How much does a Mister Sparky franchise cost?
A new Mister Sparky franchise has an estimated initial investment of $133,273 to $276,702. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document applies that range to one brand-new Franchised Business serving one Territory with an assumed population of 200,000. It is not a conversion estimate, a resale price, a multi-territory budget, or a stated cash-on-hand requirement.
The range includes the full $33,000 Franchise Fee and $60,000 to $90,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months after opening. It assumes a standard 200,000-person Territory and no fee discount. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 21–26.
Data basis. The legal franchisor is Mister Sparky Franchising SPE LLC. The U.S. FDD was issued April 26, 2026. This analysis uses Item 5 (pages 10–12), Item 6 (pages 12–21), Item 7 (pages 21–26), Item 8 (pages 26–31), Item 10 (pages 33–34), Item 11 (pages 34–45) and Item 17 (pages 56–62), and was checked against the official Mister Sparky investment information on July 22, 2026. No matching public copy of the 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled website, so FDD Item and page references below are intentionally unlinked.
Capital snapshot
The most decision-useful figures are the signing fee, the initial operating reserve and the recurring charges that begin after opening.
Metric sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 10–12; Item 6, pages 12–21; Item 7, pages 21–26.
Can the Initial Franchise Fee be reduced?
Yes, but each 2026 Item 5 incentive changes only the Franchise Fee and, where stated, the Additional Population Fee. It does not reduce rent, fleet, technology, insurance, payroll, Additional Funds or every other Item 7 category, and most incentives cannot be combined.
| Item 5 incentive | Disclosed reduction | Key limits |
|---|---|---|
| Existing Franchisee Discount | 30% of Franchise Fee and applicable Additional Population Fee | Second and later Mister Sparky Territory; qualification required; excludes broker and third-party referral transactions. |
| Veterans Discount | 30% of Franchise Fee and applicable Additional Population Fee | Honorably discharged U.S. or Canadian veterans; first franchise only. |
| Active-Duty Discount | 30% of Franchise Fee and applicable Additional Population Fee | Active U.S. or Canadian armed-forces personnel; first franchise only. |
| Diversity Discount | $5,000 reduction of Franchise Fee | Qualifying business must be at least 51% woman- or minority-owned; first Mister Sparky franchise only. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 10–12. Incentives can be changed or discontinued and generally cannot be combined.
What is included in the $133,273 to $276,702 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total combines the Franchise Fee, premises, technology, a two-vehicle starting fleet, tools, signs, inventory, insurance, licensing, training travel, possible manager compensation and three months of Additional Funds. The estimates are organized below by spending phase so the full disclosure remains readable without collapsing unlike expenses into one figure.
Contract, premises and office
These 2026 line items cover the amount due for the franchise rights and the basic cost of securing, preparing and equipping the assumed office location for one new Territory.
| Item 7 expenditure | Low estimate | High estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Franchise Fee | $33,000 | $33,000 |
| Grand Opening Marketing paid before opening | $0 | $6,000 |
| Rent/Lease of Real Estate | $3,090 | $9,270 |
| Leasehold Improvements | $1,030 | $4,120 |
| Computer, Technology Systems, and Software | $1,854 | $4,120 |
| Office Furniture and Equipment | $1,545 | $4,120 |
| Office Signage | $1,030 | $5,150 |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 21–22. Rent assumes approximately 2,000 to 3,000 rentable square feet and includes three months of rent.
Fleet, tools and launch supplies
The 2026 starting fleet assumption requires at least two leased vehicles, with separate allowances for upfitting, graphics, inventory, registration and the equipment used by technicians.
| Item 7 expenditure | Low estimate | High estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Machinery, Tools and Equipment | $3,090 | $10,300 |
| Vehicles | $8,240 | $15,450 |
| Vehicle Upfitting | $0 | $5,150 |
| Signage for Vehicles | $0 | $8,240 |
| Initial Vehicle Inventory | $2,575 | $8,240 |
| Vehicle Registration Fees | $2,266 | $4,532 |
| Decals for Consumer Units | $309 | $515 |
| Personal Tools for Technicians | $1,030 | $3,090 |
| Start-up Supplies | $2,575 | $5,150 |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 21–25. The table assumes leasing at least two vehicles: one service vehicle and one installation vehicle.
