How Much Does a J Dog Junk Removal & Hauling Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Verified cost answer

How much does a JDog Junk Removal & Hauling franchise cost?

JDog Junk Removal & Hauling discloses an Estimated Initial Investment of $30,000 to $187,250 for one U.S. territory. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued September 22, 2025, uses one range for the brand's mobile junk-removal operating model. The territory is classified as Tier 1, Tier 2, or Tier 3 by population; that tier changes the Initial Franchise Fee and the fixed monthly Royalty Fee, while vehicle, wages, insurance, signage, and Additional Funds account for much of the remaining variation.

$30,000–$187,250

Official 2026 FDD range for one JDog Junk Removal & Hauling territory. It includes the upfront fee, required vehicle and trailer deposits when applicable, launch spending, first-three-month wages, and the three-month operating reserve. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 18–20.

Data basis: JDog Franchises, LLC; 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued September 22, 2025; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; one mobile junk-removal business organized through a Tier 1, Tier 2, or Tier 3 Territory. Information and official web pages checked July 13, 2026.

No matching current FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public website, so the FDD citations below are unlinked and identify the year, Item, and printed page. The brand's current official junk-removal franchise information confirms that the offer is for Veterans and Military family members and describes a mobile service model without a customer-facing storefront.

Initial Franchise Fee $10,000–$45,000 Disclosed range; paid at signing.
Additional Funds $9,000–$60,000 Operating expenses for the first 3 months.
Initial Marketing $3,000–$6,000 Used around the opening window.
Franchisor-Related Financing Up to $25,000 Qualified candidates; upfront fee only.
Published Liquidity Minimum Not disclosed No FDD minimum for liquid capital or net worth.
FDD caveat

The fee disclosures state a $10,000 to $45,000 range, but the named territory schedule lists $15,000 for Tier 3, $25,000 for Tier 2, and $45,000 for Tier 1. The FDD does not reconcile the $10,000 low end with those three listed tiers. Item 5 also permits discretionary reductions for existing franchisees buying additional territories, without publishing a formula. A buyer should confirm the exact fee in Schedule A before treating $10,000 as available. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 13; Item 7, pp. 18–20.

Opening investment

What is included in the $30,000 to $187,250 range?

The official total includes fourteen cost categories. The low endpoints add to $30,000 and the high endpoints add to $187,250, so the operating reserve, wages, upfront fee, insurance, and vehicle-related requirements should not be added again on top of the disclosed total.

Opening rights, vehicles, and operating equipment

These categories establish the territory rights and the mobile assets needed to provide the service. A towing vehicle may be purchased, leased, or financed, and the table lists only a possible deposit rather than the full purchase price. All vehicles require approval and standard graphics.

Cost category Low High Payment timing and scope
Initial Franchise Fee $10,000 $45,000 Lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed; paid to the franchisor.
Approved towing vehicle $0 $7,500 Deposit as incurred; vehicle may be owned, leased, or financed.
Trailer $0 $1,000 Deposit as incurred for an approved open or enclosed trailer.
Equipment, carts, dollies, uniforms, miscellaneous $500 $2,500 Paid to suppliers as incurred.
Signage and vehicle wrap $1,000 $8,000 Deposit or agreed amount as incurred; varies by vehicle and trailer.
Cell phone, computer, software, and email $650 $1,500 Paid to suppliers as incurred; one territory email is provided without charge.

Compliance, training travel, launch spending, and working capital

The remaining categories cover compliance, travel, storage, initial promotion, staffing, and the first three months of operations. The initial training program has no tuition charge for the owner and one employee, but travel and living costs remain the franchisee's responsibility.

Cost category Low High Payment timing and scope
Permits and Licenses $200 $750 Paid to government authorities as incurred; local requirements control.
Insurance $750 $12,000 Three-month estimate; premiums vary by claims history and operating area.
Professional Fees $500 $2,000 Legal, accounting, or other professional costs as incurred.
Travel, accommodations, and meals during Initial Training $300 $3,000 For the owner and up to one employee for six days and six nights.
Storage Unit or Warehouse $100 $3,000 Paid as required by the landlord; required for sorting and storage.
Initial Marketing $3,000 $6,000 Spent from 30 days before through the first 30 days after opening.
Wages $4,000 $35,000 First 12 weeks; assumes one full-time employee beginning with soft opening.
Additional Funds — 3 months $9,000 $60,000 Operating expenses for the first three months; varies by market and staffing.
Total Estimated Initial Investment $30,000 $187,250 Official Item 7 total; all fourteen categories included.

