How Much Does a Liberty Tax Service Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

VERIFIED COST ANSWER

How much does a Liberty Tax Service franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document states that a single Liberty Tax Service office requires an estimated initial investment of $49,700 to $71,400. That range applies to the single-territory office offered by JTH Tax LLC d/b/a Liberty Tax Service; it is not a disclosed range for an existing Developed Territory, a virtual territory amendment, or a former multi-unit development program.

$49,700–$71,400

Official 2026 opening-cost total for one new single-territory Liberty Tax office. The total includes a $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee and three months of Additional Funds, but it excludes ongoing Royalty Fees, ongoing Advertising Fees, interest expense, and any renovations, repairs, or improvements to the premises.

Data basis: JTH Tax LLC d/b/a Liberty Tax Service; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 9, 2026; single Franchise Agreement for one Liberty Tax office; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; checked July 18, 2026. The franchisor’s offer is identified on the official U.S. franchise website, and the April 9, 2026 registration is shown in the Wisconsin franchise filing record.

No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public website, so FDD references in this article are stated by year, Item, and page without a clickable FDD file link.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The 2026 FDD states $49,700 to $71,400. The official investment information page, checked July 18, 2026, lists $49,970 to $71,400, creating a $270 low-end difference. Separately, the disclosed high-end line items add to $70,400, which is $1,000 below the stated $71,400 high total. This article preserves the FDD’s official total and treats both differences as matters for written reconciliation before signing. Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 25–26; derived arithmetic from the disclosed line items.

$25,000 Initial Franchise Fee Single territory; a $10,000 deposit is generally submitted after the 14-day disclosure period.
$3,000–$4,500 Additional Funds Covers the pre-opening period and three months after operations begin.
14% + 5% Ongoing percentage fees Royalty plus advertising, each calculated on the contract-defined fee base.
OPENING INVESTMENT

What is included in the $49,700 to $71,400 investment range?

The 2026 opening-cost schedule combines the upfront charge with initial promotion, travel for required training, office equipment and furnishings, signage, rent, payroll, insurance, and the three-month reserve. Each category has its own payment timing and payee, so the total should not be read as one check due on opening day.

The opening-cost categories are the upfront charge, initial promotion, travel for training, office equipment and furnishings, exterior signage, rent, payroll, insurance, and the three-month reserve. The chart below preserves each official low and high figure. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 25–26.

2026 Item 7 ranges by cost category

The horizontal position shows each disclosed low-to-high interval on a common $0 to $25,000 scale. The fixed upfront charge is shown as a point.

Initial Franchise Fee
$25,000
Equipment & Furniture
$7,500–$15,000
Payroll
$5,000–$7,000
Rent
$3,000–$6,000
Initial Advertising
$2,500–$5,000
Signs
$2,500–$5,000
Additional Funds
$3,000–$4,500
Training travel
$1,000–$2,500
Insurance
$200–$400

Interpretation: the $25,000 upfront charge is the largest fixed opening amount, while Equipment & Furniture has the widest disclosed range. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 25–26. Values are official ranges; the geometry is a proportional comparison, not a recommended allocation.

OPENING-RANGE EXCLUSIONS

The stated Rent range assumes a typical office of about 1,000 to 1,200 square feet and does not include renovations, repairs, or improvements. The initial promotion estimate is not a uniform mandatory spend; the FDD says no specific opening amount is required and most franchisees spend about $5,000. The training estimate excludes travel and lodging for the optional open-house seminar. The Insurance estimate excludes coverage required for services outside tax preparation. The reserve note lists government fees, miscellaneous supplies, utilities, security deposits, internet access, and professional expenses, but does not state that owner compensation is included. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 26.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the initial money paid?

The first franchisor payment is generally a $10,000 deposit after the prospect has held the FDD for at least 14 calendar days. The opening-cost schedule lists the full $25,000 charge as due upon signing, so the remaining amount is due at that stage unless approved written terms provide otherwise. Other opening costs arise before opening, around opening, and during the first three months of operations.

