How Much Does a Lapels Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

DIRECT COST ANSWER

How much does a Lapels franchise cost?

Lapels has four separate U.S. investment ranges in its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document: $535,930 to $796,742 for a Plant, $113,065 to $345,650 for a Satellite Store, $40,900 to $78,600 for Lapels Delivers, and $907,905 to $1,711,738 for a Laundromat. These are format-specific Item 7 totals, not one blended Lapels cost range.

4 distinct
Item 7 ranges

2026 FDD, four operating models. The totals include the applicable Initial Franchise Fee, the required Start Up Supplies and Equipment Package, opening costs and Additional Funds for the first three months. The mix changes materially because a route-only Lapels Delivers business does not carry the same premises, construction or equipment obligations as a Plant or Laundromat. See 2026 FDD Item 7, pages 11-18, and the franchisor's official 2026 FDD state issuance page.

The disclosed total is a full opening budget, not the amount due on the day the agreement is signed. A buyer commits to some payments immediately, pays another group after securing premises, and pays third parties as construction, equipment delivery, insurance, licensing and training occur. The range therefore answers how much capital the project may consume, while the payment schedule answers when that capital needs to be available.

Choosing the operating model comes before comparing price. The route-only option avoids a retail build-out and production plant, the drop-store model adds premises and customer-service equipment, and the two equipment-intensive models require substantially more site work and machinery. The low end for one model cannot be used as a proxy for another, even when both carry the same brand and some common operating systems.

The endpoints also are not promises. Each one reflects the assumptions described in the disclosure, including whether space is already owned, how much work a landlord performs, which equipment options are selected, and what local approvals require. A site-specific capital plan should preserve the official total as the control figure while replacing individual allowances only with written quotes that match the same scope.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Next Step Franchising, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company and subsidiary of Clean Franchise Brands, LLC. FDD issuance date: April 2, 2026. Formats: the four operating models stated above. Cost evidence: Item 5, pages 5-7; Item 6, pages 7-10; Item 7, pages 11-18; Item 8, pages 18-19; Item 10, page 20; cost-relevant portions of Item 11, pages 20-28; and Item 17, pages 33-35. Information checked July 15, 2026. Corporate relationship cross-check: official Lapels Cleaners brand page.

4Official unit formatsEach has a separate 2026 investment range.
3 monthsOperating allowance periodWorking capital and startup expenses, including payroll.
NoneFranchisor financingNo direct or indirect financing; no guarantee of obligations.
FORMAT COMPARISON

Why are Lapels investment ranges so different?

The main distinction is the operating asset base. A Lapels Delivers territory is route-only, while a Satellite Store has a customer-facing premises but no on-site cleaning plant. A Plant requires production equipment and a build-out, and the Laundromat has the largest disclosed equipment and leasehold-improvement ranges.

2026 format Initial Franchise Fee Paid to franchisor or affiliates
Plant $60,000 $387,930-$427,792
Satellite Store $30,000 $79,125-$191,750
Lapels Delivers $27,000 $36,800-$38,100
Laundromat $55,000 $569,405-$956,488

The rightmost column isolates the portion expected to flow to the franchisor or an affiliate. It does not represent the full cash requirement, and it should not be read as the minimum down payment. The remainder can be owed to landlords, contractors, approved vendors, insurers, professional advisers and public authorities on different dates.

The width of a range is itself useful information. A narrow route range reflects fewer premises variables, while the larger spreads for the location-based models reflect site condition, construction scope, equipment configuration and local compliance. The table and chart should therefore be read together: one shows the full project envelope, and the other shows how much of that envelope is franchisor-directed.

A buyer comparing funding sources should map each payment to its recipient and deadline rather than treating the total as one invoice. That exercise can reveal whether cash is needed before outside financing closes, whether a landlord allowance is reimbursed after work is completed, and whether an equipment deposit becomes nonrefundable before the location is ready to open.

Cost implication: the amount paid to Next Step Franchising, LLC or affiliates is only part of the capital requirement. Contractors, landlords, insurers, government agencies, professional advisers, vehicle vendors and other approved suppliers receive material amounts outside the franchisor-directed portion.

