How Much Does a Keystone Insurers Group Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Current cost basis

How much does a Keystone Insurers Group franchise cost?

Keystone Insurers Group LLC discloses a total initial investment of $27,250 to $99,200 for its U.S. insurance-agency franchise in the Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 4, 2025. This is a conversion model for an existing licensed insurance agency, not a new retail buildout. The disclosed range includes an Initial Franchise Fee of $5,000 to $20,000 and required insurance coverages, while real estate, equipment, deposits and three months of Additional Funds are not assigned separate dollar amounts.

$27,250-$99,200
Official Estimated Initial Investment. The disclosure applies one Item 7 range to an existing insurance agency joining the Keystone Network. The range should not be read as a greenfield startup budget, and the official total does not arithmetically reconcile with the four quantified Item 7 line-item ranges. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 20-22.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Keystone Insurers Group LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Keystone Agency Partners LLC. FDD issuance date: April 4, 2025. Cost sections reviewed: Item 5, p. 8; Item 6, pp. 9-19; Item 7, pp. 20-22; plus cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Applicable format: conversion of an existing independent insurance agency. Information checked July 19, 2026.

The official Network Partner information describes the agency-network model, and Keystone's official franchise FAQ confirms that Keystone operates as a franchisor. A matching public copy of the 2025 FDD was not found on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD Item and page references below are intentionally unlinked. Wisconsin's active franchise registration list showed Keystone Insurers Group LLC with a September 12, 2026 expiration date when checked.

Capital snapshot

The figures below separate the initial fee, required insurance, recurring service charge and working-capital disclosure so they are not mistaken for the same requirement.

$5,000-$20,000 Initial Franchise Fee One lump sum when Keystone signs the Franchise Agreement; amount depends on Gross Written Premium.
$37,000-$99,000 Required insurance costs Combined disclosed estimate for errors and omissions, employee dishonesty/EPLI and cyber coverage.
$881-$3,524+ Monthly Service Fee Based on the immediately preceding Gross Premium band; above $50 million, add $55.06 per additional $1 million.
3 months Additional Funds period Item 7 defines the initial phase as three months but does not assign a dollar amount and says no additional funds are anticipated.
Conversion structure

Why does Keystone's cost structure differ from a typical startup franchise?

The disclosure assumes the franchisee already owns and operates a licensed insurance agency. Item 7 says the agency's real estate, rent, equipment, fixtures, fixed assets, construction, remodeling, leasehold improvements, decorating, deposits, business licenses, inventory and employee training costs have already been incurred or determined independently.

The cost contract is built around an existing-agency conversion
No Keystone-selected siteItem 11 says Keystone does not select or approve a site, and Item 12 says the Franchise Agreement is not tied to a pre-approved location.
No required computer platformItem 11 says no particular computer system is required, although systems must satisfy applicable Keystone Insurance Carrier Contract standards.
No standard buildout allowanceItem 7 assigns no separate amount to rent, construction, equipment, deposits or licenses because the existing agency has already established those costs.
Cost implication The official Item 7 range is not a complete estimate for buying, forming or relocating an insurance agency. It addresses the incremental franchise-related cost structure for an existing agency. A buyer pursuing an acquisition or relocation must price that transaction separately and confirm whether any changed premises, systems or staffing create costs outside Item 7.
Item 7 investment

What is included in the $27,250 to $99,200 investment range?

The 2025 opening-cost table quantifies four categories: the one-time entry charge and three required insurance coverages. It also lists four categories without separate dollar estimates because they depend on the existing agency’s circumstances.

Which opening-cost categories have no stated dollar amount?

Real estate and rent; equipment, fixtures and other fixed assets; construction, remodeling, leasehold improvements and decorating; security and utility deposits, business licenses and other prepaid expenses; and Additional Funds for three months are listed without separate estimates.