People, compliance and operating runway
For the 2026 new-business format, the largest remaining costs cover the initial three-month operating period, local licensing and professional work, required insurance, training travel and the choice to hire a non-owner manager.
| Item 7 expenditure | Low estimate | High estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Travel Expenses for Initial Training | $2,575 | $5,150 |
| Insurance | $4,120 | $8,240 |
| Professional Fees and Licensing | $4,635 | $20,600 |
| Telephone Services | $309 | $515 |
| Full-Time General Manager/Operations Manager | $0 | $25,750 |
| Additional Funds — three months | $60,000 | $90,000 |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 23–26. The official total across all Item 7 rows is $133,273 to $276,702.
The $0 to $6,000 Item 7 Grand Opening Marketing row is only the portion expected before opening. Item 6 requires up to $18,000 across the period from 30 days before opening through 60 days after opening. Item 7 places post-opening marketing inside Additional Funds, so adding another $18,000 to the official total would double-count part of the obligation.
Which Item 7 costs create the most uncertainty?
Additional Funds produce the largest dollar range, while the choice between owner-management and a hired General Manager/Operations Manager creates another material swing. Professional Fees and Licensing, vehicles, tools and rent also depend heavily on local requirements and operating choices.
Each teal bar begins at the disclosed low estimate and ends at the disclosed high estimate for the same cost category.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 21–26. Interpretation: management staffing and the three-month operating runway account for more variation than any single premises or fleet line.
The low-end estimate assumes the principal Owner supervises and manages the business full time. The high-end estimate includes three months of salary for a non-owner Key Person. A buyer should decide which management model applies before treating either endpoint as relevant.
How does the $276,702 high estimate break down by spending phase?
The following chart is a derived grouping of every high-end line in the 2026 Item 7 table. It does not replace the official categories; it reorganizes them into six non-overlapping spending phases that reconcile exactly to the disclosed high total.
Segment widths show each phase's share of the official high-end total; amounts and percentages are listed below.
Derived calculation from 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 21–26. “Premises and office” includes rent, improvements, furniture, office signage and telephone service; “Technology, supplies and launch marketing” includes the computer/software line, start-up supplies and the pre-opening marketing line. Reconciliation: $33,000 + $23,175 + $55,517 + $15,270 + $33,990 + $115,750 = $276,702. Percentages total 100.0% after rounding.
When is the money paid?
Under the 2026 FDD, the cash requirement is spread across signing, the three-to-four-month pre-opening period, the launch window and the first three months of operations. Item 7's total is an investment estimate, not a statement that the full amount is paid to Mister Sparky Franchising SPE LLC on one date.
-
At Franchise Agreement signing
The Franchise Fee and any Additional Population Fee are due in a lump sum unless the franchisor approves Item 10 financing. The standard $33,000 fee is non-refundable.
-
During the expected three-to-four-month opening period
Rent, leasehold improvements, technology, vehicles, upfitting, signs, inventory, insurance, licensing, start-up supplies and training travel are generally paid as arranged with, or incurred through, third-party vendors. The official training overview describes the operating support, while the FDD assigns travel, lodging, meals and salaries to the franchisee.
-
From 30 days before opening through 60 days after opening
Grand Opening Marketing can total up to $18,000, usually averaging $6,000 per month. The franchisor may reduce the requirement for regional media costs, but the 2026 FDD states it will not be less than $14,000.
-
During the first three months after opening
Additional Funds of $60,000 to $90,000 cover the initial operating period. The disclosure identifies salaries for approximately two employees and the Owner, utilities, vendor costs, uniforms, drug testing, debt service and post-opening marketing among the variables.
-
After opening on recurring schedules
Royalty Fee and Brand Fund Contribution are currently collected semi-monthly; Technology Fee is monthly; Local Marketing begins in the third month after the Original Opening Date; designated-vendor charges follow their own invoices and contracts. Payments to the franchisor are currently made by ACH or electronic funds transfer from the designated bank account.
Financing changes when part of the Franchise Fee is paid, not the Item 7 total. The FDD still lists the full $33,000 Franchise Fee in the initial investment even when Mister Sparky Franchising SPE LLC finances an approved portion.