ITEM 7 COST MAP

What is included in each Lapels startup budget?

Item 7 includes the format-specific costs below. The totals cover opening and the first three months of operation, but they do not estimate real estate acquisition costs. Unless otherwise stated, sales tax is excluded; the Laundromat table separately includes a $0 to $60,000 Sales Tax line.

The categories are grouped by the decision they affect rather than copied as one oversized table. The first group identifies contractual and launch payments, the second isolates premises and professional work, and the third separates equipment, delivery and pre-opening expenses. Every line remains tied to the same April 2026 disclosure and to the model-specific official total.

These amounts should not be added across columns. Each column is a separate cost contract, and a dash means that the category is not listed for that model. Likewise, a line shown as a range is not an optional menu from which a buyer can automatically choose the low number; the applicable amount depends on the assumptions and scope described in the notes.

Contract, launch and three-month allowance

This group separates the fixed agreement payment, opening marketing, the initial operating allowance, and the two format-specific charges that do not apply across all four models.

Item 7 category Plant Satellite Store Lapels Delivers Laundromat
Initial Franchise Fee $60,000 $30,000 $27,000 $55,000
Grand Opening Marketing $12,000 $12,000 $6,000 $15,000
Additional Funds - 3 months $20,000-$40,000 $10,000-$30,000 $1,200-$20,000 $20,000-$30,000
GreenEarth Solution Licensing Fee $2,500 — — —
Sales Tax Not separately stated Not separately stated Not separately stated $0-$60,000

The fixed fee is paid for the franchise grant and initial assistance. The marketing payment funds the opening and first-year program described in Item 5. The three-month allowance is already inside the official total and is meant for working capital and startup expenses, including payroll.

The three lines in this group serve different purposes. The contractual payment secures the franchise rights and initial support; the marketing amount funds launch activity; and the operating allowance is held back for expenses after the doors open. Combining them into a single “cash required” number would hide their different due dates and refund rules.

The operating allowance deserves special attention because it covers only the initial three-month period. It includes payroll and startup expenses, but the disclosure does not separately state an owner salary or draw. It also warns that actual expenses can exceed the estimate. A buyer should therefore confirm which personal living costs, debt payments and owner compensation assumptions sit outside the business budget.

Tax treatment is another source of asymmetry. The equipment-heavy laundry model contains an explicit tax line, while the notes state that totals generally exclude sales taxes unless otherwise stated. That means a quote should show whether tax is included, excluded or payable separately, especially when machinery is shipped across state lines or purchased through an approved source.

Premises, professional and protection costs

The location-based models carry site, design, construction, signage, deposit, insurance and professional-cost ranges that the route-only model largely avoids.

Item 7 category Plant Satellite Store Lapels Delivers Laundromat
Leasehold Improvements $50,000-$200,000 $20,000-$100,000 — $250,000-$550,000
Architecture/Engineering $16,650-$19,500 — — $16,650-$19,500
Construction Management $4,250-$20,750 — — $4,250-$20,750
Real Estate, prepaid rent and deposits $0-$15,000 $0-$8,000 — $5,000-$16,000
Exterior Signage and permits $8,000-$15,000 $8,000-$15,000 — $8,000-$20,000
Interior Signage $1,500-$4,000 $500-$1,500 — $4,000-$8,000
Insurance $850-$2,200 $140-$200 $500-$2,000 $1,500-$6,000
Professional Services, Licenses and Permits $2,500-$7,500 $1,050-$4,700 $1,050-$5,000 $5,000-$48,000

Premises-based models carry the most location-sensitive categories. The low end can assume owned space or substantial landlord work, while the high end reflects more franchisee-funded improvements, professional work, signage, deposits and local approvals. No real estate purchase price is included.

A lease can change the timing without changing the economic burden. A landlord may complete work directly, provide an allowance after invoices are submitted, or require the tenant to fund construction first and seek reimbursement later. Those structures can create a temporary cash need that is larger than the franchisee's ultimate share of the work.