The endpoints should be read as a disclosure range, not as a pick-and-choose menu. A buyer could land near the lower end on one line and near the upper end on another, depending on local pricing, asset choices, staffing, and vendor terms. The franchisor does not publish a midpoint, a most-common combination, or a replacement forecast for a particular market. That is why the official total should remain the reference point while each major quote is validated separately.

Excluded from a simple “no storefront” reading

The model does not require a customer-facing storefront, but the FDD requires a Storage Unit or Warehouse to store resalable items and sort scrap. The official franchise page's “no storefront” description therefore does not eliminate premises expense. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 7 and 8, pp. 19–22; official operating-model information.

Territory pricing

How do Tier 1, Tier 2, and Tier 3 territories change the cost?

The 2026 disclosure uses one total-investment range, but separates the contract into three population-based tiers. Each service area is limited to a 25-mile radius, and its classification changes both the listed upfront fee and monthly royalty.

Tier 1 Territory $45,000

Upfront fee. Item 12 describes a base population of roughly 180,000 to 220,000; territories above 100,000 are designated Tier 1.

Tier 2 Territory $25,000

Upfront fee. Population is stated as 50,000 to 100,000.

Tier 3 Territory $15,000

Upfront fee. Population is stated as fewer than 50,000.

The classification does not create a separate vehicle, trailer, insurance, wage, or operating-reserve table. Those categories remain inside the common official range. Prospects should therefore avoid combining the smallest-area upfront fee with the largest-area royalty assumption, or presenting the overall range as though every service area has identical contract payments. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 6, 7, and 12, pp. 13–20 and 33–34.

Payment timing

When is the money paid before and after opening?

The largest payments do not all occur on one date. The upfront fee is due at contract signing, vendor and government costs are paid as incurred, launch promotion straddles the opening date, and the staffing and operating-reserve estimates cover the first three months.

  1. Receive the current disclosure document before committing. Federal law generally requires delivery at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The current rule is available through the eCFR Franchise Rule.
  2. Pay the upfront fee when signing. Item 5 requires a lump-sum payment to JDog Franchises, LLC. The fee is non-refundable, and Item 5 says no other required pre-opening goods or service payments are made to the franchisor or its affiliates.
  3. Acquire the required assets and complete training. Vehicle or trailer deposits, wraps, equipment, permits, insurance, technology, professional fees, storage, and training travel are paid to third parties as incurred. The official training and support page describes the support framework; Item 11 controls the cost detail.
  4. Fund the launch window and first operating quarter. At least $3,000 of launch promotion is used from 30 days before through the first 30 days after opening. Staffing and the operating reserve cover an initial three-month period.
  5. Begin monthly contract payments from the Scheduled Opening Date. The fixed monthly royalty starts with the first 12-month stage and is due on the first business day of each month by EFT or another designated method.

The FDD estimates the Scheduled Opening Date at six to eight weeks after signing, primarily depending on training availability and obtaining equipment. The current official ownership-process page similarly describes an eight-week opening path, but that timing does not change the contractual due dates in Items 5, 6, and 7.

Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after the business opens?

The royalty is a fixed monthly dollar amount rather than a percentage of Gross Sales during the initial 15-year term. It rises by time in operation and differs by Territory tier. Advertising, technology maintenance, renewal, transfer, late-payment, and territorial-policy obligations are separate.

Marketing Fund
Currently $0; JDog Franchises, LLC may establish a contribution of up to $300 per month. Item 11 says no national fund had been established or used as of the end of fiscal 2025.
Local Advertising Expenditure
Each month, the franchisee must spend the greater of $500 per Territory or 2% of the previous month's Gross Sales on approved local advertising. This is a direct spending obligation, not an annual dollar estimate.
Local Advertising Cooperative
If established in the area, the contribution is the greater of $500 or 2% of Gross Sales per month. The cooperative payment is credited toward the Local Advertising Expenditure rather than added to it.
Computer System maintenance
Item 11 estimates $600 to $1,000 annually. There is currently no technology fee, but future hardware, software, licensing, maintenance, and support changes are at the franchisee's cost.

Which charges arise only after a specific event?

Several Item 6 charges are not ordinary monthly operating fees. They are triggered by renewal, transfer, missed payments, or territorial-policy violations.

