction | Key limitation | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Existing Monster Tree Service Franchisee Discount | 30% reduction to Franchise Fee and applicable Additional SFDU Fee | Additional Territory after completing training and operating; broker transactions excluded | Item 5, pp. 11-12 |
| Existing Affiliate Franchisee Discount | $15,000 per Territory for the first two in the Initial Transaction | Applicant must be an existing franchisee of an affiliate and meet expansion qualifications | Item 5, p. 12 |
| Veterans or Active-Duty Discount | 30% reduction to Franchise Fee and applicable Additional SFDU Fee | First franchise of Monster Tree Service or an affiliated brand | Item 5, p. 12 |
| Diversity Discount | $5,000 reduction to Franchise Fee | First Territory; at least 51% qualifying ownership and other conditions | Item 5, pp. 12-13 |
Discounts and incentives generally cannot be combined, additional restrictions may apply, and the franchisor may discontinue or vary programs. The military program is identified as participation in the official VetFran program.
A reduction in the initial contract charge changes only that charge. It does not lower the quoted price of vehicles, tools, insurance, software, storage or payroll. Likewise, a promissory note delays part of the payment but creates principal, interest, collateral and default obligations. The relevant comparison is therefore cash due at signing, total debt incurred and the remaining unfunded opening costs, rather than the discount percentage by itself.
- Maximum financed portion
- Up to 75% of the Franchise Fee and any Additional SFDU Fee, only in the franchisor's discretion.
- Term and rate
- Up to 36 monthly installments at 12% annual interest, beginning on the first of the month following the first full month after signing.
- Security
- Promissory Note, Guaranty and Security Agreement; owners of an entity franchisee must guarantee, and the Franchised Business assets secure the note.
- Excluded transactions
- No franchisor financing for stated existing-franchisee expansions after the Initial Transaction or transactions involving brokers and other third-party referral sources.
- Other Item 7 costs
- No franchisor financing is disclosed for equipment, vehicles, insurance, working capital or other initial-investment categories.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 43-44. Financing approval is not guaranteed, and default can accelerate the balance and create a cross-default under the Franchise Agreement.
Which fees arise only after a specific event?
Item 6 includes costs that are not part of the ordinary opening budget but can become material after delay, non-compliance, transfer, renewal, insurance failure or early termination.
These charges should be handled as contingencies rather than added automatically to the opening range. Their probability depends on later conduct or events, but their contractual amounts matter when evaluating downside liquidity. A reserve for ordinary operations is not the same as capacity to absorb a transfer charge, an extended delay, an insurance procurement charge or a prolonged compliance dispute.
What does the FDD not resolve?
The 2026 FDD does not state a numerical Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. Those concepts therefore should not be substituted for the Item 7 total. The document also leaves several buyer-specific costs unresolved.
The absence of a published numerical screening threshold does not establish that every applicant qualifies or that the opening estimate is sufficient cash. Credit quality, collateral, guarantor strength and lender underwriting can still determine whether financing is available. A prospective buyer should obtain the current written financial criteria and compare them with the separate cash schedule rather than relying on an unofficial directory figure.
- Owner compensation
- Additional Funds exclude an owner's salary or draw for the first 12 months.
- Home-based versus commercial office
- The Franchised Business may use a home office. Item 7 estimates parking and storage rent for three months but does not estimate commercial-office deposits, build-out or prepaid rent.
- Optional equipment
- A tracked lift, trailer and towing vehicle are optional and are not included in the Item 7 asset range.
- Labor and insurance variability
- Local wage rates, workers' compensation, staffing, location and loss experience can materially change operating needs and insurance cost.
- Seasonal opening assumption
- The high Additional Funds estimate assumes, among other things, a first-day Sales Arborist hire and potentially about $20,000 of initial Local Marketing for a late-season or off-season opening.
- Supplier dependence
- The FDD estimates 75%-92% of establishment purchases and leases will be from approved suppliers. Current prices and financing terms can change.
A practical cash plan should keep three buckets separate: contract payments due to the franchisor, deposits and early payments on financed assets, and the reserve used to cover operating expenses after launch. Combining those buckets into a single “cash required” figure can hide lender conditions, non-refundable payments and expenses that continue before customer collections stabilize.
Cost checks to complete before signing
What is the capital takeaway?
The verified 2026 cost range is $335,040 to $489,775 for one Monster Tree Service Franchised Business in one standard Territory. The biggest variables are the 12-month Additional Funds allowance and the financed asset package. The $49,500 initial fee is only one part of the opening capital, and the FDD does not disclose a numeric Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold.
After opening, the cost contract continues through the greater-of Royalty Fee calculation, Brand Fund, Local Marketing, Website Fee, Technology Fee, GPS and other conditional charges. The most important unresolved figure is the buyer's actual cash requirement after reconciling the equipment package, third-party financing, local insurance and premises costs, owner compensation, staffing plan and any multi-territory commitment.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Monster Tree Service Franchise?
- How Does the Monster Tree Service Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Monster Tree Service Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What Are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Monster Tree Service Franchise?
- How Much Does a Monster Tree Service Franchise Owner Make?