The construction-related lines also need scope discipline. Architectural work, bid management, physical improvements, equipment installation and utility upgrades are separate obligations. A contractor proposal that combines several of them may be commercially reasonable, but it must be reconciled line by line so the same work is not counted twice or omitted because it appears under a different label.

Deposits and professional expenses are usually paid to third parties and may have their own refund rules. The estimate cannot determine a particular landlord's security requirement, a municipality's permit schedule, a utility deposit, or the amount a local attorney or accountant charges. These variables explain why a signed lease and site plan are essential inputs to the final capital schedule.

Equipment, delivery and pre-opening costs

The equipment-intensive models are driven by the required package, installation and freight, while the route model substitutes vehicle and wrap costs for premises machinery.

Item 7 category Plant Satellite Store Lapels Delivers Laundromat
Start Up Supplies and Equipment Package $292,430-$318,292 $26,325-$131,250 $3,800-$5,100 $473,405-$777,088
Equipment Installation $50,000 $1,000-$2,000 — $24,350-$40,500
Freight $13,000-$20,000 $2,800-$3,500 — $18,000-$29,400
Initial Supplies and Ancillary Items $500-$3,000 $500-$3,000 — $2,500-$5,000
Computer, Electronics and IT Systems $1,500-$4,000 $500-$1,500 — $5,000-$8,000
Training travel and living $250-$3,000 $250-$3,000 $250-$2,000 $250-$3,500
Delivery Vehicle — — $500-$6,000 —
Vehicle Wrap/Vinyl — — $500-$3,000 —
Permits and Licenses — — $100-$2,500 —

The required package is the largest equipment-related line for the Plant and Laundromat. Optional capacity or automation explains part of the disclosed spread. Installation excludes electrical, plumbing, HVAC and tenant improvements, so those site systems must be reconciled with the construction budget rather than assumed to be included here.

The package, installation and freight lines should remain separate when quotes are reviewed. The package covers the specified machinery, supplies and technology bundle; installation coordinates receiving and setting equipment; freight moves the package to the site. Electrical service, plumbing, ventilation and other building systems can remain part of the premises work even when they are necessary for the machinery to function.

Capacity choices affect more than the purchase invoice. Larger or more automated equipment can change space planning, utility loads, delivery logistics and contractor work. A quote at the upper end should therefore be checked against the approved plans, not treated as a stand-alone equipment upgrade with no effect on other categories.

The route model substitutes mobility for premises. Its vehicle assumptions depend on whether an acceptable vehicle already exists and whether racking or a full purchase is needed. The wrap, operating permits, insurance and route software should be matched to the same vehicle plan so that the low and high assumptions are not mixed.

Training expense is limited to travel and living costs in the opening table because the initial instruction itself is included for the owner and one additional person. Any extra attendee, wage continuation or later refresher session can create a separate obligation. The payment schedule should distinguish the included instruction from travel booked through third parties.

Source for all three tables: 2026 FDD Item 7, pages 11-18. A dash means the category is notlisted for that format. Official totals are preserved rather than replaced with line-item arithmetic.

FDD caveat

Additional Funds are already included in each Item 7 total. They cover working capital and startup expenses, including payroll costs, during the first three months. The FDD does not separately identify an owner salary or draw, so a buyer should not assume owner compensation is included.

PAYMENT TIMING

When does a Lapels franchisee pay the startup costs?

The cash does not leave at one moment. The Initial Franchise Fee is due at Franchise Agreement signing; most premises-based package and marketing payments follow at lease signing; other construction, equipment, licensing and opening costs are paid as incurred or shortly before opening.

  1. 1

    Franchise Agreement signing

    Pay the fixed initial fee for the chosen model. The route-only buyer also pays the required startup package and opening-marketing charge at signing.

  2. 2

    Lease signing for a premises-based model

    The three location-based models pay the required startup package, signage allowance or deposit, and opening-marketing charge when the lease is signed.