Real estate and fixed assets
Note 6 says the existing agency has already incurred or independently determined these costs; the franchisor identifies no additional opening requirement for them.
Additional Funds
The initial phase lasts three months. Spending is discretionary, and the disclosure says no extra amount is anticipated because participants convert existing agencies.
Owner compensation
No owner-compensation allowance is stated for this period, so it should not be assumed to be included.
FDD caveat The official total does not reconcile with the quantified lines. The four low endpoints sum to $42,000, while the high endpoints sum to $119,000. The disclosure still states $27,250 to $99,200 and gives no reconciliation. Obtain a written explanation before treating either endpoint as cash required.
Initial fee schedule

How is the one-time entry fee calculated?

The Initial Franchise Fee is tied to the agency’s property-and-casualty Gross Written Premium when it joins the network. It is due as one lump sum when the franchisor signs the agreement, and the franchisor reserves case-by-case adjustment authority.

Can the entry fee be discounted or refunded?

A 25% New Agency Discount may apply when an existing network member acquires another agency in a state added to the network within the prior 12 months. Availability is solely discretionary, and the reduction does not apply to required insurance or other opening categories.

A pre-approval payment is refunded only if the applicant is not approved and no agreement is signed. The disclosure states that no other refunds are available.

Payment timing

When is the money paid?

Cash events occur at signing, before commencement, monthly, when carriers make specified distributions, and at annual reporting deadlines. The document projects commencement within 30 days after the agreement is signed.

Receive and review the current disclosure.The FTC Franchise Rule generally requires delivery of the FDD at least 14 calendar days before the prospect signs a binding agreement or pays the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC franchise buying guide explains the review period.
Pay the entry fee at signing.The applicable $5,000 to $20,000 charge is due in one lump sum when the franchisor signs the agreement.
Place required coverage before commencement.Errors-and-omissions, employee-dishonesty/EPLI and cyber policies must come from an insurer rated Best's A or better and remain in force during the term.
Commence within the projected 30-day window.This period may be used to complete pre-operating requirements. Product-specific training charges can arise when relevant training is offered and attendance is required to sell that product.
Pay recurring and event-triggered charges.The service charge is due on the last business day of each month. Contingency, bonus and annuity-related amounts are retained when the applicable carrier pays the underlying distribution.
Meet annual reporting deadlines.Late production information may trigger $500 per month, and late financial information may trigger a separate $500 per month. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 14-18.
Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after the franchise begins?

There is no conventional percentage royalty in the disclosure. The central recurring charge is the Monthly Service Fee, which changes with the agency’s premium band. Other obligations arise annually, from carrier distributions, from required coverage, or when a stated condition occurs.

How does the Monthly Service Fee work?

The schedule starts at $881 per month below $1 million of Gross Premium and reaches $3,524 above $50 million, plus $55.06 for every additional $1 million. It uses the immediately preceding accrual period and property-and-casualty premium as defined by the applicable carrier contracts. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 9-10.

Which charges depend on carrier distributions or loss-ratio conditions?

Several charges are retained from carrier-paid compensation rather than billed as a fixed royalty. Each has its own denominator and trigger.

Fee entity Amount or basis Payment trigger 2025 FDD location
Aggregate Contingency Compensation Distribution Fee 2% of total contingency compensation funds received from each Keystone Insurance Carrier When the carrier pays contingency compensation, generally annually Item 6, pp. 11-12
Contingency Compensation Penalty 5%-40% for the first unprofitable period; 10%-80% for consecutive unprofitable periods, based on disclosed Adjusted Loss Ratio bands above 55% When the carrier pays contingency compensation Item 6, pp. 11-12
Individual Contingency Compensation Distribution Fee 15% when Gross Premium is $200,000 or less; otherwise 0%, 2.5%, 5% or 7.5% based on Adjusted Loss Ratio, including bond-specific arrangements When the carrier pays contingency compensation Item 6, pp. 12-13
Bonus Distribution Fee 15%, 10% or 5% of the Individual Bonus Distribution for the bottom, middle or top one-third of premium growth among eligible franchisees with that carrier When the carrier pays bonuses Item 6, p. 13
Annuities Fee 15% of production bonuses, excluding commissions, earned on annuity sales When the carrier pays the annuity bonus Item 6, p. 13

What other ongoing or conditional cost triggers matter?

The remaining obligations depend on market pricing, vendor arrangements, reporting compliance, optional services or later requirements.

