How much does a MassageLuXe franchise cost?
The 2026 MassageLuXe FDD Item 7 estimates $575,600 to $835,300 to open one MassageLuXe Spa. Item 7 presents one range for a standalone Spa or a Spa developed under the Multi-Unit Development Agreement, but the Initial Franchise Fee line changes by unit. The official low end uses the $32,500 fee for a later non-MUD Spa; a first Spa carries a $42,500 fee.
Estimated Initial Investment for one Spa
The 2026 FDD Item 7 range includes the Initial Franchise Fee, premises and build-out costs, Spa Equipment and Supplies, opening inventory, Start-Up Marketing, technology, and Additional Funds for three months. It excludes Item 6 ongoing fees and an owner’s draw or salary. Source: 2026 MassageLuXe FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14.
First-unit arithmetic: holding every other low-end assumption constant, replacing the $32,500 fee with the first-Spa $42,500 fee produces a derived $585,600 floor. That calculation is not a separately published franchisor estimate.
The 2026 FDD cover states a $577,600 low-end investment, while Item 7 states $575,600. The Item 7 low-end line items add to $575,600, so this article preserves the official Item 7 range, identifies the first-unit fee adjustment separately, and flags the $2,000 cover discrepancy for confirmation before signing.
- Legal franchisor
- RIR HOLDINGS, LLC, formerly Massage Luxe International, LLC
- FDD basis
- 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 30, 2026; Items 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17, plus cost-relevant Franchise Agreement provisions
- Current offers
- Single Franchise and a three-Spa Multi-Unit Development Agreement; the former Area Development Program is not currently offered
- Information checked
- July 16, 2026. No matching public 2026 FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD citations are unlinked. The official MassageLuXe U.S. website is linked separately as brand information.
Capital snapshot
These six figures separate the opening fee, working-capital allowance, ongoing percentage charges, development commitment and weekly technology cost.
$42,500 for a first Spa; $32,500 for later non-MUD Spas.
Three months; excludes Item 6 fees and owner compensation.
Of Gross Revenue; weekly collection basis.
Regional Ad Fee plus National Ad Fee, each on Gross Revenue.
Paid at signing and credited to the first two Spa franchise fees.
Ongoing per Spa after an initial software payment.
What is included in the $575,600 to $835,300 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total is a full opening-cost estimate for one MassageLuXe Spa, not merely the Initial Franchise Fee. Leasehold Improvements are the largest disclosed category, and several equipment-related ranges change with a seven-room versus ten-room configuration and with leasing versus purchasing.
| Premises and build-out cost | 2026 disclosed amount | Payment timing | FDD detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $32,500–$42,500 | When the Franchise Agreement is signed | Paid to RIR HOLDINGS, LLC; nonrefundable |
| Leasehold Improvements | $384,500–$478,200 | As arranged | Assumes a landlord build-out allowance and includes an estimated $5,000 Construction Support Fee |
| Signs | $2,900–$13,200 | As arranged | Indoor and outdoor signage; low end reflects a lease deposit and three lease payments, high end a purchase |
| Spa Equipment and Supplies | $21,700–$83,000 | As arranged | Seven-room versus ten-room capacity and lease-versus-purchase assumptions drive the range |
| Fixtures | $10,600–$38,300 | As arranged | Millwork, retail fixtures, lighting and bathroom fixtures |
| Furniture and Décor | $5,300–$19,000 | As arranged | Seven-room minimum-standard furnishing versus ten-room furnishing beyond minimum standards |
Selected Item 7 ranges on a common $0–$500,000 scale
Floating bars show the disclosed low-to-high interval. Direct labels provide the exact values.
Interpretation: premises construction dominates the disclosed range; equipment capacity and lease-versus-purchase choices create additional variation. Source: 2026 MassageLuXe FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14. Official figures; no midpoint is used.