  • Renewal Fee — $10,000. Due six months before expiration of the current term. Item 17 describes one additional 15-year term, subject to then-current requirements and contract terms.
  • Transfer Fee — $10,000 plus a possible broker commission. $5,000 is due when the intent to transfer is announced and $5,000 on approval. If the buyer is associated with a commission payable by the franchisor, the transferring franchisee must also pay that commission.
  • Late Payment — $100, then $200, then $300. The amount increases by occurrence; a third occurrence within twelve months can support termination.
  • Territorial Policy violation. The first occurrence requires return of collected fees; the second adds $500; later occurrences add $1,000. The franchisee also forfeits fees earned from violating activity.
Advertising distinction

“Currently $0” in Item 6 applies to the Marketing Fund and the separately described Local Advertising Fund or Cooperative when not established. It does not erase the monthly Local Advertising Expenditure in Item 11. A buyer should budget the direct-spend requirement separately from any future fund assessment. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 16–17; Item 11, pp. 25–29.

Item 10 financing

Does JDog disclose financing for the initial investment?

Yes, but the disclosed arrangement applies only to part of the upfront fee and only for qualified candidates. It does not finance the vehicle, trailer, insurance, wages, launch promotion, operating reserve, or other opening costs.

JD Investment Company, LLC financing terms disclosed in Item 10

Amount financed$15,000–$25,000
Down payment$10,000–$20,000
Term24–36 months
Interest rate12% APR
Monthly payment$700–$900
Prepayment penaltyNone

A personal guaranty is required. Default can accelerate the debt, create collection costs, and constitute a default under the Franchise Agreement. The FDD does not promise approval. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 24 and Exhibit K.

The official JDog franchise inquiry page publishes eligibility language for Veterans and Military family members but does not publish these financing terms. The current FDD remains the controlling source for the disclosed affiliate arrangement.

Capital qualifications

How much liquid capital or net worth does JDog require?

The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement, and the current official franchise inquiry page does not publish one. That absence does not mean a buyer needs only the upfront fee or that financing approval is automatic.

Cost implication

The official total is an investment range, not a published liquidity threshold. A buyer still needs enough accessible capital to make the non-financed payments when due and to support the three-month operating reserve. Net Worth, if later requested during qualification, would not be the same as cash available to pay opening costs.

Accessible cash also depends on timing. A financed contract payment does not delay third-party deposits, insurance premiums, travel, payroll, or promotion bills unless the separate vendor agrees. Conversely, a leased or financed vehicle can reduce the amount paid at acquisition while creating obligations that continue after opening. The disclosure gives a common starting envelope, but the buyer's funding plan must map each invoice to its actual due date and financing source.

What remains uncertain inside the official range?

Several large categories depend on a buyer's market and operating choices, and the FDD does not convert those variables into a “typical” or “recommended” budget.

  • Confirm the service-area classification and signed upfront fee. Resolve the $10,000 low-end inconsistency before relying on the fee range.
  • Price the complete vehicle structure. The investment table lists a deposit of $0 to $7,500, not the full purchase, lease, or finance obligation for an approved towing vehicle or box/dump truck.
  • Verify insurance and local compliance costs. Claims history, vehicle coverage, workers' compensation, permits, licenses, and local operating rules can change the amount.
  • Keep employee wages separate from the operating reserve. The investment table lists first-12-week wages and the three-month operating reserve as different categories. Owner compensation is not expressly identified in the note for that reserve.
  • Document the local advertising treatment. Confirm how direct local spend, any Local Advertising Cooperative contribution, and any future Marketing Fund contribution interact in the Territory.
  • Obtain current supplier and technology pricing. Approved vehicle wraps and scheduling software are required; the Computer System can be modified during the term at the franchisee's cost.

The Federal Trade Commission's Franchise Rule overview explains that an FDD contains 23 disclosure Items. For this cost decision, the current Item 5 fee, Item 6 ongoing charges, Item 7 investment table, Item 10 financing terms, and the final Franchise Agreement schedules should be read together rather than treated as interchangeable numbers.

Decision synthesis

What is the most important cost takeaway?

The verified official starting range is $30,000 to $187,250 for one service area. The population classification controls the listed upfront fee and monthly royalty, while the operating reserve, wages, insurance, signage, and vehicle arrangements determine much of the range outside the franchise contract payment. The disclosed total already includes the three-month operating reserve, so it should not be added twice.

The largest unresolved point is the upfront fee: the FDD publishes a $10,000 low end but names standard tier fees beginning at $15,000. Before capital is committed, the buyer should obtain the current FDD, confirm the service-area classification, reconcile the fee in Schedule A, and price the complete vehicle, storage, insurance, staffing, and advertising obligations for the intended market.