1
Hold the disclosure document for at least 14 calendar days

The FDD says the $10,000 deposit is submitted only after this disclosure period. The FTC franchise purchasing guide explains the federal 14-day disclosure timing.

2
Complete training approval and sign the contract

The deposit is refundable if JTH Tax does not approve the application or the prospect does not pass Initial Owners Training, provided the distributed materials are returned. Otherwise, the fee becomes fully earned and nonrefundable when both parties execute the contract. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 20.

3
Pay the pre-opening categories

Travel costs, office equipment and furnishings, signage, and insurance are due before opening. Initial Advertising can be paid before and after opening. A lease should not be signed until the site is approved. Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 25; Item 11, p. 36.

4
Fund operating payments as they arise

Rent is identified as monthly, payroll as biweekly, and the reserve as incurred. The reserve period begins before operations and extends through three months after operations start. Ongoing Royalty Fees and Advertising Fees begin after opening and are outside the opening total.

The FTC’s Franchise Rule materials provide the general disclosure framework; the Liberty Tax contract and the current FDD control the brand-specific payment obligations.

ONGOING FEES

Which Liberty Tax fees continue after opening?

The principal continuing charges are a 14% Royalty Fee and a 5% Advertising Fee, each based on the FDD’s definition of Gross Receipts and generally due on the fifth day of the month. The royalty also has annual minimums beginning in the second agreement year.

Annual minimum Royalty Fee by agreement year

The percentage royalty remains 14% of the defined fee base. These columns show only the disclosed annual minimum floor, not an expected annual royalty payment.

$0
Year 1
$5,000
Year 2
$8,000
Year 3
$11,000
Year 4
$11,000
Year 5

Interpretation: there is no first-year minimum; the minimum rises to $5,000 in year two, $8,000 in year three, and $11,000 in years four and five. Any balance required to reach the annual minimum is due May 5 for the 12 months ending April 30. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 21–22.

Continuing charge Amount or basis Timing Cost meaning
Royalty Fee 14% of Gross Receipts Fifth day of each month; minimum true-up May 5 Subject to the annual minimum schedule shown above.
Advertising Fee 5% of Gross Receipts Fifth day of each month Separate from the non-uniform initial promotion estimate.
Pre-Existing Tax Client exclusion $5 per approved client At closing and potentially annually May exclude approved pre-existing-client preparation fees from the fee base.
Interest on overdue amounts 12% After an amount is more than 15 days past due Applies to overdue obligations.
Sales or Gross Receipts Tax As required locally With the related fee May apply to the initial fee, royalty, and advertising charge.
Transmitter, Electronic Filing, Handling, or Software Fee $25 per approved Easy Advance; $39.95 per California Refund Transfer When the product is funded The franchisor reserves the right to vary the amount or name of this charge.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 21–25. “Gross Receipts” means all revenue from all tax services and products offered by the franchised business, after the approved deductions identified in the FDD, including customer discounts and refunds; an approved pre-existing-client exclusion may also apply. The percentages should not be converted into annual dollar estimates without compatible actual receipts data.

Which charges are triggered by a later event?

Transfer, resale assistance, holdover, audit, sublease, enforcement, customer-remediation, and premature-closure events can create additional obligations that are not part of the opening investment.

Transfer: $5,000 per territory when the business is transferred.
Sale assistance: 10% of the sales price, subject to a $5,000 minimum, if Liberty is asked to assist and finds the purchaser.
Set-Off for misconduct: unpaid Royalty Fees and Advertising Fees, plus 25% liquidated damages, may be collected through ACH in the circumstances described in Item 6.
Holdover: an additional 2% of Gross Receipts on top of standard royalties while operating after the contract expires without timely renewal documentation.
Premature closure during holdover: an amount equal to royalties paid or payable during the preceding six months, due on demand.
Gross Receipts understatement or records failure: the full cost of review plus 12% annual interest on the understated amount.
Sublease: up to $1,000 upon signing a sublease with the franchisor.
Enforcement and customer remediation: applicable attorneys’ fees and costs, customer refunds, penalties, interest, misdelivered-check amounts, andunpaid referral awards can be billed when the stated trigger occurs.