  3. 3

    Construction, equipment and approvals

    Leasehold Improvements, Architecture/Engineering, Construction Management, installation, freight, interior signage, technology, permits, professional services and deposits are paid under the timing shown in Item 7. A Plant pays the $2,500 GreenEarth Solution Licensing Fee 30 days before opening.

  4. 4

    Training and pre-opening

    Travel, lodging, meals and living expenses for training are paid to third parties as incurred. Insurance must be in place before opening, and vehicle, wrap and license costs for Lapels Delivers are due before operations begin.

  5. 5

    Opening through month three

    Additional Funds are used as incurred for payroll and other startup expenses during the initial three-month operating period. Weekly Royalty Fee and Brand Development Fee obligations begin with operations, together with the applicable Technology Fee and local marketing requirement.

Refund timing

The initial fee is fully earned and nonrefundable. The startup package is refundable less a 20% administrative fee until purchase orders are submitted, approximately one week after the franchisor receives payment. The opening and first-year marketing payment is refundable less a 20% administrative fee until 12 weeks before the scheduled opening. Signage and permit amounts cease to be refundable once expenses are incurred.

The 2026 FDD estimates 30 to 180 days from the earlier of agreement signing or first payment to operations, subject to financing, site, construction, equipment and software timing. The Franchise Agreement generally requires opening no later than 240 days after signing or 60 days after final construction-plan approval, whichever is earlier. Under the FTC's disclosure timing rules, a prospect normally must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing or paying; the FTC Franchise Rule FAQs explain the review framework.

ONGOING AND CONDITIONAL FEES

Which Lapels fees continue after opening?

The principal recurring charges are a 6% Royalty Fee, a 2% Brand Development Fee, at least 1% of Gross Revenue per year for Ongoing Local Marketing, and a Technology Fee of up to $1,000 per month. The percentage fees use the FDD definition of Gross Revenue; they are not percentages of profit.

The 6% and 2% charges are calculated for the week ending Sunday and paid every Monday. The local spending minimum is measured annually and expended bi-monthly each quarter, using the wording in Item 6. The separate technology charge is up to $1,000 per month and follows the weekly collection schedule.

Most locations need two POS licenses, typically less than $150 per month each, and route software may add charges. The disclosed current Laundromat licensing amount is $400 per month, subject to change. Item 8 identifies SPOT as the current approved software supplier for the other three models. The percentage bars exclude technology because it has a dollar basis.

The percentages should not be converted into an annual dollar estimate without an official sales figure for the specific business. They apply to the contract definition of revenue, which excludes stated taxes, refunds, adjustments, credits, discounts and allowances but is broader than cash received at the counter. The weekly debit schedule also means the business must maintain enough account liquidity even when customer collections or card settlements arrive on a different timetable.

Local advertising is economically different from a payment retained by the franchisor. The minimum can be spent through available system-wide programs or with local vendors, and the franchisor may spend it on the franchisee's behalf if the required amount is not spent. The obligation still belongs in the ongoing budget because it is tied to revenue and continues after launch marketing is complete.

The technology ceiling is not a promise that every location pays the maximum. It is a contractual cap disclosed for required systems, while the notes describe current license examples and possible route-management charges. A buyer should request the current station count, software list, billing recipient and weekly debit amount for the selected model before preparing the opening cash calendar.

What events can create additional fees?

Late payment, missing reports, extra support, renewal, transfer, remodel, holdover and termination can each activate a separate contractual charge.