Which fees continue after the franchise opens?
The principal continuing obligations are the Royalty Fee, Brand Fund Contribution, Local Marketing, Technology Fee, ServiceTitan Platform charges and Call Center charges. Several use Gross Revenue as the basis; the FDD does not convert those percentages into an annual dollar amount.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing and scope |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of Gross Revenue or $1,500 per month, whichever is greater | Semi-monthly unless another period is designated: currently the 25th for Gross Revenue from days 1–15, and the 10th of the next month for days 16 through month-end; applies by Territory. |
| Brand Fund Contribution | 1.5% of first $5 million; 1.25% of next $5 million; 1% of next $5 million; 0.75% of next $5 million; 0% above $20 million | Same schedule as Royalty Fee. Rate resets to 1.5% at the start of each calendar year; contractual ceiling is 4% of Gross Revenue. The current policy combines Gross Revenue from contiguous Territories. |
| Local Marketing | 6% of the calendar year's cumulative Gross Revenue | Monthly, beginning in the third month after the Original Opening Date. Cooperative spending may receive a credit at the franchisor's option. |
| Technology Fee | Currently $100 per month; extra email addresses up to $50 each per month | Monthly. The fee can increase by up to $150 per calendar year to a $500 monthly maximum on 30 days' notice; a separate Allocated Cost for a new system can take it above $500. Designated-vendor products and services are extra. |
| ServiceTitan Platform | Initial onboarding and ongoing monthly charges are not stated in the FDD | Paid directly to ServiceTitan, the exclusive approved supplier named in Item 8. See the official business management technology page and ServiceTitan's electrical software information. |
| Call Center | Vendor fee not stated in the FDD | Required for overflow, after-hours and weekend calls during the first 36 months; may be reimposed later under disclosed conditions. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 12–21; Item 8, pages 26–31. “Gross Revenue” is defined broadly in Item 6 and is reduced by bona fide customer refunds, but not by referral commissions; sales taxes collected and remitted are excluded.
What does the Brand Fund tier schedule mean?
The 2026 schedule applies successively lower rates to higher annual Gross Revenue bands, then restarts at the first tier when the next calendar year begins.
-
The percentage is marginal by tier.
The stated rate applies only to Gross Revenue inside that band, not retroactively to all annual Gross Revenue.
-
The schedule restarts each calendar year.
The current methodology returns the rate to 1.5% for the first tier at the beginning of the next calendar year.
-
The current schedule can change.
The Franchise Agreement permits the franchisor to change the Brand Fund Contribution, subject to the stated maximum of 4% of Gross Revenue.
Do conversion, resale or additional-territory costs use the same range?
No separate 2026 Item 7 range is disclosed for a conversion, resale or additional Territory. The official $133,273 to $276,702 range is expressly for developing and opening a brand-new Franchised Business in one 200,000-person Territory. Applying it unchanged to another transaction would ignore different fee rules, inherited assets, upgrade obligations and territory population.
Why the transaction structure must be priced in writing
The official ownership pathway discusses converting an existing service company, but the 2026 FDD does not publish a separate conversion investment table. The cost contract therefore needs transaction-specific documentation rather than an older website range or a directory estimate.
Additional or larger Territory
The Franchise Fee increases by $0.165 for every person above 200,000, and a larger service area may require more employees, equipment and vehicles. Fees are generally assessed for each Territory independently.
Existing franchisee expansion
A qualified existing Mister Sparky franchisee may receive a 30% reduction of the Franchise Fee and applicable Additional Population Fee for a second or later Territory, subject to exclusions.
Transfer or resale
The buyer may inherit a different Minimum Royalty calculation for the first 12 months, while the seller faces the Transfer Fee and possible broker or buyer-identification charges. Upgrade and training conditions can add cost.
Conversion of an existing business
Existing vehicles, premises, systems and inventory may change the required purchases, but the 2026 FDD provides no separate total. Obtain the exact fee, asset-upgrade schedule and Item 7 treatment in current written disclosure.
Older official blog pages still display earlier-year conversion and new-unit figures. Those numbers are not the 2026 Item 7 disclosure and should not be blended with the current $133,273 to $276,702 range. The latest verified FDD controls FDD-governed cost claims.