| Opening and compliance cost | 2026 disclosed amount | Payment timing | Key qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Pre-Opening Inventory | $12,200 | As arranged | Massage lotions, skincare products and supplies; excludes tax and shipping |
| Start-Up Marketing | $15,000 | Before and around opening | Minimum campaign runs during the 30 days before and 30 days after opening |
| Insurance | $10,000–$15,000 | Before opening | Estimated annual premium; varies by insurer, premises and equipment |
| Pre-paid Rent and Lease Deposits | $16,000–$26,000 | When the lease is signed | Purchasing real estate can increase cost significantly |
| Professional Fees | $12,000–$21,000 | Terms vary | May include attorneys, accountants and architects |
| Training Expenses | $3,000–$5,000 | Terms vary | Travel, meals and lodging for two to three people; employee compensation is excluded |
| Licenses/Bonds | $100–$500 | On application, before opening | Local agency and bonding charges vary |
| Technology, logistics and working capital | 2026 disclosed amount | Payment timing | Key qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Hardware and Software | $14,000 | As arranged | Includes required POS hardware/software, tablets, printer, shipping, setup, the $500 software fee and $3,500 installation/configuration |
| Security Systems | $2,100 | Terms vary | Required cameras include lobby, break room, hallway and back-door coverage |
| Office Supplies and Other Miscellaneous Expenses | $4,700–$4,800 | Terms vary | Paid to local vendors |
| Shipping | $4,000–$8,000 | Before opening | Equipment and other purchased items |
| Additional Funds — 3 months | $25,000–$37,500 | Before and during the first three months | Rent, payroll, benefits, extra inventory, taxes and supplies not separately listed |
| Item 7 Total | $575,600–$835,300 | Across the pre-opening and first-three-month period | One single-unit Spa, including a Spa opened under a MUD |
Item 7 figures are estimates. Sales and use tax is excluded from several equipment, signage, fixture, furniture and inventory categories, and the franchisor does not guarantee that additional opening expenses will not arise.
When is the money paid?
MassageLuXe payments occur in stages: an agreement payment first, then lease and construction commitments, then opening payments, followed by weekly and monthly charges once a presale or operation begins.
At agreement signing
A first single-unit buyer pays the $42,500 Initial Franchise Fee in full. A three-Spa developer instead pays the $85,000 MUD Fee immediately when the Multi-Unit Development Agreement is signed.
During site control and build-out
Pre-paid Rent and Lease Deposits are due when the lease is signed. Leasehold Improvements, signage, equipment, fixtures, furniture, professional services and related vendor payments are due as arranged. The estimated $5,000 Construction Support Fee is included within the Leasehold Improvements estimate.
Before opening
The initial POS System Software Fee of $500 and the $3,500 installation/configuration charge are payable to the franchisor or affiliate. Insurance, licenses, shipping and other required amounts must also be addressed, and the Start-Up Marketing minimum covers the 30 days before and 30 days after opening.
At presale or opening and through month three
Royalty, Regional Ad Fee, National Ad Fee and weekly POS System Software Fee begin on the earlier of the initial opening or any presale of Services. Additional Funds are intended to cover the first three months of operating expenses not separately listed in Item 7.
Sources: 2026 MassageLuXe FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–8; Item 6, pp. 8–11; Item 7, pp. 11–14.
Additional Funds are already included in the $575,600 to $835,300 Item 7 total. They do not include Item 6 fees or an owner’s draw or salary, so those obligations must not be mistaken for covered working capital or added twice.
Which fees continue after a MassageLuXe Spa opens?
The main percentage-based charges are the Royalty, Regional Ad Fee and National Ad Fee. They use the FDD definition of Gross Revenue, which broadly includes revenue from services, merchandise, gift cards, presales and business-interruption insurance, subject to stated exclusions for collected sales taxes, bona fide tips, refunds, adjustments, credits and allowances. Item 6 states that fees are paid to the franchisor or affiliates and are nonrefundable unless otherwise noted.
Percentage fees on Gross Revenue
Each bar is plotted against a 6% scale. The royalty changes by operating period; advertising fees are separate charges.
Interpretation: the Royalty rises from 5% to 6% after the first 12 months following initial opening. A transfer or renewal Franchise Agreement carries a 6% Royalty throughout its term. Source: 2026 MassageLuXe FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–11. Official rates; the chart does not estimate sales or annual dollars.