Late payment or missing reports
Interest is 18% per annum or the maximum lawful rate. The Non-Reporting Fee is $500 per month, and an audit can require reimbursement of variable audit costs.
Additional support or training
Additional Assistance/Refresher Training is $400 per day plus expenses. Annual convention or regional meeting registration is $0-$750 plus travel, lodging and other attendee expenses.
Replacement manual or new supplier
Operations Manual replacement is actual cost plus a 15% processing fee; the current stated manual cost is $50. New Supplier Evaluation is $200 plus actual expenses.
Renewal
The Successor Franchise Fee is 25% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee. Renewal also requires the location to meet then-current standards, model and décor.
Transfer
The Transfer Fee is 80% of the then-current Franchise Fee, subject to the disclosed waiver condition, plus outstanding fees and any third-party referral, broker or listing fees.
Store remodel
Estimated $2,000-$10,000 as incurred. The FDD says a remodel or upgrade will occur no more often than every five years.
Holdover after agreement expiry
Interim Franchise Royalty Fees equal the franchisor's then-current Royalty Fee plus 2% while the business continues without a signed renewal agreement.
Unlawful termination
The Termination Fee equals 24 months of Royalty and Ad Fund fees, calculated from the month with the highest Gross Revenues during the term. Other damages may also be due.
Enforcement and post-term obligations
Expenses to enforce termination obligations may range from $5,000 to $50,000 or more. Actual accounting, attorney, arbitrator and related costs can also be charged when triggered.

These charges come from 2026 FDD Item 6, pages 7-10, with renewal, transfer and post-term context in Item 17, pages 33-35. They are conditional obligations, not amounts that should be added automatically to Item 7.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital or net worth does Lapels require?

The current official Lapels investment page states a $350,000 minimum net worth and approximately $100,000 in liquid assets for one Plant, and a $250,000 minimum net worth and approximately $40,000 in liquid assets for one Satellite Store. The page defines liquid assets as assets convertible to cash within 30 days. It does not publish corresponding fixed thresholds for Lapels Delivers or Laundromat.

Separately, 2026 FDD Item 5 says the qualification standards used for new franchisees include a minimum 20% liquid cash injection and minimum 50% outside collateral on total project startup costs. These percentage standards should not be treated as a replacement for a format-specific net worth or liquidity threshold.

The percentage tests and the website thresholds answer different questions. The first pair measures how a project is funded relative to its startup cost, while the website figures screen the applicant's overall financial position for two models. Meeting one test does not prove that the others are satisfied, and none of them reduces the amount that contractors, suppliers and other payees are owed.

A liquid-cash requirement concerns funds available for the transaction. Net worth includes assets and liabilities that may not be readily usable for invoices. Outside collateral can support borrowing but may not produce cash until a lender approves and closes a facility. Because the franchisor does not provide or guarantee financing, the timing and conditions of any third-party loan remain separate from the franchise payment deadlines.

The disclosure does not publish a fixed website threshold for the route or laundry model. That absence should be recorded as an open underwriting question rather than filled with the figure for another model. A prospective buyer should obtain the current written criteria for the selected format and confirm whether a personal guaranty, collateral valuation or source-of-funds documentation is required.

Total Initial Investment
The complete Item 7 range for the selected format, including the Initial Franchise Fee and Additional Funds.
Liquid assets
Assets the official investment page says can be converted to cash within 30 days; this is not the same as net worth.
Net worth
Total financial position under the franchisor's qualification test; it is not cash available to pay startup invoices.
Outside collateral
A separate FDD qualification measure stated as at least 50% of total project startup costs.
Financing
2026 FDD Item 10 states that Next Step Franchising, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation.
FORMAT-SPECIFIC CAVEATS

Which Lapels cost obligations need separate verification?

The FDD resolves the four standard Item 7 formats, but several obligations remain location-dependent or circumstance-dependent. Those variables can move the required cash even when the official range is accurate.

A conversion is not a fifth Item 7 range

Lapels markets a conversion program, and the official investment page describes a website estimate of $30,000 to $250,000 depending on the work required. The April 2, 2026 FDD does not provide a separate Item 7 conversion table. That website estimate therefore should not be merged with, or substituted for, the Plant, Satellite Store, Lapels Delivers or Laundromat totals. A conversion buyer needs a written scope and the applicable current disclosure documents.

Buyer verification

For a Plant or Laundromat, confirm the landlord's tenant-improvement allowance, local construction requirements, equipment options, freight, sales tax and utility infrastructure before treating either end of Item 7 as usable for a specific site. The FDD notes recent comparable Laundromat build-out experience of $100-$125 per square foot, but the official Item 7 Leasehold Improvements range remains $250,000-$550,000.