Can the Franchise Fee be financed, and is a cash minimum disclosed?
Mister Sparky Franchising SPE LLC may, in its discretion, finance up to 75% of the Franchise Fee and any Additional Population Fee for an eligible initial transaction. The 2026 FDD does not state a fixed Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum, and the current official investment page describes financing only for “qualified candidates.”
-
Maximum franchisor-financed share: up to 75%.
For the standard $33,000 Franchise Fee with no Additional Population Fee, a 25% unfinanced share would equal $8,250. That is a derived calculation, not a disclosed total cash requirement.
-
Term and rate: up to 36 monthly installments at 12% annual interest.
Payments begin on the first day of the month following the first full month after signing. The balance can be prepaid without penalty.
-
Security and guarantees apply.
The franchisee signs a Promissory Note, Guaranty and Security Agreement; business assets secure the note, and owners may be required to guarantee it. Owners holding at least 5% of the franchisee entity must sign the Franchise Agreement's Personal Guarantee.
-
Eligibility exclusions apply.
The franchisor does not offer this financing for an existing franchisee's later Territories or transactions involving brokers, referral programs or other third-party referral sources.
-
Other financing is not guaranteed.
The franchisor does not finance the rest of the Item 7 investment, guarantee a lease or guarantee a third-party obligation.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pages 33–34; Item 15, page 55. The official investment page confirms that Franchise Fee financing is limited to qualified candidates.
Do not substitute the $8,250 derived down-payment amount for a liquidity requirement. A buyer still needs funding for premises, vehicles, insurance, licensing, payroll, marketing and Additional Funds. Request the current written underwriting criteria and confirm whether any lender requires more equity, collateral or reserves.
Which fees arise only after a particular event?
Item 6 contains material charges that are not part of the normal opening budget. They become payable when a franchisee renews, transfers, requests extra services, misses deadlines, violates territorial rules or defaults. The list below emphasizes the trigger because that determines whether the amount applies.
- Renewal after the 10-year initial term: $5,000 when the successor Franchise Agreement is signed, plus potentially unquantified remodel, refurbishment, vehicle and technology upgrades required for the available 10-year successor term.
- Transfer: generally $10,000 with the approval request. Broker referral costs may be added. If the franchisor identifies the purchaser, an additional amount is the greater of $15,000, 3% of the purchase price or actual identification costs.
- Ownership change without change of control: the greater of $500 or external legal and administrative costs, plus the current $1,500 training fee for each required attendee.
- Opening delay: up to $1,000 per month if an extension is approved, subject to the documented equipment-availability exception in Item 5.
- Extra or remedial training: $300 per day for an approved extra pre-opening trainee; $1,500 per trainee for remedial, repeat or optional programs, plus trainer travel when training is on site.
- Extra opening support: up to $500 per day plus reasonable travel, meals and lodging when support exceeds the customary opening assistance.
- Territory infringement: 25% of the applicable service Gross Revenue on a second violation, 50% on a third, and 100% on a fourth or later violation; a first violation involving at least $75,000 of service Gross Revenue escalates to the second-violation level.
- Late or failed payment: interest of 12% per year or the maximum lawful rate; a $100 late fee for the second payment more than 30 days overdue, $200 for the third and $300 for each later occurrence; and an insufficient-funds fee equal to the greater of $50 or the bank charge.
- Default termination: Liquidated Damages equal the greater of two years of Royalty Fees under the stated lookback formula or $100,000, subject to applicable state law.
- Annual Conference: up to $1,000 per attendee when a conference is scheduled. Once the registration fee reaches $1,000, further increases are capped at a cumulative 10% per year. Required attendees who do not attend can be charged twice the published registration fee.
- Brand Fund materials and Key Account programs: customized or reproduced materials are charged at actual cost; Key Account participation fees vary by program and are not estimable in the FDD.
- Service or insurance intervention: a Service Deficiency can produce the franchisor's actual re-performance or reimbursement costs. If required insurance is not maintained, the franchisor can procure it and charge the premium plus up to 25%.
- Vendor review: a requested review of a proposed supplier can require the franchisor's reasonable costs plus personnel travel, meals and lodging, whether or not the vendor is approved.