| Recurring fee | Amount or basis | When due | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty | 5% of Gross Revenue for first 12 months; 6% thereafter | Each Friday for the preceding Saturday–Friday Accounting Period | Transfer and renewal agreements use 6% for the full term |
| Regional Ad Fee | 2.5% of Gross Revenue | Weekly | May be increased, but not above 3.5% of Gross Revenue |
| National Ad Fee | 1% of Gross Revenue | Weekly | Collected by debit draft |
| POS System Software Fee | $150 per week per Spa | Weekly after the initial payment | May increase no more than 5% annually |
| Analytics Platform | Current cost: $50 per month | As incurred | Reimbursement of the franchisor’s platform cost, if designated |
| Phone and Email | Actual costs | As incurred | VOIP maintenance and additional requested email addresses after the first |
| Future Technology Services Fee | Not currently quantified | If instituted | The franchisor reserves the right to institute a Technology Services Fee and increase it annually |
The anticipated collection date is each Friday for the preceding Accounting Period, although the franchisor may change the periodic-payment schedule with at least 30 days’ notice. The Franchise Agreement recommends local advertising in addition to the Regional Ad Fee, National Ad Fee and Start-Up Marketing, but the 2026 FDD does not state a required ongoing local-advertising amount.
The Special Risks page refers to mandatory minimum advertising-fund payments regardless of sales levels, while Item 6 states percentage rates and does not quantify a fixed dollar minimum. Confirm the applicable minimum, if any, in the current Franchise Agreement and state addenda.
Other operational charges that depend on use or attendance
These charges are conditional rather than part of the standard weekly percentage-fee stack.
Refresher Training and Additional Guidance: currently $400 per day per trainer, plus travel and living expenses. The daily fee may increase by no more than 10% annually.
Online Continuing Education Programs: $100 to $500 per therapist per optional training program.
Annual Conference Fee: currently $600 to $1,000 per attendee, plus travel and living expenses. The stated maximum may increase no more than 10% per calendar year.
Alternative Supplier or Product Approval Fee: $500 plus a reasonable fee based on costs when expenses exceed $500.
How does the three-Spa development option change the cash commitment?
Under the 2026 disclosure, the three-Spa Multi-Unit Development Agreement changes the timing and allocation of franchise fees, but it does not create a lower Item 7 opening range for each Spa. The developer pays $85,000 at signing and commits to develop three Spas in the MUD Territory under the development schedule.
How the $85,000 MUD Fee is allocated
The MUD Fee is nonrefundable and fully earned at signing. It is credited when the Franchise Agreement for each applicable Spa is signed.
Multiplying the one-Spa Item 7 range by three would be a derived arithmetic scenario, not an official MUD total, because sites, timing and future Franchise Agreement terms can differ. The official disclosure provides an $85,000 development fee and a per-Spa Item 7 range, not a single guaranteed three-Spa capital total.
RIR HOLDINGS, LLC may reduce or waive a MUD Fee for qualifying multi-location Conversions, but the FDD does not promise a standard conversion discount. The older Area Development Agreement is not currently offered to new applicants; the $16,250 fee for a Spa under that program applies only to existing Area Developers.
Source: 2026 MassageLuXe FDD, Item 1, pp. 1–2, and Item 5, pp. 7–8.
Are discounts, liquid-capital requirements or financing disclosed?
The 2026 FDD discloses a military discount and possible discretionary Conversion relief, but it does not disclose a buyer Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold in the reviewed cost and financing provisions. Item 10 also states that MassageLuXe does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation.
Military discount: qualifying active or honorably discharged members of the U.S. Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines or Coast Guard receive 20% off the first-unit Initial Franchise Fee. Applied to $42,500, that is an $8,500 reduction to $34,000; this arithmetic is derived from the FDD rate and fee and cannot be combined with another discount.
Conversion treatment: the franchisor reserves the right to reduce or waive the Initial Franchise Fee for an existing location converted to a Spa. No fixed Conversion price is promised.
Financial qualifications: request the current written underwriting criteria because Total Initial Investment, Liquid Capital and Net Worth are different measures, and the cost disclosures do not establish a liquidity minimum.
Third-party financing: any lender approval, lease financing or equipment financing is separate from the franchisor; Item 10 provides no financing guarantee.
Source: 2026 MassageLuXe FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–8, and Item 10, p. 18.
Which fees can arise later because of a transfer, renewal, relocation or default?