Cost implication: the royalty minimum is a floor, not a substitute for the 14% calculation. If percentage-based royalties for a contract year are below the applicable minimum, the balance becomes due after the year-end measurement date. If the percentage calculation is higher, that calculated amount governs. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 21–22.

FORMAT DIFFERENCE

Does the investment range apply to every Liberty Tax ownership path?

No. The $49,700 to $71,400 range is for a new single franchise office. An existing operation uses a different price mechanism, and the 2026 FDD does not offer the former Development Agreement for new multi-unit development.

New single-territory office

One contract and one Liberty Tax office. The opening-cost schedule supplies the range shown above.

Developed Territory

The price is generally 105% of the prior tax season’s annual Net Fees, but may vary based on the operation, assets, owner involvement, market conditions, and other factors. The upfront fee is included in the purchase price rather than charged separately.

VTO and former development path

A Franchised VTO is an amendment available in certain circumstances after an office is open, not a separate office under the opening-cost schedule. The FDD says the prior Development Agreement for multiple offices is no longer offered.

Item 5 also says limited-time programs may reduce the upfront charge or change payment terms. During the last fiscal year, some single franchises were sold below $25,000, including $0 transactions associated with an existing-company-store program. Those historical transactions do not establish a current applicant price and do not remove the other disclosed startup or continuing costs.

The official ownership-options page also describes opening a new location, acquiring an existing office, converting an independent tax practice, merging a virtual tax business into a storefront, and adding tax services to an existing business. Those marketing descriptions do not publish separate 2026 opening ranges, so they should not be assigned the new-office range without a format-specific written cost schedule.

Existing-operation pricing: the 105% formula is not a fixed purchase quote. The FDD defines the reference as prior-tax-season annual Net Fees and states that the final price may vary. Furniture, fixtures, equipment, supplies, lease transfer, and other transaction facts can affect the negotiated amount. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 20–21.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

Does Liberty Tax disclose minimum liquid capital or net worth?

The reviewed 2026 FDD does not state a separate minimum Liquid Capital amount, minimum Net Worth amount, or minimum non-borrowed-funds requirement for the single-office offer. The disclosed investment range therefore should not be presented as an approval threshold or as the exact cash amount a specific applicant must hold.

Total Initial Investment
$49,700 to $71,400 for the new single-office format; this includes several pre-opening and early-operating categories.
Liquid Capital
No separate minimum is stated in the reviewed 2026 FDD. This means cash or readily available funds, not the same as a balance-sheet measure.
Net Worth
No separate applicant minimum is stated in the reviewed 2026 FDD. This balance-sheet measure is not equivalent to cash available for franchise costs.
Personal Guarantee
If financing is approved, the applicant and entity principals must personally guarantee the debt, and the franchisor requires a security interest.

The official franchise FAQ addresses investment and financing topics, but a prospect should obtain the current written qualification standards directly because a public threshold is not stated in the 2026 FDD.

FINANCING TERMS

What financing does the 2026 FDD describe?

JTH Tax may, in its sole discretion, provide or arrange third-party financing for part of the upfront charge, operating capital, or certain additional-territory purchases. Approval, amount, and terms depend on available funds, creditworthiness, purpose, local market conditions, compliance, and any current program.

FINANCING IS CONDITIONAL

The FDD describes typical terms of 12% interest, a generally applicable 1% origination fee, and repayment over four to five years through four to five annual payments. Different programs may use different terms. JTH Tax has no obligation to lend, and financing approval does not reduce the total contractual cost. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 33–35.