- Temporary management or step-in: specified Key Person events or an uncured default can trigger up to $500 per day plus costs and overhead.
- Audit and operational compliance: audit costs are actual costs when required statements or records are missing, or when reported Gross Revenue for three consecutive months is more than 2% below the audited amount; Non-Compliance Fees escalate from $500 to $750 and $1,000; an Operational Deficiency Fee is $500 per day plus inspection costs.
- Enforcement, defense, indemnification and de-identification: the Franchise Agreement can require reimbursement of actual or variable legal, loss and brand-removal costs when the corresponding event occurs.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 10–12; Item 6, pages 12–21; Item 17, pages 56–62.
Which required costs remain open-ended?
Several mandatory or plausible obligations cannot be fully priced from the official total because they depend on landlord terms, asset choices, vendor quotations or future system changes.
-
Security deposit.
Item 7 includes three months of rent but says the landlord may require another one or two months of rent as a deposit.
-
Purchased real estate.
The official range assumes leasing. Buying the property can make the initial investment substantially higher.
-
Vehicle purchase rather than lease.
The table assumes leased vehicles. The FDD separately states that trucks may cost $30,000 to $60,000 each and vans $20,000 to $45,000 each if purchased.
-
ServiceTitan and Call Center vendor pricing.
Both are required in stated circumstances, but their initial and recurring prices are not quantified in the FDD.
-
Future systems and upgrades.
The Technology Fee can increase, an Allocated Cost can be added for new systems, and there is no contractual cap on how often required technology specifications may change.
-
Item 11 technology scope.
Item 11 separately estimates approximately $2,100 to $5,500 to buy or lease a compliant computer system and software if the buyer lacks them, plus approximately $290 to $1,000 per year for optional or required maintenance, updates, upgrades and support. Because those descriptions do not exactly match the narrower Item 7 line, obtain a current component-by-component quote rather than replacing the official total.
-
Required supplier economics.
Item 8 estimates that 50% to 60% of establishment purchases and leases come from approved suppliers. The official buying-power page describes BuyMax programs, but current vendor quotations still determine the buyer's actual cost.
What should a buyer verify before setting a capital budget?
A defensible budget starts with the correct transaction type and then replaces the most variable Item 7 assumptions with current written quotes. The official range is a disclosure estimate; it does not resolve every local, vendor or financing condition.
-
Confirm Territory population.
Obtain the population used in the Franchise Agreement and calculate any Additional Population Fee above 200,000.
-
Confirm the transaction format.
Ask for the current written cost schedule for a conversion, resale or additional Territory because the 2026 Item 7 table covers only a new business.
-
Price the site and deposit separately.
Verify rentable square footage, three months of rent, any one-to-two-month security deposit, leasehold work, parking and local signage rules.
-
Choose the fleet funding method.
Compare approved lease terms with vehicle purchase costs, then include upfitting, wraps, registration, inventory and the possibility of additional vehicles for a larger Territory.
-
Obtain current vendor schedules.
Request ServiceTitan onboarding and monthly charges, Call Center pricing, telecommunications, insurance and every designated software or supplier fee.
-
Separate qualification from investment.
Ask for written Liquid Capital, Net Worth, collateral and reserve criteria; none is stated as a fixed threshold in the 2026 FDD.
-
Map marketing cash by month.
Reconcile Grand Opening Marketing, Brand Fund Contribution and Local Marketing without double-counting the post-opening amounts already inside Additional Funds.
-
Review state-specific addenda.
State law can alter enforcement of transfer, termination, liquidated damages and other Franchise Agreement provisions. The FTC consumer guide to buying a franchise explains how to review an FDD and agreements before payment.
The verified starting range is $133,273 to $276,702 for one new 200,000-person Territory. The largest disclosed capital component is the three-month Additional Funds range, while management staffing, licensing, vehicles and local premises explain much of the remaining spread. That total is separate from any undisclosed qualification threshold and from percentage-based fees that continue after opening.
Official documents and tools
These official destinations provide current brand, technology, supplier and federal disclosure context; none is presented as a public copy of the 2026 FDD.
All dollar figures are U.S. dollars. FDD references are to the Mister Sparky Franchising SPE LLC Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 26, 2026.