Premises size and travel can also shift third-party costs. The disclosure describes typical spaces of 1,700-2,200 square feet for a Plant, 800-1,400 square feet for a Satellite Store and 2,500-3,500 square feet for a Laundromat. Initial instruction for the owner and one additional person is included, but the franchisee pays travel, lodging, living expenses and wages. Current training facilities are identified in Fort Mill, South Carolina; Cedar Park, Texas for Plant training; and Boston, Massachusetts for Laundromat training.

Lapels Delivers has a separate vehicle variable: an existing approved delivery vehicle can support the low end, while the high end assumes a vehicle with the required racking system. Insurance must meet at least $1,000,000 per claim and $2,000,000 aggregate per year, with higher limits possible under a lease, vehicle lease or lender requirement.

Required-source purchases also matter. Item 8 makes Next Step Franchising, LLC the only approved supplier of the Start Up Supplies and Equipment Package. The package includes the point-of-sale system, and approved or designated suppliers apply to equipment, supplies and services. A new supplier review costs $200 plus actual expenses.

A required source can simplify specification control while reducing the buyer's ability to substitute a lower-priced product. The practical comparison is therefore not a generic online price; it is the current approved quote, the exact configuration in the plans, the shipping destination, installation scope, warranty terms and any change-order policy. Those details determine whether a quoted amount belongs inside the existing allowance or represents a new obligation.

Site quotes should also state their validity period. Construction labor, freight, permits and machinery availability can change between agreement signing and delivery. When a quote expires, the buyer should update the affected line without quietly changing the other assumptions used to reach the official total.

Special incentives are not a reliable budget reduction unless documented. Item 5 says programs may be offered, modified or withdrawn without notice. The official veterans program page confirms that a package exists but does not disclose a dollar discount, so no reduction has been applied to any figure in this article.

FINAL CAPITAL CHECK

What should a buyer reconcile before committing capital?

The controlling number is the 2026 Item 7 range for the chosen format, not the Initial Franchise Fee alone. The largest unresolved variables are usually site and build-out conditions, equipment configuration, freight, permits, signage, taxes and the sufficiency of the three-month Additional Funds allowance.

A sound reconciliation starts with the official column for one model, then replaces allowances only when a written quote uses the same definition and scope. Every replacement should retain the original payee, due date, refund condition and tax treatment. That prevents a lower contractor quote from masking a separate utility, permit or installation expense that the quote does not cover.

The result should be a dated cash schedule rather than a single total. It should show what is due at agreement signing, what becomes due at lease signing, what must be funded before delivery or opening, and what remains available for the first operating months. Recurring and event-triggered charges belong beside that schedule but should not be inserted into the opening total unless the disclosure expressly includes an initial payment.

Confirm the current state-specific disclosure. Verify that the FDD and any amendment are current for the buyer's state and still use the April 2, 2026 cost tables.
Obtain the exact Start Up Supplies and Equipment Package quote. Optional capacity or automation can move the Plant, Satellite Store and Laundromat package within the disclosed range.
Reconcile the site budget. Compare landlord work, tenant-improvement allowance, required utilities, architecture, construction management, signage, deposits and permits against the applicable Item 7 lines.
Keep capital concepts separate. Total Initial Investment, Initial Franchise Fee, liquid assets, net worth, outside collateral and Additional Funds answer different questions.
Test the three-month operating allowance. Item 7 includes payroll and startup expenses, but does not separately confirm owner compensation and cannot guarantee that additional expenses will not occur.
Map post-opening fee triggers. Account for weekly percentage fees, local marketing, technology, renewal, transfer, remodel, training, reporting, audit and termination-related obligations under the Franchise Agreement.

For a 2026 U.S. prospect, the correct budget is the official range for the selected model, adjusted only with documented site-specific quotes and the current Franchise Agreement. A blended average across the four formats would combine incompatible premises, equipment and vehicle obligations.