Several Item 6 charges do not occur during normal weekly operations. They become relevant when ownership changes, the term is renewed, the Spa moves, payments are late, reporting is deficient, or contract provisions are breached.
| Ownership or location event | Amount | Timing | Cost consequence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee | At transfer | An additional 10% of the purchase price applies if the franchisor assists in finding the transferee; a transfer to a wholly owned entity may be reduced to legal costs, capped at $3,500 |
| Transfer Start-Up Marketing | $10,000 minimum | During the 30 days after transfer | Separate from the Transfer Fee and Transfer Deposit |
| Transfer Deposit | $5,000 | When considering a transfer | Applied to the Transfer Fee if completed; excess over evaluation, legal and training costs may be partly refundable |
| Renewal Fee | 25% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee | When renewal is granted after the 10-year term | Renewal also requires remodeling to current standards; no remodel amount is disclosed, and the new agreement uses a 6% Royalty throughout its term |
| Relocation Fee | 25% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee | If relocation is approved | Does not include the new site, lease, build-out, signage or moving costs |
| Compliance or enforcement trigger | Amount | When due | Trigger |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interest | Lesser of 1.5% per month or maximum lawful contract rate | When the underlying obligation is paid | Late required payments |
| Auditing Costs | Actual costs | Reimbursement | Understatement above 2% or failure to provide required reports |
| Customer Assistance Fee | Actual and administrative costs | On demand | Franchisor directly assists customers |
| Costs and Attorney’s Fees | Actual costs | On demand | Accounting, legal, arbitration and related enforcement expenses |
| Taxes on franchise fees | Actual costs | On demand | Applicable sales, use, gross-receipts or similar taxes imposed on fees paid to the franchisor |
| General Liquidated Damages | $1,000 per day and/or incident | On demand | Unauthorized products/services, unauthorized advertising or specified System defaults |
| Tail Insurance Liquidated Damages | $1,000 per day | On demand | Failure to maintain required tail coverage after transfer, expiration or termination; the FDD currently describes at least three years of coverage |
| Early Termination or Dispute Resolution Fee | $50,000 plus actual costs for each applicable fee | On demand | Termination for cause, except termination solely for failure to complete initial training or open by the deadline, or breach of dispute-resolution provisions |
Sources: 2026 MassageLuXe FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–11, and Item 17, pp. 30–32.
Percentage fees tied to the “then-current Initial Franchise Fee” cannot be converted into a fixed future dollar amount today. Verify the then-current fee and the current Franchise Agreement before budgeting a transfer, renewal or relocation.
What can push the actual cash requirement outside the disclosed range?
The FDD identifies premises, local market conditions, equipment configuration and vendor terms as major variables. Item 7 is an estimate, not a cap, and several obligations remain unresolved until a site, lease, supplier package and financing method are selected.
Premises: the recommended Spa is 2,200 to 2,800 square feet. Labor, zoning, building age, local market conditions and the landlord improvement allowance affect Leasehold Improvements.
Real estate: Item 7 assumes leased premises. Purchasing real estate can increase costs significantly, and no purchase-price range is disclosed.
Room count and equipment method: seven-room and ten-room Spa assumptions affect equipment, furniture and décor. Low estimates may reflect deposits and three months of lease payments, while high estimates may reflect outright purchases.
Taxes and shipping: several signage, equipment, fixtures, furniture and inventory estimates exclude sales and use tax; opening inventory also excludes shipping, which appears separately.
Approved sources: required goods, fixtures, inventory, computer hardware and software must be bought or leased from the franchisor, affiliates, approved suppliers or according to specifications. Alternative-source review has its own fee.
Owner and employee compensation: Item 7 Training Expenses exclude employee salary during training, and Additional Funds exclude an owner’s draw or salary.
What capital figure should a prospective buyer carry into due diligence?
Use $575,600 to $835,300 per Spa as the 2026 Item 7 opening range, while separately budgeting percentage-based Royalty and advertising fees, the $150 weekly POS System Software Fee, and any owner compensation or other exclusions. A three-Spa developer also pays an $85,000 MUD Fee at signing, but that fee is allocated against the first two Initial Franchise Fees rather than added again to those same fee lines.
The largest unresolved question is site-specific construction. Before relying on the range, reconcile the selected premises, landlord allowance, room count, lease-versus-purchase choices, tax treatment, supplier quotes and required opening cash with the current FDD and agreements. The FTC explains the federal disclosure review period in its franchise buying guide.
Official documents and tools
These public sources provide brand information and the federal disclosure framework; the 2026 FDD figures above remain cited by Item and page.