Cost of Living Adjustment
The franchise fee is reviewed each May using the Consumer Price Index established by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. The official CPI program explains the referenced index, but the FDD does not disclose a fixed future adjustment.
Required insurance
The combined estimate is $37,000 to $99,000. Coverage must be in force before commencement and throughout the term; required limits may change to comply with Keystone Insurance Carrier Contracts.
Accounting and late reporting
Accounting costs are arranged with the franchisee's chosen accountant. Item 6 permits $500 per month for late production information and $500 per month for late financial information.
Advertising
No minimum advertising spend is required. Any advertising used must follow system standards, and amounts paid to Keystone or vendors are as determined or agreed.
Training and meetings
Keystone has no formal specialized franchise training program as of the 2025 FDD. Future training fees are determined by Keystone. Mandatory meetings may also require a pro rata share of event costs plus travel, meals and lodging.
Affiliate services
Fees for Keystone Benefits Services and Keystone Insurance and Benefits Group are negotiated and payable to those affiliates. Their use is strongly encouraged in Item 6, not stated as mandatory.
Indemnification
The amount is as incurred and due on demand for covered losses and expenses, including reasonable attorneys' fees, under the Franchise Agreement.
Funding requirements

Does Keystone disclose liquid capital, net worth or financing requirements?

The 2025 FDD states no minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. None should be inferred from the disclosed opening range.

Item 10 also states that the franchisor offers no financing for fees or other costs. Outside lender approval would be separate and would not change contractual payment deadlines.

Buyer verification Ask Keystone whether any current application criteria, state addendum, insurer-appointment standard or post-2025 update imposes a financial threshold that is not stated in this FDD. The official Keystone contact page is the appropriate franchise-controlled destination for requesting current qualification and disclosure information.
Later-stage obligations

What costs can arise at renewal, transfer or relocation?

Item 17 states that the initial Franchise Agreement term is five years and that there is no renewal fee. Renewal requires notice six months before expiration and may require signing a new agreement with materially different terms. The 2025 FDD does not disclose a fixed transfer fee or relocation fee.

Transfer requires Keystone approval and is subject to its right of first refusal and any reasonable conditions imposed at the time. Relocation requires written notice and approval under Item 12. Even without a stated transfer or relocation charge, those events can change insurance, premises, systems, professional-service and contract costs; the FDD does not quantify those amounts.

Cost verification

Which figures should a prospective franchisee verify before signing?

The highest-priority verification is the gap between the official Item 7 total and the quantified line-item ranges. The next priorities are the agency's exact premium brackets, current insurance quotes and any post-2025 changes.

Request the most recent FDD and every applicable update. Confirm whether a 2026 disclosure changes Items 5, 6 or 7, and use the FTC Franchise Rule to understand the disclosure timing framework.
Obtain a written Item 7 reconciliation. Ask why the disclosed $27,250 to $99,200 total is below the simple sums of the four quantified low and high line items.
Confirm the Initial Franchise Fee bracket. Document the Gross Written Premium amount Keystone will use and whether a case-by-case adjustment or 25% New Agency Discount applies.
Confirm the Monthly Service Fee band. Identify the immediately preceding accrual period, included property and casualty premium, and treatment of employee-benefits revenue and specialty-program volume.
Get binding insurance quotations. Verify coverage limits, additional-insured language, insurer rating and whether existing policies satisfy the Operating Manual.
Price meetings, training and reporting compliance. Ask for the current meeting calendar, pro rata meeting charges, travel requirements, training fees and financial-reporting format.
Separate franchise costs from agency transaction costs. An acquisition, relocation, lease change, system conversion or staffing change is not fully priced by Item 7.
Plan funding without franchisor financing. Confirm the external funding source can meet the lump-sum and pre-commencement deadlines.
Cost synthesis

What is the practical capital takeaway?

The official 2025 opening range is $27,250 to $99,200, but it applies to an existing-agency conversion and does not reconcile with the quantified lines. Before signing, obtain a current disclosure, a written arithmetic reconciliation, binding insurance quotations and confirmation of the premium measure used for the entry and monthly charges. No minimum cash or net-worth threshold and no franchisor financing are stated.