Financing can also require certifications or additional training, monthly financial reporting, approved vendors, a security interest, a Personal Guarantee, and direct collection of system receipts before amounts owed are deducted. The FDD identifies possible tailored programs for existing company stores, additional territories, existing business owners, veterans, or first responders, but states that terms vary and no financing is obligatory. Agents and affiliates do not presently offer purchase financing, although the franchisor may refer qualified franchisees to an independent leasing company for furniture, fixtures, Signs, Equipment, and, for highly qualified applicants, working capital or opening charges.

For the operating model, a valid Electronic Filing Identification Number is essential and must be documented before closing. The IRS authorized e-file provider process explains the application and suitability review. The FDD warns that an applicant who cannot obtain and maintain an EFIN cannot operate the franchise. Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 1 and 8, pp. 3 and 27–28.

RENEWAL AND ASSET OBLIGATIONS

What later costs can arise from renewal, transfer, or required upgrades?

Renewal has no stated renewal fee, but it may require remodeling, refurbishing, and modernizing the office. A transfer costs $5,000 per territory and can also require the transferee to complete remodeling, refurbishment, and modernization within 90 days after transfer.

Renewal: successive five-year terms are available if requirements are met; no renewal fee may be imposed, but required physical or operational updates can create an uncapped project cost.
Transfer: budget the $5,000 Transfer Fee, possible 10% sale-assistance commission with a $5,000 minimum, training costs for the transferee, and any 90-day remodeling obligation.
Computer systems: tax-preparation and processing computers must come from an approved vendor and meet specifications; future updates or upgrades are at the franchisee’s cost.
Signs and brand changes: an approved exterior lighted sign is required, and future changes to the Marks can require replacement of Signs and supplies at the franchisee’s expense.
Insurance: current specifications include at least $1,000,000 of comprehensive general liability per office, workers’ compensation where required, and possible professional liability coverage for other services.

Item 8 further estimates that required purchases and leases from the franchisor will represent approximately 20% of total purchases and leases made while establishing and operating the office. Many other goods must still come from approved suppliers or comply with system specifications. Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 28–32; Item 17, pp. 49–52. These obligations explain why the opening range is not a lifetime cost ceiling.

BUYER VERIFICATION

Which numbers should be confirmed before committing capital?

The official FDD total is the correct starting point, but the site, transaction type, financing decision, regulatory approvals, and internal numerical discrepancies require written confirmation before a prospect treats the range as a complete cash plan.

Request a written reconciliation of the opening schedule: confirm why the high-end categories total $70,400 while the official high total is $71,400.
Confirm the current low-end figure: resolve the $49,700 FDD figure against the $49,970 figure on the official investment page.
Price the approved site: obtain the actual lease, security deposit, utility deposits, and any renovations, repairs, or improvements excluded from the Rent estimate.
Match the transaction path: use the new-office range only for the single-office format; obtain a separate purchase schedule for an existing-office purchase or conversion transaction.
Confirm staffing and travel: payroll can be materially higher in California, Maryland, and Oregon, and required travel varies by location and attendance method.
Obtain current financial qualifications: ask for written cash, balance-sheet, credit, collateral, and non-borrowed-fund standards because the reviewed 2026 FDD does not publish separate minimums.
Separate the three-month reserve from later obligations: the three-month reserve is already inside the opening total, while continuing Royalty Fees, Advertising Fees, interest, upgrades, and event-triggered charges sit outside the opening total unless specifically included.
CAPITAL TAKEAWAY

What is the practical cost interpretation?

The verified 2026 starting range for one new Liberty Tax Service office is $49,700 to $71,400. The upfront charge is the largest fixed opening payment; office equipment, furnishings, rent, payroll, signage, required travel, site work, and local conditions drive much of the variation.

The opening total is not the same as available cash, balance-sheet wealth, or total long-term exposure. Continuing percentage fees, annual royalty minimums, financing costs, required upgrades, and event-triggered charges remain outside the basic opening answer. The central unresolved issue is the need to reconcile the current official figures and obtain a format-specific, site-specific written cost schedule before funds are committed.